Friday, October 12, 2018

Better Homes & Gardens (Walmart) Holiday 2018 Wax Melts Reviews

Better Homes & Gardens (Walmart) Wax Melts Reviews - Winter 2018

Better Homes & Gardens (Walmart) Holiday 2018 Wax Melts
Click photo to enlarge

This review of these brand new Holiday scents is only available to members of our Facebook group right now, but I will make it public in November or December after these scents start arriving into most Walmarts.

The review includes links to each scent and where they can be found, how you can get them, official scent notes, and my review of each scent and throw (strength).

To see this review now, join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

After you join, you'll be able to see the text and video review at this link: https://www.facebook.com/notes/scented-wax-melts-retail-store-bought/better-homes-gardens-holiday-edition-2018-wax-melts-review/1822093127908508/.

There are already discussions going on in our group about these scents, and members will be posting their own reviews as well, so come join us! We're a fun, active, drama-free group of almost 3,200 store-bought and retail scented wax melt lovers (no vendor wax), including brands like ScentSationals, Better Homes & Gardens, Hanna's Candle, Goose Creek, Sonoma, Swan Creek, Yankee, Tuscany, Michael's wax melts, dollar store wax, and more!



Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Wednesday, October 10, 2018

ScentSationals Wax Melts Reviews from Walmart - Fall 2018

ScentSationals Wax Melts Reviews from Walmart - Fall 2018

ScentSationals Wax Melts from Walmart - Fall 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


This review of the ScentSationals Fall 2018 wax melts was previously only available to members of our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail, but since the new Walmart winter/holiday wax melts are starting to come out, I've made this review available to everyone.



Caramel Apple Spice
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ScentSationals-2-5-oz-Caramel-Apple-Spice-Scented-Wax-Melts/660442879

Notes: Notes of sweet vanilla infused caramel, swirled with juicy ripe apples, a dash of cinnamon spice and deliciously accented by sugared sprinkles

This smells like a combination of last year's Harvest Moon, which smells like a combination of apple cider, rich salted caramel, molasses and brown sugar, and Pumpkin Apple Muffins (a super rich salty and slightly sweet butter caramel corn scent). I LOVE it!! The word "spice" in the scent name is kind of a misnomer, since it's not spicy and I don't detect cinnamon.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, took over the house



Celebration Time
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ScentSationals-2-5-oz-Celebration-Time-Scented-Wax-Melts/814677888

Notes: A sweet citrus blend accented by soft greens, fresh berries, ginger sparkle with hints of white jasmine, cala lily, white woods and golden amber finished with candied vanilla and toasted sugar

This is weak on cold sniff and I have no idea what I'm smelling, but when melted I really like it. I couldn't figure out the scent, but then I realized it's pear! But it also has a hint of a warm slightly perfumey note. It doesn't smell like champagne at all, which is good. It's a beautiful scent, and I really like it. Looking at the scent notes, I can't believe I don't see pear!

It's NOT the same scent as these other ScentSationals and Better Homes & Gardens pear scents:
- ScentSationals Take Me To Paris duo "Pear Blossom" (that scent is more floral)
- Better Homes & Gardens Wild Honeysuckle Pear from early 2016
- ScentSationals Garden of Eden duo "Eden and Pear" from 2015 (that smelled more like apples)
- Pear Blossom Champagne (ScentSationals?) - Someone said PBC is sweeter.
- It has some similarities to this year's Better Homes & Gardens Pear Blossom Tea (which I also love), but it's not the same scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Cinnamon Pecans
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ScentSationals-2-5-oz-Cinnamon-Pecans-Scented-Wax-Melts/162902169

Notes: Warm cinnamon sticks, spicy crushed clove, and creamy nutmeg spun with toasted pecans and caramelized brown sugar, with mouthwatering sweet undertones of English toffee.

