Monday, November 19, 2018

Mainstays Wax Melts Reviews - Winter/Holiday 2018

Mainstays Wax Melts Reviews - Winter/Holiday 2018

Mainstays Wax Melts - Winter Holiday 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


I don't know the scent notes on any of these new Mainstays Winter 2018 scents yet, but as soon as they appear on the Walmart website (if they do), I'll add them to this review.



Country Holiday
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Mainstays-Country-Holiday-Wax-Melts/366525060

On cold sniff I wasn't sure about this one because it has a slightly bitter "off" note, but I don't smell that at all when melted, and it smells great! It's a sweet vanilla buttercream with a hint of marshmallow (but it's not a bakery scent), with a warm rich amber or mahogany, and possibly bergamot that gives it a hint of a cologne note (although it's not really a cologne scent). I love it!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Moonlit Spruce
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Mainstays-Moonlit-Spruce-Wax-Melts/385499826

This is a nice cologne scent that has just a smidgen of sweetness, unlike most cologne scents that tend to be quite sweet and even perfumey. It has a "dark" note that might be oud (a resinous tree sappy wood scent that sounds awful but smells incredible), and possibly a smidgen of leather. It also has a bland soapy note like Ivory soap (in a good way). I know that based on the scent name, there should be spruce or pine in this scent, but if it's in there, it's very subtle and barely noticeable. This scent is very similar to ScentSationals Black Tux, and a bit like Village Candle Black Bamboo. I really like it, and the scent lasted all day, 12 hours, and probably would have gone longer if I hadn't turned off my warmer at night.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Very Berry Garland
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Mainstays-Very-Berry-Garland-Wax-Melts/520547826

This is very nice, and very rich (almost nauseatingly so)! It smells like salty caramel buttered popcorn with an apple note. The scent lasted around 2.5 hours for me.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Also returning this year from previous years is Cinnamon (a sweet red hot cinnamon candy scent with strong throw) and Evergreen Spruce (a pine scent with a little bit of a biting note and smidgen of smokiness, with strong throw).



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Friday, November 16, 2018

Bridgewater Candle Wax Melts Reviews

Bridgewater Candle Wax Melts Reviews

Bridgewater Candle Wax Melts

Bridgewater Candle Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video



This is a review of all 30 current Bridgewater Candle Company wax melt scents (these scents are also available in their candles, sachets and other products.

Bridgewater Candle Company is a family-owned, U.S. based company that has their own in-house fragrance lab, compounding, and manufacturing facility. Unlike other companies that buy their fragrances from outside suppliers, Bridgewater has their own perfumers on staff who formulate and blend ingredients together to create unique fragrances that are only available through Bridgewater Candle Company. Their products are made with a proprietary soy blend. And Bridgewater Candle donates to Ricebowls.org, a non-profit organization that provides food for orphans around the world.

Bridgewater Candle products are sold at many small stores throughout the U.S., but can also be purchased from their website at https://bridgewatercandles.com. They're also on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/BridgewaterCandles.

The wax melts are $6 each for 2.6 oz, which is a bit pricey, but they're good quality melts with scents that you won't find anywhere else.

Bridgewater Candle Company is offering a special EXCLUSIVE DISCOUNT to our Facebook group members until November 26. They are also having some upcoming sales. Join our group and get the details at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail!



Afternoon Retreat

Description: Sink back into a bed of soft moss with teak, sandalwood and amber as a light breeze of fresh bergamot and lime sweeps the air.

I love this scent! It smells like men's cologne with a slight patchouli note. Looking at the notes, I don't smell lime at all.

Throw: Faint, 2.5 out of 5



Aloha Summer

Description: A succulent medley of pineapple, black currant, and peach greet with a kiss of cheer, while a flowering of jasmine, magnolia and water lily warbles cordial sentiments. Creamy vanilla blanketed in coconut shavings make the sweetest lasting impression.

It's a super sweet peach scent with a pineapple nectar note (if there were such a thing) with hints of coconut and maybe a smidgen of floral, plum, and vanilla. I'm not a fan of peach or pineapple scents, but I love this scent!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Blue Door

Description: Pulling up to the house with the blue door, layers of mandarin and cedarwood filling the air.

This smells like men's cologne with a little bit of a sweet woodsy note, although it's not really a sweet scent. On cold sniff I thought I smelled cinnamon, but I don't smell that when melted. And when melted, I think I detect a hint of lavender along with that slightly sweet woodsiness. Looking at the notes, I think I do detect a bit of cedar, and that might be what I think is the combination of lavender and sweet woods. I don't smell mandarin (orange) at all, although I think there's a barely detectable smidgen of lemon way in the background that could be the mandarin. It's a pleasant scent, although similar to a lot of other men's cologne type scents I have.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Christmas Bliss

Description: Embrace the Christmas spirit with warm vanilla, nutmeg, and cinnamon.

This smells like sweet cinnamon candy with a smidgen of bergamot that gives it a tiny bit of a cologney note. Melted, it smells more like straight cinnamon and very little of the cologne note. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell nutmeg, and I'm surprised I don't see amber or bergamot. It sounds similar to the Blue Door scent, but it's really not. Christmas Bliss is sweet cinnamon candy with a smidgen of cologne, while Blue Door is mostly a cologne scent with a hint of woodsy cinnamon and not nearly as sweet.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Cozy Moments

Description: Melt into soft surroundings of pure bliss as calming gingergrass and spicy nutmeg settle into a cradle of cinnamon leaf and clove. Creamy layers of honeyed caramel and maple sweetly bind the fragrance in snuggly warmth.

This smells like a cinnamon roll with ginger and a hint of a green tea note. It sounds like an odd combination, but it works.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Cup of Cheer

Description: Frothy and warm, this blend of nutmeg, cinnamon, ginger and vanilla will surely warm the soul.

This is light on cold sniff so I can't figure out what I'm smelling. I expected it to be a coffee scent based on the name, and I think it is, but it's a mostly milky latte with a barely detectable cinnamon, and a rich whipped cream or marshmallow or creme fraiche note. I think there might be a tiny bit of coffee in this, but if so, it's barely noticeable. It's different, and I like it. Looking at the notes, no coffee. I don't smell ginger at all. Melted, I'm surprised at how much I like this scent; it's really different and smells fantastic!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Free Spirit

Description: Fresh and crisp with notes of lavender and amber highlighted with marine notes.

A men's cologne or body wash scent with a little bit of lavender and a slightly soapy note. It's quite pleasant, although similar to other men's cologne scents I have.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Gathering

Description: Radiating with golden warmth and sprightly spice, Gathering ushers the olfactory sense to fond inner circles of comfy familiarity. Crystalized Bosc pear bids an amicable welcome followed by delectable encounters of cinnamon and clove. Gourmand garnishes of rich baked vanilla seal the fragrance in an unforgettable sweetness that leave the senses in a state of pure satisfaction.

