Tuesday, December 11, 2018

Michael's Wax Melts (Ashland) Reviews

Michael's Wax Melts (Ashland) Reviews

Michael's Wax Melts (Ashland)
Click to enlarge

Video


These scents have been available at Michael's for years, and are there year-round (although some Michael's don't carry them at all). They are located in the candle aisle, not the seasonal kiosks where the taller seasonal candles and wax melts are located. The wax formula has changed, as well as some of the scents and packaging. For years the wax was very soft and messy (probably soy), and with only a few exceptions they didn't throw well. The new wax is hard (paraffin) and throws much better. But the more likely reason for the improved throw is that these harder wax melts are made by Hanna's Candle! However, Hanna's is no longer making any wax melts for Michael's, so these newer melts are from last year.

To identify the old and new wax melts, the old wax melts say 2.4 oz. on the label, and of course the wax is very soft. The new wax melts says 2.5 oz. on the label, the wax is hard, and the package is slightly taller than the old package (but not as tall as the seasonal scents).



Enchanting Lavender

There are 2 versions of this scent at the store, the much older (from 2014-2015), softer wax in the 2.4 oz. clamshell, and the newer hard wax in the 2.5 oz. clamshell from last year (made by Hanna's Candle).

Both lavender scents are authentic, but they are two different scents.

I prefer the older scent, which is a little sweeter and more powdery. The newer scent is more authentic, with a little bit of that medicinal herbal lavender note that smells like a smidgen of eucalyptus. I believe it's the same scent as Hanna's French Lavender Garden.

The old scent, however, has a very faint throw, maybe 2 out of 5, because it's that soft soy wax and it's quite old. The newer scent has a strong throw, around 3.5 out of 5.



Mango Cilantro

The new version does smell like mango, kind of like peach but a bit harsher. I don't smell cilantro or any herbal notes. It's a nice scent if you like peach or tropical fruit type scents, but like a lot of those types of scents, it has a tiny bit of that cat pee vibe.

The older, softer wax formula smelled better (I no longer have it and couldn't find it this time). It wasn't as harsh, didn't have the cat pee vibe, and it was a sweeter "peach nectar syrup" type of scent. Throw was slightly weaker with the old formula though, Mild or Medium, 3 out of 5. The new harder wax has strong throw, 3.5 out of 5.



Mixed Berries

This smells like fruit candy, sweet with a little bit of tartness. It smells like a couple of different types of fruits, like mulberry, cranberry, cherry, and maybe a hint of raspberry. It smells artificial, but not annoyingly so. The older, softer wax formula (which I no longer have and couldn't find this time) had almost zero throw. The new harder wax has strong throw, 3.5 out of 5.



Mountain Air

The old scent is one of my favorite scents. It smells like a super soapy soap and fresh air, with hardly any sweetness. There may be a smidgen of an herbal note way in the background. It would smell a little like a men's body wash if it were sweet. Throw is bold, 4.5 or 5 out of 5, which is unusual for the older scents.

The new scent is completely different, and it's also a nice scent. It's the same as Aldi's Fresh Cotton Blossom from January 2018 (also made by Hanna's Candle), but oddly it's not the same scent as Hanna's own Fresh Cotton Blossom. It's a nice sweet laundry detergent scent with a hint of a biting laundry note. But it's not a soft powdery fabric softener scent either. It doesn't smell soapy, and it's sweeter than other similar scents I've smelled with a little bit more of a floral note, although it's not really perfumey either. Hard to describe! Aldi's Fresh Cotton Blossom was a scent monster with a throw of 5 out of 5, and this one is pretty much the same, bold, 4.5 or 5 out of 5 (although it took an hour to get there!)



Soothing Vanilla

The old scent is just a plain, generic vanilla, with possibly a smidgen of coconut. It smells like a vanilla scented car air freshener. Not a bad scent, but a bit artificial. It smells better melted, quite nice actually, and without the buttery cookie note that a lot of vanilla scents have. Throw is faint, 2 out of 5, but might work okay in a tiny room like a bathroom.

The new scent is totally different, and smells incredible. I've smelled it before, so I think it's a dupe for something else but I don't know what. It smells like an expensive warm cashmere/amber perfume with a hint of vanilla and maybe a smidgen of patchouli. But it's not an overly perfumey scent, and it's not really a floral. One of my favorite scents, throw is bold (4.5 to 5 out of 5), and the scent lasted the entire day (at least 12 hours, but probably would have gone longer if I hadn't turned off the warmer). I wrote about this one in my Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail/permalink/1410049855779506/.




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Friday, December 7, 2018

ScentSationals Aromatherapy Wax Melts Reviews from Meijer

ScentSationals Aromatherapy Wax Melts Reviews from Meijer

ScentSationals Aromatherapy Wax Melts from Meijer
Click to enlarge

Video


These ScentSationals wax melt scents are made with essential oils, and they're made exclusively for Meijer (Meijer stores are only in Indiana, Illinois, Ohio, Michigan, Wisconsin, and Kentucky). And unfortunately they don't ship outside of the area.



Bergamot & Sage

This is a combination of a slightly zesty herbal note (sage) with a rich slightly soapy cologney note (bergamot) and a smidgen of a savory lemon note. I really like this one.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Cedarwood & Sea Salt

This is a sweet perfumey scent with an incensey note, maybe a hint of baby powder, and possibly a smidgen of cedar. But there's also a note I can't figure out that I don't care for, almost a little metallic. It's a nice scent but not my favorite.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Eucalyptus & Rosemary

A very nice zesty, savory, slightly lemony scent that smells a little like a salad. It's similar to the old Better Homes & Gardens Zesty Lemon Peppercorn, but it's not the same scent. However, I've had this scent before. It might be the same scent as ScentSationals Fusion Fig Tree, ScentSationals Fusion Bamboo, and Better Homes & Gardens Brazilian Bamboo Wood (I no longer have those scents, so I could be wrong). It's also similar to Ashland Cilantro Lime from Michael's from March 2016.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Juniper & Mahogany

Notes: Warm mahogany, aromatic birch wood, crisp juniper berry and fresh green balsam shimmer with fragrant herbs, touches of sparkling citrus, and smooth ambered sandalwood, all wrapped around sage and sweet moss

This is the same scent as Better Homes & Gardens Mahogany & Sandalwood (https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2018/09/better-homes-gardens-wax-melts-reviews-fall-2018-2.html):

A warm, woodsy, smoky cologne scent with a smidgen of spruce. Fantastic! Looking at the notes, the spruce I smell is probably the juniper and balsam. I don't smell citrus at all. It's very rich, sweet and smoky, and even a little salty. I love this scent, and it lasted for 16 hours (probably would have gone longer if I hadn't removed it).