Cinnamon Pecans is very similar to Better Homes & Gardens Vanilla Caramel Spice (a nice sweet rich caramely cinnamony scent), but sniffing them side by side, Cinnamon Pecans has a bit more cinnamon.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, took over the house



Cuddle Up
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ScentSationals-2-5-oz-Cuddle-Up-Scented-Wax-Melts/513404225

Notes: Classic notes of sweet cinnamon spice, crushed clove bud, sweet toasted nutmeg and bound by warm amber, rich cashmere musk and touched by shimmering white woods and opulent moss

The label looks a lot like ScentSationals Cashmere Cream from August 2016, but it's a totally different scent. I smell patchouli first, and a little bit of the oud (the label says "Tonka & Oud"), which is a dark resinous wood. But the intensity of the oud is tempered by a sweet perfumey note. I also smell a hint of the tonka (an intense dark vanilla with a caramel, almond, cinnamon and clove notes, and even a smidgen of cherry). It's an unusual, complex blend of notes, and I love it! Looking at the notes, I'm surprised I don't see patchouli because that's what I mostly smell.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Dancing Leaves
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ScentSationals-2-5-oz-Dancing-Leaves-Scented-Wax-Melts/627713199

Notes: An enticing autumnal blend of aromatic fir, warm balsam, and pure cedar wrapped with crisp green apple and aromatic leaves. Freshened with a touch of white orchard pear and harvest berry swirled together for this perfect fall blend.

This is a very common fall scent that I've smelled many times. It smells like really old apples that have fallen on the ground at the end of the season and mixed with brown leaves. But not in a bad way. It also has a hint of spices that make it smell a little that make it smell like apple cider, but the harsh raw unprocessed homemade slightly fermented craft cider. It's a nice fall scent.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Harvest Gathering
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ScentSationals-2-5-oz-Harvest-Gathering-Scented-Wax-Melts/278228195

Notes: A classic cornucopia of harvest goodness blending apple and ripe pear with sweet orange and crushed herbs, white pine, shimmering clove bud and cinnamon wrapped with toasted vanilla, spiced pumpkin and smoked warm woods

The label says "Pumpkins, Apples & Hayrides". But I'm not a fan of this scent. I don't smell any of those notes. It's smoky but also sour with a hint of a fruity note, but not enough to temper the sourness. There may also be a woodsy or even a pine note in there, but I don't know what that sourness is. It smells like Play Doh to me. When melted, there is a little bit of sweetness that comes through, but in a weird way.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Holiday Cookies
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ScentSationals-2-5-oz-Holiday-Cookie-Scented-Wax-Melts/291521793

Notes: Creamy cake batter spiced with grated ginger, sweet nutmeg, freshly ground cinnamon, melted butter, and allspice fused with rich vanilla extract and creamy buttercream. Simply baked to perfection with a light sprinkle of powdered sugar

If you're into bakery scents, this is quite nice. It smells like sweet warm vanilla cookies with a lot of cinnamon and even some nutmeg, giving it a little bit of a pumpkiny note. For me it's just "okay", and very similar to other cinnamony bakery scents.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Iridescent
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ScentSationals-2-5-oz-Iridescent-Scented-Wax-Melts/968619140

Notes: A sparkling blend of crisp fresh mint accented with hint of ginger. A light touch of spice and sweet rum followed by a creamy heart of coconut, vanilla and a sweet gourmand finish

Although the label says "Sparkling Spearmint & Vanilla Woods", I smell peppermint, not spearmint (which is good, because I'm not a fan of spearmint). And it's not an overly minty peppermint, more of a "soft" peppermint. It's a powdery, slightly buttery, very sweet milky vanilla buttercream peppermint scent, like a Buttermint candy. But it's not really a foodie scent because there's also a smidgen of light woods and a warm amber perfume note, so maybe what I'm thinking is the buttery note is really the amber. I love it, and it lasted 12 hours! I think this one is going to be everyone's favorite!! Looking at the scent notes, I'm surprised there aren't any woodsy notes.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Mistletoe Kisses
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ScentSationals-2-5-oz-Mistletoe-Kisses-Scented-Wax-Melts/921398498