I like this scent and I've smelled it before but I can't place it. It's very unusual and I'm not sure of the notes. I think I smell a tart, harsh apple with sweet aromatic incensey spices and a tiny bit of a perfumey note, as well as a smidgen of cinnamon. It's almost tart to the point of having a slightly lemony note, but it's not lemon at all, and although it's tart and harsh, it's actually quite sweet. Very hard to explain. This scent is much more complex than the notes suggest, and it's not truly a bakery scent. It smells like ScentSationals Turkish Spice Market mixed with a tart biting apple note. Looking at the notes, the apple I'm smelling is actually pear.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Hayride

Description: Pile in an open air wagon lined with golden hay bales, and set off down a bumpy dirt road colored with fiery autumn foliage and rows of plump pumpkins. Recalling memorable afternoons on the farm, Hayride bundles notes of crisp apple and pumpkin with spicy cinnamon, clove and creamy vanilla. Newly mown hay and powdery-sweet tonka close the fragrance in classic autumnal brilliance.

An apple cider scent with a little bit of mulled spices. It's a nice authentic scent.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Kiss in the Rain

Description: Captures that undeniably magical moment of getting lost in one another as sparks fly from a dreamy embrace. A passionate mist of black currant, raspberry and strawberry dispels into a floral enmeshment of soft rose and violet. Gently knit together with a base of vanilla woods, amber and musk, the chemistry in this fragrant experience is unforgettable.

I think I smell plum and raspberry, but it's really not a fruity scent, more of a perfumey scent. I think I also smell a warm amber note, bergamot, and rose. But it also has an interesting "warm milk" note in the background that makes this scent very unique. I love it!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Lavender Lane

Description: Meander through refreshing lavender fields.

It's lavender, and I love lavender. On cold sniff it was a bit medicinal with a smidgen of eucalyptus, but I liked it better when melted (a little soapy and very slightly sweet).

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Let's Celebrate

Description: Raise a glass and make a toast to a fragrance that embodies all things exuberant, bubbly and revel-worthy. Glittery bursts of succulent strawberry and mandarin fizz into a flowery trio of mimosa, honeysuckle and gardenia, while an infusion of buttery vanilla rum, sandalwood and musk exalt the senses into a holding pattern of pure jubilation.

On cold sniff this is a rich warm ambery men's cologne scent with a hint of honeysuckle I think, and possibly a hint of vanilla, and maybe a barely detectable smidgen of some kind of fruit like strawberry. I really like it. But when melted, I definitely smell orange (mandarin) which I don't really smell on cold sniff, and the cologney note is not nearly as strong.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Lily of the Valley

Description: Embrace this classic floral, simple & pure.

A nice combination of orange flower and jasmine with a little bit of a soapy note. It's not really an authentic lily of the valley floral scent, and it's not overly sweet or perfumey, but it smells great.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Open Road

Description: Floral bouquet wrapped with fresh cucumber and softened with sandalwood

I can't figure out what I'm smelling, but it's nice. It smells a bit like body wash with floral notes and maybe a smidgen of apple and vanilla. Looking at the notes, I don't smell cucumber or sandalwood; I really do smell a fruit note.

Throw: Faint, 2.5 out of 5



Orange Vanilla

Description: Reminisce the summer days of frozen orange perfection with creamy smooth vanilla.

A yummy orange creamsicle scent that smells like a fake powdered orange drink mix (but not Tang, as it's not tangy at all) mixed with sweet vanilla. It's more artificial than many similar scents I've smelled, but I still really like it.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Pomegranate

Description: Juicy tartness bursting with sweet pomegranate

I don't know what pomegranate actually smells like, but this smells like sweet rich strawberry with a little bit of a creamy note, like maybe strawberry candy. It's not an authentic fruit scent, but that's okay because it smells great. Looking at the description, no, this scent is not tart, or if it is it's very subtle.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Remember When

Description: A dash of cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg create a recipe handed down with love.

This is pure cinnamon, and I mean like the real thing, an authentic powdered cinnamon scent. It's not a fake "Red Hot" or "Big Red" cinnamon scent. I also smell powdered sugar in the background, so it smells like a cinnamon roll, but without that bready bakery note. I'm not a fan of cinnamon scents, but this one is quite nice. Looking at the notes, I don't smell ginger or nutmeg

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Soar

Description: Sparkling grapefruit, sugared orange, sweetened lemon, and tangy lime satiate the air and awaken the sensorial experience. Refreshing and gratifying at its core, Soar's sweet raspberry and tropical hibiscus scents permeate throughout. Pure, natural amber and heady musk culminate the olfactory odyssey encouraging reminiscences and a keenness and aspiration of next endeavor.

I smell mostly orange, with a little bit of raspberry, and maybe a smidgen of floral. I really like this!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Spring Dress

Description: Stroll through the garden in a spring dress of feminine blossoms of peony, magnolia, sparkling citrus and warmed with mahogany.

A lovely perfume scent with lilies, the warmth of amber, a hint of patchouli, and possibly a smidgen of barely detectable wood in the background. Looking at the notes, I don't smell citrus.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Storybrook Dreams

Description: Magnifying treasured time spent stealing snuggles from loved ones cradled in the warmth, comfort and security of an unwavering bond, Storybook Dreams is a calming reminder to retreat to that safe haven. Fluffy layers of warm linen collapse on a soothing sea of undulating lavender and herbal tea, gradually surrendering to the cozy familiarities of sandalwood and vanilla.

I've smelled this scent several times before. I think it's similar to Chesapeake Bay's Snuggly Sweater, which a lot of people like. It's not one of my favorites, and I can't figure out the notes. It's a little bit of a laundry scent and I think I also detect a little bit of tea. But there's an odd "off" note that I can't figure out, maybe a little sour or bitter or mildewy. I don't like that note in scents by other manufacturers that smell like this one either. But I'm very sensitive to bitterness in scents, so I think most people will like this scent.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Sweet Grace

Description: Illuminate the preciousness of life and effortless beauty of passionate fruits radiating with sparkling tea and classic patchouli

This smells just like Angel perfume (there's a picture of angel wings on the label). I just can't figure out the individual notes. Maybe apricot, amber for warmth, and possibly a smidgen of patchouli. Looking at the notes, yes I do smell the tea; in fact, that might be the note that I think is apricot. This is a popular Bridgewater Candle Company scent, and I can see why. It's fantastic!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Sweet Magnolia

Description: Embrace the hospitality of the southern sweetness of a blooming magnolia.

Oops, for some reason this is the one scent I didn't receive!



Sweet Summer Tea

Description: Refresh yourself with chilled tea mingled with strawberries, lemons, and a kiss of lily blossoms.

This is a fantastic scent! It smells like a combination of lemon iced tea and sweet rich strawberry preserves, with possibly a smidgen of a floral in the background.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Tea Party

Description: Fruity and mellifluous beginnings of mandarin, peach and apricot sift through dreamy puffs of peony and rose. Dribbling juices from ripened red berries surrender to a fountain of white musk capping this lovely blend in darling delicacy.

