Friday, August 17, 2018

Goose Creek Candles Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018

Goose Creek Candles Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018

Goose Creek Candles Wax Melts - Fall 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


These are the new Goose Creek Candles wax melts scents for Fall 2018. Goose Creek Candle's website is https://goosecreekcandle.com. I'm a fan of Goose Creek's wax melts. The scents are high quality and the throw tends to be quite strong. Highly recommended!



Autumn Leaf & Amber

Description:
Escape to the woods in a secluded autumn lake house. Leaves shimmer as the evening sun sets.

Notes
Top: Delicious Red Apple, Sparkling Amber
Mid: Fallen Leaves, Autumn Lake House
Base: Cedarwood, Rich Patchouli, Vanilla

This is not a sweet scent at all, more savory, peppery and a little sour/bitter. It's a peppery apple scent, and the apple is more of an old apple that fell on the ground after the fall season and mixed with old brown leaves. But not in a bad way. It's different. Looking at the notes, there's the apple and fallen leaves, not sure what an autumn lake house smells like though! On cold sniff I do detect a hint of amber (which is a sweet warm woodsy scent) and patchouli, but I don't smell those at all when melted.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Bedtime Stories

Description:
Roasting marshmallows by the fire, the imaginations run wild as our favorite bedtime stories are being told. (formerly Campfire Marshmallow)

Notes
Top: Campfire Marshmallow, Warm Vanilla Bean
Mid: Whipped Cream, Light Smokey Notes
Base: Vanilla Extract, Sandalwood, Soft Balsam

A nice rich vanilla marshmallow scent with a smidgen of a smoky note. The Goose Creek website says this is the same scent as their 2016 Campfire Marshmallow scent (https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2016/06/goose-creek-candle-scented-wax-melts-review.html), but I recall that scent having more of a slight laundry or perfumey note, and not as much marshmallow, and the throw was not good. This scent smells more like their Marshmallows scent from May 2018 (https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2018/05/goose-creek-candle-wax-melts-reviews-may-2018.html)

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Carnival Pralines

Description:
The scent of carnival treats fills the air. Caramel, vanilla and chocolate, oh my!

Notes
Top: Warm Caramel, Toasted Hazelnut
Mid: Delicious Pralines, Chocolate Cream
Base: Whipped Vanilla, Salty Essence

A nice rich caramel scent with a milk chocolate note. Yummy!

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Pumpkin Cupcake

Description:
A perfectly sweet pumpkin cupcake topped with vanilla bean & caramel swirl icing.

Notes
Top: Pumpkin Cake Batter, Vanilla Bean
Mid: Sweet Pumpkin, Soft Cinnamon
Base: Caramel, Almond, Brown Sugar

A rich warm caramel bakery scent with a slight vanilla note and maybe a hint of pumpkin spice, and a smidgen of a nutty note. It's not all that pumpkiny, or even spicy, which is good.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Sunflower Daydream

Description:
Beautiful sunflowers drift gently in a cool harvest breeze.

Notes
Top: Sunflowers, Sweet Autumn Apple
Mid: Jasmine, Rose, Ozonic
Base: Cedarwood, Amber, Musk

This is a salty caramel apple scent with a bit of a warm amber note. But it's not a perfumey scent, or even a floral scent at all, and definitely not a sunflower type scent. It's very salty, with almost a popcorn note, but also sweet. I like it!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Warm & Welcome

Description:
It's a warm and cozy embrace as you grab a comfy blanket and start season 2 of your favorite new show.

Notes
Top: Warm Glowing Amber, Vanilla Sandalwood
Mid: Vanilla Orchid, Marshmallow Crème
Base: White Mocha, Vanilla, Creamy Woods

This smells like marshmallow with a soft slightly cashmere note. It's a little sweet with just a tiny bit of a perfumey note, but it's not a perfumey scent at all. It's rich and warm and might have a hint of caramel, and maybe a barely detectable smidgen of chocolate, but although it smells yummy, it's not really a foodie scent. I like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



I didn't get Carving Pumpkins or Fluffy Pancakes (I was told that they won't be available in melts, only candles).




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Friday, August 3, 2018

Febreze Unstopables Wax Melt Review - Vanilla

Febreze Unstopables Wax Melt Review - Vanilla

Click to enlarge

Video


This smells a bit like Scentsy Lavender Vanilla, which I've been told is a dupe of Bath & Body Works Lavender Vanilla. It smells like a combination of lavender, cashmere/amber for warmth, a hint of musk, a smidgen of patchouli, and just a tiny bit of vanilla. It's a nice scent. I found it at Walmart at the end of July 2018, but like the other Unstopables wax melts (which I reviewed HERE), I don't know if all Walmarts will carry it.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Febreze One Wax Melts Reviews

Febreze One Wax Melts Reviews

Febreze One Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


The new Febreze One melts are made with soy wax (like all of their scents), as well as essential oils, and no artificial perfumes or dyes. As of July 2018 I've only found them at Walmart. Both scents are very strong on cold sniff, especially the peppermint. But they don't throw as well as I expected they would; in fact, I had better luck putting a cube of the peppermint scent in a dish without even melting it. Febreze has come out with a wax warmer specifically for their melts. The new warmer is only 8.5 watts, which means it doesn't get very warm. Most wax warmers are 20 to 24 watts (I used a 20 watt Glade warmer to melt these). It's possible that the essential oils burn off too quickly with a regular warmer, and the Febreze warmer might be better for these melts. And both scents dissipated within 1.5 to 2 hours. But again, the Febreze warmer might prevent that. I don't have the new Febreze warmer, nor will I buy a separate warmer just for these melts. Oh, and these melts are $4.95 each, for 2.75 oz. Which is quite pricey, and more than their other Febreze scents which are usually $2.97 (or $3.97 for the Unstopables).