Notes: Fresh black balsam and a fruity mix of iced cranberries, red currant, juniper berry and ripened raspberry. Accented by a mix of frosted apple on top and a base of vanilla bean and winter spruce

This smells like raspberry and cranberry with a bit of a pine note. It also has a hint of sourness, just enough to work with the scent instead of overpowering it. The fruit is probably supposed to be just cranberry, but I really smell raspberry first, with just a smidgen of the cranberry bitterness. It's just slightly sweet. A nice holiday scent! And it's one of those unusual types of scents that's actually not very strong, but throws very well. So from downstairs I can smell it melting upstairs, but it's very subtle.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Northern Lights
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ScentSationals-2-5-oz-Northern-Lights-Scented-Wax-Melts/197129260

Notes: Whipped vanilla, cinnamon, vetiver grass, and tangy blackberry, with underlying notes of white flower, absinthe, lively bergamot and finishing with an earthy whisper of black fig.

I knew what scent this was as soon as I smelled it on cold sniff: ScentSationals Midnight Summer from February 2017! It's even the same color, with similar notes (Midnight Summer notes: Figs layered with Indian jasmine, ballerina rose and green notes of absinthe... sometimes the notes don't mean much so even if some of them are different, it can still be the same scent), and the labels are a little similar too. It's a warm, slightly perfumey blackberry, very similar to 2016's Blackberry Cider, but sweeter, with maybe a smidgen of a "pink sugar" note. It also smells a little like Scentsy Luna, but richer and sweeter. I guess the sweetness I'm smelling is the jasmine and rose, although this is not a floral scent. It's lovely, and kind of "sexy"! I contacted ScentSationals and they said it's not the same scent as Midnight Summer, but most people have said they smell exactly the same.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Pumpkin Spice Cake
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ScentSationals-2-5-oz-Pumpkin-Spice-Cake-Scented-Wax-Melts/288098180

Notes: Spice cake fuses with freshly grated ginger root, brown sugar sweetened pumpkin, sparkling citrus orange, ground clove bud, grated cinnamon sticks and toasted allspice in a sweet vanilla bean batter

This smells like pumpkin pie with a little bit of a gingerbread note. It also has a little more nutmeg than some other pumpkin pie scents I've smelled.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Sugar Pumpkin Cronuts
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ScentSationals-2-5-oz-Sugared-Pumpkin-Cronuts-Scented-Wax-Melts/744504057

Notes: Slow-mulled apple and pumpkin fruit baked between flaky all-buttered pastry layers dusted with ground cinnamon, golden nutmeg and aromatic clove sprinkled with candied brown sugar, and a splash of warm vanilla

I think this one will be a hit. It smells a lot like ScentSationals Cider House Donuts from Fall 2016. I no longer have that scent, but I described it like this: "I can smell the donut dough with a bit of a sweet apple cider note, a pinch of cinnamon, and powdered sugar." Come to think of it, that's how I would describe Pumpkin Cronuts! Although I think this scent is more cinnamony and might have a hint of nutmeg to give it a little bit of a pumpkiny note.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Vanilla Bean Butterscotch
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ScentSationals-2-5-oz-Vanilla-Bean-Butterscotch-Scented-Wax-Melts/868816699

Notes: Hints of smooth vanilla bean, swirled with creamy butterscotch, hints of caramel and frosted buttercream accents sweetened with a tantalizing touch of pure sugarcane

A fantastic, rich buttery butterscotch scent, and strong on cold sniff. It's very similar to Better Homes & Gardens Butterscotch Maple Cream, and might in fact be the same scent. But I think Vanilla Bean Butterscotch is richer, although that might just be because the Butterscotch Maple Cream wax melt I have is a few years old. Throw is very good, 3.5 to 4 out of 5.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



The following ScentSationals scents have returned from Fall 2016 and 2017 (and I reviewed them at https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2016/12/walmart-scented-wax-melts-fall-2016-scentsationals-better-homes-gardens.html and https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2017/08/scentsationals-fall-2017-scented-wax-melts-reviews.html):
Black Tux, Caramel Pumpkin Seeds, Honey Crisp Cider, Perfectly Pine, Pumpkin Apple Muffins, Pumpkin Marshmallow Cream, Pumpkin Spice, Red Hot Cinnamon, Spice It Up, Welcome