This is not really a tea scent, although I think I do detect a hint of tea in it. It's a perfumey floral (jasmine maybe?) with a hint of peach I think. It's quite nice.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Tickled Pink

Description: Linden blossom and violet leaf sweetened with berries

I thought this was a Pink Sugar type scent based on the name, but it's not. It's quite girly though. It's a very sweet spring-like floral with jasmine or honeysuckle, and a hint of fruit in the background (strawberry and maybe apple). Very nice.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Tree Trek

Description: A trek for the perfect fir tree begins in the crisp wintry woods amidst fresh mountain air.

A rich, warm spruce scent. It's not a biting pine type scent. Very nice.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Vanilla Cream

Description: Rich, vanilla butter-cream frosting - so good to eat.

Unlike a lot of vanilla scents, this one is quite strong on cold sniff. And it smells just like the scent name, a rich vanilla buttercream.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Wanderlust

Description: Fabricated with an airy and nomadic feel, the fragrance layers windblown marigold, and velvety apricot over dancing orange flower. A trail of buttery caramel, smooth vanilla, and earthy sandalwood sweetly beckon through the unruly breeze.

This is my kind of scent. I smell Nag Champa, orange blossom, warm amber, bergamot, and something rich and slightly foodie in the background like vanilla or caramel. Looking at the notes, no Nag Champa! I don't smell apricot at all. I love this scent!!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Weekend Getaway

Description: Adventure calls and the great outdoors await to lure the senses on an open air escape. Herbal bay leaf and freshly-harvested pine deliver an uplifting opener of earthy splendor, while intriguing trails of spicy clove bud and Siberian Fir root the fragrance in woodsy wonder.

This smells like sitting in front of a campfire by a log cabin in the middle of the forest on a cold winter night as it starts to snow. It's a little smoky but not like a burning wood kind of smoky, with a little bit of clove and possibly a smidgen of eucalyptus and pine. A nice cozy winter scent! It's similar to the old Better Homes & Gardens scents Winter's Sleigh Ride and Winter Ski Resort.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Welcome Home

Description: Welcome home to family with cinnamon notes mingled with plum and apple accords.

This is cinnamon with a smidgen of apple and berries in the background. It's not really a cinnamon apple scent because the main note is strong cinnamon, and there's that red berry note in the background. It's quite sweet, so it has a little bit of a candy note, or maybe sweet vanilla, or maybe even a smidgen of floral.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



White Cotton

Description: Dance through the sunshine filled crisp linen sheets.

A nice sweet fabric softener scent. It might have a barely detectable smidgen of oriental spices in it.

Throw: Faint, 2.5 out of 5




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Glade Wax Melts Reviews - Winter/Holiday 2018

Glade Wax Melts Reviews - Winter/Holiday 2018

Glade Wax Melts - Winter/Holiday 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


I've been finding these winter scents in candle form at many stores, but Target is the only store where I found the wax melts.



Dancing Flowers

Notes: Jasmine and lily of the valley with sparkling pear and fresh greens upon light, white woods

I was only able to find this scent in the candle, so I scooped out the wax to use in the warmer. It's a super sweet perfumey scent with a hint of baby powder I think. I don't smell pear, greens, or wood. I really like it and wish I could find it in a wax melt. Generally the melts throw better than the candles.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Enchanted Evergreens

Notes: Pine needles with a touch of festive spices and notes of cinnamon bark and nutmeg

This is one of the best pine/spruce scents I've ever smelled, and it's super strong on cold sniff. It's rich and a little smoky and woodsy, and even slightly salty. I don't smell any spices though. This is the same pine scent that Glade comes out with every year, but with a different name. And every year I fall for it because it smells so good on cold sniff, only to be disappointed that the strong cold sniff scent doesn't translate to a strong throw.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Nutcracker Delight

Notes: Roasted hazelnuts and sweet pralines, dusted with creamy vanilla bean upon dollops of almond butter

I love this scent! It's super sweet and caramely with a hint of nuts, and the nutty note is indeed hazelnuts (the same type of nut in that yummy spread called Nutella), and maybe a smidgen of almond. The scent notes and my description don't do it justice. It's fantastic.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Sugarplum Fantasies

Notes: Dark plums and tart blackberries with violet and vanilla sugar

I didn't buy this one (and it was only available in the candle). It was very weak on cold sniff and what I was able to smell was just a generic slightly tart berry scent.



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Goose Creek Candle Wax Melts Reviews - Winter/Holiday 2018

Goose Creek Candle Wax Melts Reviews - Winter/Holiday 2018

Goose Creek Candle Wax Melts - Winter/Holiday 2018
Click to enlarge

These are the new Goose Creek Candles holiday wax melts scents for Winter 2018. Goose Creek Candle's website is https://goosecreekcandle.com. They're also on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/goosecreekcandle, as well as Instagram. I really like Goose Creek wax melts! The scents are high quality and the throw tends to be quite strong. Highly recommended!

No video for this review. YouTube keeps displaying it flipped upside down even though I took the video right side up! Trying to figure out what to do....




Dazzling Popcorn

Description: A delicious, dazzling treat. Buttery goodness fills the air!

Notes:
Top: Dazzling Popcorn, Buttery Vanilla
Mid: Vanilla Spice, Gourmand Notes
Base: Caramel, Soft Coconut, Apple

This smells a lot like the Spiced Caramel Corn side of Better Homes & Gardens At the Fair duo, and a lot like ScentSationals Pumpkin Apple Muffins, but it's not the exact same scent. This scent is slightly sweeter than the BHG scent (although it's really not a sweet scent). And like that scent, this is a salty popcorn scent with just a hint of caramel and maybe a barely detectable smidgen of apple. Looking at the notes, I don't smell coconut at all.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Frozen in Time

Description: Time is frozen as you explore a winter wonderland. Happy memories from your childhood live again.

Notes:
Top: Vanilla Peppermint
Mid: Frosted Grapefruit, Fruity Citrus Blend
Base: Frozen Snowdrops, Cashmere Woods
A fantastic minty/eucalyptus type scent with a hint of a smoky note (but it's not actually a "smoky" or woodsy scent). I don't detect any grapefruit or citrus. It's very similar to the beloved but discontinued Goose Creek Vanilla Wonderland, but with a little less sweetness and slightly more smoky mint. It's also very similar to the new ScentSationals Iridescent, but comparing them side by side... I just realized that Vanilla Wonderland and Iridescent smell almost exactly alike.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Gingerbread Lane

Description: It's Christmas Eve and the North Pole is loading up Santa's sleigh. Gingerbread Lane prepares for Santa's departure.

Notes:
Top: Gingerbread Crackers, Vanilla Icing
Mid: Cinnamon, Nutmeg, Clove
Base: Light Coconut, Vanilla, Warm Sugar

This smells like a combination of apples, berries, and gingerbread. Like warm freshly baked gingerbread with a rich compote of sweet apples and red berries on top. It smells a bit like Better Homes & Gardens Farm Apple Pumpkin and Mainstays Apple Pumpkin, but with the gingerbread note. Fantastic scent! Looking at the notes, I can't believe I don't see any fruit, because apple is the main note I'm smelling.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Marshmallow Fudge

Description: It's Christmas morning! Enjoy a delightful frothy hot cocoa with fluffy marshmallows on top.