Lemongrass & Ginger

This smells like you've just walked into an expensive spa. It's a very natural essential oil scent, but it's hard to describe. I smell the lemongrass, but it's more "warm" and soapy and less lemony (not very lemony at all, actually) than other lemongrass scents I've smelled. And I think I do detect ginger in the background, so that might be the warm soapy note. It's not sweet at all. I really like this one, but the scent started dissipating within 1 hour and was gone within 2 hours.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Febreze-ONE-Soy-Wax-Melts-with-Essential-Oils-Lemongrass-Ginger-Scent-6-Cubes-2-75-Ounce/221994149



Peppermint & Rosemary

This is real peppermint oil, and has a strong sinus clearing effect. It's a little sweet, and it also has a little bit of an herbal/spa note, which is probably the rosemary. I don't smell rosemary per se, which is a savory herb with undertones of pine and lemon. Although there might be a smidgen of a lemongrass type note in the background which gives this scent the herbal/spa quality. This scent dissipated within 1.5 hour, and within 2 hours it was gone.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5 (but a couple of other people tried this scent and said it was a 5 out of 5)

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Febreze-ONE-Soy-Wax-Melts-with-Essential-Oils-Peppermint-Rosemary-Scent-6-Cubes-2-75-Oz/820618715



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Febreze Cranberry & Pumpkin Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018

Febreze Cranberry & Pumpkin Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018

Febreze Cranberry and Pumpkin Wax Melts - Fall 2018
Click to enlarge

Video




Fresh-Harvest Pumpkin

A nice pumpkin spice scent, sweeter than most, with maybe a hint of brown sugar, and not as many spices. But it's a dupe of just about every pumpkin scent they've come out with for years, including last year's Fresh-Fall Pumpkin.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Fresh-Twist Cranberry

This is a dupe of other cranberry scents that Febreze has come out with for years, including Sugared Cranberry and Cranberry Cheer. I think this scent was also out last year. It's fantastic, a combination of fake fruit with just a smidgen of tartness (but not actually cranberry), a hint of a light raw wood note, a little bit of a perfumey note, and a smidgen of a fresh note. It's not a foodie scent and not even all that fruity.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5 (but the older versions of this scent had a much stronger throw)

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Wax-Melt-Febreze-Wax-Melts-Fresh-Twist-Cranberry-Air-Freshener-1-Count-2-75-oz/55122803



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Saturday, July 28, 2018

Ashland (Michaels) Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018

Ashland (Michaels) Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018

Ashland (Michaels) Wax Melts - Fall 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


Hanna's Candle is no longer making the Michaels (Ashland) wax melts (starting with these Fall 2018 scents). I don't know who the new manufacturer is.



Autumn Walk

I smell men's cologne, sandalwood, and a fresh air note. It's the same as the Autumn Walk scent from July 2017. I said last year that the cologne note was a bit harsh. Actually, I think it has a very slight sour note, or maybe a smidgen of that old apple note, or old wood, way in the background, and that's what I don't care for.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Cinnamon Pecan Buns

Someone made a mistake at the factory, because this is the same scent as the Classic Pumpkin Spice scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Classic Pumpkin Spice

Just like the scent name says, this is a standard pumpkin pie type scent. A little generic, nothing exciting.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Delicious Apple

It's apple. I don't think I detect any spices. It smells nice even though it's a fake apple scent, like apple potpourri. Melted, I detect a hint of caramel.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Pumpkin Spice Chai

This smells a little like apple cider with a sweet raisin note. I do smell nutmeg, which gives it a pumpkiny note. I don't smell any tea or chai notes though. I think it's the same as Pumpkin Spice Chai from July 2017, but maybe not (I described that as a sweet pumpkin pie scent with a hint of chai tea). When melted, I don't really smell the apple note that I smell on cold sniff, and it smells more pumpkiny.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Vanilla Pumpkin

On cold sniff smells like a sweet creamy milky vanilla scent with coffee and a hint of nutmeg and cinnamon. It's a really nice scent, my favorite of this collection. Melted though, I smell more of the pumpkin spices and much less of the coffee. It's still a nice scent though.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Tuesday, July 24, 2018

Liza Jane Candle Company Wax Melts Reviews

Liza Jane Candle Company Wax Melts Reviews

Liza Jane Candle Company Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


Liza Jane Candle Company is a new candle and wax melt business in Waxahachie, Texas. Unlike most small wax vendors, Liza uses paraffin in her products instead of soy. I find that paraffin throws better than soy ("throw" is how far you can smell the scent in the room while it's melting).

The paraffin she uses is a special grade that intensifies the throw. And even though the temperature was in the 90's when I got these in the mail, they didn't melt at all! They are a bit soft and greasy like soy, and slightly sticky so that I had to use a butter knife to get a cube out of the clamshell, but that was not a problem at all; in fact, it was better than getting my fingers greasy!

Liza Jane Candle Company is now one of my new top favorite wax melt vendors. Those who know me know I have very high expectations when it comes to wax melts, and Liza Jane Candle Company exceeded every one of them. I liked most of the scents, and again, unlike most wax vendors, just about all of the wax melts had excellent throw! I even like her labels, which are classy and professional. Liza was wonderful to work with, professional, and an all-around nice person who provided exceptional customer service. And if all of that weren't enough, 2% of all sales goes to Parkinson's Disease Research for a cure!

Liza Jane Candle Company can be found on her website at https://www.lizajanecandleco.com, and on Facebook at
https://www.facebook.com/lizajanecandleco.



Angel Wings

Notes: A powdery bouquet of rose, jasmine and hawthorne enhanced by fresh vanilla, musk and wood

I love this scent! It's primarily a baby powder scent, but there's something else, a very sweet floral note like jasmine, and a little musk. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell rose, wood or vanilla, and I don't know what hawthorne smells like.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the entire house!



Butt Naked

Notes: A saucy blend of melons, strawberries, pears and fresh green apples

I've smelled this scent before, and it smells like super sweet cherries with a watermelon note and a little bit of a tropical fruit note, and maybe rich vanilla (although it's definitely not a bakery scent). Very nice! Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell apples, and not really the strawberries either, although what I think is cherry is probably a combination of all those fruits.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Cashmere

Notes: A warm, herbal musky fragrance with a light musk base woven with notes of muguet, sandalwood, creamy vanilla and patchouli, with top notes of mandarin and lime

I can't figure out the notes in this one. It's kind of sweet and girly, but not overly sweet like Pink Sugar. Not really soapy either, and not a perfumey scent. Maybe a smidgen of sandalwood way in the background? Cashmere is actually a warm, rich, ambery perfumey scent, but this scent is not that at all. Looking at the scent notes, I definitely don't smell mandarin (orange) or lime. I think I detect a bit of the musk, and possibly a smidgen of patchouli. It's a pleasant scent, but just kind of "meh" for me (but just because it wasn't my favorite doesn't mean it won't be yours!)