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Michael's Wax Melts (Ashland) Reviews - Winter/Holiday 2018

Michael's Wax Melts (Ashland) Reviews - Winter/Holiday 2018

Michael's Wax Melts (Ashland) - Winter/Holiday 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


I'm disappointed in the new Michael's Winter/Holiday 2018 wax melt scents, particularly the throw. It seems like since Michael's is no longer using Hanna's Candle as the manufacturer of their melts (starting with the Fall 2018 scents), the quality has gone downhill. The Fall scents were somewhat good in terms of throw, although the scents were a bit generic. But the throw for these new Winter scents, in general, is terrible this year. And I expect that will continue to be the case because Michael's decided to go with a cheaper wax melt manufacturer. As the saying goes, "You get what you pay for."

Cider Donut
This is an apple cider scent. I don't smell any donut or bakery notes.
Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5

Cinnamon Sparkle
A cinnamon candy scent, a little like "Red Hot" candies. I don't think it's the same Cinnamon Sparkle scent as last year, because I described that one as fantastic, like sweet cinnamon mixed with powdered sugar. And the throw for that one was Medium, 3 or 3.5 out of 5.
Throw: Very faint, 1.5 out of 5

Frosted Sugar Cookie
A nice rich buttery cookie scent. It's not as sweet as other vanilla cookie scents I've smelled, and there may be a smidgen of a barely detectable lemon buttercream note way in the background.
Throw: Faint, 2.5 out of 5

Ginger Cookie
This smells like gingerbread with a little bit of cinnamon. It might be the same scent as last year's Ginger Cookie, but the throw on that one was strong, 4 out of 5.
Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5

Gum Drops
It's not the fruity candy scent I was expecting based on the name, but it's quite nice. It smells like raspberry with a soapy slightly perfumey note.
Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5

Holiday Hearth
A fantastic scent that smells like raw wood, kind of like pencil shavings, with maybe a hint of patchouli and just a smidgen of perfume. It smells a lot like Hanna's Candle's Ember Glow.
Throw: Very faint, 2 out of 5

Holiday Spiced Cake
This smells like gingerbread, but it's sweeter and not as gingery as Ginger Cookie.
Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5

Pinecone Garland
A pine scent with a soapy note. It's nice but smells a bit fake.
Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5

Sleigh Ride
This is my favorite scent of the collection because it's not the "usual" type of winter/holiday scent. It's a sweet department store type perfume scent with a baby powder note. It's not rich, musky or soapy, and not really even floral, and it's not a candy-like girly perfume type scent either. When melted, it has a tiny bit of an "old perfume" note, but not enough to be annoying, and it's still a very nice scent (unless you don't like strong perfumey scents).
Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5

Wassail Wishes
An apple cider scent with mulling spices, and a bit of a falling brown leaves note. It's a bit sour, and I'm not a fan of the sour note, but I think most people will like it. This might be the same as last year's Yuletide Cheers scent, which I described the same way, but throw was strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5.
Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5

Winter Wonderland
I'm not a fan of this one. I smell pine and maybe eucalyptus, but there's also a moldy, mildewy note in the background.
Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5

Woodland Pine
A nice rich pine scent. This one has a smidgen of sweetness. I don't think it's the same Woodland Pine scent from last year, which I described as very rich and smoky, and throw was 5 out of 5.
Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Tuesday, October 9, 2018

AmbiEscents Wax Melts Reviews from Bed Bath & Beyond - Fall 2018

AmbiEscents Wax Melts Reviews from Bed Bath & Beyond - Fall 2018

AmbiEscents Wax Melts from Bed Bath & Beyond - Fall 2018
Click to enlarge

Video




Apple Cider Donut

This scent has returned from last year. It's not very strong on cold sniff. It's a bakery scent with cinnamon, nutmeg, and a smidgen of apple cider. It smells more like pumpkin pie than a cider donut.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Apple Pumpkin Cupcake

