Saturday, December 23, 2017

Homeline Scents (Family Dollar) Wax Melts Reviews

Homeline Scents (Family Dollar) Wax Melts Reviews

Homeline Scents (Family Dollar) Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


I found these 3 Homeline Scents brand wax melts at Family Dollar yesterday for $2 each. They were in the cleaning aisle with the Glade melts and air fresheners. They were next to the Glade melts, and the packaging looks similar, and the scents smell similar to Glade scents that have similar names, so I think they're trying to compete with Glade but at a lower price point (I think the Glade melts were $3.50). The quality of two of these scents was surprisingly good for wax melts from a dollar store; it's quite possible they're actually made by Glade.

Apple Cinnamon
This smells like apple juice with a little spice, or a light apple cider, but no mulling spices. It smells like a lot of other similar scents, but it smells great and doesn't have that waxy note that cheap apple wax tends to have, which is surprising from wax melts from a dollar store. Throw was mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5.

Hawaiian Blossoms
This smells awful, like a fake chemical cleaner with a hint of pineapple, or even what I would imagine a urinal cake smells like. I bought it just to do the review. And throw was mild, 2.5 out of 5.

Linen Fresh
This smells a lot like Glade Clean Linen, with some slightly different notes. It's a nice fresh fabric softener scent, not harsh and not perfumey. It smells like a laundromat. Very nice. And surprisingly, throw was strong, 4 out of 5.



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

DD (Hobby Lobby) Wax Melts Reviews

DD (Hobby Lobby) Wax Melts Reviews

DD (Hobby Lobby) Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


DD (Darsee & David) candles and wax melts are made exclusively for Hobby Lobby. They come out with a handful of new scents a few times a year. Most of the scents in this review are brand new, within the past few months. I enjoy the DD (Hobby Lobby) scented wax melts, and I especially like that they show the scent notes right on the label.



Amber Petals

Notes: Frosted citron, amber, cedarwood and neroli

This smells like warm, rich musky old-fashioned honeysuckle perfume. DD also has (or used to have) a scent called Honeysuckle Bouquet, which was different from this scent (more soapy and not as sweet and rich, like honeysuckle scented soap). Looking at the scent notes, I do detect the neroli in the background, which is a scent I love. And the amber of course adds the warmth. I don't smell cedar, and I definitely don't smell citrus. I'm surprised I don't see honeysuckle or musk in the notes. I really like this scent.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Apple Spiced Cider

Notes: Cinnamon, red apple & clove

A typical fall cinnamon apple scent. This one smells a bit better than other similar scents I've smelled. It's more authentic and doesn't have that waxy note that some cinnamon apple scents have.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Christmas Tree

Notes: Pine needles, fir balsam & wintergreen

A fantastic blue spruce scent with a woodsy note. It's not a biting pine scent or a smoky scent, and it's different and more authentic than most of the pine type scents I've smelled, with that aldehyde type of note that I love in Colonial Candle's Blue Spruce scent. Looking at the scent notes, wintergreen has an anise note, but I don't smell anything like that in this scent, or any minty notes either.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5



Exotic Oasis

Notes: Blooming clematis, magnolia, ebony wood and poppies

I love this scent! It's a super sweet floral perfumey scent with a berry note and maybe a hint of marshmallow, a bit like pink sugar. Very girly! Looking at the scent notes, I'm surprised I don't see any fruit since I do smell a little bit of fruit, maybe raspberry or plum.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



Gardenia Blossoms

Notes: Gardenia, jasmine & lilac

This smells like real gardenia. It's not overly sweet or perfumey. It has a little bit of a hothouse or greenhouse floral note. Looking at the scent notes, I do smell the lilac too. It's a nice scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Gourmet Taffy

Notes: Buttery salt water taffy at its best

This scent wasn't available when I did this review; hence no picture (I added this review on 12/29/17). It's a sweet candyish scent, but different from the Jelly Bean scent in that it's also rich and buttery. I can't tell what kind of fruit it is; it smells a little like pineapple. And the wax is yellow. It's not overly fruity, but more like a sweet buttery candy scent with a slight fruit note. It's a nice scent, but it only lasted about an hour and a half!

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Grammie's Toffee

Notes: Butter, caramel & vanilla

It's caramel. A nice scent, but just a typical caramel scent. It's slightly salty but not really a salted caramel scent.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Grapefruit & Cinnamon

Notes: Bright citrus & spice

It's an odd combination, but it works. This smells like a tropical berry. I smell the slight bitterness of the grapefruit, although I don't detect grapefruit per se. And I detect a little of the cinnamon, but it smells more like it's just part of the berry scent. It's sweet too, but not overly sweet. I like it. It smells a lot like an old ScentSationals scent called Fiesta (different from Tropical Fiesta). I'm surprised I don't see berries in the notes.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Jelly Bean

Notes: Fruity melange of strawberry, pineapple, banana, grape and orange

This is a fruity candy scent, but I can't figure out what fruit. I think I smell grape, but maybe also a little bit of strawberry and even banana. Looking at the scent notes, they're spot on. I don't smell pineapple or orange though. Although it's a sweet scent, it's slightly less sweet than what I would expect from a jelly bean scent. Actually, it smells more like fruity gumdrops or gummy bears or something like that. It smells a bit like ScentSationals Rock Candy but with slightly different notes, and a little less sweet.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Lavender & Oakwood

Notes: Soft medley of rosewood oak and blond woods wrapped with fresh lavender

This is a medicinal but fresh lavender scent with a eucalyptus note and a hint of light milky sandalwood. It's not a sweet scent, but it does have just a smidgen of sweetness. I like it; it's different.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Sunflower Meadow

Notes: Summer sunflowers in full bloom

This smells like jasmine with maybe a hint of neroli. It's not a warm, rich, musky honeysuckle scent like Amber Petals, and it's different from their old Honeysuckle Bouquet scent. It also has a little bitterness that makes it more authentic and not as perfumey. I don't normally like that bitter note, but it's subtle and doesn't detract from the scent. I like this one.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Tangerine & White Musk

Notes: Fresh citrus burst of grapefruit and tangerine with lavender and white musk

This is an orange scent with some notes in the background that I don't like. I don't smell musk or anything perfumey at all. It's like orange mixed with peach and something a little bitter or sour, but not sour in a good way like satsuma. Looking at the scent notes, the bitterness is the grapefruit. And I don't smell lavender at all. Actually now that I know it's in there, maybe I do detect it a little, but it doesn't work well at all with the bitterness of the grapefruit.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Warm Cookies

Notes: Sweet milk, creamy butter & vanilla

Super rich vanilla cookies with maybe a hint of brown sugar and smidgen of marshmallow. It's a sweet scent, but not overly sweet, and it's even a little salty, like the butter that makes it rich. It's different from other vanilla cookie scents I've smelled, and I thought I detected a smidgen of chocolate, although it's not in the scent notes.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Water Lily & Bergamot

Notes: Clean water lily and bergamot

A nice green slightly zesty scent with a hint of a cologne note and perhaps a smidgen of a floral undertone. It's similar to White Sage & Eucalyptus, but that scent is more peppery and this one is sweeter and with the cologne and slight floral note. I like this one more.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



White Sage & Eucalyptus

Notes: Sage and eucalyptus intermingled with lime and aromatic black pepper

A zesty herbal scent with a slight peppery note and a smidgen of mint. I guess the mint is the eucalyptus. There's a slight savory note which I guess is the sage, but it's an herbal savory note. Looking at the scent notes, I do detect the lime, which is the zestiness. It's more herbal than zesty. I like it. It's very similar to Water Lily & Bergamot, but this scent is more peppery and that scent is a little sweet and with a cologne note. 