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Cowboy Leather

Notes: Smells like the inside of a saddle shop

Yep, it's leather, and it smells great! Also makes a great mixer... smells fantastic when mixed with pine, woodsy, patchouli or cologne scents.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the entire house!



Cranberry Chutney

This smells like a combination of maraschino cherry and cranberry, or maybe cranberry with a candy note. It's fresh and sweet with some cranberry tanginess. It's not an authentic cranberry scent, but I still really like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Dreamy Vanilla

A sweet rich vanilla buttercream. Scent started dissipating within 2 hours.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Fresh Cut Bamboo

This is not really a bamboo scent, as bamboo has a nutty coconut note. But it's fantastic! It smells like hothouse flowers, a combination of honeysuckle and jasmine with watery and grassy green notes that keep it from being too sweet or perfumey. Unfortunately, the scent started dissipating within 1.5 hour.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Grapefruit

Fantastic zesty white grapefruit scent. It's not a sweet pink grapefruit. It might have a smidgen of lemon in it. Nice and thirst-quenching!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the entire house!



Icicles

Notes: Ozone and cypress with mid notes of jasmine and spice on a base of cedar, sugar and moss

I've smelled this scent before, and it's fantastic. It's a raw wood scent, like a birch or light wood, with a fresh note, and maybe also mint (fresh mint, not peppermint or spearmint) and maybe a bit of eucalyptus and possibly a smidgen of pine. But it's not a pine scent. It's a nice wintery scent. Looking at the scent notes, no mint! And I don't smell jasmine or sugar, as it's not sweet at all and there are no floral notes.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the entire house!



Inner Peace

Notes: Energizing notes of cherry & almond blended with notes of neroli, orange flower, jasmine and strawberry. Base notes of cotton candy, vanilla, and raspberry.

I can't figure out what I'm smelling, but it's pleasant. It smells like soap with maybe a subtle citrus or orange note, and maybe a bit of floral, and possibly a smidgen of vanilla. It's a little sweet, but not perfumey. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell most of those notes! On cold sniff it's not a fruity scent, but when melted I definitely smell the fruit, although it's more like fruit scented soap with an orangey note.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Jasmine Orchidea

Notes: Blend of jasmine, orange blossom and rose with a hint of sheer musk

A nice perfumey scent with jasmine and a hint of something else. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell rose at all, and not really orange blossom (which is a scent I love).

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Key Lime Pie

A sweet creamy lime scent. When melted, it has a hint of a lime scented cleaner note, but not in a bad way. It's a fresh, summery scent.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Midnight Cowboy

Notes: Notes of citrus, bergamot, sea salt and amber wood

A fresh "Cool Water" type men's cologne or body wash. I like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Peach

A nice peach scent, kind of authentic. It's a sour peach rather than a sweet peach, but if you like sweet peach, it smells fantastic mixed with Dreamy Vanilla!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Pink Sugar

Notes: A fruity blend of cotton candy, lemon drops, caramel and raspberry jam on a dry down of musk

I love the Pink Sugar scent, no matter who makes it. It's like a combination of a pre-teen girl's perfume, cotton candy, and a hint of raspberry. I don't smell lemon, but I do smell the musk of the perfume, and maybe a smidgen of the caramel although it's not a foodie scent at all. Fantastic!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Wine & Roses

Notes: Red roses mixed with red wine

This smells exactly like the scent name: roses and wine. The rose is the predominant note, but I also detect a sweet grapey wine. It's a nice, interesting combination.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5




I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Sunday, July 22, 2018

Sonoma Wax Melts Reviews at Kohl's - Fall 2018

Sonoma Wax Melts Reviews at Kohl's - Fall 2018

Sonoma Wax Melts at Kohl's - Fall 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


I'm underwhelmed with the Kohl's Sonoma Fall 2018 wax melts scents. Several are dupes of scents from previous years, many are "typical" fall spice pumpkiny type scents (nothing exciting), and some of the ones that are different have weak throw.



Apple Spice

Notes: apple, spice and cinnamon

A typical apple cider scent, but not as much of that harsh "mulling spices" note. So it smells more like sweet apple juice with a hint of cinnamon. It's different from the Hot Apple Cider scent; I like this scent much more, as it's more authentic.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Autumn Hayride

Notes: cedarwood, cinnamon bark and white clove

This is the same Autumn Hayride scent that came out in October 2015 and October 2016, and I'm glad they brought it back because it's fantastic, a smoky woodsy scent that smells like burning leaves. I think I do detect the cloves a little, because it's not just a smoky scent, there's something else in there. One of my favorite fall scents. The 2015 and 2016 versions were bold throwers, 5 out of 5.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Bergamot Driftwood

Notes: bergamot, driftwood and spice

Bergamot is used in cologne type scents, and that's kind of what this is, but it's also "salty", if that makes sense, and has a woodsy note with just a smidgen of smokiness. It also has a little bit of a spa or herbal quality like a tiny bit of zestiness, perhaps lemongrass way in the background. I like it.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5



Bourbon Pumpkin Brulee

Notes: pumpkin, creamy vanilla and caramelized sugar

I think this is a dupe of an older scent, but I don't remember which one, maybe White Pumpkin Marshmallow from August 2017? I described it the same way back then: "This smells just like the scent name... sweet marshmallow with pumpkin spices. Very nice!"

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Caramel Toffee

Notes: caramel, butterscotch and cinnamon

This is the same Caramel Toffee scent that came out in October 2015 and October 2016, and it's fantastic. It smells just like the notes: rich caramel, butterscotch, and cinnamon. It smells a little like a cinnamon roll but without the bakery notes.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Cinnamon Spice Cookie

Notes: cinnamon, warm maple syrup and sugar cookie

A yummy rich scent of brown sugar with a bit of a raisin note, a hint of maple and cinnamon, and possibly a smidgen of nutmeg. I also smell a vanilla cookie note in the background. The scent started dissipating around 1.5 hour.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Crackling Cedarwood

Notes: smoked woods, warm vanilla and sweet tobacco

I'm pretty sure this is an older marshmallow type scent. It's a sweet vanilla buttercream scent with a strong marshmallow note and a hint of caramel and maybe a smidgen of woodsiness. I do smell the sweet tobacco as well. It's very nice. I don't think it's the same as Toasted Marshmallow from August 2017, as that had a milky note with a hint of smokiness. But it might be the same scent as Fireside Memories (also August 2017), which smelled like marshmallow with a hint of caramel and a smidgen of barely noticeable smokiness (even though the scent notes were different).