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Lavender & Chamomile

This is a perfect blend of lemongrass and an authentic herbal lavender. I think I smell more of the lemongrass, and the lavender is in the background. It's a nice spa scent, not a sweet powdery lavender.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Lemon & Grapefruit

I do smell grapefruit, but not really the lemon. It's not a fresh citrusy grapefruit, just a bland bitter waxy grapefruit. It's not bad, but not my favorite.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Lemongrass & Wild Mint

This is the same scent as AmbiEscents Lemongrass & Peppermint from March 2017 (and ScentSationals Fusion Invigorate Me from May 2017). It's a lovely soapy lemongrass scent with a very subtle fresh garden mint note (not a spearmint or peppermint). It's a fantastic spa scent, both relaxing and energizing. This scent is also similar to the old discontinued ScentSationals Sparkling Herbs scent, but with more lemongrass.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Lime & Coconut

Notes: Freshly fallen, cracked coconut fruit blended with the zesty brightness of island lime fused with sweet sugarcane and a hint of vanilla

I believe this is the same scent as Better Homes & Gardens Island Coconut Lime from March 2017 (and ScentSationals Coconut Lime). It's a fresh watery coconut scent with just a smidgen of a lime note.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Nutmeg & Cinnamon

This smells like a cinnamon roll with a smidgen of ginger. I'm not sure if I smell nutmeg, as that would give it a pumpkiny vibe, which I don't get from this scent. If you like cinnamon bakery scents, this is a really good one.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Orange & Vanilla

This is a pure orange scent, and it's fantastic. It's a dupe of a ScentSationals or Better Homes & Gardens scent I've smelled before, but I don't remember which one (not ScentSationals Molten Orange or Better Homes & Gardens Orange Buttercream Cupcake). I don't really smell vanilla (it's not an orange bakery scent or orange creamsicle type scent, and I don't detect any other notes, like grapefruit or berries).

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Spearmint & Peppermint

This smells like sweet peppermint candy. It's very minty, with a little bit of a creamy vanilla background. There may be a hint of spearmint that gives this just a tiny bit of a toothpastey vibe, but it's very subtle (I don't like spearmint, and I love this scent, so yes, the spearmint is very subtle). This might be a dupe for a ScentSationals holiday peppermint scent. I really like it.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Tea Tree & Wintergreen

This is a dupe of an older ScentSationals scent, but I don't remember which one. It doesn't smell like tea tree or wintergreen at all (I love the scent of tea tree oil, but not wintergreen). It does have a slight fresh garden mint note, but it's also quite savory (not a sweet scent at all) with other herbs like maybe sage or rosemary. I recall that I didn't like the scent before, but I quite like it now. It smells a lot like an old scent by Glade called Sunset Walk (and Sage & Thyme Market, same scent).

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Vanilla & Sugarcane

This is the same scent as ScentSationals Vanilla Bean Butterscotch, and it's also very similar to (or possibly the same scent as) Better Homes & Gardens Butterscotch Maple Cream. It's a fantastic butterscotch scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



There may be more scents is this collection that I didn't find (I only found 13, and they usually come out with an even number of scents). If I'm able to find the missing scent(s) I'll add it to this review.



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Sunday, December 2, 2018

Chesapeake Bay Candle (Target) Wax Melts Reviews - November 2018

Chesapeake Bay Candle (Target) Wax Melts Reviews - November 2018

Chesapeake Bay Candle (Target) Wax Melt
Click to enlarge

Video


Chesapeake Bay Candle wax melts from Target are just "okay" for me. Although they've brought the price down from $3.99 to $2.99, they don't compare to Walmart wax melts (ScentSationals and Better Homes & Gardens) in terms of scent quality and throw. But these scents actually performed better than their wax melts have in the past, in terms of throw.

A minor annoyance is that the clamshell doesn't close completely. The back edges stay open, so when you close it you have to snap it shut all the way around. Otherwise, air will get in and the scent will start to dissipate within weeks.

I've done a couple of other Chesapeake Bay wax melt review videos, in 2015, 2016 and 2017. And many of those older scents are still available.



Balsam Citrus
https://www.target.com/p/6pk-wax-melts-balsam-citrus-home-scents-by-chesapeake-bay-candle/-/A-53443095

I smell pine with a slightly soapy balsam note as well as a slight orange note. I've always liked the combination of pine and orange, so I really like this scent. The scent started dissipating within 2 or 2.5 hours.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Jasmine Bouquet
https://www.target.com/p/6pk-warmer-scent-melts-jasmine-bouquet-home-scents-by-chesapeake-bay-candle/-/A-14454597

I really like this scent. It smells like jasmine scented soap. And it's quite soapy, almost like a bland Ivory soap, but with a sweet jasmine perfume note. This is one of those odd scents that's subtle rather than strong, but yet throws very well. So I can smell it downstairs while it's melting upstairs, but just a whiff of it here and there. It's very nice!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Oats & Honey
https://www.target.com/p/6pk-wax-melts-oats-honey-chesapeake-bay-candle/-/A-52966916

Notes: Sweet honey and rustic oats

I can't figure out what I'm smelling. I do smell the honey, but the main note is almond perhaps, although it's not as "almond-y" as other almond scents I've smelled. It's quite sweet and has a little bit of a perfumey note. It's not one of my favorite scents, but I kind of like it.

Throw: Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Sea Salt Vanilla
https://www.target.com/p/wax-melts-6pk-sea-salt-vanilla-0-39oz-chesapeake-bay-candle/-/A-52966911

Notes: Vanilla and sea salt with notes of ocean air and musk

A fresh watery scent with a little bit of a vanilla note, and a hint of musk that gives it a bit of a perfumey quality. There may also be a tiny bit of light wood in the background. When melted, I also detect a tiny bit of a slightly bitter metallic note that I also smelled in the Silver Bells scent. It's a nice scent, but I don't care for the bitter note.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Teakwood
https://www.target.com/p/2-3oz-6pk-wax-melts-teakwood-home-scents-by-chesapeake-bay-candle/-/A-17268954

A fantastic tobacco-ey scent with light wood note and maybe a hint of patchouli, Very nice!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Under the Tree / Silver Bells / Woodland Berries
https://www.target.com/p/6pk-wax-melts-under-the-tree-silver-bells-woodland-berries-home-scents-by-chesapeake-bay-candle/-/A-53443096

Under the Tree
I smell pine, eucalpytus, a woodsy note, and something else I can't put my finger on, maybe a barely detectable smidgen of patchouli or tobacco. It's not really a pine/Christmas tree scent though, but I like it.
Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5

Silver Bells
A sweet slightly perfumey scent with maybe a hint of vanilla and smidgen of peppermint. It has a little bit of a weird metallic note that I don't care for, but it's still a nice scent.
Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5

Woodland Berries: See review below



Woodland Berries
https://www.target.com/p/6pk-wax-melts-woodland-berries-home-scents-by-chesapeake-bay-candle/-/A-53443092

A nice red currant scent (red currant is a fig-like soapy scent) with a hint of a perfumey note and a smidgen of red berry. It also has some balsam in it (a soft pine note with a soapy note and a hint of sweetness). Very nice scent! But the scent started dissipating within 2 or 2.5 hours.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Friday, November 30, 2018

Yankee Candle Wax Melts Reviews from Walmart - Winter/Holiday 2018

Yankee Candle Wax Melts Reviews from Walmart - Winter/Holiday 2018

Yankee Candle Wax Melts from Walmart - Winter/Holiday 2018

It appears that there are only three new Yankee Candle Winter/Holiday 2018 scents at Walmart. A couple of wintery scents came out with the fall scents which I reviewed at https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2018/08/yankee-candle-wax-melts-reviews-fall-2018-walmart.html.