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Wood Shop

Notes: Fresh cut wood, sweet leather and cologne

I love this scent! It's men's cologne with raw wood and mesquite (salty smoky woodsiness). It's not a real wood shop type scent, as that would have that raw pencil shavings type wood note. And it's not a smoky campfire type scent. It's like a combination of men's cologne and ScentSationals Smoked Birch (or AmbiEscents Aspen Birch, same scent). Looking at the notes, I don't smell leather although it could be way in the background.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Sunday, December 17, 2017

Shortie's Candle Company Wax Melt Reviews

Shortie's Candle Company Wax Melt Reviews

Shortie's Candle Company Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


Shortie's Candle Company is a company in Reno, Nevada that makes candles, wax melts, and accessories such as warmers. They sell their products online as well as through wholesalers across the country including Whole Foods and various card and gift shops. They even have a Fundraiser Program for organizations.

Shortie's Candle Company can be found online at their website at https://www.shortiescandles.com, Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/ShortiesCandleCompany, and Twitter at https://twitter.com/shortiescandles.

Their wax melts are made with soft food-grade paraffin wax, although in February they will be changing their formula to a natural soy blend. I was told that they've done extensive testing on the new soy blend and they throw extremely well. Hopefully I will get to review them when they are released!

These wax melts were fantastic. The scents were high quality and the throw on just about every one was strong or bold. I love strong throwing wax, so these wax melts were winners for me!



Apple Afternoon

Notes: Warm scent of apple cider mingles with evergreens

I love this scent. It smells like a combination of apples and pine, with maybe a smidgen of vanilla. It sounds like a strange mix, but it really works. Looking at the notes, the apple smells like more of a fresh apple than apple cider, and I don't smell mulling spices.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Banana Coconut Blast

Notes: Banana and coconut, blended with a pinch of sugar

This is a very sweet, almost candy-like banana scent with a hint of coconut. It's a fake banana scent rather than authentic banana. Melted, it smells like a rich sweet vanilla banana frosting. I like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Bayberry Fir

Notes: Bayberry and Douglass Fir, with subtle hints of cinnamon, clove, vanilla, and hardwoods

A smoky pine scent with a sour kind of sage-y note. I've smelled this scent before, and I don't really care for it. However, I think that's just me, as it's similar to some other scents that I don't like, that other people love.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Blue Moon

Notes: Jasmine, cyclamen and carnation waft with top notes of lime zest that mingle with deep marine notes that form the base and body of this fragrance.

A fresh air, watery type scent with a hint of a peppery note, maybe a smidgen of grapefruit, and perhaps a barely detectable tinge of mint. Looking at the scent notes, I don't really smell floral notes because this is not a sweet scent, and actually has a little bit of the salty marine note. I guess the lime zest is the grapefruit I think I smell. It has a slight bitter note that at first I didn't care for, but when I melted it a second time I actually liked it.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Grapefruit

Notes: This bitter sweet citrus fragrance features watery green nuances blended with top notes of lily of the valley and coriander blossom on a body of Pink Pomelo Grapefruit.

Wow, this is an incredible scent! I definitely smell the grapefruit, but I think there's also some other sweet fruit in there as well. I love this one; it's fresh and juicy and summery! Looking at the scent notes, the sweetness I detect is probably the lily of the valley (although I don't smell any floral notes at all). Coriander supposedly is a pungent soapy slightly citrusy scent that smells a little like pink peppercorns, and I do smell a citrusy scent but that might be from the grapefruit.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the entire house



Lemon Blueberry Twist

Notes: Lemons and blueberries twisted together with a pinch of sugar

This smells like lemon verbena with a tangy lime note. I think I detect a smidgen of the sweet blueberry. It's not a foodie scent like the name would suggest, and I think I detect a barely noticeable hint of citronella, almost like a bit of spa type of scent. There's some note in this one that I don't care for.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Mistletoe Moments

Notes: Freshly trimmed pine tree and the sweet aroma of ripe juicy berries

I smell pine and a little bit of sweet tart cranberry. This also has that slightly sour note that the Bayberry Fir scent has, which I don't care for. Like the Bayberry Fir, I think I'm in the minority as it seems that a lot of people like this type of scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Pepperberry Spice

Notes: With top notes of berries, citrus and spicy pepper, pepperberry mixes well with cinnamon and clove, and a mild base of vanilla, patchouli and sandalwood

I smell patchouli with a hint of an old perfume note, in a good way. I think I also smell a little bit of clove, and maybe a smidgen of a berry note. It's a unique scent, and I really like it. Looking at the notes, I don't smell citrus.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Pinion & Patchouli

Notes: The woody Southwest scent of pinyon pine paired with a touch of musky aromatic patchouli oil, derived from an exotic Asian relative of the mint family

This smells fantastic, like balsam (a sprucey type scent) with a deeper, warmer slightly sweet note which is probably the patchouli. Pinion is a type of wood that smells like juniper. When melted, it's a very nice aromatic blue spruce type scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Stargazer Lily

Notes: All of the strong beautiful fragrance of the flower without the mess

This really smells like a lily! It's not overly sweet, but it does have a little bit of a rich musk perfume note. It also has a little bit of an old-fashioned soapy note. It smells like real flowers in a hothouse or greenhouse, although it does have a hint of bitterness that I don't care for.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Sugarplum Cranbery

Notes: Tart cranberries top this concoction of sweet plums sprinkled with a dusting of sugar

This is a sweet, slightly tart fruity scent that smells a little like fruit candy, but also has a tropical note. Despite the sweet tartness, it doesn't really smell like cranberry. I'm probably smelling more of the plum. I'm not a fan of the scent as it's a bit too tart, even though it's also very sweet.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



White Chocolate Mint

Notes: White chocolate mixed together with freshly pureed mint

A fantastic rich vanilla mint scent with a warm chocolate note. The chocolate is not that burnt, bitter chocolate that some chocolate scents have. I love this scent, and my roommate wanted to steal it! But the scent started fading within 2 hours.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Friday, December 15, 2017

Aromance Wax Melts Reviews

Aromance Wax Melts Reviews

Aromance Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


Aromance wax melts are discount store wax melts that I bought from Ollie's for $1.49 each. Although most of them smelled good, most of them also had mild throw, with a few exceptions. Many of them had a weird bubbly wax consistency that I've seen in dollar store melts before. I believe these are manufactured by several wax melt companies, including ScentSationals, Hanna's Candle, and Empire Brands Co. (this is not confirmed). Occasionally wax melt companies are approached by distributors and asked if they want to contribute their scents, which is why some of these smell like scents from other well-known brands. But despite the low price, if you prefer wax melts with strong throw, you probably won't be happy with most of these.

Alpine Holiday
I love this scent, and I think it's a dupe for an older Better Homes & Gardens winter scent but I don't remember which one. It smells a lot like the green side of Ashland Shimmering Noel Trio from Michaels from 2016. Also like a combination of Better Homes & Gardens Frosty Winter Nights, with that sweet slightly spearmint note, and Better Homes & Gardens Winter's Sleigh Ride, with that smoky note. But it's not as sweet as Frosty Winter Nights and not nearly as smoky as Winter's Sleigh Ride. It's a nice cool winter scent. Throw was mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5.