Notes:
Top: Fluffy Marshmallows, Chocolate Fudge
Mid: Powdered Sugar, Vanilla Bean
Base: Chocolate Cream, Salted Butter

This smells like milk chocolate Cadbury cream eggs more than hot cocoa, with that super sweet rich marshmallow filling. It smells so yummy, I want to take a bite out of the wax!

Of course since this scent and Better Homes & Gardens Creamy Marshmallow Cocoa are coming out around the same time, I have to provide a comparison. The BHG scent is an authentic hot cocoa scent. It's a richer, fudgy, almost buttery cocoa (rather than just chocolate), with a sweet marshmallow note, and it's not as sweet as the Goose Creek scent. Neither chocolate scent has that bitter, burnt note that a lot of chocolate scents tend to have. I can't say one is better than the other, as they both smell fantastic to me; they're just different types of chocolate. Melted, however, I think I like the Goose Creek version better because it's sweeter.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Peppermint Whip

Description: Crushed peppermint blends in harmony with deliciously sweet vanilla whipped cream.

Notes:
Top: Sparkling Peppermint, Frozen Vanilla
Mid: Candy Cane Swirl, Candied Sugar
Base: Whipped Cream, Snowflakes

A fantastic peppermint scent with creamy vanilla. It's different from their Peppermint scent (which was much more pepperminty and smelled like peppermint hard candies) and Peppermint Snowflake (which was also a little more pepperminty but also had a creamy milky note, whereas the Peppermint Whip doesn't have that milky note). And it's a totally different scent from Vanilla Wonderland. It's definitely pepperminty, but a little softer than other peppermint scents I've smelled.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Teakwood Merlot

Description: Barrel aged, Parisian merlot sets the mood for a truly magical evening.

Notes:
Top: Parisian Merlot, Black Wine Grapes
Mid: Wine Barrel, Cardamom, Rosemary
Base: Teakwood, Oakmoss, Mahogany

A fantastic men's cologne scent with a warm amber note, a hint of woodsiness, a smidgen of fruit (plum and grape) and maybe a tiny bit of leather. Looking at the scent notes, this scent is not as fruity as the notes suggest. I definitely smell the mahogany (which is the warm ambery wood note), but although I smell the fruit, it's not very noticeable, but it certainly enhances the scent. I really like this one!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Welcome Frosty

Description: Frosty comes to life as magical snowflakes blow through a winter wonderland.

Notes:
Top: Vanilla Marshmallow, Buttercream Vanilla
Mid: Butter Cream, Soft Peach, Gentle Spice
Base: Soft Coconut, Vanilla, Sandalwood

I can't figure out the notes on this one, but I like it. I smell a super sweet sugary vanilla with a smidgen of cinnamon and perhaps a barely detectable caramel or rum, and a smidgen of a milky note. It has a bit of a cookie vibe, but it's not completely a bakery scent. Looking at the notes, I don't smell peach or coconut, but now I do detect a smidgen of fruit and possibly coconut way in the background that I probably wouldn't have noticed if I didn't know it was in the notes. I really like this scent, and I love that not all of their holiday scents are the typical cinnamon, pine and pumpkin.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Monday, November 12, 2018

Liza Jane Candle Company Wax Melts Reviews

Liza Jane Candle Company Wax Melts Reviews

Liza Jane Candle Company Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video

Liza Jane Candle Company is a new candle and wax melt business in Waxahachie, Texas. Unlike most small wax vendors, Liza uses paraffin in her products instead of soy. I find that paraffin throws better than soy ("throw" is how far you can smell the scent in the room while it's melting).

The paraffin she uses is a special grade that intensifies the throw. When I did my first review in July (https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2018/07/liza-jane-candle-company-wax-melts-reviews.html), the wax was a bit soft and greasy like soy, and slightly sticky so that I had to use a butter knife to get a cube out of the clamshell, but that was not a problem at all. Then she switched to a harder formula to make it easier to remove from the package, but the new formula impaired the throw. So finally she adjusted the formula again and throw is as good as before.

I like most of Liza Candle Company's scents, and unlike most wax vendors, just about all of the wax melts had excellent throw! I even like her labels, which are classy and professional. Liza was wonderful to work with, professional, and an all-around nice person who provided exceptional customer service. And if all of that weren't enough, 2% of all sales goes to Parkinson's Disease Research for a cure!

Liza Jane Candle Company can be found on her website at https://www.lizajanecandleco.com, and on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/lizajanecandleco.



Angel Wings

Notes: A powdery bouquet of rose, jasmine and Hawthorne, enhanced by french vanilla, musk and sandalwood.

I love this scent! It smells like baby powder mixed with musk, a hint of jasmine, and maybe a hint of incense. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell rose or sandalwood, but maybe a smidgen of the vanilla, and I don't know what Hawthorne smells like.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Apple Harvest

Notes: Ripe apple, cinnamon, clove, nutmeg, cedar wood and orange

A nice fall scent of crisp apples combined with apple cider and a smidgen of a brown leaves note. Looking at the scent notes, I smell just a hint of cinnamon and perhaps a smidgen of clove, but no nutmeg, and definitely no orange. It's more mild, slightly sweeter, and less authentic than other apple cider type scents I've smelled, but I like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Birthday Cake

Notes: Smells just like birthday cake with buttercream frosting

I love this scent! It really does smell like yellow cake (like the rich yellow cake mix from a box, but in a good way), with notes of marshmallow and vanilla buttercream, and even a smidgen of coconut that makes it smell a little like angel food cake. Yummy! Melted, it's a rich marshmallowy vanilla buttercream scent with a little bit of a cakey note.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Butt Naked

Notes: Melons, strawberries, pears and green apples

This smells like sweet candied watermelon mixed with cherries, strawberry and vanilla, with a little bit of a tropical fruit note. I love it! Looking at the scent notes, I don't think I smell apple or pear.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Cinnamon Stick

Notes: True spicy cinnamon with just a touch of clove

It's straight cinnamon but with a little bit of a candy note and a hint of cloves for warmth

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Clean Towels

Notes: A house blend of a clean, fresh laundry (Downy April Fresh type and Beach Linen)

Fantastic scent that smells like jasmine, musk, orange blossom/neroli, and a hint of a laundry note. It smells a little bit like Cotton Blossom, but Cotton Blossom is mostly laundry with a note of musk. It's like a combination of Coppertone suntan oil and fabric softener.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5 (old was Faint, 2.5 out of 5)



Cowboy Leather

Notes: Smells like the inside of a saddle shop

Yep, it's leather, and it smells great! Also makes a great mixer... smells fantastic when mixed with pine, woodsy, patchouli or cologne scents.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the entire house!