Frosty Gingerbread

Description: Gingerbread freshly frosted—a holiday delight that fills any room with welcome and warmth

An intense, rich gingerbread scent that smells like warm ginger snap cookies fresh out of the oven. There's nothing "frosty" about it though, as there aren't any minty notes at all. This scent seems to have a lot of scented oil in it, as there's a bit on the surface, and if you get it on your nose or lip it burns, like real ginger oil or cinnamon oil. It's better and stronger than any other ginger type scent I've smelled. Throw is strong, but I expected it to be a bold scent monster that would take over the entire house.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5.



Poached Pear Flambe

Description: Juicy pear, fresh peeled and ready to delight in a bath of caramel colored brandy.

Notes:
Top: Pear Nectar, Crystalized Sugar
Mid: Honey, Caramel
Base: Whipped Vanilla, Fruity Musk

This smells just like pears, plus a bit of a sweet milky vanilla note and a hint of caramel. It has a smidgen of a perfumey note, but it's not overly sweet. Fantastic scent.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Icy Blue Spruce

Description: A fresh breath of winter forest—juniper berries, blue spruce, spearmint leaves.

I didn't buy this one because I wasn't crazy about the scent. It's a pine scent with a musty note that gave it a little bit of a Play-Doh vibe.



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Sunday, November 25, 2018

St. Jude Candle Company Wax Melts Reviews

St. Jude Candle Company Wax Melts Reviews

St. Jude Candle Company Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


These are sold by Walmart, H-E-B, and smaller grocery store chains like Foodtown and Foodarama in Texas. They're made by St. Jude Candle Company in Houston, Texas. The candles can be found at most Walmarts (usually the next aisle over from the wax melts), but I've never seen the wax melts in the stores. Walmart online prices range from $2.45 to $3.00 depending on the scent, and 4 scents are available. I expected these to be rather cheap "dollar store" type wax melts, but they're actually a good quality, they use a hard but slightly soft wax with a little bit of a greasy surface, and they smell great.

I have to admit, these melts feel a bit sacrilegious, like I shouldn't be melting them just for the enjoyment of it, and I should be reading the prayer card that comes with each one!

St. Jude Candle Company's website is http://stjudecc.com, and these can be found on the Walmart website at: https://www.walmart.com/ip/St-Jude-Candle-Company-Wax-Melts-with-Prayer-Card/55640170


Guardian Angel (Vanilla)
This is a nice plain vanilla scent, very similar to ScentSationals Vanilla Bean, but with a bit of a sweet buttercream note. It's a common vanilla scent, but it's quite nice.
Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5

Sacred Heart of Jesus (Strawberry)
This is a super fake strawberry scent that smells kind of like cherry, like a strawberry-cherry hard candy, and with a smidgen of a perfumey note. It's not a biting cherry soda type scent though. It's absolutely fake but it smells pretty good on cold sniff. But when melted, there's a little bit of a chemical note in the background, and the scent is just a little too fake. It would probably smell better mixed with the vanilla scent.
Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5

Saint Jude (Jasmine)
A perfumey slightly soapy jasmine scent that I've smelled many times, but I love it. And the scent lasted all day, at least 12 hours.
Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5

Virgen de Guadalupe (Rose)
It's a fake rose scent, like rose scented soap. It's not an authentic rose, but I love it! And the scent lasted for most of the day.
Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Colonial Candle Simmer Snaps (Wax Melts) Reviews

Colonial Candle Simmer Snaps (Wax Melts) Reviews

Colonial Candle Simmer Snaps (Wax Melts)
Click to enlarge

Video


I gave up on Colonial Candle wax melts a year or two ago because of poor throw, so I was pleasantly surprised that most of these scents threw quite well. Colonial Candle's scents are fantastic, rich and complex, so when they do throw well, they're exceptional. The wax is very soft though, and with their oval shaped packaging, it makes it quite difficult to get out of the package. I have to use a butter knife. But this is not a deal breaker.

I found their customer service to be very good. I was given a refund on a couple of the full price scents that had very weak throw, but there were no refunds on the sale items as they were discontinued scents.

Colonial Candle wax melts ("Simmer Snaps") can be found on their website at https://colonialcandle.com/collections/scented-simmer-snaps.



Amber & Oud

Notes:
A seasonal splash of citrus and fruits paired with warm spices and a hint of golden honey.
Top: Ripe Strawberry, Red Delicious Apple, Lemon Sparkle
Middle: Pineapple Juice, Golden Honey, Mandarin Rind
Bottom: Cinnamon Bark, Warm Clove, Bayberry

Amber is a warm perfumey note, and oud is a dark resinous woodsy scent. This scent is neither. This scent was obviously given the wrong name. It's a cinnamon apple scent with a warm clove note on cold sniff, and an apple cider scent with a little bit of a mulling spices note. Looking at the scent notes, they describe this scent, but not the scent name. It's a nice scent though, but definitely not Amber & Oud. In fact, Colonial Candles did have an Amber & Oud scent in 2015 that was closer to the actual scent name; it smelled like cedar, amber and baby powder.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Cozy by the Fire

Notes: Smoke and wood with cashmere, amber, sandalwood and patchouli

I expected a smoky, woodsy or tobacco scent based on the name, but this smells like perfume that's a little old. But in a good way. There may also be a bit of vanilla and maybe oriental spices in this one, and possibly a smidgen of patchouli and a little bit of warmth from amber. Looking at the scent notes, no, there are definitely no smoky notes. It's a nice scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Emerald Fir

Notes: A festive swirl of ground cinnamon, peppered clove, and darkened maple

This is a pine scent with a slightly waxy, sour, clay like note. I don't smell cinnamon, clove or maple. I don't like this scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Fall Festival

Notes: A woodland escape with notes of citrus and palm leaf blended with a sage and illuminate notes of amberwood, teak, and white cedar.
Top: Iced Bergamot, Palm Leaf, Lemon
Mid: Freesia, Rose, Sage
Bottom: Amberwood, Teak, White Cedar

This one is very weak so I can't figure out what I'm smelling. It's kind of like apple with a floral or perfumey note, and maybe a hint of cedar and possibly a fresh air note.

Throw: Faint, 2.5 out of 5



Pink Peppercorn

Notes: Crushed cardamom seeds with oriental spices and cashmere woods

A nice black pepper scent with a clove note and maybe a smidgen of sandalwood. Looking at the scent notes, they're spot on. It's a nice, unique scent.

Throw: Very faint, 2 out of 5



Raspberries and Cream

Notes: A delicious raspberry confection whipped with notes of plum, exotic passion flower, and warm amber

This smells like very sweet fruity candy made with strawberry, raspberry and plum, but I think it also has a hint of a warm perfumey note. Very nice scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Sage Leaf & Honey

Notes: Fresh clary sage is balanced with nuances of lemon flower and tupelo honey with traces of Tuscan herbs and sheer woods.