Notes: A delectable melody of ripe golden apple and spiced pumpkin notes blended with cinnamon and sweet hints of pure vanilla

This is the same scent as ScentSationals Pumpkin Apple Muffins from August 2016. Pretty much the same scent notes too (PAM notes are "Freshly baked, brown sugar muffins full with ripe golden apple, spiced pumpkin, fresh ground cinnamon and sweet hints of pure vanilla"). It's also a dupe of the Spiced Caramel Corn side of Better Homes & Gardens "At the Fair" duo from 2015.

This is a strong, fantastic scent. It's a super rich, salty, buttery caramel corn scent with a smidgen of cinnamon apple. It's not really pumpkiny. Since Pumpkin Apple Muffins is still available at Walmart for $2 (as of October 2018), if you like this scent it makes sense to buy it there (since AmbiEscents melts are $2.99).

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Ginger Pumpkin

This scent has been around for several years. This smells like pumpkin pie with ginger and extra cinnamon. It also has a slight bread note. It smells a little like gingerbread.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Spiced Pumpkin Swirl

This scent has returned from last year. It smells like pumpkin pie with extra nutmeg and cinnamon.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Turning Leaves

Notes: An enticing autumnal blend of aromatic fir, warm balsam, and pure cedar wrapped with crisp green apple and aromatic leaves freshened with a touch of white orchard pear and harvest berry

This scent has returned from last year. It's the only scent in this collection that's not pumpkiny! It smells like old slightly sour apples that have fallen on the ground and mixed with brown leaves, so it's a common fall scent. But there's something else in this scent that makes it a little different. It's slightly sweeter than most old apple/fallen leaves scents, and there may be a hint of pine in the background. Looking at the notes, there's the fir and balsam, the apple, the leaves, and although I don't smell berry or pear, it's those notes that are probably giving this scent a little sweetness. I like this one.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Vanilla Pumpkin Cream

Notes: A velvety melody of roasted pumpkins and spicy cinnamon blended with notes of grated nutmeg and crushed clove

On cold sniff this smells like pumpkin pie with a smidgen of buttercream and possibly caramel. Melted, however, it just smells like sweet, rich pumpkin pie.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Saturday, September 29, 2018

Better Homes & Gardens Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018 (Part 2)

Better Homes & Gardens Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018 (Part 2)

Better Homes & Gardens Wax Melts - Fall 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


This is a review of most of the new Walmart Better Homes & Gardens scented wax melts Fall 2018 scents, Part 2 of 2. I couldn't find these scents at Walmart when I did the first review (https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2018/09/better-homes-gardens-wax-melts-reviews-fall-2018-1.html).



Aloha Pineapple Pumpkin

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Aloha-Pineapple-Pumpkin-Scented-Wax-Melts/520138578

Notes: A juicy blend of sweet pear, fragrant apple and hints of citrus with warm notes of cinnamon spiced pumpkin, crushed all-spice, brown sugar and sweet amber completed with a touch of juicy pineapple

This is a pineapple scent. On cold sniff I also detect a smidgen of some kind of spice, and although it's kind of sweet, it's also very slightly salty. And there might be a barely detectable smidgen of musk in the background. Melted though, I don't smell spices, and it just smells like fake unsweetened pineapple. I'm not a fan of pineapple, so I didn't like this one. Looking at the notes, I don't smell pear, apple, or citrus.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Chilled Pomegranate Wine

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Chilled-Pomegranate-Wine-Scented-Wax-Melts/300135378

Notes: Late-harvest cherries, juicy cranberries and sweet ripened pomegranate fruit, stirred with citrus lemon, tart orange, pure cane sugar and spiked white wine to create a fun, festive, autumn sangria

This smells like a rich sweet raspberry with a hint of vanilla buttercream, but there's also another juicy berry note in the background, maybe cranberry. I don't smell lemon or orange at all, or any wine notes (which usually have a sour fermentation note that I don't like). Fantastic scent! It's a dupe of an older scent, perhaps Better Homes & Gardens Cranberry Apple Martini from 2015.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Dark Midnight Skies

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Dark-Midnight-Skies-Scented-Wax-Melts/750498958

Notes: A captivating aromatic woody blend with petitgrain, cardamom, lemon, orange and fir with a heart of jasmine, rosemary and rose, with a warming base of vetiver, musk, oak moss and Brazilian rosewood.