Apples & Berries
I thought this might have been the same scent as the old Mainstays Apples and Berries, but it's not, although it's quite similar. Just like the name says, I smell apples, and some kind of berry in the background. Throw was mild, 2.5 out of 5.

Autumn Berries
The label shows cranberries, but this smells more like cherries with a sweet apricot note and maybe a hint of vanilla. It's not a harsh fake cherry scent like Cherry Cheesecake, and it's not tart. It's not an autumn type scent, and there are no spices. It's very nice. Throw was faint, 2 to 2.5 out of 5.

Autumn Leaves
This smells like apple with a slightly sour brown fallen leaves note. It's a nice typical fall scent. Throw was mild, 2.5 out of 5.

Banana Nut Bread
A nice rich banana scent with a sweet and very slightly salty nutty note with a warm vanilla note or maybe a smidgen of caramel. It smells fantastic, and strangely, I think it's the same scent as Hanna's Candle's (and Aldi) Banana Nut Bread. Throw was bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house.

Blue Spruce
Something is wrong with this one, like they forgot to add fragrance oil. Zero scent on cold sniff, other than the scent of the wax itself. And throw was 0 out of 5.

Blossoms & Summer Flowers
This is a nice clean bright floral body wash scent. It's not perfumey or overly sweet. And it's not a honeysuckle type scent, which is what I would expect from a scent with this name. Throw was mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5.

Cherry Cheesecake
A very fake chemical cherry scent, but strangely it smells fairly good. Throw was medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5.

Cherry Mango
I really like this scent. It's fun and summery. I smell the cherry first, then the other fruit which is the mango, although it smells more like orange, but not a very citrusy orange. This smells a bit like a cherry soda without the fizziness, or a Hi-C fruit drink. Throw was mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5.

Christmas Memories
This is so weak on cold sniff I barely smell anything, maybe a smidgen of pine and something else? Throw was poor, 1 out of 5.

Cinnamon
This smells like cinnamon and cloves. I'm not a fan of straight cinnamon, but the cloves gives it a nice warmth. Throw was faint, 2.5 out of 5.

Fallen Leaves
This smells almost exactly like Autumn Leaves, but with more of that slightly sour brown fallen leaves note. Throw was strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5.

Fresh Home
I've never had a wax scent that smelled like wintergreen... until now! Wintergreen smells kind of like a combination of sweet spearmint and anise. It's used for a lot of muscle pain ointments, so it kind of has a Ben-Gay note. But I think this has another note in it as well, maybe a slight laundry or floral note, or even cinnamon. I'm not a fan of spearmint or wintergreen scents, but this is actually not too bad, and it sure is unique. Throw was medium, 3 out of 5.

Fresh Laundry
It's very weak on cold sniff, but it's a nice warm fabric softener scent, and not very sweet, and it seems like there's a smidgen of vanilla in the background. Throw was faint, 2 to 2.5 out of 3.

Frosted Sugar Plum
This smells like Tuscany Candle Stressless, which is a dupe for Victoria's Secret Love Spell perfume. But it also has a little bit of a plum note. The Stressless scent smells bland to me, like grapefruit and paper, but the addition of the plum in this scent makes it smell quite nice. Throw was faint, 2 to 2.5 out of 5.

Garden Rain
This is the same scent as Mainstays Garden Rain from Walmart. It's a fresh sweet watery airy scent with a little bit of an ocean-y quality and a smidgeon of floral perhaps that makes it very slightly perfumey. It has a generic bathroom air freshener scent, but it's still quite nice. Throw was strong, 4 out of 5.

Iced Snowberries
A generic slightly waxy very tart berry scent, maybe cranberry? It smells a lot like Better Homes & Gardens Iced Winter Cranberry from Walmart. Throw was very faint, 1 to 2 out of 5.

Line Dried Linen
This is similar to Better Homes & Gardens Line Dried Linen, but it's not the same scent. Like the BH&G version, this is a sharp laundry detergent scent, but this version is sweeter and a little less harsh than the BH&G version. Throw was medium, 3 out of 5.

Peppermint Creme
A sweet rich vanilla scent with a little bit of marshmallow and peppermint. It's not as minty as other similar scents I've smelled, but it still smells great. It smells just a little bit like Better Homes & Gardens Marshmallow Candy Cane, but the Aromance scent is sweeter, richer, creamier and more vanillary, while the BH&G scent is a little more minty. I actually like the Aromance scent a little more. Throw was medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5.

Pineapple & Cilantro
A sweet pineapple candy scent. I don't smell cilantro or any savory notes at all. Throw was mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5.

Raspberry
A slightly tart berry scent that smells like a combination of raspberry and cranberry. Throw was medium, 3 out of 5.

Rose Petals
This is not a rose scent at all. It smells like smoke with a smidgen of a floral or soapy note. It smells nice, but throw was faint, maybe 2 out of 5.

Rustic Retreat
A smoky scent but not a burning wood smokiness, more like a fake slightly salty Liquid Smoke scent with a very slight sour sage-y note and a foodie quality. I've smelled this scent many times before and I'm not a fan. Throw was medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5.

Sandalwood & Sage
A nice sweet soapy sandalwood scent with a bit of a cologne note. Throw was mild, 2.5 out of 5.

Sea Salt
A salty water scent with a soapy note and just a smidgen of sweetness. It smells slightly like Garden Rain, but without the sweet or floral notes. It's not sweet enough to be a body wash type scent. When melted though, it had a little bit of a bitter note that I didn't like, and wasn't sweet enough, kind of like old soap. Throw was strong, 3.5 out of 5.

Snowflake
I love this scent. It's smoky woods and mint, and smells a little bit like Better Homes & Gardens Winter's Sleigh Ride and Winter Ski Resort. It's a bit similar to Alpine Holiday, but not as sweet or minty. Throw was strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5.

Spiced Cake
A nice clove scent with a bit of a bakery note and a hint of cinnamon and ginger. Throw was mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5.

Spiced Cranberry Compote
A typical fall cranberry scent with a hint of cinnamon. It's tart with a little sweetness. Throw was medium, 3 out of 5.

Strawberry Kiwi
This is a tropical fruit scent. I don't smell strawberry. It's not very sweet, nor is it a sour tropical fruit scent. Throw was medium, 3 out of 5.

Wild Berries & Cream
A rich warm raspberry scent. This smells more like raspberries than their Raspberry scent. Fantastic scent. Throw was faint, 2.5 out of 5.

Wild Cherry
This smells like sweet cherry candy or cough syrup. It's a nice scent. Throw was faint, 2 out of 5.



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

Tuscany Candle Winter Holiday 2017 Scented Wax Melts Reviews

Tuscany Candle Winter Holiday 2017 Scented Wax Melts Reviews

Tuscany Candle Winter Holiday 2017 Scented Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


I bought these Tuscany Candle Winter Holiday Christmas 2017 wax melts at Wegmans food store for $2.50 each last week. These are the "Limited Edition" melts; I believe Tuscany Candle has more winter/holiday scents that are not limited edition, although I haven't found them.