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Crafted Caramel Apple

Notes: green apple, vanilla and caramel

A very nice sweet caramel apple scent. I definitely smell the apple, so it's not all caramel like some similar scents are.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Cranberry Oak

Notes: cranberry, red currant and oakwood

I really like this scent. I can smell the cranberry, the currant, and the woodsy note, and maybe a hint of pine. It also has a smidgen of a warm cologne note, although I don't smell that as much when melted. This is more of a Christmasy/holiday scent than a fall scent. The scent started dissipating in under 2 hours.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Fall in Love

Notes: apple, pear and cedar

This smells like musty pineapple to me, but I think it's the combination of old brown apples and leaves, plus a woodsy note like cedar, and a sour note that I don't care for. This is the same scent as Fall in Love that came out in August 2015. Back then, my review was, "I smell earthy pineapple with a woodsy note and very slight sweetness. It has a slight tropical note to me."

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Falling Leaves

Notes: fresh apples, woodland sage and cedarwood

This smells like old brown apples and leaves, that typical musty fall apple scent. It's the same Falling Leaves scent that came out in August 2015 (although the notes were different then: crisp green apple, orchard pear, oakwood and harvest acorn). My review then was, "It smells to me like apples on the ground in October, at the end of the apple season, mixed with brown leaves. Almost like old apples, but not in a bad way. It smells like apple cider with a mossy note, not very sweet, and very little spice if any. Definitely a fall scent."

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Farmstand Peach Cobbler

Notes: harvest peaches, brown sugar and salted caramel

This is the same scent as Brown Sugar Peaches that came out in August 2017. My review is the same as it was last year: "I don't smell peaches or brown sugar. It's a salty savory scent with just a hint of sweetness. My roommate says it smells like roasted chicken, and I agree! I don't like this one." I do smell peach in this scent though, but that weird salty sage note of turkey stuffing takes over. But most people love this scent and don't detect any chicken or stuffing notes!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Golden Sunflower

Notes: citrus, sage and peppercorn

This is not a floral scent, and it's not sweet at all. But I like it. It's a zesty lemony spa scent with lemongrass and herbal notes.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Harvest Pumpkin Patch

Notes: clove, pumpkin and dark woods

This is a clove scent with pumpkin, like pumpkin pie filling (without the pie crust) with extra cloves. And it's very sweet. I don't think I smell any woodsy notes. I like this one.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5



Hot Apple Cider

Notes: red apple, nutmeg and orange zest

A typical kind of generic apple cider scent. This one has a little bit of an apple pie note.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Iced Vanilla

Notes: buttercream, vanilla and cane sugar

I don't know why this is called "iced" vanilla, because it's just a vanilla buttercream scent. It smells great though, like super sweet buttercream, or a sweet vanilla milkshake. I think there might be a barely detectable hint of cinnamon way in the background. When melted, it has a bit of a bakery note, like a vanilla cookie with a hint of cinnamon and sweet buttercream frosting. Yummy!

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Juniper and Cypress

Notes: juniper, cypress and sage

This is the same as Silent Night from October 2016 and November 2017 (even though the scents notes are different... 2016: pine, sandalwood and musk; 2017: amber, pine, lavender and sweet sandalwood). It's a rich pine scent with a smoky background, a hint of sweetness, and a smidgen of a cologne note. Fantastic scent, and I'm glad they brought it back.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Pumpkin Spice

Notes: pumpkin, brown sugar and gingered vanilla

A typical pumpkin pie type scent. It's one of the better pumpkin pie scents I've smelled though, without that waxy generic note that some pumpkin pie scents have. It's probably the same pumpkin spice scent that Sonoma comes out with every year.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Rustic Cedar

Notes: bergamot, sandalwood and rose

This is kind of a cologney scent (the bergamot), but it also has a little bit of a warm note with a smidgen of floral (probably the rose), and I think there's a barely detectable hint of berry way in the background. Melted, it has a bit of a sweet tobacco note. It's nice.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



Vanilla Pumpkin Latte

Notes: pumpkin, warm vanilla and espresso

This is the same as their Vanilla Pumpkin Latte scent from August 2017, and I'm glad they brought it back because it's one of my favorite scents. It's a fantastic super creamy coffee scent with a sweet milky vanilla note and a smidgeon of pumpkin spices and maybe a hint of caramel. It's definitely a coffee scent rather than a fall or pumpkin scent. It's also similar to their Pumpkin Latte scent from August 2015, but this scent is creamier, sweeter, milkier, and a little less coffee-ish.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Weathered Woods

Notes: cedar, sweet clove and pepper

This is light on cold sniff. It smells like a perfume or men's cologne with oriental spice notes. I do detect all 3 notes, the cedar, peppery note, and a little bit of the clove. I like this one.

Throw: Faint, 2.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Wednesday, July 18, 2018

DD Wickless Fragrance Cubes Wax Melt Reviews - Hobby Lobby - July 2018

DD Wickless Fragrance Cubes Wax Melt Reviews - Hobby Lobby - July 2018

DD Wickless Fragrance Cubes Wax Melt - Hobby Lobby - July 2018
Click to enlarge

Video




Flourish

Notes: Tulips, rich blond wood and musk

This smells like an expensive women's perfume with a hint of warm amber and a little bit of a gardenia note. Very nice!

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Iridescence

Notes: Warm vanilla bean and white musk

This is a pink sugar type scent (a sweet sugary perfumey scent with hints of raspberry), but it's more rich and warm, with an ambery almost slightly smoky note, not as perfumey, and only a barely detectable smidgen of raspberry (not as much as in most pink sugar scents).

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Lavish Velvet

Notes: Bergamot, orange blossom and soft Tonka

This one is really hard to describe. I smell notes of apple, wood, floral, cologne, pine, berry, vanilla, and even a hint of marshmallow, but not necessarily in that order, and all the notes are very subtle, with not one note standing out above the others. It's a very complex scent. I like it though. After a few hours it took on a bit more of the apple blossom vanilla marshmallow note, and I don't smell as much of the wood, pine and cologne notes (not that they were strong to begin with).