This is a very difficult scent to describe. When melting, in the room it smells a little fresh and green, maybe slightly herbal but not a cologne or body wash type scent, maybe a smidgen of floral and light wood, slightly sweet. Up close I do detect the honey but it's almost like honey and tobacco. It's not a savory scent, which I would expect from sage, but that's a good thing. Looking at the scent notes, I don't detect lemon at all.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Sweet Black Plum

Notes: Sugared plum is celebrated with sparkling citrus, white clove and jasmine leaf

Very nice fruity scent of plum and maybe raspberry, but with a warm amber perfume note. It's similar to other plum-based perfumey scents like Scentsy Luna, but a little more fruity and not as perfumey. Looking at the notes, I don't smell citrus or cloves, but I do smell the jasmine, and that's the warm perfumey note that I thought was amber.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Wisteria

Notes: Sparkling nuances of citrus mingle in the breeze with jasmine petals, wisteria, and pink magnolia blossoms

A fantastic sweet floral with maybe a hint of jasmine, orange blossom/neroli, and possibly a smidgen of honey and musk. Looking at the notes, I don't detect citrus. I love this scent, and it lasted all day (at least 10 hours).

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Yuletide Carol

Notes: Figs and blackberries blended with sweet berries and floral notes finished with warm floral and wood notes

Super sweet buttery sugar with a little bit of caramel and maybe a smidgen of a warm ambery perfume note, and possibly a tiny bit of strawberry or raspberry. Definitely not a holiday scent, but I love it. Fantastic scent!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Village Candle Wax Melts Reviews

Village Candle Wax Melts Reviews

Village Candle Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


The first and only other time I reviewed Village Candles Wax Melts was in September 2015 when they were called "Simmerblends" (https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2015/09/village-candles-simmerblends-scented-wax-melts-review.html). I reviewed 8 scents at that time and for the most part, I wasn't impressed. I had better luck with these scents. But although the scent blends, quality and throw on many of these were quite good (and many were not, as is the case with any brand), I don't think they were good enough to warrant the $4 price. I got them on sale for $3, so if you want to try out Village Candle wax melts, it's best to wait for a sale.

I've found customer service to be excellent. They were very nice on the phone when I called about getting a refund on the wax melts that didn't throw, and they gave me a refund on those melts with no problem. For that reason alone I will probably order from them again!

They are (or recently were) having a 30% off sale on holiday fragrances. Use the code STOCKUP at checkout. I don't know if the code is still valid though. And  they are also having Black Friday sales although they expire at the end of the day on November 25, 2018.

Village Candle wax melts and other products can be found on their website at https://www.villagecandle.com.



Acai Berry Tobac

Notes: Acai berries blended with sheer musk and light tobacco

This is a raw wood patchouli tobacco scent with a cologney note. I think I also smell a barely detectable smidgen of fruit on cold sniff, but not at all when melted (I expected a more fruity scent based on the name and notes). It smells fantastic though.

Throw: Faint, 1 out of 5



Berry Blossom

Notes: Passionflower, raspberry, lush greens and a light creamy musk

A lovely floral scent with a fruity note that smells like red currant (a fig-like soapy scent with a very slight berry note and only a smidgen of sweetness) mixed with a slightly sweeter fruit, perhaps peach or even cranberry. It's a great scent and it's not overly sweet because of the tartness of the fruits, but it's also not a tart, bitter scent. Very nice!

Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5



Coastal Christmas

Notes: Ocean salt air, sea kelp, balsam

This smells a little like BHG Fragrant Woodland Walk. It's definitely pine, but I also smell a clean, ozoney note in the background. It's not a sweet or perfumey scent at all. It has a bit of a slightly sour Play-Doh note though, and if it weren't for that note I would love this scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Forest Morning

Notes: Crisp air, fresh water, forest moss, timber

On cold sniff this smells like pine mixed with peppery, slightly zesty herbs that smell very authentic. But it's not a typical zesty lemony herbal scent that smells like a salad. It smells like someone just cut the grass, and there were some zesty weeds mixed in and you can smell them in the air. Very natural! Melted, I still smell those notes, but it loses some of the zesty authenticity and has more of a musty quality that I don't care for as much. The scent notes are definitely leaving a few notes out!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Home for Christmas

Notes: Sweet rum and butter blend with a medley of fruit scents

This is one of best holiday scents I've ever smelled! There are so many notes in here, I don't know where to begin. I smell apple (or pear), cinnamon, vanilla, and maybe a smidgen of ginger. Which sound like pretty standard notes. But it's rich and sugary sweet, with powdered sugar type notes, so it may also contain caramel, a hint of cloves, and maybe a molasses or rum type note. But what makes this different is a barely detectable smidgen of pine, and a very subtle nutty note way in the background. A very complex and wonderful holiday scent!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Honey Patchouli

Notes: Golden honey with essence of patchouli oil

I smell patchouli with a tobacco note, and a little bit of the honey, even though this scent is not overly sweet.

Throw: Very faint, 1 out of 5



Just For You

Notes: The sweet, perfumed air of a flower shop, with rose, fresh-cut stems, lush greens, and baby’s breath

A nice floral scent that smells like a combination of rose and peony. The peony is slightly bitter, but not enough to be annoying. It does smell like a flower shop, with freshly cut, dewy flowers! I don't think it's quite as authentic as the Wild Rose scent, but I still really like it. Unfortunately, the scent dissipated within an hour or so!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Mountain Retreat

Notes: Deep red berries, warm amber and crushed peppercorns

This scent is fantastic. I smell plum and possibly cranberries (although it's not a tart scent), along with cinnamon, a light woodsy note, and a sweet floral like honeysuckle or orange blossom. An unusual combination of notes that work perfectly together (although it's not a "mountain" type of scent). Looking at the notes, I guess the amber is the floral I think I smell. I do detect a smidgen of a peppery note, but I'm surprised I don't see cinnamon in the scent notes because I do smell a hint of that. Melted, I smell mostly an orange blossom type scent, and the rest of the notes are in the background. I love it!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Patchouli Plum

Notes: Dark fruit and woody notes, plum and musky patchouli, with a splash of raspberry

I didn't know what to expect based on cold sniff, as I couldn't really tell what I was smelling. But melted, it's fabulous! It's a combination of plum with a rich cherry tobacco note and a little bit of light woods and rich warm amber. It's nothing like Sugarplum Fairy, which is sweet and more "plummy". This scent has just a hint of sweetness, and the tobacco note is in the forefront. I think I do smell patchouli, but it's not as strong as the name would suggest. It's very rich and warm, and my description doesn't do it justice.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Powder Fresh

Notes: Lily of the valley, muguet, baby powder and vanilla

It's baby powder, and maybe slightly sweeter and a tiny bit more flowery. It's fantastic!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Scarlet Berry Tulip

Notes: Jasmine, violet, raspberry, blonde woods

I can't figure out what I'm smelling, but it's very complex with a lot of different notes, and it smells great! I definitely smell a floral (jasmine?) and berries (raspberry or blackberry), and a warm note like amber, maybe a hint of citrus (it has a tiny bit of zest in the background), and possibly tobacco or patchouli. Absolutely fantastic!!