Cinnamon Snow
I smell sweet, rich cinnamon and molasses, but it's not really a foodie scent because there's a hint of wood in the background. It's a really nice, unique scent. Throw was mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5.

Cranberry Apple Cider
This is an apple cider scent with a little bit of spices, but no harsh mulling spices. It smells like cider made with fresh, crisp, earthy apples, and it's not overly sweet. I don't know if I detect cranberry, although there is a smidgen of tartness. This is a more authentic apple cider scent than a lot of similar scents I've smelled. Throw was mild, 3 out of 5.

First Snow
A minty scent, but it's not sweet. It smells like either strong garden mint or peppermint without the sweetness. It's not spearmint, so it's not a toothpastey mint. It has that sinus clearing effect, and there may be a eucalyptus note, but it doesn't have the menthol, pine, or Vicks Vaporub note that eucalyptus scents tend to have. When melted, there's also a bit of a black pepper note. It's a nice, unique scent, although a little too savory; I would have preferred a little sweetness. Throw was strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5, but it started dissipating within 2 hours.

Fraser Fir
This is not the same as their usual pine scent that they come out with every year but with a different name, such as Evergreen & Balsam, and Frosted Spruce. This is more of a raw wood scent with a smoky note and a hint of pine. It's quite weak on cold sniff, which is unusual for a pine scent. Throw was mild, 3 out of 5.

Gingerbread Village
This smells like oatmeal raisin cookies with ginger. I definitely smell all 3 notes: oatmeal, raisins and ginger. Fantastic, yummy scent! Throw was medium, 3.5 out of 5.

Holiday
This is a smoky scent that smells more like Liquid Smoke, or a foodie smokiness, a little bit like bacon, but with a hint of sour. I've smelled this scent many times before, and it's not one of my favorites. Throw was strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5.

Holiday Hearth
I really like this scent. It smells like raw wood with a bit of a smoky note, but it's not a campfire type scent. And it doesn't have that weird Liquid Smoke foodie smoky note that a lot of similar scents have. And there's no sweetness like cloves. There may be a smidgen of pine way in the background, but this is not a pine scent. It smells almost exactly like the Fraser Fir scent, but this scent is slightly smokier and that scent has slightly more pine. Throw was medium, 3.5 out of 5.

Peppermint Meringue
On cold sniff, the Tuscany Peppermint Meringue puts all other peppermint scents to shame, including Better Homes & Gardens Marshmallow Candy Cane and Ashland Joy Peppermint. It's on par with my beloved Better Homes & Gardens Chocolate Peppermint Truffle that was discontinued years ago... and maybe even better than that! It's the richest, sweetest, most incredible peppermint patty scent I've ever smelled in a wax melt. It smells like peppermint fudge if there were a thing. I definitely smell the chocolate too; it's sweet and subtle while also being very rich, but not a bitter burnt chocolate at all. Throw was medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5.



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Sunday, December 10, 2017

Yankee Candle Home Inspiration Winter 2017 Wax Melt Reviews

Yankee Candle Home Inspiration Winter 2017 Wax Melt Reviews

Yankee Home Inspiration Winter 2017 Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


Yankee Candle Home Inspiration didn't put out many winter/holiday scents this year. Fresh Balsam Fir came out with the fall scents in September. I think the holiday scents were in very limited supply, as the few that I saw on the Walmart shelves disappeared quickly and were not replaced.



Holiday Apple Wreath

Notes: A welcoming holiday mix of apple, cinnamon stick and fresh clove woven with vanilla

I smell cloves with sweet apple and a little bit of cinnamon. A typical nice warm winter scent. I've heard this is the same as the regular Yankee scent "Red Apple Wreath", although the scent notes on their website are different.

Throw: Very faint, 1 to 2 out of 5



Merry Cherry

Notes: A spirited concoction of juicy cherries and spicy cinnamon to ring in the holidays

This scent has returned from 2015. It's a sweet maraschino cherry syrup scent with a very slight perfumey note, not overpowering or harsh or black cherry. I don't smell any cinnamon at all. This is a summer type scent rather than a winter scent. It's a fun, happy scent! Throw was medium, 3.5 out of 5, when I reviewed this in the older rectangular package in December 2015. Throw is a bit stronger now that this is in the newer oval package with "more fragrance" shown on the label.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Sparkling Bright Christmas

Notes: ?

This smells like lemon verbena with that clean soapy note. It has a slight spa lemon quality. There's something else in there, maybe lime, but also a tiny bit of a sour note (but not bad). I thought I detected a smidgen of pine, but I don't think so. This is a unique scent, and I like it. It's not really a winter scent though. I've heard this is the same as the regular Yankee scent "All is Bright" (scent notes: a blend of sparkling citrus scents drifting on warm musk).

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Spiced Orange & Clove

Notes: Whole orange pierced with rich and earthy clove

This is a typical orange pomander scent, kind of like cloves plus a note of orange, a bit more savory than sweet, but there's also a waxy note in there. I'm not a fan of orange pomander in general, so I don't like this one. I also reviewed this scent in September 2016 (but I didn't buy it then).

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Glad Tidings

This was available at some Walmart stores, but I couldn't find it. However, it's available in the UK. I don't know if it's the same scent, but the description from the Yankee UK website is "Bright and happy as a mantle hung with Christmas stockings waiting to be found, full of warm amber and edged with sweet citrus."



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Sunday, December 3, 2017

Scentsy Bar Reviews - December 2017 - Part 2 of 2

Scentsy Bar Reviews - December 2017 - Part 2 of 2

Scentsy Bar Reviews
Click to enlarge
Video


This Scentsy bar review is a bit different from my usual Scentsy reviews. I'd like to focus a little on the seller first: Carrie Mamulski. Carrie joined Scentsy in 2013 and is now a "Star Consultant". She hosts Scentsy parties, and although she is located in New Jersey, she ships anywhere in the U.S. Carrie loves Scentsy and enjoys sharing it. She always tries to throw in something extra with each order. And if you buy warmers from her, she will replace their bulbs for free as needed. Just a little extra gesture to show her appreciation!

So yes, you can buy Scentsy from any Scentsy rep, but it's nice to deal with someone who is completely knowledgeable about the product, provides great customer service and quick shipping, and goes the extra mile for her customers.

Carrie Mamulski's Scentsy page is https://carriemamulski.scentsy.us.

This is part 2 of 2 of Scentsy review scent starting with M to V. I reviewed scents starting with B to L in October (link is below).

 My other Scentsy reviews (so far) can be found at:
- http://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2017/10/scentsy-bar-reviews-october-2017-1.html
- http://www.scentedwaxreviews.com/2017/10/scentsy-bar-reviews-september-2017.html
- http://www.scentedwaxreviews.com/2017/06/scentsy-wax-bars-reviews-june-2017.html
- http://www.scentedwaxreviews.com/2016/06/scentsy-wax-bars-reviews.html
- http://www.scentedwaxreviews.com/2016/05/scentsy-wax-bars-review-from-user-not-seller.html



Mariposa Lily

Notes: Mariposa lily blooms with sugar apple and pineapple slices

A creamy fruity floral. I can't tell if it's strawberry or apple or some other kind of fruit. It's not overly sweet and not perfumey at all. Nice and subtle. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell pineapple at all.