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Madagascar Vanilla & Cedar

Notes: Madagascar vanilla and cedar woods

A nice strong cedar scent with a sweet very slightly perfumey note (although this is not a perfume scent), and maybe a hint of patchouli. It also has a note that's not really sour, but more "pungent", that I don't care for. I just realized that this is an almost exact dupe of AmbiEscents Sophisticated Spice.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Persian Citron

Notes: Bright tangerine balanced with white musk

This reminds me a little of Yankee Honey Clementine. It smells like strong tea with a lot of honey, a little bit of a fruity almost candy-like orangey note, and maybe a smidgen of lemon. But it's not a citrusy scent. I don't smell musk or any perfumey notes at all, although it's a little sweet but also very rich. It's a difficult scent to describe. I don't care for it on cold sniff, but I like it when melted.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Pomegranate Sorbet

Notes: Pomegranate, loganberries, cassis, satinwood and cranberry

A rich dark berry scent. It's just a little sweet. I smell the tanginess of the cranberry, and a hint of zestiness like a smidgen of lemon that gives it a tiny bit of a tropical note.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Summer Breeze & Linen

Notes: Clean linen & sunshine

This is actually an older scent but I never bought it because I didn't like it on cold sniff, and I don't care for it when melted either. It's a fresh scent with maybe a bit of an herbal note, and possibly a smidgen of lemon. It's not sweet at all, actually kind of bitter, and has a little bit of an industrial cleaner note. It doesn't smell like linen or laundry at all. However, after about an hour that "industrial" note dissipated and it started to smell like green grass, so I kind of liked it after that!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Tanzanite

Notes: Crisp morning air and citron berry

This is very weak on cold sniff, but it smells like a fresh air, watery scent with a hint of a berry note and maybe a barely detectable smidgen of orange. Melted, however, it's kind of a perfumey vanilla scent with a hint of berry.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



Tonka & Oud

Notes: Soft cashmere and bergamot

The warm, sweet, velvety cashmere is the main note, but I also smell a little bit of a rich cologne note (the bergamot) and even a hint of baby powder. Oud is a damp intense woodsy scent with tree sap and cedar notes, and I think I do smell as well, but it's subtle. I really like this scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Velvet Tonka Bean

Notes: Warm tonka bean, spices and musk

This is definitely a winter scent! I smell a strong combination of cedar and pine, with a little bit of a raw woodsy note, and a smidgen of bergamot or warm amber or even a barely detectable cologne note, although it's definitely not a cologne scent. It has the crispness of pine and a little bit of the warmth of amber. I adore this scent and it's crazy strong on cold sniff.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Vanilla Orchid

Notes: Warm notes of tonka bean and hothouse flowers

This scent is not available in a melt, so I bought a small 4 oz. candle to chunk. It's a super warm rich vanilla scent with an amber note, and so warm it almost has a smokiness to it. I think there's also a sweet buttercream note, although it's not really a foodie scent because it also smells perfumey, but not really floral, and might have a hint of sweet tobacco in it. It's a completely different scent from Iridescence. Actually, I decided not to melt this one. I like the scent, but not enough to deal with hassle of chunking it up.



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Wednesday, July 11, 2018

Living Colors Wax Melts Reviews from Big Lots - July 2018

Living Colors Wax Melts Reviews from Big Lots - July 2018

Living Colors Wax Melts from Big Lots - July 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


Living Colors wax melts from Big Lots are made by MVP Group International, the company that makes Mainstays (for Walmart), Colonial Candles, Burt's Bees, True Living (at Dollar General), K-Mart & Sears brands, and many dollar store brands.

Living Colors comes out with new scents every few months, and I've reviewed pretty much all of them. But sometimes the scent names don't match the scent because they often bring back older scents and give them new names. The wax is quite soft, and in general, they don't throw well. The scents are not that great either. I don't know why I continue to buy them, except that once in awhile they come out with a really good, strong throwing scent (as you'll see below).

After you purchase Living Colors wax melts, be sure to put scotch tape over the two holes at the top of the package. When the scent is exposed to air for too long, it dissipates more quickly.



Malibu - Seaside

A pleasant fresh men's body wash scent, kind of like a "Cool Water", but slightly sweeter and more subtle. Perfect for a bathroom.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Napa Valley - Cabernet

As expected, this is a grapey scent. But it also has a sweet floral note, like gardenia. It smells fake and has a bit of a waxy note.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



Savannah - Lemon Cookies

This is the same scent as their popular Lemon Bars scent that came out in 2015 (and Lime Mojito from 2016, and a couple of other lemony Living Colors scents). It's one of the best lemon scents I've ever smelled in a wax melt. It smells a bit like the lemon custard inside a lemon meringue pie, sweet and rich with a hint of buttercream, but not truly a bakery scent either (no pie crust notes). Living Colors has a lot of duds, but this is one of their few scents that is truly phenomenal.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Seattle - Cinnamon Chai

A nice subtle cinnamon scent with maybe a smidgen of vanilla or even a barely detectable hint of a perfumey note way in the background. It's not an intense gum or candy type cinnamon, nor is it a bakery cinnamon. I don't detect any chai or tea notes.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



Sedona - Cactus Berry

On cold sniff this is a fake raspberry scent with something else in the background that I can't figure out, maybe a patchouli or fake chocolate? It's not really a foodie scent though, as it's very fake. I don't like it. When melted, it smells like poop. Literally. Sweet poop.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Vancouver - Cedar Forest

A fantastic pine scent with a woodsy note. It's a little sharp and pungent, but in a good way.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Monday, July 2, 2018

Trapp Fragrances Wax Melts Reviews - June 2018

Trapp Fragrances Wax Melts Reviews - June 2018

Trapp Fragrances Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


Everyone should have at least a couple of Trapp Wax Melts in their scented wax melt collection. These are high quality luxury melts that are meant to be savored, like a fine wine! Trapp Fragrances wax melts can be ordered from their website at https://store.trappcandles.com/collections/wax-melts.

I also reviewed 15 other Trapp scents (and more detailed information about their melts) at https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2017/07/trapp-fragrances-wax-melts-reviews.html, as well as last year's fall and winter scents at https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2017/10/trapp-fragrances-wax-melts-reviews-fall-winter-2017.html.