Throw: Faint, 2.5 out of 5



Sleigh Ride

Notes: Notes of fresh outdoors, cedar, and pine

This is not the scent I expected based on the name. It's a fresh but soapy men's body wash type scent with a hint of light wood and a smidgen of pine. I don't smell nearly as much pine as I expected based on the notes. It's not sweet at all like cologne. It's a pleasant scent, but similar to a lot of other fresh body wash type scents I've had.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Smoked Birch

Notes: Amber, birch bark, and musk with a tough of fresh cologne

This is a super rich smoky scent that's so authentic it smells like burning mesquite. There's no other scent like it. I don't detect any cologne notes at all, and it's not sweet. It just smells like a campfire with rich, aromatic mesquite wood. Incredible! It smells almost exactly like ScentSationals Smoked Birch. But it's nothing like Yankee Candle's Silver Birch (a completely different scent). Only the votive was available and it was on sale for $1.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Sugarplum Fairy

Notes: Damask plum is blended with pomegranate, wrapped with golden amber and raspberry, and dusted with white cedarwood

This is a fantastic scent that smells like a lot of other plum and blackberry based scents out there, like Scentsy Luna, Goose Creek Moonlit Bloom, and ScentSationals Midnight Summer. It has a deep plum or blackberry base, with a perfumey note and a rich amber note for warmth. This version is much richer and more intense than other similar scents, so much that it almost has a slightly salty note (although it's a sweet scent). I adore this scent!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Summer Breeze

Notes: Crystal waters, driftwood, honeysuckle

A watery fresh air scent with a little bit of floral (honeysuckle or orange blossom), and it might have a bit of a vanilla note. It's a pleasant scent, although it has a hint of bitterness that I don't care for. Looking at the notes, I do smell a little bit of light wood.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Sunrise

Notes: Pineapple, dahlia, and sheer musk

A sweet powdery perfumey floral with a honeysuckle note and a smidgen of fruit, apricot and strawberry perhaps? It also has a tiny bit of a tropical note, so the fruit might be pineapple. It's a very nice scent.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



Wild Rose

Notes: Rose paired with peonies, mandarin and sandalwood

A nice old-fashioned tea rose scent. This smells more authentic than most rose scents I've smelled, and it doesn't have that "rose-scented soap" or perfumey note that I usually detect. I love this perfect rose scent! Looking at the notes, I do detect a smidgen of light wood that gives this scent some of its authenticity. But I don't smell mandarin (orange) at all.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Winter Clementine

Notes: Clementine, balsam and tart citrus

Pine and citrus has always been one of my favorite combinations, and this scent blends them perfectly. It's an authentic pine needle scent (probably the most authentic pine scent I've ever smelled) blended with a mix of orange and grapefruit. Fabulous!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Monday, November 19, 2018

Mainstays Wax Melts Reviews - Winter/Holiday 2018

Mainstays Wax Melts Reviews - Winter/Holiday 2018

Mainstays Wax Melts - Winter Holiday 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


I don't know the scent notes on any of these new Mainstays Winter 2018 scents yet, but as soon as they appear on the Walmart website (if they do), I'll add them to this review.



Country Holiday
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Mainstays-Country-Holiday-Wax-Melts/366525060

On cold sniff I wasn't sure about this one because it has a slightly bitter "off" note, but I don't smell that at all when melted, and it smells great! It's a sweet vanilla buttercream with a hint of marshmallow (but it's not a bakery scent), with a warm rich amber or mahogany, and possibly bergamot that gives it a hint of a cologne note (although it's not really a cologne scent). I love it!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Moonlit Spruce
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Mainstays-Moonlit-Spruce-Wax-Melts/385499826

This is a nice cologne scent that has just a smidgen of sweetness, unlike most cologne scents that tend to be quite sweet and even perfumey. It has a "dark" note that might be oud (a resinous tree sappy wood scent that sounds awful but smells incredible), and possibly a smidgen of leather. It also has a bland soapy note like Ivory soap (in a good way). I know that based on the scent name, there should be spruce or pine in this scent, but if it's in there, it's very subtle and barely noticeable. This scent is very similar to ScentSationals Black Tux, and a bit like Village Candle Black Bamboo. I really like it, and the scent lasted all day, 12 hours, and probably would have gone longer if I hadn't turned off my warmer at night.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Very Berry Garland
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Mainstays-Very-Berry-Garland-Wax-Melts/520547826

This is very nice, and very rich (almost nauseatingly so)! It smells like salty caramel buttered popcorn with an apple note. The scent lasted around 2.5 hours for me.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Also returning this year from previous years is Cinnamon (a sweet red hot cinnamon candy scent with strong throw) and Evergreen Spruce (a pine scent with a little bit of a biting note and smidgen of smokiness, with strong throw).



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Friday, November 16, 2018

Bridgewater Candle Wax Melts Reviews

Bridgewater Candle Wax Melts Reviews

Bridgewater Candle Wax Melts

Bridgewater Candle Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video



This is a review of all 30 current Bridgewater Candle Company wax melt scents (these scents are also available in their candles, sachets and other products.

Bridgewater Candle Company is a family-owned, U.S. based company that has their own in-house fragrance lab, compounding, and manufacturing facility. Unlike other companies that buy their fragrances from outside suppliers, Bridgewater has their own perfumers on staff who formulate and blend ingredients together to create unique fragrances that are only available through Bridgewater Candle Company. Their products are made with a proprietary soy blend. And Bridgewater Candle donates to Ricebowls.org, a non-profit organization that provides food for orphans around the world.

Bridgewater Candle products are sold at many small stores throughout the U.S., but can also be purchased from their website at https://bridgewatercandles.com. They're also on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/BridgewaterCandles.

The wax melts are $6 each for 2.6 oz, which is a bit pricey, but they're good quality melts with scents that you won't find anywhere else.

Bridgewater Candle Company is offering a special EXCLUSIVE DISCOUNT to our Facebook group members until November 26. They are also having some upcoming sales. Join our group and get the details at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail!



Afternoon Retreat

Description: Sink back into a bed of soft moss with teak, sandalwood and amber as a light breeze of fresh bergamot and lime sweeps the air.

I love this scent! It smells like men's cologne with a slight patchouli note. Looking at the notes, I don't smell lime at all.

Throw: Faint, 2.5 out of 5



Aloha Summer

Description: A succulent medley of pineapple, black currant, and peach greet with a kiss of cheer, while a flowering of jasmine, magnolia and water lily warbles cordial sentiments. Creamy vanilla blanketed in coconut shavings make the sweetest lasting impression.

It's a super sweet peach scent with a pineapple nectar note (if there were such a thing) with hints of coconut and maybe a smidgen of floral, plum, and vanilla. I'm not a fan of peach or pineapple scents, but I love this scent!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Blue Door

Description: Pulling up to the house with the blue door, layers of mandarin and cedarwood filling the air.

This smells like men's cologne with a little bit of a sweet woodsy note, although it's not really a sweet scent. On cold sniff I thought I smelled cinnamon, but I don't smell that when melted. And when melted, I think I detect a hint of lavender along with that slightly sweet woodsiness. Looking at the notes, I think I do detect a bit of cedar, and that might be what I think is the combination of lavender and sweet woods. I don't smell mandarin (orange) at all, although I think there's a barely detectable smidgen of lemon way in the background that could be the mandarin. It's a pleasant scent, although similar to a lot of other men's cologne type scents I have.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Christmas Bliss

Description: Embrace the Christmas spirit with warm vanilla, nutmeg, and cinnamon.