A nice, fresh, slightly herbal men's cologne scent or body wash with a hint of soapiness. It smells similar to Cool Water cologne, as well as a lot of other men's cologne type wax melts. I believe it's a dupe of an older ScentSationals men's cologne scent, but I don't remember which one (not ScentSationals Illusion, which is similar but not the same). I like it.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Mahogany & Sandalwood

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Mahogany-and-Sandalwood-Scented-Wax-Melts/150677523

Notes: Warm mahogany, aromatic birch wood, crisp juniper berry and fresh green balsam shimmer with fragrant herbs, touches of sparkling citrus, and smooth ambered sandalwood, all wrapped around sage and sweet moss

A warm, woodsy, smoky cologne scent with a smidgen of spruce. Fantastic! Looking at the notes, the spruce I smell is probably the juniper and balsam. I don't smell citrus at all. It's very rich, sweet and smoky, and even a little salty. I love this scent, and it lasted for 16 hours (probably would have gone longer if I hadn't removed it).

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Spiced Vanilla Embers

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Spiced-Vanilla-Embers-Scented-Wax-Melts/823625746

Notes: Creamy vanilla, smoked spicy cinnamon, a hint of rich nutmeg and warm incense, sweet clove bud and white jasmine, with warming notes of sandalwood and black musk

A fantastic milky sandalwood with a smoky marshmallow note, sweet tobacco, a hint of patchouli and vanilla, and a smidgen of cinnamon. It also has just a tiny bit of a warm ambery perfumey note, although it's not a perfume or cologne scent. Looking at the notes, it might be the combination of clove and jasmine that I think is sweet tobacco. The scent lasted for 16 hours and probably would have gone longer if I hadn't removed it.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



I still have not found Warm Velvet Pomegranate (https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Warm-Velvet-Pomegranate-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/960776465) or Woodland Forest Floor duo (https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Woodland-Forest-Floor-Duo-Scented-Wax-Melts/876500613), both of which have already shown up at some Walmarts. But if and when I get them, I will add them to this review.



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Sunday, September 23, 2018

Tuscany Candle Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018

Tuscany Candle Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018

Tuscany Candle Wax Melts - Fall 2018
Click to enlarge
Tuscany Candle Wax Melts - Fall 2018
Click to enlarge

Videos



I bought these new Tuscany Candle Fall 2018 Limited Edition wax melts at Wegman's food store, but a couple of other stores carry them, including Menards and Kroger (but not Walmart, although Walmart may have a couple of Tuscany Candle Halloween scents).

When I reviewed the first three Tuscany Candle Fall 2018 scents, Wegman's only had those three. When I went back, I found the rest of them! Which is why I have two videos and two photos instead of one!



Apple Cider Donut

A nice yummy scent that smells more like gingerbread than a donut. Although there might be a hint of apple in it but I'm not sure if that's because I'm expecting it to be there.

Throw: 0 out of 5



Autumn Apple

Fantastic authentic crisp apple scent, like standing in the middle of an apple orchard. The most realistic apple scent I think I've ever smelled! I don't detect any other notes like cinnamon or caramel.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Autumn Mums

I adore this scent! It definitely doesn't smell like chrysanthemums though (which really don't have much of a scent). It's a sweet perfumey scent with a warm cashmere or amber note and rich vanilla that makes it smell yummy even though it's not a foodie scent. It may also have a barely noticeable smidgen of fruit like plum or blackberry.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Autumn Wreath