Fallen Leaves

Notes: Top notes of cinnamon, citrus and chrysanthemum. The earthiness is enhanced by cinnamon leaf, patchouli, cedar wood, vetiver and sandalwood essential oils.

This is a typical old apple/sour brown leaves fall scent that a lot of companies carry, but with a twist. There's another note in there that I can't figure out, possibly a smidgen of cologne, and maybe a little caramel. It's still sour but also a little sweet. Looking at the notes, it's probably the patchouli and vetiver that I think are the cologne notes. I don't smell cinnamon at all, but maybe a smidgen of citrus.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Green Tea & Cucumber

Notes: A perfect blend of green teas as the high note and refreshing cucumber as the bottom note.

A super fresh clean summery scent of cucumber with a hint of zestiness that makes it smell like a salad, mixed with a little bit of sweetness from the green tea. Even though green tea is the high note, I smell mostly cucumbers and I might not realize the other note is tea if it weren't part of the scent name.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Indian Sandalwood

Notes: A warm, woodsy sensual fragrance

Sandalwood has a milky light wood note, and although I smell a little bit of that in this scent, this smells more like incense, with a slight baby powder note. It's a little perfumey, but subtle, not overly sweet. I like it.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Juicy Grapefruit

Notes: Tart, juicy and energizing! The true scent of a fresh cut grapefruit.

This is not a sweet pink grapefruit scent; it's a tart grapefruit with a lemon rind note. It's nice, but even better when mixed with Vanilla Coconut or Birthday Cake!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Lavender & Chamomile

Notes: Infused with natural essential oils including cedar wood, chamomile, lavender, eucalyptus and orange

This is a sweet fresh clean scent that smells like Fabuloso lavender scented cleaner mixed with a sweet slightly herbal slightly powdery fabric softener scent. It's fantastic! Looking at the notes, I don't smell eucalyptus or orange at all.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5 (old one was Faint, 2.5 out of 5)



Leather Jacket

Notes: Smells like a new leather jacket

It's definitely leather, with possibly a hint of smokiness. It does indeed smell like a leather jacket, or like walking into a leather store. Comparing this scent to Cowboy Leather, Cowboy Leather is a more "intense" leather scent without any other notes. If you like leather scents, grab them both and see which one you like. I think I'm leaning more towards Cowboy Leather.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Liza Jane

Notes: An intriguing blend of jasmine, honeysuckle, fresh cotton and pear. This is a dupe of Liza Jane's perfume.

I smell jasmine with a slight bitter note, possibly rose. Looking at the notes, yes I guess I do detect a smidgen of a cottony note, but I don't detect pear at all.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Ocean Breeze

Notes: Salty ozone with fresh citrus, while honeydew blends with a trace of violet in the heart of this marine fragrance

I've smelled this scent before and it smells like air freshener spray. It's a fake fresh air scent with an oceany note, but I can't figure out the specific notes because there's nothing in nature that smells like it. But that's not a bad thing, because it's a nice scent, and perfect for the bathroom. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell citrus, although this does have a very slight zesty but bitter note, possibly a barely detectable hint of grapefruit. And I think I detect a smidgen of honeydew and floral.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Pumpkin Souffle

Notes: Fresh pumpkin with notes of brown sugar, molasses and spice completing this bakery blend

A rich buttery pumpkin pie scent. Yummy! If you like pumpkin pie scents, get this one instead of the Pumpkin Pie. It smells better and the scent takes over the entire house!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Rose Petals

Notes: An authentic rose scent

This smells like a nice rose scented soap. It's not overly sweet, and has a smidgen of bitterness but not enough to be annoying. It does smell a little bit like real rose, although it does have that soapy note. I like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Strawberry

Notes: Enjoy the delicious fragrance of sun ripened strawberries

A sweet strawberry buttercream scent. It's not an authentic strawberry, but that's okay because it smells great!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Toasted Marshmallow

Notes: Marshmallows roasted over a campfire

This smells like either marshmallow with peanut butter, or a burnt marshmallow. Looking at the notes, I guess it's a burnt note, although it smells a bit like peanut butter to me. I don't smell any smokiness. It's a nice scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Vanilla Coconut

Notes: A house blend of coconut and vanilla

I love this scent! It's similar to the Birthday Cake scent, but not as vanilla cakey, and with a slight coconut buttercream note. When melted, I think there's also a hint of warm amber/cashmere that gives it just a touch of a perfumey note.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5 (both old & new)



Very Cherry

Notes: Mouthwatering juicy sweet cherries

This smells just like super cherryish cherry soda, but without the fizziness (or there may be a tiny bit of fizziness). It's not an authentic cherry scent at all, which is okay. I like it! The scent only lasted about 2 hours though.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5




I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Better Homes & Gardens (Walmart) Winter/Holiday 2018 Wax Melts Reviews

Better Homes & Gardens (Walmart) Winter/Holiday 2018 Wax Melts Reviews

Better Homes & Gardens (Walmart) Winter/Holiday 2018 Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


ScentSationals does not come out with a holiday collection at Walmart, which is why they include some winter type scents with the fall melts, like Iridescent and Mistletoe Kisses. Only Better Homes & Gardens and Mainstays come out with holiday/winter scents at Walmart.



Cookies for Santa

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Cookies-For-Santa-Scented-Wax-Melts/342900077

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Cookies-for-Santa-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/175017987

Notes: A classic gingerbread cookie, with its blend of ground cinnamon, warm nutmeg, sparkling ginger and sweet clove bud. It's precisely baked and rolled into festive cookies and dusted with powdered sugar. Decorated with vanilla icing and gum.

A fantastic rich sweet buttery vanilla cookie with ginger, like a gingerbread cookie. I'm pretty sure there's also chocolate in this one. Looking at the notes, no chocolate, which is surprising. I don't smell cinnamon or clove, and I'm not sure what the "gum" note is supposed to smell like. I'm normally not a fan of these bakery type scents, but this smells very yummy, and the ginger is not overly strong. The label on the Walmart page has different artwork than the label on the actual wax melt.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Creamy Marshmallow Cocoa

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Creamy-Marshmallow-Cocoa-Scented-Wax-Melts/863713338

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Creamy-Marshmallow-Cocoa-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/643988142

Notes: The delectable allure of warm cocoa and creamy milk chocolate swirled with rich touches of frothy vanilla, whipped cream and pure marshmallow sweetness

A fantastic super rich sweet milk chocolate scent with marshmallow. It really does smell like the scent name. The chocolate is rich and cocoa-ey, but doesn't have the burnt or bitter note that a lot of chocolate scents tend to have.

When I first smelled this scent I thought it was the same as an old discontinued ScentSationals scent called Chocolate Chip Cookie. But although it's similar, it's not the same. With that scent, the chocolate was a dark chocolate and I could smell the cookie dough and brown sugar. This scent is a lighter milkier chocolate with marshmallow and no bakery notes.