Throw: Good, 3 out of 5



Painted Leaves

Notes: Blue spruce, red maple and golden woods

Pine with a hint of woodsiness and a smidgen of mint. Very nice scent! Looking at the notes, I don't know why mint is not listed; I definitely smell mint, and it has a sinus clearing effect. There's a note in this one that makes it smell just a bit different from other pine scents, but I can't figure out what that note is. It's not a biting pine, there's no eucalyptus, and there are no smoky notes at all. Maybe it's the red maple and golden woods.

Throw: Excellent, 4 out of 5



Passion Fruit Colada

Notes: Honeydew and passion fruit surge with sugarcane

This smells like a lot of their other warm perfumey slightly fruity creamy blackberry type scents. Not that I'm complaining; this smells great, but I have like 6 other Scentsy scents that smell almost exactly like it. This doesn't have a colada or tropical note, which I expected based on the scent name. Looking at the scent notes, yes I think I do detect honeydew melon. And when melted, I think I detect a barely noticeable smidgen of coconut.

Throw: Good, 3 out of 5



Peach & White Amber

Notes: Deep floral notes and earthy, provocative amber

Fantastic warm ambery perfumey type scent, but it's not overly sweet or perfumey. I think I smell a hint of gardenia or jasmine. I definitely smell a sweet creamy vanilla. And maybe a smidgen of a fruit note which I assume is peach, although if I didn't know that, I wouldn't be able to tell what kind of fruit. And maybe a barely detectable hint of woods which is the amber (a warm woodsy note). Looking at the scent notes, hmm, no peach? Melted, I do smell more of a fruit note and this scent takes on a bit of a creamy fruity vibe.

Throw: Excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Persian Lime & Sandalwood

Notes: Tangy kaffir lime, cultured by earthy notes and an urbane touch of sandalwood

A nice fresh clean men's cologne scent. I don't actually smell lime.

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Pink Haze

Notes: A sweet confection of berries, nectarines and vanilla-laced whipped cream nestled in marshmallow fondant.

This is weak on cold sniff and smells like pink sugar, that very sweet cotton candy like perfumey scent with a hint of berry. But it's more subtle than pink sugar, and not as cloyingly sweet, with maybe a bit of vanilla marshmallow and a hint of floral.

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Pretty & Plum

Notes: Red plum gets pasty-perfect with black coconut and sweet cream.

Rich vanilla cake. On cold sniff I also smell a little bit of a sweet berry filling that smells like blueberries and blackberries, but I don't really smell the fruit when melted. I also smell coconut on cold sniff, which I also don't really smell when melted. It's quite nice!

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Quiet Grove

Notes: Bergamot, jasmine and sandalwood

I can't figure this one out, but I like it. It smells kind of like a body wash, sort of fresh and maybe with a smidgen of floral and lemon. Looking at the scent notes, bergamot makes sense as that's a base for a lot of fresh body wash and cologne scents (although this is not really a cologne scent). Jasmine is the floral (although it's not a sweet floral so I would not have known it was jasmine per se). And sandalwood, yes I guess there is a subtle light woods note.

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Sea Salt & Avocado

Notes: Pink sea salt, Valencia orange and creamy avocado

It's very weak on cold sniff, and I just smell a bland green scent. But melted, it's a fresh green scent with a hint of grapefruit and a little bit of creaminess. It's fresh with just a hint of sweetness. Looking at the scent notes, the grapefruit I'm smelling is actually orange, although this is not an orange scent. It's an unusual mix of notes that actually work quite well together.

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Silver Bells

Notes: Minty candy canes with pear, in a blanket of caramel and vanilla sugar.

Very nice warm perfumey scent, similar to Scentsy Luna, with a minty note, and perhaps a slight blackberry note. OK looking at the scent notes, it's pear, not blackberry. I really like this scent!

Throw: Excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Sweet Pea & Vanilla

Notes: Raspberries and sweet pea petals with vanilla

This is definitely a sweet pea scent, and I do detect the slight foodie quality of sweet vanilla that adds a bit of richness to this scent. I like this one. Looking at the scent notes, yes now I do detect a hint of berry although it's subtle. When melted, I definitely smell the raspberry note, which gives this a little bit of a berry candy vibe. And the vanilla gives it a smidgen of a caramel note. I really like this one, and the scent on cold sniff does not do it justice!

Throw: Excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Toasted Coconut Amaretto

Notes: Praline cream, almond and just a hint of anise

Yum! I smell almond and sweet amaretto liquor (amaretto has a hint of cherry in it), with maybe a creamy vanilla. Coconut is in the scent name, but not in the notes, although I think I do smell it just a little on cold sniff (but not when melted). I don't smell anise at all though (which is good). When melted, the cherry note really comes out, and it becomes more of a perfect blend of maraschino cherry, almond, and a bit of sweet creamy vanilla.

I believe the fragrance oil Serendipity consists of almond, cherry and coconut notes, but I'm not a fan of Serendipity scents, so while this scent might share some of those notes, it's quite different. I really like this one!

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Very Merry Cranberry

Notes: Red winter berries pop against a backdrop of snow-covered cedar

Fantastic sweet cranberry scent, almost a little candy-like. I think I also detect a smidgen of peppermint, cinnamon and cloves, but all very subtle. Looking at the scent notes, okay I think I do smell cedar. But I definitely smell peppermint, although it's not very strong and has a mild sinus clearing effect. I really thought I smelled cinnamon and cloves, but maybe not.

Throw: Excellent, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the whole house.



I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Sassy Kandle Wax Melts Reviews - Winter 2017 Scents

Sassy Kandle Wax Melts Reviews - Winter 2017 Scents

Sassy Kandle Wax Melts - Winter Christmas Holiday Scents 2017
Click to enlarge
Video


These are Sassy Kandle Co.'s new Fall and Winter 2017 wax melt scents. Sassy Kandle Co. is one of my favorite wax vendors! Her scents are unique, and with good throw or better.

Sassy Kandle Co. is a candle and wax melt vendor based in Windsor, Colorado. Their website is https://www.sassykandle.com, Etsy is https://www.etsy.com/shop/SassyKandleCo, and Facebook page is https://www.facebook.com/SassyKandleCo.

I really enjoyed these wax melts. The scents were fantastic, and I even like the iridescent, very slightly glittery labels on the clamshells. The wax was very soft and hard to get out of the package though. I had to use a butter knife to pry out a cube, but it wasn't a big deal.

I reviewed their regular (non-holiday) scents in August 2017 at http://www.scentedwaxreviews.com/2017/08/sassy-kandle-co-wax-melt-tarts-reviews.html, and in October at http://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2017/10/sassy-kandle-co-wax-melt-tarts-reviews.html.



Alpine Frost

Notes: Fresh cool mountain breezes on cypress trees and frosted woods, with notes of oakmoss and fresh spices

Fantastic scent that combines a sweet clean fresh soapy body wash scent with a pine note. It's a great combination!