This smells almost exactly like Better Homes & Gardens Pure White Woods, and a little bit like ScentSationals Vanilla Woods. It's not really a fall scent. It smells like an expensive furniture store. I definitely smell the wood, but it's also sweet although not in a perfumey way. It's not a patchouli or tobacco or cologne type scent either. It's a fantastic scent.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Cranberry & Orange

Cranberry & Pine would have been a better name, because that's what this smells like. I don't smell orange at all. I like this scent, nice and Christmasy.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Fall Festival

I think Fall Festival and Falling Leaves are the same scent, just a basic pumpkin pie scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Falling Leaves

I think Fall Festival and Falling Leaves are the same scent, just a basic pumpkin pie scent.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Farmhouse Kitchen

I expected a spicy scent based on the name, but there's nothing kitcheny about this scent. It smells like sweet raspberry and grape juice! It's a nice scent though, and I like it.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5



Harvest Cider

A fake apple cider scent, but I like it. It smells like apple potpourri.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Harvest Hayride

This is a weird scent and I can't figure out the notes. It's kind of pumpkiny with maybe an old apple or apple cider note, but there's a strong earthy aromatic slightly savory spice of some kind that's taking over, with maybe a bit of ginger or even sage. It smells like an old Better Homes & Gardens scent called Enchanted Pumpkin Valley, and a Yankee Candle Home Inspirations scent from Walmart from September 2017 called Beautiful Fall Pumpkins.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Pumpkin Apple

This smells similar to Fall Festival and Falling Leaves in that it's a pumpkin pie scent. But on cold sniff I do smell a little bit of apple cider in the background. I like this one! It's a completely different type of scent from Better Homes & Gardens Farm Apple Pumpkin from Walmart. Melted, I don't smell the apple note and it's just another pumpkin pie scent.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Pumpkin Spice

I expected this to be a pumpkin pie scent, but it's really not, and that's a good thing. I do smell pumpkin spices first, but with a super sweet rich vanilla marshmallow note. I love this one!

Throw: 1 out of 5



Spiced Pear

This doesn't smell like pear at all. It smells like a super salty pretzel with maybe a hint of caramel and a barely detectable smidgen of apple. I've smelled this before. Wait, this is the same scent as ScentSationals Pumpkin Apple Muffins. Sniffing them side by side, I really can't tell the difference.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Sunflower Fields

This smells almost exactly like Autumn Mums. And it doesn't smell like sunflowers (which don't have much of a scent). I love them both. Side by side, Sunflower Fields is slightly sweeter, richer and more perfumey, so I like that one a little more.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Saturday, September 15, 2018

Aldi Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018

Aldi Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018

Aldi Wax Melts - Fall 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


Aldi wax melts (Huntington Home brand) are made by Hanna's Candle. Aldi comes out with 4 scents three times a year (Spring, Summer and Fall… no Winter). The wax melts are very good quality because they're made by Hanna's!



Fall Nights

I thought this was the same scent as Hanna's Candle's Ember Glow (notes for Ember Glow are spiced wood, juniper, cinnamon, patchouli and vanilla), but now I'm not so sure. Like Ember Glow, it's a raw wood scent like pencil shavings, with leather, maybe oud wood, and possibly a smidgen of patchouli and sweet vanilla. Strangely, leather is not in the scent notes, and I don't smell any juniper/pine or cinnamon notes. Smelling Fall Nights and Ember Glow side by side, if they're not exactly the same scent, they're very close. Ember Glow is slightly more "intense", with the oud note that might be missing in Fall Nights (oud is a deep resinous tree sappy woodsy scent). Fantastic scent, and I think it's the best of the 4 new Aldi scents.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5


Maple Pumpkin

This smells like pumpkin pie, but slightly richer and sweeter, with a slight maple note and maybe even a smidgen of walnuts. Although when melted, it's really just a pumpkin pie scent, but a good one. It's not the same scent as Pumpkin Brulee from last year. I also don't think it's the same scent as Maple Pumpkin from September 2016 (https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2016/09/aldi-huntington-home-scented-wax-melts-fall-2016.html), as I described that as more of an apple cider scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5