I think this scent is going to be everyone's favorite!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Crisp Frosted Fir

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Crisp-Frosted-Fir-Scented-Wax-Melts/229034708

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Crisp-Frosted-Fir-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/842186992

Notes: A blend of bright and twinkling citrus, spun with fir balsam and cool mint, a white cashmere accord of woods and musk, crisp aldehydes and shimmering herbal greens

I smell a slightly smoky blue spruce, an aldehydic note ("blue" spruce scents have this, a kind of a bright fatty shimmering lemony note), balsam (a slightly sweet & soapy pine note, although this is not a sweet scent), and maybe a hint of eucalyptus (although no sinus clearing effects), with a hint of bergamot (cologney note) and maybe a smidgen of lemon. I love this scent! It smells a little bit like Better Homes & Gardens Forest Woodland Walk, but with the slightly cologne & citrusy notes.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Lavender & Freesia

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Lavender-and-Freesia-Scented-Wax-Melts/566523255

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Lavender-and-Freesia-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/872131123

Notes: Blends of freshly harvested lavender and green fir balsam, with crisp accords of zesty bergamot and refreshing eucalyptus, amber and musk

This smells like a combination of rich, slightly smoky blue spruce, balsam (a slightly sweet & soapy pine note, although this is not a sweet scent), and lavender. It also has a little bit of bergamot that gives it a cologney note. It's similar to Crisp Frosted Fir but richer, more cologney (although it's not really a cologne scent), with lavender and without the lemon. When melted, I do get a tiny bit of the nasal clearing effect from the eucalyptus. Looking at the scent notes, they're right on point. Fantastic scent! The label on the Walmart page has different artwork than the label on the actual wax melt (I like the label on the Walmart site better).

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Maple and Rum

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Maple-and-Rum-Scented-Wax-Melts/916245851

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Maple-and-Rum-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/812096268

Notes: Creamy butterscotch and rich maple joined with sweet vanilla bean and toffee wrapped with hints of smooth caramel, Himalayan sea salt and sweet brown sugar

This smells like sweet butterscotch candies with a little bit of a rum note. I think I smell a hint of maple. It's yummy! It's a little bit similar to Better Homes & Gardens Butterscotch Maple Cream, but it's not the same scent; that scent has an artificial note and is lacking the buttery richness and rum notes of the Maple and Rum scent. It's also similar to the new ScentSationals Vanilla Bean Butterscotch, but again, richer and more buttery, and with the rum and maple notes. It's also slightly similar to Better Homes & Gardens Jamaican Rum Gelato because of the rum note (but that scent had a much stronger rum note and no buttery notes).  The label on the Walmart page has different artwork than the label on the actual wax melt, and on the Walmart site the scent is called "Buttered Maple Rum".

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Red Currant Poinsettia

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Red-Currant-Poinsettia-Scented-Wax-Melts/246687669

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Red-Currant-Poinsettia-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/661557141

Notes: A juicy blend of red currant paired with sweet pomegranate and white poinsettia. Crimson cranberry, zesty mandarin and white rose becomes enriched by a soothing base of Tonka bean, musk and amber.

This smells like red currant (a berry with a soapy note and not a very fruity note; it's one of my favorite scents) combined with rose. The rose has a bitter note, as a lot of rose scented wax melts tend to have. There may also be a smidgen of a perfumey note in the background. I thought I would really like this based on cold sniff, but it's just "okay" to me because of the bitterness. Looking at the scent notes, I don't actually smell pomegranate because it's not really a fruity scent. I also don't smell mandarin or Tonka (vanilla). The scent started dissipating within 2 hours, which is not typical of this brand.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Warm Fireside Flurries

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Warm-Fireside-Flurries-Scented-Wax-Melts/850287632

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Fireside-Flurries-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/337436390

Notes: Golden embers, sandalwood, and vanilla create a warm and snuggly atmosphere while nuances of sparkling lemon and frosted air evoke the feeling of a peaceful winter snowfall

This is a campfire marshmallow type scent. Several people have said it's the same scent as Marshmallow Fireside from Bath & Body Works. It's marshmallow with a little bit of a smoky note, and a hint of a warm perfumey note like amber. Looking at the scent notes, no marshmallow. I don't smell lemon at all, and I assume frosted air would have some type of mint or eucalyptus, neither of which I detect, although I'm detecting a tiny bit of what might be pine way in the background. When melted, it just smells like campfire marshmallow with none of the other notes (amber or pine). I'm sure I've smelled this scent before, so it may be a dupe of any older marshmallowy scent. The label on the Walmart page has different artwork than the label on the actual wax melt.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Warm Velvet Pomegranate

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Warm-Velvet-Pomegranate-Scented-Wax-Melts/142253831

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Warm-Velvet-Pomegranate-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/960776465

Notes: Jeweled blackberries, juicy pomegranate and tart currant. Topped off with sparkling notes of sweet mandarin and a hint of warm spices. Enchanted by notes of cedar and sweet balsam.

This is a very warm, rich scent with amber, bergamot (cologney note), a little bit of balsam (slightly sweet, soapy pine note), and just a hint of berries. It also has a little bit of a yummy quality so maybe a smidgen of caramel? Melted, it also has a smoky note, which I don't detect on cold sniff. As the day went on, the smoky note got stronger (in a good way). Fantastic scent! Looking at the scent notes, I don't detect mandarin (orange), although maybe a tiny bit of the cedar. The scent lasted 10 hours and probably would have gone for longer if I hadn't removed it from the warmer. The label on the Walmart page has different artwork than the label on the actual wax melt.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Woodland Forest Floor duo - Fallen Leaves & Green Moss

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Woodland-Forest-Floor-Duo-Scented-Wax-Melts/876500613

Notes: One side features Fallen Leaves and is a blend of orchard leaves wrapped around a blend of McIntosh apple, fresh rosemary, lavender, oakmoss and smoked vetiver, with creamy amber and autumn woods for comfort. The other side features Green Moss and is a blend of oakmoss, amber and patchouli, infused with a mix of ivy, bergamot, pine, geranium, jasmine and birch to round out the refreshing fragrance.

Green Moss: I have no idea what I'm smelling. It's slightly sweet with maybe a patchouli note and a hint of cologne, but there may be a smidgen of herbs in the background. It has a little bit of a mildewy or moldy note. Kind of boring, not really a fan. And the throw is very mild, around a 2 out of 5.

Fallen Leaves: This smells a lot like Better Homes & Gardens Pumpkin Apple Muffins (a super rich buttery salty caramel corn scent), but it's not the same. This scent is not quite as salty and has an apple note as well as a smidgen of a woodsy note. It smells a lot more like Pumpkin Apple Muffins when melted than it does on cold sniff. I really like it. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell most of those notes, really just the apple and woods, and maybe a little of the creamy amber. After 2 hours though, the scent started morphing into something kind of bland and waxy. Throw is strong, 4 out of 5.