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Aspen Winter

Notes: Citrus blends with an abundance of warm winter spices of clove, cinnamon and sweet vanilla

Oh I really like this scent. It's a sweet candied cinnamon scent with cloves, but I also detect a creamy sweet vanilla buttercream which keeps this scent from being "just another" cinnamon scent. But it's not a cinnamon roll type scent either, as I don't detect any bakery notes. It's more like a sweet cinnamon frosting. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell any citrus at all.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Autumn Red Maple

Notes: A sweet and warm maple scent with notes of ripe pear and vanilla bean blended with toasted maplewood and amber

This is a really unusual scent, and I love it. It smells like rich caramel, maple, a little bit of apple, black pepper, and a little bit of wood. It had a smidgen of a barbecue sauce vibe, although it's very rich and caramely. Looking at the scent notes, the apple note I'm detecting is actually pear. Fantastic scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Bayberry

Notes: Bayberries, fir, and balsam, with the just the right amount of nutmeg and spice

This is another very unusual scent. On cold sniff I don't like it. But warmed, I can't stop smelling it, even though I'm not sure if I like it! I smell pine with a sour note, almost like sage, but there's also a warm very slightly sweet note in the background like amber, and maybe some kind of resinous tree sap type note like oud wood. I don't smell berries at all. This smells like some kind of chemical, but not a bad chemical. Looking at the scent notes, they seem too simple for this complex of a scent.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Chestnuts & Brown Sugar

Notes: A very sweet, rich and buttery seasonal fragrance. A warm baking smell with caramel, rich maple, chestnuts and buttery brown sugar.

A fantastic sweet rich buttery caramel and brown sugar scent with just a hint of nut. It's not a salty caramel scent, and not really a bakery scent (no bready or cookie notes).

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Christmas Memories

Notes: Orange peel and cranberry sauce flowing nicely into middle notes of cinnamon sticks and freshly ground cloves, with base notes of evergreen and pinecones.

On cold sniff, this is a very nice spruce scent with a hint of wood, a very slight peppery note, and maybe a smidgen of a nutty note in the background. There's also a hint of cloves and maybe cinnamon, but very faint. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell orange but there could be a barely detectable berry note which is the cranberry. The base note of evergreen is definitely the predominant note in this scent. Melted, however, I just smell a nice smoky spruce scent but none of the other notes.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Crackling Campfire

Notes: That warm, smokey, woodsy firewood scent

I like this one! It's very smoky, not a woodsy smoke like an actual campfire, but more of a "Liquid Smoke" that you put on food, as it also has a clove note. It's a nice warm smoky fall or winter scent.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Deck the Halls

Notes: Blend of cinnamon bark and leaves with fir needles and pine enhanced by clove buds

I smell cloves and a warm musky perfume note, with a hint of pine. Very nice combination. Looking at the scent notes, I'm surprised I don't see musk or floral or some kind of perfumey note, since I definitely smell it.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Holiday Festivities

Notes: Spruce, apple cider, cranberries, grapefruit, mandarin, cinnamon, and clove, with a light essence of vanilla beans

This smells a little like Scentsy Snowberry (one of my favorite scents), but with a little bit more of a spruce note. There are other notes in the background, maybe a hint of orange, nut, and vanilla. Looking at the scent notes, yes, I do smell the slight bitterness of grapefruit (in a good way), and the orange (mandarin), and there's the vanilla. I don't smell apple at all, and very little, if any, cinnamon or clove. Fantastic scent!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Hot Cranberry Tea

Notes: Cranberry, fragrant tea leaves and a touch of lemon and spices

A nice sweet cranberry scent with a hint of cinnamon. It's not very tart, which is good. I don't smell tea or lemon at all.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Merry Mistletoe

Notes: A festive pine scent with a top note of sweet berries and green apples and Siberian pine needles. Notes of cedarwood, balsam, patchouli, blue spruce and citrus round out this fantastic holiday scent!

I love pine scents, and this one is fantastic. It's pine tempered with a tiny bit of vanilla I think, and maybe a hint of berry. It has just a smidgen of sweetness. I don't smell apple, citrus, or patchouli per se, but the patchouli is probably the slightly woodsy tobacco-ey warmth I'm detecting. Melted, it smells even better, such an amazing scent! After a few hours I detected a bit more of the vanilla, even though there's no vanilla in the scent notes.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Mulled Cider

Notes: Spicy bouquet of apple, clove, orange and cinnamon top notes with a sweet musky background.

Despite the scent name, this is not a mulled cider type scent. It's apple cider, but without the harsh mulling spices that a lot of apple cider scents tend to have. It's very sweet, more like apple juice, and with a little bit of spice that actually makes it smell more like apple butter. There may also be a smidgen of tea and honey. Looking at the scent notes, it's the musk that probably makes this scent so unique. Very nice!

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Peppermint Twist

Notes: Cool peppermint and a splash of sweet vanilla

A nice sweet creamy vanilla peppermint scent, like the inside of a peppermint patty (but no chocolate).

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Pomegranate Cider

Notes: Aroma of hot cider spiced with cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves. The scent is then punched up with notes of pomegranate and strawberry.

I really like this one. It smells like cranberry, but sweeter and less tart than a lot of cranberry scents I've smelled. And there may be a sweet apple note in there as well. Looking at the scent notes, okay no apple, so it must be the strawberry I smell. Very nice! The spices are subtle, just enough to make this smell like a light cranberry apple cider.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Pumpkin Honey Chai

Notes: This sweet and spicy fragrance blends creamy pumpkin with freshly grated cinnamon, clove, nutmeg and black chai, balanced out with the smooth notes of vanilla, milk & honey

This is a pumpkin pie type scent, but there are some other notes that make this not smell like just another pumpkin pie scent. It's very rich and creamy, with almost a caramel or butterscotch note. I don't smell honey or chai or tea at all, although the sweet rich caramely scent might be the honey. The creamy notes are probably the vanilla and milk.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Pumpkin Pecan Waffles

Notes: Maple syrup, golden waffles, pumpkin spice, brown sugar

This smells a lot like Mainstays Pecan Pumpkin Cake, a super rich nutty maple caramel scent. Although this scent has a bit of an almond note, and it's very slightly sweeter. It might also be a dupe for Bath & Body Works Pumpkin Pecan Waffles (although I've never smelled that one). Looking at the scent notes, I'm surprised I don't see some kind of nutty note. And I don't detect pumpkin spice, which is good. Fantastic scent!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Pumpkin Spice

Notes: Butternut squash, pumpkin puree, cinnamon, clove and vanilla

This is not a typical pumpkin spice type scent, which is good. It's a nice caramel pumpkin scent, and it's not salty like a lot of pumpkin scents can be. And I don't smell a lot of spice.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Rocky Mountain Christmas

Notes: Balsam, fir, evergreen, cedar, berries and a hint of the forest.

I smell pine but there's another strong note in there that I can't identify that makes this scent a little sour or salty or smoky or even savory, something I can't figure out. It's a different type of pine scent, not bad, just different, and I like it. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell berries at all, and this is not a sweet scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Spiced Cranberry

Notes: Fresh, tart cranberry with yummy spice notes

Sweet but lightly tart cranberry, with a pine note. When melted, I smell the pine just a little bit more, but it's a nice combination of the pine and the fruity note. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell any spice, like cinnamon. I'm surprised I don't see pine or balsam in the scent notes.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Thankful

Notes: Sparkling citrus, cinnamon powder and macintosh apple with notes of blush rose, clove buds and crushed greens on a base of raspberry jam, scarlet peach and sugared vanilla.