This smells like sweet cinnamon candy with a smidgen of bergamot that gives it a tiny bit of a cologney note. Melted, it smells more like straight cinnamon and very little of the cologne note. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell nutmeg, and I'm surprised I don't see amber or bergamot. It sounds similar to the Blue Door scent, but it's really not. Christmas Bliss is sweet cinnamon candy with a smidgen of cologne, while Blue Door is mostly a cologne scent with a hint of woodsy cinnamon and not nearly as sweet.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Cozy Moments

Description: Melt into soft surroundings of pure bliss as calming gingergrass and spicy nutmeg settle into a cradle of cinnamon leaf and clove. Creamy layers of honeyed caramel and maple sweetly bind the fragrance in snuggly warmth.

This smells like a cinnamon roll with ginger and a hint of a green tea note. It sounds like an odd combination, but it works.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Cup of Cheer

Description: Frothy and warm, this blend of nutmeg, cinnamon, ginger and vanilla will surely warm the soul.

This is light on cold sniff so I can't figure out what I'm smelling. I expected it to be a coffee scent based on the name, and I think it is, but it's a mostly milky latte with a barely detectable cinnamon, and a rich whipped cream or marshmallow or creme fraiche note. I think there might be a tiny bit of coffee in this, but if so, it's barely noticeable. It's different, and I like it. Looking at the notes, no coffee. I don't smell ginger at all. Melted, I'm surprised at how much I like this scent; it's really different and smells fantastic!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Free Spirit

Description: Fresh and crisp with notes of lavender and amber highlighted with marine notes.

A men's cologne or body wash scent with a little bit of lavender and a slightly soapy note. It's quite pleasant, although similar to other men's cologne scents I have.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Gathering

Description: Radiating with golden warmth and sprightly spice, Gathering ushers the olfactory sense to fond inner circles of comfy familiarity. Crystalized Bosc pear bids an amicable welcome followed by delectable encounters of cinnamon and clove. Gourmand garnishes of rich baked vanilla seal the fragrance in an unforgettable sweetness that leave the senses in a state of pure satisfaction.

I like this scent and I've smelled it before but I can't place it. It's very unusual and I'm not sure of the notes. I think I smell a tart, harsh apple with sweet aromatic incensey spices and a tiny bit of a perfumey note, as well as a smidgen of cinnamon. It's almost tart to the point of having a slightly lemony note, but it's not lemon at all, and although it's tart and harsh, it's actually quite sweet. Very hard to explain. This scent is much more complex than the notes suggest, and it's not truly a bakery scent. It smells like ScentSationals Turkish Spice Market mixed with a tart biting apple note. Looking at the notes, the apple I'm smelling is actually pear.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Hayride

Description: Pile in an open air wagon lined with golden hay bales, and set off down a bumpy dirt road colored with fiery autumn foliage and rows of plump pumpkins. Recalling memorable afternoons on the farm, Hayride bundles notes of crisp apple and pumpkin with spicy cinnamon, clove and creamy vanilla. Newly mown hay and powdery-sweet tonka close the fragrance in classic autumnal brilliance.

An apple cider scent with a little bit of mulled spices. It's a nice authentic scent.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Kiss in the Rain

Description: Captures that undeniably magical moment of getting lost in one another as sparks fly from a dreamy embrace. A passionate mist of black currant, raspberry and strawberry dispels into a floral enmeshment of soft rose and violet. Gently knit together with a base of vanilla woods, amber and musk, the chemistry in this fragrant experience is unforgettable.

I think I smell plum and raspberry, but it's really not a fruity scent, more of a perfumey scent. I think I also smell a warm amber note, bergamot, and rose. But it also has an interesting "warm milk" note in the background that makes this scent very unique. I love it!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Lavender Lane

Description: Meander through refreshing lavender fields.

It's lavender, and I love lavender. On cold sniff it was a bit medicinal with a smidgen of eucalyptus, but I liked it better when melted (a little soapy and very slightly sweet).

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Let's Celebrate

Description: Raise a glass and make a toast to a fragrance that embodies all things exuberant, bubbly and revel-worthy. Glittery bursts of succulent strawberry and mandarin fizz into a flowery trio of mimosa, honeysuckle and gardenia, while an infusion of buttery vanilla rum, sandalwood and musk exalt the senses into a holding pattern of pure jubilation.

On cold sniff this is a rich warm ambery men's cologne scent with a hint of honeysuckle I think, and possibly a hint of vanilla, and maybe a barely detectable smidgen of some kind of fruit like strawberry. I really like it. But when melted, I definitely smell orange (mandarin) which I don't really smell on cold sniff, and the cologney note is not nearly as strong.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Lily of the Valley

Description: Embrace this classic floral, simple & pure.

A nice combination of orange flower and jasmine with a little bit of a soapy note. It's not really an authentic lily of the valley floral scent, and it's not overly sweet or perfumey, but it smells great.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Open Road

Description: Floral bouquet wrapped with fresh cucumber and softened with sandalwood

I can't figure out what I'm smelling, but it's nice. It smells a bit like body wash with floral notes and maybe a smidgen of apple and vanilla. Looking at the notes, I don't smell cucumber or sandalwood; I really do smell a fruit note.

Throw: Faint, 2.5 out of 5



Orange Vanilla

Description: Reminisce the summer days of frozen orange perfection with creamy smooth vanilla.

A yummy orange creamsicle scent that smells like a fake powdered orange drink mix (but not Tang, as it's not tangy at all) mixed with sweet vanilla. It's more artificial than many similar scents I've smelled, but I still really like it.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Pomegranate

Description: Juicy tartness bursting with sweet pomegranate

I don't know what pomegranate actually smells like, but this smells like sweet rich strawberry with a little bit of a creamy note, like maybe strawberry candy. It's not an authentic fruit scent, but that's okay because it smells great. Looking at the description, no, this scent is not tart, or if it is it's very subtle.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Remember When

Description: A dash of cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg create a recipe handed down with love.

This is pure cinnamon, and I mean like the real thing, an authentic powdered cinnamon scent. It's not a fake "Red Hot" or "Big Red" cinnamon scent. I also smell powdered sugar in the background, so it smells like a cinnamon roll, but without that bready bakery note. I'm not a fan of cinnamon scents, but this one is quite nice. Looking at the notes, I don't smell ginger or nutmeg

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Soar

Description: Sparkling grapefruit, sugared orange, sweetened lemon, and tangy lime satiate the air and awaken the sensorial experience. Refreshing and gratifying at its core, Soar's sweet raspberry and tropical hibiscus scents permeate throughout. Pure, natural amber and heady musk culminate the olfactory odyssey encouraging reminiscences and a keenness and aspiration of next endeavor.

I smell mostly orange, with a little bit of raspberry, and maybe a smidgen of floral. I really like this!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Spring Dress

Description: Stroll through the garden in a spring dress of feminine blossoms of peony, magnolia, sparkling citrus and warmed with mahogany.