These scents have returned from previous years:

A Wonderful Winter (from 2015)
My review: http://www.scentedwaxreviews.com/2015/11/better-homes-gardens-christmas-scented-wax-melts.html

Festive Twinkling Lights (from 2015)
My review: http://www.scentedwaxreviews.com/2015/11/better-homes-gardens-christmas-scented-wax-melts.html

Frosty Winter Nights (from 2015)
My review: http://www.scentedwaxreviews.com/2015/11/better-homes-gardens-christmas-scented-wax-melts.html

Iced Winter Cranberry (from 2015)
My review: http://www.scentedwaxreviews.com/2015/11/better-homes-gardens-christmas-scented-wax-melts.html

Marshmallow Candy Cane (from 2017)
My review: https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2017/10/better-homes-and-gardens-holiday-edition-winter-2017-scented-wax-melts-reviews.html

Season of Joy (from 2016)
My review: http://www.scentedwaxreviews.com/2016/11/walmart-scented-wax-melts-winter-holiday-christmas-2016-mainstays-better-homes-gardens.html




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Thursday, November 8, 2018

Ador Wax Melts Reviews (Target)

Ador Wax Melts Reviews (Target)

Ador Wax Melts from Target
Click to enlarge

Video


Guess who makes the Ador melts from Target? ScentSationals! They're $2.99 at Target, but on sale for $2.24 when I bought them. They only have maybe 6 scents but I only found 3. It's the same hard paraffin wax with a strong scent on cold sniff as ScentSationals and Better Homes & Gardens wax melts.

Since the ScentSationals version of these scents are available at Walmart as of October 2018, at $2.00 each for 2.5 oz., it doesn't make sense to buy these at Target at $2.99 each for 2 oz. (even if they're still on sale for $2.24), unless you have a really good coupon.



Cinnamon & Apples

https://www.target.com/p/2oz-scented-wax-melts-cinnamon-and-apples-ador/-/A-53499146

This is the same scent as ScentSationals Cinnamon Apples that came out at Walmart in August 2016. On cold sniff, I thought this was a typical generic cinnamon apple scent, but I was wrong! Melted, it smells like sweet apple juice, or maybe a light apple cider with just a hint of cinnamon but none of those harsh mulling spices. It smells like walking into a Michael's Arts & Crafts store full of fall potpourri. The scent lasted for an entire day, and even after I turned the warmer off overnight, the next morning it still smelled strong in the house. A winner!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Fantasy

https://www.target.com/p/2oz-scented-wax-melts-fantasy-ador/-/A-53499150

This is the same scent as ScentSationals Illusion, a fresh men's cologne scent.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Pumpkin Apple Streudel

https://www.target.com/p/2oz-scented-wax-melts-pumpkin-apple-strudel-ador/-/A-53499153

Notes: Freshly baked, brown sugar muffins full with ripe golden apple, spiced pumpkin, fresh ground cinnamon and sweet hints of pure vanilla

This is the same scent as ScentSationals Pumpkin Apple Muffins (which is very similar to, but not the same as, the Spiced Caramel Corn side of Better Homes & Gardens "At the Fair" duo). It's a fantastic super rich salty pretzel or caramel corn scent with possibly a smidgen of apple.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



True Spruce

https://www.target.com/p/2oz-scented-wax-melts-true-spruce-ador/-/A-53499148

This is the same scent as one of the ScentSationals or Better Homes & Gardens pine scents, not sure which one (I don't think it's Perfectly Pine). It's a strong pine scent with just a hint of sweetness, and a little bit of a "biting" note. Very nice!

Throw: Bold, 4.5 or 5 out of 5



Volcanic Burst

https://www.target.com/p/2oz-scented-wax-melts-volcanic-burst-ador/-/A-53499151

Notes: Sunny clementine, sweet orange, and sugared zest (another source shows the notes as "citrus and red orange")

This is the same scent as ScentSationals Molten Orange, a fantastic intense orange scent with a rich, sweet, slightly salty note. Interestingly, the description on the Molten Orange label is, "An eruption of happiness".

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

AmbiEscents Wax Melts Reviews (Bed Bath & Beyond) - Holiday 2018

AmbiEscents Wax Melts Reviews (Bed Bath & Beyond) - Holiday 2018

AmbiEscents Wax Melts (Bed Bath & Beyond) - Holiday 2018
Click to enlarge

Video




Candy Cane Crush

A perfect candy cane scent, strong nasal clearing peppermint with a sweet slightly creamy vanilla note. This is/was also available in the Oak & Rye brand for Kroger stores.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5



Cran Apple Cider

https://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/store/product/cran-apple-cider-fragrance-wax-cubes/1044748401

Notes: Fresh apples and ripe cranberries

This scent has been around for years, and it might be my #1 favorite scent ever. I have about a dozen clamshells of this scent. It's the same scent as the discontinued ScentSationals Apple Berry Crumble from 2015-2016. It's a super sweet rich apple with a berry note (strawberry rhubarb perhaps) and a smidgen of tangy cranberry, and possibly a hint of molasses and even a barely detectable smidgen of cloves. Fantastic rich, sweet, succulent scent! This is not a fall apple scent; it's too sweet, rich and warm. I also reviewed this scent in October 2015 at https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2015/10/ambiescents-winter-holiday-christmas-scents.html.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Pine Wreath

https://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/store/product/pine-wreath-seasonal-wax-fragrance-cubes/1042930730

This scent came out in October 2015 and has come back every year. It's pine with eucalyptus and maybe something a tiny bit savory like rosemary. But it also has a little bit of sweetness that I think is vanilla. I also reviewed this scent in October 2015 at https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2015/10/ambiescents-winter-holiday-christmas-scents.html.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Rustic Woodland

https://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/store/product/ambiescents-rustic-woodland-scented-wax-cubes-pack-of-6/1062207249

Notes: A winter blend of aromatic wild green bay leaf, spicy cinnamon and clove over a tobacco leaf and ebony wood undertone

This is the only brand new scent. On cold sniff this smells like Ginger Ale! It's a soft powdery cinnamon with a hint of what seems to be sweet lime. There might be a smidgen of tobacco in the background. But when melted, that lime note disappears and it smells like cinnamon with a tobacco and woodsy note, although I still detect a smidgen of that Ginger Ale note. It's nice and different.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Santa's Sugar Cookies

https://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/store/product/santa-39-s-sugar-cookies-fragrance-wax-cubes/1042076629

A rich, warm, sweet vanilla that smells like buttercream rather than cookies. It's not an authentic scent, but that's okay because it smells great. This scent has been around for years. In the past, it had a strong throw, but this one was only medium.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Snowball Donut Holes

This scent came out in October 2016 and again in October 2017. It smells just like a donut! It's got that sweet doughy scent with a cinnamon note. It's not the same scent as ScentSationals Cider House Donuts though, since I don't smell any apple in this one. This was on sale for $.89, so I suspect it's from last year's inventory.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Sugar Pine

https://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/store/product/sugar-pine-fragrance-wax-cubes/1040707204

A strong biting pine scent that might have a smidgen of citrus in the background that gives it a tiny bit of a Pine Sol note. This one has been around for many years, at least since 2013 or 2014, and is sometimes also available in the ScentSationals brand at other stores.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Thursday, November 1, 2018

Pier 1 Wax Melts Reviews

Pier 1 Wax Melts Reviews

Pier 1 Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


Pier 1 has wax melts! These are brand new as of October 2018. Pier 1 used to have wax melts about 4 or 5 years ago, but they were discontinued. These new wax melts are fantastic. All are very strong on cold sniff, they smell great, and they throw very well. I don't know what wax melt company actually manufactures these (they are not made by Rimports/ScentSationals, Hanna's Candle, MVP Group Intl., or Empire Brands).