This smells like apple cider made with sour brown apples that have fallen to the ground, but not in a bad way. Or apple cider and fallen brown leaves. It's sweet and a little sour with a little bit of cloves and cinnamon. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell rose, raspberry, peach or vanilla. I'm surprised I don't see any woodsy or sour notes, but maybe that's the crushed greens.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Winter Candy Apple

Notes: A fun, festive blend of red apple, winter rose petals, and candied orange

I smell a very sweet candy type apple scent with a perfume note, like maybe a Pink Sugar mixed in. Looking at the scent notes, ah, the perfume note is the rose. Yep, now I smell the rose. I don't smell orange, but the "candied" part of the orange note is probably the sweet candy note of the apple that I smell. When melted, I also detect a hint of light wood that tempers some of the sweetness of this scent. I really like this scent!

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Yuletide

Notes: The aroma of bayberries and apples with a base note of fresh pine needles and thyme, with a top note of freshly ground cinnamon bark and mulberry.

I smell sweet cranberry with a hint of tartness, apple, orange, and a hint of pine, and maybe a smidgen of cinnamon. It's a nice refreshing winter scent. Looking at the scent notes, there's no cranberry or orange, so it's probably the combination of bayberries and apples I smell.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube. 

Thursday, November 30, 2017

Small Flame Candle Company Wax Melts Reviews

Small Flame Candle Company Wax Melts Reviews

Small Flame Candle Company Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


Small Flame Candle Company is a small company in Ohio that that makes candles and wax melts using high quality soy wax and phthalate free fragrance oils. A small amount of paraffin is added to the soy wax to provide better stability and consistency.

Small Flame Candle Company's website is https://www.smallflameco.com, and they can also be found on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/smallflameco.



Amaretto

Notes: Cherry, cinnamon, chocolate, maple and vanilla with a strong coffee base

A yummy sweet almond scent with a cherry note and maybe a little bit of rich vanilla. It smells like marzipan candy filling. I don't smell coffee or chocolate.

Throw: Poor, 1 or 1.5 out of 5



Black Raspberry Vanilla

Notes: Blackberries and vanilla with sandalwood

A nice rich blackberry/raspberry scent with a hint of a warm perfume note, similar to Scentsy Luna or ScentSationals Blackberry Cider. It's not truly a fruity scent but also not a perfumey scent, more like a rich luxurious blackberry or raspberry scented body lotion. Very nice! Melted, there was a little bit of a tartness that I didn't like, but it's still a very nice scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Blueberry Muffin

Notes: Top notes of blueberries with vanilla, middle notes of cinnamon nutmeg and brown sugar, and a base of fresh baked bread

A very nice but fake blueberry muffin scent. The blueberry is not very strong when melted, and it has more of a sweet vanilla type note, but still quite nice.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 or 3 out of 5



Butterfly Garden

Notes: Top notes of summer dandelion, refreshing verbena, and soft heliotrope; middle notes of spring meadows, lily of the valley, and weeping willow; base notes of sweet pea blossoms and Kentucky blue grass.

This smells like green grass with a hint of floral, just a little sweet but not flowery sweet. It has a bit of bitterness that I don't care for.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Chocolate Cake

Notes: Chocolate with brown sugar, caramel, and pecans

This is a very nice chocolate scent. It doesn't have that stinky burnt note that some chocolate scents have. It really smells like chocolate cake! I don't smell nuts though.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



Chocolate Covered Cherries

Notes: Sweet maraschino cherries smothered in milk chocolate, with a base of French vanilla

A perfect combination of chocolate and maraschino cherries. This smells like the toppings of an ice cream sundae, or a cherry filled chocolate bar. Decadent and super yummy! But the scent dissipated in under an hour.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Christmas Tree

Notes: Top notes of pine and lime, middle notes of cardamom and pepper, base notes of Scotch pine

This is a fake pine scent but not in a bad way. There may also be a hint of something else in the background, like cranberry. Looking at the notes, the cranberry is probably the lime.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Fresh Brewed Coffee

Notes: Strong black fresh brewed Arabica coffee beans

A nice coffee scent with a bit of a milky note. It's not a burnt bitter black coffee, or a sweet coffee, or really even an authentic coffee scent. But it's quite nice.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Fresh Roses

Notes: Top: Fruity Apple Peel, Green Leaf, Citrus; Mid: Red Rose, Geranium; Base: Soft Powder, Musk

A fake rose scent with a soapy, slightly bitter note. It's a nice scent, but I'm not a fan of the bitterness.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Green Apple

Notes: ?

A nice sweet apple candy scent with a smidgen of a marshmallowy and/or slightly caramel note.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 or 3 out of 5



Harvest

Notes: Cinnamon, cloves and musk with a hint of sweet apples and pumpkin

I smell cinnamon, cloves, a little bit of apple, and maybe a smidgen of nutmeg. Looking at the notes, they're spot on. A nice fall scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Apple Cider

Notes: A blend of spices, sweet caramelized apples, cinnamon sticks, and the apple peel for a kick

A fantastic sweet apple scent with a little cinnamon and caramel. It's not an apple cider scent, and it's not an authentic apple scent either, but it smells great!

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Japanese Cherry Blossom

Notes: Pink Japanese cherry blossoms and fragrant mimosa flower petals, with warm base notes of vanilla, Tonka bean, and oriental woods.

This smells like a tea rose scent to me, rather than cherry blossom, like a tea rose scented soap with just a hint of bitterness to make it smell a bit more authentic. Nice!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Lavender

Notes: A wonderful aroma of true lavender flowers

This smells like a lovely sweet old-fashioned lavender scented soap. I really like this one!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house!



Lemon Ginger Cookie

Notes: A blast of citrus enveloped in a ginger base, with hints of bergamot and Italian lemon

I smell both the lemon and the ginger note, and maybe a hint of vanilla. It has just a bit of a yummy cookie note, it's not overly sweet, and it also has a little bit of a fresh almost kitchen lemon note, or even a hint of lime. Looking at the notes, bergamot is probably the fresh note, as that's a base for many cologne scents (although this is not a cologne type scent at all). It's an unusual scent, and I really like it!

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Monkey Farts

Notes: Top notes of bananas and grapefruit; middle notes of kiwi, bubblegum, and strawberries; and a hint of vanilla as a base note

This is a very fake banana scent, like dollar store banana flavored candy, but it also has a slight perfumey note. I actually really like it!

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Mountain Fresh

Notes: Top notes of herbaceous green ivy, Brazilian orange, and Italian lemon; middle notes of Damascenia rose, ylang ylang, and violet; base notes of patchouli, cedarwood, musk, and vanilla.

I adore this scent! It smells just like a fresh very slightly herbal bar soap (like maybe an Irish Spring or Gain type fabric softener) being used in a steamy hot shower or relaxing bubble bath. It's not just the soap scent, but that lingering hot soapy scent you smell after the shower or bath. It's a nice clean, fresh scent without being harsh or smelling like a "cleaner". It's absolutely fantastic, and it's like it was made just for using in the bathroom. And the scent lasted all day.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house!