A lovely perfume scent with lilies, the warmth of amber, a hint of patchouli, and possibly a smidgen of barely detectable wood in the background. Looking at the notes, I don't smell citrus.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Storybrook Dreams

Description: Magnifying treasured time spent stealing snuggles from loved ones cradled in the warmth, comfort and security of an unwavering bond, Storybook Dreams is a calming reminder to retreat to that safe haven. Fluffy layers of warm linen collapse on a soothing sea of undulating lavender and herbal tea, gradually surrendering to the cozy familiarities of sandalwood and vanilla.

I've smelled this scent several times before. I think it's similar to Chesapeake Bay's Snuggly Sweater, which a lot of people like. It's not one of my favorites, and I can't figure out the notes. It's a little bit of a laundry scent and I think I also detect a little bit of tea. But there's an odd "off" note that I can't figure out, maybe a little sour or bitter or mildewy. I don't like that note in scents by other manufacturers that smell like this one either. But I'm very sensitive to bitterness in scents, so I think most people will like this scent.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Sweet Grace

Description: Illuminate the preciousness of life and effortless beauty of passionate fruits radiating with sparkling tea and classic patchouli

This smells just like Angel perfume (there's a picture of angel wings on the label). I just can't figure out the individual notes. Maybe apricot, amber for warmth, and possibly a smidgen of patchouli. Looking at the notes, yes I do smell the tea; in fact, that might be the note that I think is apricot. This is a popular Bridgewater Candle Company scent, and I can see why. It's fantastic!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Sweet Magnolia

Description: Embrace the hospitality of the southern sweetness of a blooming magnolia.

Oops, for some reason this is the one scent I didn't receive!



Sweet Summer Tea

Description: Refresh yourself with chilled tea mingled with strawberries, lemons, and a kiss of lily blossoms.

This is a fantastic scent! It smells like a combination of lemon iced tea and sweet rich strawberry preserves, with possibly a smidgen of a floral in the background.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Tea Party

Description: Fruity and mellifluous beginnings of mandarin, peach and apricot sift through dreamy puffs of peony and rose. Dribbling juices from ripened red berries surrender to a fountain of white musk capping this lovely blend in darling delicacy.

This is not really a tea scent, although I think I do detect a hint of tea in it. It's a perfumey floral (jasmine maybe?) with a hint of peach I think. It's quite nice.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Tickled Pink

Description: Linden blossom and violet leaf sweetened with berries

I thought this was a Pink Sugar type scent based on the name, but it's not. It's quite girly though. It's a very sweet spring-like floral with jasmine or honeysuckle, and a hint of fruit in the background (strawberry and maybe apple). Very nice.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Tree Trek

Description: A trek for the perfect fir tree begins in the crisp wintry woods amidst fresh mountain air.

A rich, warm spruce scent. It's not a biting pine type scent. Very nice.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Vanilla Cream

Description: Rich, vanilla butter-cream frosting - so good to eat.

Unlike a lot of vanilla scents, this one is quite strong on cold sniff. And it smells just like the scent name, a rich vanilla buttercream.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Wanderlust

Description: Fabricated with an airy and nomadic feel, the fragrance layers windblown marigold, and velvety apricot over dancing orange flower. A trail of buttery caramel, smooth vanilla, and earthy sandalwood sweetly beckon through the unruly breeze.

This is my kind of scent. I smell Nag Champa, orange blossom, warm amber, bergamot, and something rich and slightly foodie in the background like vanilla or caramel. Looking at the notes, no Nag Champa! I don't smell apricot at all. I love this scent!!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Weekend Getaway

Description: Adventure calls and the great outdoors await to lure the senses on an open air escape. Herbal bay leaf and freshly-harvested pine deliver an uplifting opener of earthy splendor, while intriguing trails of spicy clove bud and Siberian Fir root the fragrance in woodsy wonder.

This smells like sitting in front of a campfire by a log cabin in the middle of the forest on a cold winter night as it starts to snow. It's a little smoky but not like a burning wood kind of smoky, with a little bit of clove and possibly a smidgen of eucalyptus and pine. A nice cozy winter scent! It's similar to the old Better Homes & Gardens scents Winter's Sleigh Ride and Winter Ski Resort.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Welcome Home

Description: Welcome home to family with cinnamon notes mingled with plum and apple accords.

This is cinnamon with a smidgen of apple and berries in the background. It's not really a cinnamon apple scent because the main note is strong cinnamon, and there's that red berry note in the background. It's quite sweet, so it has a little bit of a candy note, or maybe sweet vanilla, or maybe even a smidgen of floral.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



White Cotton

Description: Dance through the sunshine filled crisp linen sheets.

A nice sweet fabric softener scent. It might have a barely detectable smidgen of oriental spices in it.

Throw: Faint, 2.5 out of 5




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Glade Wax Melts Reviews - Winter/Holiday 2018

Glade Wax Melts Reviews - Winter/Holiday 2018

Glade Wax Melts - Winter/Holiday 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


I've been finding these winter scents in candle form at many stores, but Target is the only store where I found the wax melts.



Dancing Flowers

Notes: Jasmine and lily of the valley with sparkling pear and fresh greens upon light, white woods

I was only able to find this scent in the candle, so I scooped out the wax to use in the warmer. It's a super sweet perfumey scent with a hint of baby powder I think. I don't smell pear, greens, or wood. I really like it and wish I could find it in a wax melt. Generally the melts throw better than the candles.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Enchanted Evergreens

Notes: Pine needles with a touch of festive spices and notes of cinnamon bark and nutmeg

This is one of the best pine/spruce scents I've ever smelled, and it's super strong on cold sniff. It's rich and a little smoky and woodsy, and even slightly salty. I don't smell any spices though. This is the same pine scent that Glade comes out with every year, but with a different name. And every year I fall for it because it smells so good on cold sniff, only to be disappointed that the strong cold sniff scent doesn't translate to a strong throw.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Nutcracker Delight

Notes: Roasted hazelnuts and sweet pralines, dusted with creamy vanilla bean upon dollops of almond butter

I love this scent! It's super sweet and caramely with a hint of nuts, and the nutty note is indeed hazelnuts (the same type of nut in that yummy spread called Nutella), and maybe a smidgen of almond. The scent notes and my description don't do it justice. It's fantastic.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Sugarplum Fantasies

Notes: Dark plums and tart blackberries with violet and vanilla sugar

I didn't buy this one (and it was only available in the candle). It was very weak on cold sniff and what I was able to smell was just a generic slightly tart berry scent.



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Goose Creek Candle Wax Melts Reviews - Winter/Holiday 2018

Goose Creek Candle Wax Melts Reviews - Winter/Holiday 2018

Goose Creek Candle Wax Melts - Winter/Holiday 2018
Click to enlarge

These are the new Goose Creek Candles holiday wax melts scents for Winter 2018. Goose Creek Candle's website is https://goosecreekcandle.com. They're also on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/goosecreekcandle, as well as Instagram. I really like Goose Creek wax melts! The scents are high quality and the throw tends to be quite strong. Highly recommended!