#21 - Amber & Bergamot

Notes: A smooth, velvety combination of aromatic bergamot and the sultriness of amber

This smells like an expensive perfume with a bit of warmth (but not really amber) and a slight oriental spice note. Fantastic scent!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



#45 - Burmese Wood

Notes: An incredible balance of teak and balsam woods, with a rich base note of tonka

This is the ultimate patchouli scent! It's rich and exotic and I also smell sandalwood which gives it a very slightly milky woodsy note. I love this one! Looking at the scent notes, I'm surprised I don't see patchouli. I don't smell balsam, which would have a slightly piney note. And I don't smell tonka, which is a rich vanilla scent, although this scent is quite rich and has a bit of sweetness.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



#67 - Fine Linen

Notes: Freshly laundered fine linens that radiate the lush scents of white rose petals, passion fruit nectar and blooming vanilla orchids

Based on the scent name, I expected a laundry type scent, which this is not. It smells like a rose-based floral with a bitter note, a little like old soap. There might also be a hint of fruit in the background, perhaps apricot, and looking at the scent notes that's probably the passion fruit. I didn't care for this scent.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



#12 - Guava Mango

Notes: This mouth-watering blend of two tropical fruits combines succulent mango and flavorful guava.

This is different from any guava or mango scent I've smelled in other wax melts. It's rich, sweet and fruity with a little bit of an orange note but also a very slightly savory note. It's quite nice.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



#7 - Patchouli Sandalwood

Notes: Asiatic patchouli blended with sandalwood and cedar

Fantastic patchouli scent with a little bit of a woodsy note. It's not the same scent as Burmese Wood though; that scent is more of a warm woodsy scent with a little bit of a patchouli note, while this one is pure patchouli with a little bit of a woodsy note. This patchouli is a little sweeter than other patchouli scents I've smelled, with a little bit of an old perfume note (but in a good way).

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



#63 - Pure Peony

Notes:  The perfect peony... elegant, sophisticated, and always timeless

A lovely delicate rose type floral. It's an authentic floral scent, not perfumey or overly sweet, although it has a hint of a soapy note. I really like it.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



I did not review #69 - Amber & Tonka Bean and #65 - Mandarin Goji, as Trapp is retiring both of these scents. Amber & Tonka Bean smells fantastic but only had mild throw, and I wasn't a fan of the Mandarin Goji scent (which also had mild throw).



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.
Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Saturday, June 16, 2018

Better Homes & Gardens Wax Melts Reviews - Spring 2018 (Part 2)

Better Homes & Gardens Wax Melts Reviews - Spring 2018 (Part 2)

Better Homes & Gardens Wax Melts - Spring 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


See Part 1 of this review at http://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2018/03/better-homes-gardens-wax-melts-reviews-spring-2018-1.html.



All About Spring

Notes: The vibrant freshness of new Spring leaves, soft daisy and blue hyacinth spun with sun lily, sweet rose and sweet muguet

On cold sniff this smells like lovely hothouse lilies with a bit of a rubbing alcohol note. As I expected, when melted, the alcohol note disappeared completely and thankfully all that was left was the authentic hothouse type floral note, like lily or tulip petals with a green note. It's not a perfumey scent at all, or even overly sweet. I really like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Blueberry Bundt Cake

A lot of people don't like this scent, and on cold sniff I can understand why. On cold sniff it smells like fake blueberry flavored buttered popcorn, and it's nauseatingly sweet and buttery. However, when melted it smelled much better, more like a rich buttered blueberry muffin type scent with a brown sugar. Still not authentic, and still extremely rich and sweet, but quite nice.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Orange Blossom Oak

This is a very pleasant scent, like something you can have melting in the background that won't annoy anyone. It does smell a little like orange blossom/neroli, and although it's sweet, it's not as sweet and rich as true neroli. It has a beachy vibe, with a Coppertone suntan oil note, and maybe a smidgen of a light wood note in the background. It smells a little bit like a sweeter, richer, more beachy ScentSationals Himalayan Pink Salt but without the shaving cream note. And the scent lasted the entire day. I love this one!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Pear Blossom Tea

On cold sniff this is pretty much what it says in the scent name. The perfumey floral note is in the forefront, and then equal notes of pear and green tea. Maybe also a hint of amber for warmth and richness. When melted, however, it's a sweet syrupy pear scent with a bit of a rich warm perfumey note, and I only smell a hint of the green tea. It's a fantastic scent. It reminds me a little bit of last year's Better Homes & Garden's Georgia Peach Tea.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Pure Tropical Sunshine

This is not a tropical scent. I can't figure out the notes, but it's a little lemony with a hint of coconut and maybe warm amber, and possibly a smidgen of perfume. But it's not a perfumey or very sweet scent. When melted, it smells like celery with a slightly sweet lemon note. I'm on the fence about this scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Stormy Indigo Seas

This is a fresh men's body wash scent with a slight peppery note. I've smelled it before, so it's probably a dupe of an older scent. It smells a bit like the old ScentSationals Rebel and Crimson scents, but fresher. Although it smells like a lot of other similar type scents, I like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Thursday, June 7, 2018

Barn Candle Company - Barn Bricks Wax Melts Reviews

Barn Candle Company - Barn Bricks Wax Melts Reviews

Barn Candle Company - Barn Bricks Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


Barn Candle Company is a small company in Nebraska that makes candles, wax melts, room spray, diffusers, and related accessories. Their website is
http://www.barncandles.com and their Facebook page is https://www.facebook.com/barncandles. They're also on Twitter and Pinterest. Customers can order as retail, wholesale, or as part of a fundraiser. Their products are found in many stores throughout the U.S.

Barn Candle Company's wax melts are made from pure palm wax. Palm wax is all natural and environmentally friendly. It's a hard wax rather than soft messy soy wax. The wax has a beautiful iridescent look. Palm wax prefers a higher melting temperature than the standard 20W warmer, so I used a 24W warmer for these melts.

A special coupon code is available to readers of this review. The code is SWR18 and it's good for 10% off fragrance products, excluding their Brick sets and Pantry items for retail customers.



Acai Berry

Notes: A tropical medley of pineapple, mango, mandarin and raw coconut from the Brazilian Islands.

This is a fruity scent with a creamy note and a hint of a grapefruit and tropical note. There's also something else I can't put my finger on that makes this smell a tiny bit like Victoria's Secret Love Spell dupe wax melt scents. It's an interesting scent, and I kind of like it.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Amethyst Garden

Notes: A sophisticated light floral blend wafting through a spring breeze with the fragrance of satsuma plum, pear, quince apple, lemon blossom, allspice, star jasmine and vanilla orchid.

A lovely scent that smells like oriental spice perfume with a hint of baby powder, and a little bit of an apple note. I love it!