North Pole

Notes: Sweet peppermint sticks with a creamy, rich vanilla foundation

I love this scent! It's a sweet sugary candy cane scent with a strong peppermint note and a little bit of vanilla.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Peanut Butter Cookie

Notes: Rich, buttery, freshly baked peanut butter cookies

This really smells like a peanut butter cookie, or peanut butter fudge. It's not overly sweet either. Yummy!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Pumpkin Crunch Cake

Notes: The aroma of creamy pumpkin pie filling surrounded by freshly baked yellow cake, melted butter, pecans, and hints of spice

This is a pumpkin pie scent with a rich buttery note, maybe a hint of nut, and a smidgen of vanilla. Looking at the scent notes, they're spot on. When melted, this almost has a bit of a peanutty note and smells more like pumpkin peanut brittle.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



S'Mores

Notes: Top notes of graham cracker followed by a sweet sugary vanilla and finished off with dark chocolate

This smells like a rich chocolate chip croissant. It doesn't smell like s'mores, as there's no marshmallow or graham cracker notes. But it still smells yummy!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Strawberry

Notes: Strawberries

This is a yummy sweet strawberries and cream candy scent. It's not an authentic strawberry scent, but that's okay because it smells great.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 or 3 out of 5



Trick or Treat

Notes: Sticky caramel, sweet vanilla, and candy corn

A nice sweet corn type scent, like corn muffins maybe, with a hint of caramel. Looking at the scent notes, I figured they were going for a candy corn scent, and although this is a nice scent, it's definitely not candy corn.

Throw: Faint, 2.5 out of 5



I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Sunday, November 26, 2017

Gingerbread Scented Wax Melts Review

Gingerbread Scented Wax Melts Review

Gingerbread Scented Wax Melts

This is a review and comparison of 8 gingerbread scented store-bought wax melts. This review is exclusive to our Facebook Group members and can be found at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail/permalink/1446756525442172/. If you're not a group member, you'll be asked to request to join the group before you can read the review. Enjoy!!!

Thursday, November 16, 2017

Big Lots Rustic Cottage Wax Melts Reviews - Winter 2017

Big Lots Rustic Cottage Wax Melts Reviews - Winter 2017

Big Lots Rustic Cottage Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


This is the first hard wax that I've found at Big Lots. Living Colors brand wax is always soft and messy, so these scents might not be the Living Colors brand. I suspect that they might have been made by ScentSationals, because the scents are dupes of older ScentSationals wax melt scents.

Enchanted Balsam
A spruce scent with a slightly smoky note and just a little bit of that biting pine note. On cold sniff it smells like every other pine scent out there, but when melted, it had a little bit of an electrical burning note. In fact, my roommate and I were looking for the source when we realized it was this scent.
Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5

Festive Cinnamon
A straight cinnamon scent, like Red Hot cinnamon candies, but also has a little bit of a Cinnabon cinnamon roll note.
Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5

Golden Butterscotch
A fake butterscotch scent, but not really in a bad way. It's a dupe of an old discontinued ScentSational or Better Homes & Gardens scent, but I don't remember the name. It's not Better Homes & Gardens Butterscotch Maple Cream, as that scent is sweeter than this one, and with the hint of maple. Does anyone know what scent this is a dupe of?
Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5

Peppermint Bark
This is a fantastic chocolate peppermint scent. It smells similar to the old discontinued Better Homes & Gardens Chocolate Peppermint Truffle scent. Now that it's melting, I think it might indeed be the same scent! Now I have to wonder if ScentSationals (which makes Better Homes & Gardens melts) made these melts for Big Lots.
Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

Candle Warmers Wax Melts Reviews

Candle Warmers Wax Melts Reviews

Candle Warmers Wax Melts
Click to enlarge
Video:


I bought these Candle Warmers Etc. scented wax melts from the At Home store. The wax is very hard and was stuck to the inside of the package, so it was extremely difficult and frustrating to get the wax out without breaking the flimsy plastic. Since the wax is already very hard, putting it in the freezer made it worse. I almost gave up on this review!

I did another Candle Warmers wax melts review in January 2016, which can be seen at http://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2016/01/candle-warmers-etc-scented-wax-melts-review.html. I don't recall the wax being as hard or difficult to get out of the package as these were.



After the Rain

Notes: Calm, clean freshness after a storm; notes of white woods, floral citrus, and musk

A nice fresh watery green scent with a little bit of an herbal note.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



Blackberry Cobbler

Notes: Wild blackberries and ripe blueberries in a sweet buttery crust

A yummy blueberry bakery scent that I've smelled many times before. There's also a hint of zing from the blackberry note.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house!



Cozy Cashmere

Notes: Warm blend of cashmere, plum blossoms, and soft amber

This smells almost exactly like Better Homes & Gardens Soft Cashmere Amber, a beautiful warm rich cashmere/amber sweet musky scent, one of my favorites. It's a little perfumey, but more like an expensive skin cream.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Eucalyptus Spearmint

Notes: Relaxing eucalyptus paired with fresh spearmint

Fantastic fresh mint scent with a hint of eucalyptus. It's not a toothpastey spearmint at all, but more like garden mint with just a smidgen of sweetness, plus the slightly savory eucalyptus. It's almost a spa type scent, and it has that sinus clearing effect if you put your nose close to it. Melted, it smells like savory salad mint, in a good way.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Freesia Blossom

Notes: Fresh freesia with hints of lime, lily and sweet amber

This smells like a fresh air oceany scent with a hint of floral and a smidgen of saltiness, and a soapy note. It's nice and not overly sweet. Perfect for a bathroom.

Throw: Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5



Lavender Vanilla

Notes: Fresh-picked lavender, soft woodland herbs, sparkling white musks, and creamy vanilla

This smells like lavender, but there's a smidgen of something else that gives it a richness, probably the vanilla. It's not a sweet, medicinal, or herbal lavender, but just right.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Lemon Sugar

Notes: Fresh lemon, coarse white sugar, and soft cashmere wood

A sweet lemony scent. It's kind of a lemonade scent with a hint of saltiness which adds richness, but it's also very sweet. It has a little bit of a soapy sour note on cold sniff, but not when melted. It also has a smidgen of a sweet perfumey scent, and looking at the scent notes, that's probably the cashmere wood.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Ocean Tide

Notes: Tranquil water, warm sand, and tropical flowers

This is a sweet watery scent but it has that strong weird bitter chemical note that both At Home Blushing Petals and At Home Clean Linen have. It really detracts from the scent, because that's all I can smell.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Roasted Espresso

Notes: Freshly brewed espresso with highlights of creamy vanilla and caramel.

A fake but interesting coffee scent that smells more like that instant coffee made with chicory. It has a hint of a nutty quality. It's not sweet, but it also doesn't have that strong burnt or bitter note that a lot of coffee scents have. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell vanilla or caramel at all.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Summer Mango

Notes: Juicy mango ripened in the summer sun, paired with bergamot and lemon zest

This smells like orange with a smidgen of a tropical note. I really like it!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house!



Watermelon Lemonade

Notes: Tart lemonade infused with juicy watermelon and fresh spearmint

This smells fantastic, and just like the scent name. It's a perfect combination of zesty lemonade and sweet watermelon, and there may be just a smidgen of tea. The scent was strong for about 2 hours then started fading. Looking at the scent notes, I think the tea note is actually the spearmint, although I don't smell mint at all.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



White Peony

Notes: Fragrant peony with hints of jasmine, fig, and vanilla

A delicate floral with a slight baby powder note, and a hint of a warm almost ambery note. Maybe also a smidgen of vanilla, and hint of a classy slightly fruity note like fig or currant. Looking at the scent notes, they're spot on. It's a pleasant scent, and I like it although it's weak on cold sniff. Nice for a bedroom or a baby's room. Melted, I definitely smell the fruity fig note which smells like a warm rich slightly blackberry note, a little bit like Scentsy Luna.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.