No video for this review. YouTube keeps displaying it flipped upside down even though I took the video right side up! Trying to figure out what to do....




Dazzling Popcorn

Description: A delicious, dazzling treat. Buttery goodness fills the air!

Notes:
Top: Dazzling Popcorn, Buttery Vanilla
Mid: Vanilla Spice, Gourmand Notes
Base: Caramel, Soft Coconut, Apple

This smells a lot like the Spiced Caramel Corn side of Better Homes & Gardens At the Fair duo, and a lot like ScentSationals Pumpkin Apple Muffins, but it's not the exact same scent. This scent is slightly sweeter than the BHG scent (although it's really not a sweet scent). And like that scent, this is a salty popcorn scent with just a hint of caramel and maybe a barely detectable smidgen of apple. Looking at the notes, I don't smell coconut at all.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Eggnog Icing

Description: Christmas morning is here! Our unique egg nog icing recipe is perfect for the delicious Christmas cupcakes.

Notes:
Top: Honey, Cinnamon, Butter
Mid: Cream, Caramel, Soft Spice
Base: Vanilla Bean, Milk

This scent wasn't available when I got these from the Goose Creek website, but I found it at Gabe's store a few weeks later. It's so much better than I was anticipating! But it's not an eggnog scent... it's butter pecan, like sweet rich butter pecan ice cream. The nutty note is quite strong, so I'm surprised I don't see it in the scent notes (maybe the "Butter" in the notes is supposed to say "Butter Pecan"?). I don't really detect cinnamon. This is a scent to hoard!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Frozen in Time

Description: Time is frozen as you explore a winter wonderland. Happy memories from your childhood live again.

Notes:
Top: Vanilla Peppermint
Mid: Frosted Grapefruit, Fruity Citrus Blend
Base: Frozen Snowdrops, Cashmere Woods

This scent wasn't available when I got these from the Goose Creek website, but I found it at Gabe's store a few weeks later. It's a fantastic minty/eucalyptus type scent with a hint of a smoky note (but it's not actually a "smoky" or woodsy scent). I don't detect any grapefruit or citrus. It's very similar to the beloved but discontinued Goose Creek Vanilla Wonderland, but with a little less sweetness and slightly more smoky mint. It's also very similar to the new ScentSationals Iridescent, but comparing them side by side... I just realized that Vanilla Wonderland and Iridescent smell almost exactly alike.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Gingerbread Lane

Description: It's Christmas Eve and the North Pole is loading up Santa's sleigh. Gingerbread Lane prepares for Santa's departure.

Notes:
Top: Gingerbread Crackers, Vanilla Icing
Mid: Cinnamon, Nutmeg, Clove
Base: Light Coconut, Vanilla, Warm Sugar

This smells like a combination of apples, berries, and gingerbread. Like warm freshly baked gingerbread with a rich compote of sweet apples and red berries on top. It smells a bit like Better Homes & Gardens Farm Apple Pumpkin and Mainstays Apple Pumpkin, but with the gingerbread note. Fantastic scent! Looking at the notes, I can't believe I don't see any fruit, because apple is the main note I'm smelling.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Marshmallow Fudge

Description: It's Christmas morning! Enjoy a delightful frothy hot cocoa with fluffy marshmallows on top.

Notes:
Top: Fluffy Marshmallows, Chocolate Fudge
Mid: Powdered Sugar, Vanilla Bean
Base: Chocolate Cream, Salted Butter

This smells like milk chocolate Cadbury cream eggs more than hot cocoa, with that super sweet rich marshmallow filling. It smells so yummy, I want to take a bite out of the wax!

Of course since this scent and Better Homes & Gardens Creamy Marshmallow Cocoa are coming out around the same time, I have to provide a comparison. The BHG scent is an authentic hot cocoa scent. It's a richer, fudgy, almost buttery cocoa (rather than just chocolate), with a sweet marshmallow note, and it's not as sweet as the Goose Creek scent. Neither chocolate scent has that bitter, burnt note that a lot of chocolate scents tend to have. I can't say one is better than the other, as they both smell fantastic to me; they're just different types of chocolate. Melted, however, I think I like the Goose Creek version better because it's sweeter.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Peppermint Whip

Description: Crushed peppermint blends in harmony with deliciously sweet vanilla whipped cream.

Notes:
Top: Sparkling Peppermint, Frozen Vanilla
Mid: Candy Cane Swirl, Candied Sugar
Base: Whipped Cream, Snowflakes

A fantastic peppermint scent with creamy vanilla. It's different from their Peppermint scent (which was much more pepperminty and smelled like peppermint hard candies) and Peppermint Snowflake (which was also a little more pepperminty but also had a creamy milky note, whereas the Peppermint Whip doesn't have that milky note). And it's a totally different scent from Vanilla Wonderland. It's definitely pepperminty, but a little softer than other peppermint scents I've smelled.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Sparkling Woods

Description: A sparkling wonderland awaits as glistening snow drifts through the white winter woods.

Notes:
Top: Sparkling Bergamot, Black Pepper
Mid: Cool Snow Drift
Base: Light Woods

This scent wasn't available when I got these from the Goose Creek website, but I found it at Gabe's store a few weeks later. This scent was only available in candle format two years ago and I bought the 1.5 oz. Firefly candle and fell in love with this scent. So I'm very pleased that it finally came out in a wax melt! It's basically a combination of milky sandalwood and citrusy lemon, with a smidgen of a peppery note. It's not a sweet scent at all. It's fantastic. Looking at the notes, I'm surprised I don't see lemon. I don't detect bergamot which would give this a cologney note, although bergamot also can have a citrusy note. And I'm not sure what a "cool snow drift" smells like!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Teakwood Merlot

Description: Barrel aged, Parisian merlot sets the mood for a truly magical evening.

Notes:
Top: Parisian Merlot, Black Wine Grapes
Mid: Wine Barrel, Cardamom, Rosemary
Base: Teakwood, Oakmoss, Mahogany

A fantastic men's cologne scent with a warm amber note, a hint of woodsiness, a smidgen of fruit (plum and grape) and maybe a tiny bit of leather. Looking at the scent notes, this scent is not as fruity as the notes suggest. I definitely smell the mahogany (which is the warm ambery wood note), but although I smell the fruit, it's not very noticeable, but it certainly enhances the scent. I really like this one!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Welcome Frosty

Description: Frosty comes to life as magical snowflakes blow through a winter wonderland.

Notes:
Top: Vanilla Marshmallow, Buttercream Vanilla
Mid: Butter Cream, Soft Peach, Gentle Spice
Base: Soft Coconut, Vanilla, Sandalwood

I can't figure out the notes on this one, but I like it. I smell a super sweet sugary vanilla with a smidgen of cinnamon and perhaps a barely detectable caramel or rum, and a smidgen of a milky note. It has a bit of a cookie vibe, but it's not completely a bakery scent. Looking at the notes, I don't smell peach or coconut, but now I do detect a smidgen of fruit and possibly coconut way in the background that I probably wouldn't have noticed if I didn't know it was in the notes. I really like this scent, and I love that not all of their holiday scents are the typical cinnamon, pine and pumpkin.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.