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Bamboo & Hemp

Notes: Bamboo stalks are complimented with natural vetiver and patchouli with undertones of hemp seed and oakmoss

This might be my favorite scent of the bunch. It smells a little like expensive shampoo, but it's more than that. It's a honeysuckle type floral, but not overly sweet, and with an herbal note. But I think I also detect a rich vanilla note. And it's soapy with maybe a hint of laundry and possibly a barely detectable smidgen of baby powder. It's just amazing! Looking at the scent notes, I don't think I detect bamboo, which has kind of a green raw woodsy coconut note. But vetiver and oakmoss, absolutely. I don't detect patchouli either, but that might be the rich vanilla note (patchouli sometimes has a chocolatey note).

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Barn Burner

Notes: That feeling when a guy walks by and it's all you can do to not spin on your heels just to see where that divine scent came from

A fantastic men's cologne scent. It's not the usual men's body wash type scent, but more like good department store men's cologne, a little like Hugo Boss.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Barn Special

Notes: Our signature scent is an aromatic blend of freshly cut apples, juicy oranges, spicy and rich cinnamon, orange clove and colorful cranberries.

A very sweet cinnamon apple scent with a clove note. I think I also smell cranberry, and perhaps a barely detectable smidgen of orange, which gives it a tiny bit of a pomander note. I normally don't like pomander (it smells weird to me), but it's very subtle in this scent. I really like this one! Looking at the scent notes, they're spot on. Melted, the orange clove pomander notes come out a little more, but it's still a great warm cozy fall scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Berry Kisses

Notes: The sweet flavor of chocolate covered raspberries.

A yummy chocolate fudge scent with a hint of raspberry. It's very fudgy and cocoa-ey and not overly sweet. When melting, the raspberry note comes out a bit more.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Cherry Blossom

Notes: Citrusy, with fruity green top notes with floral middle notes of Rose, Lily of the Valley and Jasmine enhanced with long lasting sweet, woody and musk bottom notes.

This is weak on cold sniff, but I smell a little bit of cherry with a slight floral note, and maybe a hint of peach. It's definitely not a cherry blossom scent (which doesn't actually smell like cherries).

Throw: Faint, 2 out of 5



Citrus & Sea Salt

Notes: A tropical aroma, complete with a lime beverage rimmed with coarse sea salt

This is different from other scents I've smelled with this name that are usually spa type scents. This smells like lime soda, or ginger ale with extra lime. It's not fizzy, but it's definitely an intense lime scent, and not overly sweet like a creamy lime beverage. There's no coconut either.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Coconut Lime Verbena

Notes: Coconut shavings are enhanced with a blend of lime, verbena, vanilla, and light musk.

Coconut with a little bit of a lime note. A nice refreshing summer scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Country Rain

Notes: The boom of thunder and the clap of lighting are followed by the splash of clear and beautiful rain. This clean, fresh fragrance captures the aroma after a rain storm.

A fresh very sweet watery scent with a floral note. I've smelled this scent before from other companies, and I really like it.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Freshly Ground

Notes: That moment the Barista grinds a freshly roasted batch of coffee beans

This is not really an authentic coffee scent, but it's different and I really like it. It smells like mocha fudge. It's a rich warm chocolatey coffee scent.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Grandpa's Porch

Notes: Sweet pipe tobacco

I really like this scent. It smells like cherry tobacco and cedar with a smidgen of baby powder.

Throw: Very faint, 2 out of 5



Lemon Chiffon

Notes: Tarty, sweet, lemon fragrance collides with the perfect velvet smooth texture.

This smells like lemon dish detergent with a hint of bakery, but in a good way. It's fresh and clean, but also yummy! The bakery notes came out a little more as time went on, but it also took on a slightly burnt note. Still a nice scent though.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Ocean

Notes: A crisp marine scent blended with delicate water lily, rose and cyclamen in this refreshing ocean aroma

A delicate watery scent with a hint of a floral and maybe a smidgen of a baby powder note. It's not overly sweet and does have a little bit of an "oceany" note. I really like it.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



Ruby Red

Notes: Dripping with the juicy fragrances of a winter Ruby Red grapefruit, spilling with flavor.

This is a sour, savory, salty, zesty scent with a lemony grapefruit note. But it doesn't smell like real grapefruit. It's interesting though, and I do like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Rustic Grace

Notes: Pure and white as a bridal bouquet, filled with the sweet smells of hyacinth and citrus

This smells like a popular wax melt scent called Amazing Grace, a classy perfume scent. But there's another a smidgen of another note in there which I guess is the "rustic" part, maybe tobacco and citrus? I don't smell that other note as much when melted though. I really like this scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Salted Caramel

Notes: The rich, smooth buttery flavors of your favorite childhood caramel, with the final nodes of sea salt that add that final blend of sweet and salty.

This is different from other salted caramel scented wax melts I've smelled. It smells like vanilla buttercream with a caramel note, a little maple... and a hint of bacon! It's a really nice scent.

Throw: Faint, 2.5 out of 5



Shenanigans

Notes: It will take you back to Saturday morning cartoons enjoyed with a big bowl of fruity cereal.

On cold sniff this smells like a combination of bakery lemon and kitchen lemon (like lemon-scented dish detergent), with a hint of orange and a smidgen of a soapy spa-type lemongrass. But when melted, it smells like Fruit Loops cereal. I really like it, but it started to smell a little burnt after about 2 hours.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Stress Relief

Notes: Soothing and relaxing aroma of eucalyptus, fresh mint, sage, and musk

This smells just like ScentSationals' Zen scent, a slightly spearminty soapy scent with maybe a hint of a sandalwood note. It's a nice subdued relaxing scent. Looking at the scent notes, eucalyptus has a bit of a pine note, and I don't smell that. I do detect the musk, which gives this just a smidgen of a perfumey note. Very nice scent.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Strawberry Rhubarb

Notes: A country patch of hand picked strawberries blended with freshly cut stalks of rhubarb

A fantastic rich sweet juicy succulent strawberry scent, like strawberry jam. I love this one!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Tropical Punch

Notes: Bring on Summer and a cold glass of Kool-Aid! This fragrance smells like cherry, strawberry, and orange with a touch of lemon lime thrown in for good measure.