The only negative I can find with the Pier 1 wax melts is that they cost $3.99, twice the price of $2 Walmart wax melts. Keep looking for sales!

The Pier 1 wax melts are available in their stores, as well as online to ship to your home (free shipping on orders over $49), or you can order them online to ship to your local store for free.

https://www.pier1.com/on/demandware.store/Sites-pier1_us-Site/default/Search-Show?q=wax%20melts



Apple Crisp

https://www.pier1.com/apple-crisp-wax-melts/3823428.html#q=wax%2520melts&origin=gridswatch

Notes: Savory spiced apples, sugared cinnamon and a touch of lemon zest to evoke the flavor of a delicious apple crisp

There are a lot of apple and clove type scents out there at this time of year. But this one is spectacular. It's a deep rich clove scent that might have a hint of tobacco or patchouli in it, and a strong sweet apple with possibly a smidgen of cinnamon. Looking at the notes, I'm surprised I don't see clove. I don't detect lemon at all. It lasted 12 hours and might have lasted longer if I hadn't turned off my warmer.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Gingerbread

https://www.pier1.com/freshly-baked-gingerbread-wax-melts/3823471.html#q=wax%2520melts&origin=gridswatch

Notes:
Top notes: Citrus, fruit
Middle notes: Ginger, cinnamon cookies
Base notes: Gingerbread, vanilla, buttercream

A sweet warm gingerbread cookie scent. It smells better than some other gingerbread scents I've smelled, sweeter and not as intense with the ginger. Looking at the notes, there may be a hint of cinnamon, but absolutely no citrus or fruit.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Holiday Forest

https://www.pier1.com/holiday-forest-wax-melts/3823484.html#q=wax%2520melts&origin=gridswatch

Notes: A snow-tipped holiday fragrance of evergreen, balsam and pine, warmed with Texas cedar and Spanish moss

I only found this one after I'd already reviewed the other scents. It's a nice high quality pine scent with a hint of smokiness. Comparing it to ScentSationals Perfectly Pine (I scent I love), this scent smells richer and more authentic. But I'm not sure it's worth paying double the price!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Patchouli

https://www.pier1.com/patchouli-wax-melts-/3823290.html#q=wax%2520melts&origin=gridswatch

Notes: Earthy patchouli leaves and French vanilla, balanced by almond-like tonka and just a hint of musk

This is a perfumey patchouli soap scent with a hint of oriental spices and a smidgen of baby powder. I smell the woodsiness of the patchouli behind sweet musky perfume, with a subtle base of a bland Ivory soap type note. It's a fantastic scent! Looking at the notes, I don't smell vanilla or almond at all. It lasted 12 hours and might have lasted longer if I hadn't turned off my warmer.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Peppermint Stick

https://www.pier1.com/peppermint-stick-wax-melts/3823443.html#q=wax%2520melts&origin=gridswatch

Notes:
Top note: Cool mint
Middle note: Peppermint
Base notes: Peppermint, vanilla

A perfect peppermint hard candy or candy cane scent. It's a very strong peppermint (not spearmint or herbal mint), with a sweet slightly rich vanilla note. Fantastic!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Perfect Lemon

https://www.pier1.com/perfect-lemon-wax-melts/3823337.html#q=wax%2520melts&origin=gridswatch

Notes:
Top notes: Citrus, green
Middle notes: Lemon, lime, bergamot
Base notes: Wood, floral, musk

This is the same scent as Better Homes & Gardens Meyer Lemon Basil, a salty savory herbal lemon scent. It's very nice, although some people have said that Meyer Lemon Basil smells like celery (I don't detect that). It lasted for 8 hours but probably would have gone longer if I hadn't turned my warmer off at night.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Rosemary & Mint

https://www.pier1.com/rosemary-%26-mint-wax-melts/3823311.html#q=wax%2520melts&origin=gridswatch

Notes: Unwind and recharge when you breathe in this savory blend of aromatic eucalyptus, crisp mint and distinctive rosemary resting on a bed of woodsy moss and musk

This smells like fresh garden mint with another note that I can never figure out in these types of scents. It's a savory herbal note, but it's very subtle, definitely not as strong and savory as actual rosemary. It also has a tiny bit of a soapy note, like a cleaner, but not in a bad way. It smells a lot like ScentSationals Zen, but it's not the same scent. It's not as sweet as Zen (actually not a very sweet scent at all), and the mint is more pronounced. The mint is a fresh herbal garden mint, not spearmint ("toothpaste") or peppermint. But it's a subtle mint. It's more of an herbal, slightly spa type scent. Looking at the notes, I suppose there could be a smidgen of eucalyptus, although that has a pine type note which I don't detect in this scent.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Sea Air

https://www.pier1.com/sea-air-wax-melts-/3823287.html#q=wax%2520melts&origin=gridswatch

Notes: A breezy blend of tropical jasmine, white lilac and gardenia, with just a splash of peach

This smells a lot like Better Homes & Gardens Caribbean Sea Breeze, but it's not exactly the same. The coconut is a bit more subtle, and I also smell a hint of a perfumey floral that I think is lilac (which is not in the BHG scent). It also smells a little like ScentSationals Fresh Air (a sweet, fresh, clean scent that might also have barely detectable smidgens of vanilla, apple, coconut, and maybe even mint), but with coconut. So it's like Caribbean Sea Breeze mixed with lilac mixed with a hint of ScentSationals Fresh Air. Looking at the notes, I'm surprised I don't see coconut, as that seems to be the main note. I love this scent.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Sugared Cinnamon

https://www.pier1.com/sugared-cinnamon-wax-melts/3823309.html#q=wax%2520melts&origin=gridswatch

Notes: Cinnamon and nutmeg, sweetened by crystallized sugar and blended with a dash of vanilla and caramel

On cold sniff this smells like a cinnamon roll. It's a strong cinnamon scent with a little bit of vanilla buttercream note. It's very authentic, much more so than other similar scents I've smelled

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Sunset Citrus

https://www.pier1.com/sunset-citrus-wax-melts/3823324.html#q=wax%2520melts&origin=gridswatch

Notes: A bright, fruit-filled scent that blends grapefruit, tangerine and black currant with raspberry, vanilla and soft sandalwood

A fantastic orange scent with a hint of grapefruit.  It's more of an orange candy scent than an authentic orange, but in a good way. This smells a lot like a ScentSationals brand orange that I've smelled before, but I'm not sure which one. It's not like their Molten Orange scent, which is stronger, richer, slightly less citrusy, and more intense.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.