I don't think I've ever had a wax melt that smells as much like cherry Kool-Aid as this one does on cold sniff, and super strong on cold sniff too. Fantastic! But melted, it lost a lot of that cherry note and took on a very chemical type note.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Wednesday, June 6, 2018

Scentsy Wax Cube Reviews - May 2018

Scentsy Wax Cube Reviews - May 2018

Scentsy Wax Cubes - May 2018
Click to enlarge

Video




Accidentally in Love

Notes: Crisp, gingery tangerine and exotic palm frond keep things clean and bright.

This smells like a lemongrass spa scent. Not sure why it's red! It's not sweet at all. I like it. Looking at the scent notes, I don't detect ginger, tangerine/orange or palm at all, although the palm might be the lemongrass I think I'm smelling.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



All You Need is Love

Notes: Coconut Sugar, Creamy Vanilla and Bing Cherry

A rich buttery caramel butterscotch scent with a whipped cream note, but it's not overly sweet. There aren't any bakery notes either. Maybe a hint of coconut? Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell cherry. I really like this scent.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Aloha Citrus

Notes: A fresh tide of tangerine, jade blossom and vetiver.

A nice tropical fruit scent with a hint of floral and maybe a smidgen of a zesty peppery note. I like it.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Blue Grotto

Notes: Run away with fresh tropical notes, sweet citrus and lush botanicals.

A nice sweet orange scent with a hint of a tropical and/or berry note. It's not zesty or overly citrusy, and no sour notes. I like it. I think this scent came out last year.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Blue Raspberry Ice

Notes: Sweet cherry, icy white lemon and blue raspberry

This smells like a fruity (raspberry?) slushy with a little bit of a zesty lemony note. I really like it. I don't think this is a brand new scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Dazzling Pomegranate

Notes: Serve a sparkling medley of pomegranate, bright orange and mimosa accord.

A fantastic berry scent with a little bit of a lemon zest note, a slight savory note, and a smidgen of sourness (but not enough to be annoying). It's only very slightly sweet. I like it! Because of the sourness I would classify this as a tropical fruit scent.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Grapefruit Sunshine

Notes: Follow brisk citrus, pink grapefruit and subtle vanilla to a brighter place.

A slightly zesty scent with a lemony and grapefruit note. It's a little savory, not really sweet. It's similar to several other Scentsy scents, like Citrus Garden (but not as bitter) Summer Sunset and Citrus Pop (but not as lemony). I love these types of scents.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Lemon Coconut Chiffon

Notes: Melt-in-your-mouth lemon custard layered with butter cake and sprinkled with toasted coconut

A yummy creamy lemon bakery scent. I do smell a little of the coconut. It's a very nice scent, although similar to a lot of other lemon bakery scents.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



I did NOT buy these based on cold sniff:

Blue Hyacinth - This doesn't smell like hyacinth at all (which smells a lot like lilac). This scent is floral with a bit of an earthy note, not perfumey or overly sweet, and kind of generic. The Mainstays Blue Hyacinth scent at Walmart (which I reviewed HERE) is much better and extremely authentic.

Blueberry Rush - Smells nice and very strong, but a typical fake blueberry bakery scent that every company makes (I have a lot of scents that smell just like this, from several wax melt companies)

Coastal Strawberry - Very weak on cold sniff, and not as "succulent" and fruity as other strawberry scents I've smelled.

Darling Dahlia - Generic floral

Flower Child - Weak on cold sniff

Havana Cabana - Strong pineapple note (I don't care for pineapple scents)

Jungle Jam - Pineapple note (I don't care for pineapple scents)

Mandarin Grapefruit Amber - This smelled awful to me, with a bitter "moldy" note.

Mandarin Splash - Nice, but nothing special

Midnight in Curacao - Pineapple note (I don't care for pineapple scents)

Rainforest Bungalow - Smells like bug spray

Spring Forward - Generic floral, weak on cold sniff

Sugar - Nice cotton candy/pink sugar type scent, but weak on cold sniff

Summer Soleil - Coconut and tropical fruit, just okay

White Grapefruit - Nothing special




Want to discuss this review and other retail and Scentsy wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Big Lots Wax Melts Reviews - Living Colors - May 2018

Big Lots Wax Melts Reviews - Living Colors - May 2018

Big Lots Wax Melts - Living Colors - May 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


The Living Colors wax melts from Big Lots uses soft wax that tends to not throw well. However, these news scents use a harder wax, so I hope that will improve the throw.



Blue Waters

This one is very hard to describe. It's a super sweet scent similar to Mainstays Peaceful Waters. It's watery but also floral, and although it's very sweet, it doesn't smell like perfume. It might have a hint of vanilla or coconut in it. I like it.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Cabana Breeze

This smells great, like a sweet young girlie perfume with sweet coconut and tropical fruit candy notes.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Coconut Mango

This smells like the inside of an Almond Joy bar (without the chocolate). It's a rich buttery almond and coconut scent with a sweet vanilla note. It smells fantastic. But there is no mango or any kind of fruit or tropical notes at all. It's most likely a dupe of an older scent with a different name.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Fiji Palm

This is a fresh green scent with a sweet peppery watery note that makes it smell a little like men's body wash. But I think I also detect a smidgen of pineapple, not sure. Melted, it's a little on the bitter side, which gives it a tiny bit of a bug spray note.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Freesia & Hyacinth

A nice pleasant watery floral scent. It's not perfumey, but maybe a little soapy like a body wash. It doesn't smell like hyacinth though, which smells a bit like lilac.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Guava Colada

This is an unusual scent. It's a fake fruity scent with a hint of a rich warm vanilla note, a smidgen of pineapple, and a little bit of a ginger ale type fizziness which makes it smell like soda. But when melted, that soda note is annoying.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5



Pineapple Orchid

A sweet intense fake pineapple scent, like pineapple flavored powdered drink mix or hard candy. I don't smell floral notes at all. If you like pineapple scents, this is a good one.

Throw: Faint, 2 out of 5



Tropical Sunset

This is a dupe of an older scent, maybe several. It's a sour tropical fruit scent, but it's not a bad sour, more like a "rich", slightly zesty sour. I like it. And there are no pineapple notes. Ah, I believe it's the same scent as Island Nectar, which I reviewed in May 2016.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Verbena & Pear

This is my favorite scent of the bunch. I've smelled it before, and I believe it's a dupe of an older scent. It doesn't smell like verbena or pear at all. It's a super soapy fresh shower gel type scent, not overly sweet, and a little herbal, a bit like an Irish Spring soap scent, but more soapy. It's fantastic.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.