Plumberry

I thought this might be the same scent as Tuscany Vineyard from January 2017, which I described as grape juice or cheap wine with a waxy vinyl note. This is not the same scent. It does smell like grapes, but there's another fruit in there which may indeed be plum. It does not have a waxy or vinyl note either. I'm not a fan of grape scents, but I kind of like this one as it's unique and different from the usual fall type scents.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5


Warm Apple Pie

Notes: A warm blend of fresh-picked apples, dashed with spicy accents of warm nutmeg, cinnamon, clove, and allspice over a base of brown sugar and vanilla cream

A fake apple scent that smells a little like apple potpourri, rather than apple pie. It also has a smidgen of tartness that makes it smell a little like apple cider. Even though it's fake, it smells kind of nice. I believe it's the same scent as Warm Apple Pie from last year (https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2017/10/aldi-wax-melts-reviews-fall-2017-huntington-home.html).
And I also believe it's the same as Hanna's Candle's Warm Apple Pie scent (not confirmed by Hanna's Candle), which can be found at http://www.candlemart.com.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Thursday, September 6, 2018

Better Homes & Gardens Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018 (Part 1)

Better Homes & Gardens Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018 (Part 1)

Better Homes & Gardens (Walmart) Wax Melts - Fall 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


This is a review of most of the new Walmart Better Homes & Gardens scented wax melts Fall 2018 scents. At the time of this review, not all of the new scents had arrived at my Walmart, so this is Part 1 of 2. Part 2 can be found at https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2018/09/better-homes-gardens-wax-melts-reviews-fall-2018-2.html.



Apple Cookie Crunch

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Apple-Cookie-Crunch-Scented-Wax-Melts/927982896

Notes: Oatmeal and red apple mixed with warm all spice, grated nutmeg, aromatic cinnamon stick, crushed clove, brown sugar, warm butter and pure vanilla

This is a tart but authentic bakery apple scent, like a green Granny Smith apple turnover. I think I detect a hint of walnut, which can also be bitter. Looking at the scent notes, I do detect a little cinnamon, but no nutmeg or clove. Not sure about the oatmeal. I'm not a fan of this one because although it's a little sweet, I don't care for the tartness. Melted it smells better to me though, still a bit tart but not as much as on cold sniff.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Apple Crisp Tea

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Apple-Crisp-Tea-Scented-Wax-Melts/875815206

Notes: Crisp apple and black tea leaves create a warming and comforting sensation while a touch of cinnamon adds dimension. Sweet accords of fresh pear and apple blossoms infuse the heart and lead into a comforting base of amber, vanilla and sheer musk

Based on the name I thought this was going to be just another apple bakery scent, but it's not. It's quite different from other apple scents I've smelled. It smells like an authentic fresh crisp apple with a floral or even slightly soapy note, but not really perfumey either. It's not the same as the old Better Homes & Gardens Apple Blossom Freesia scent at all. When melted, I guess there is something there that could be considered a tea note, but if I didn't know it was there I wouldn't detect it. I really like this scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Caramel Bread Pudding

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Caramel-Bread-Pudding-Scented-Wax-Melts/834518260

Notes: Caramel drizzled over homemade bread and warm butter. Vanilla pudding is blended into the batter. Fresh-baked bread is topped off with grated nutmeg, sweet cinnamon and a hint of dark vanilla essence then sprinkled with brown sugar.

I really like this yummy scent! I smell sweet caramel and rich vanilla, with a smidgen of cinnamon and maybe brown sugar. It's not a salted caramel. I don't really smell bready or buttery notes, but if it's there it's very subtle. Looking at the scent notes, they're accurate!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



First Woodland Frost

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-First-Woodland-Frost-Scented-Wax-Melts/425326068

Notes: Sparkling ozone shimmers with sun-sweetened Bosc pear and touches of golden apple resting upon the aquatic freshness of spearmint, garden mint leaves and soft pear blossom

Ooh, this is a yummy sweet rich sugary pear syrup scent with a warm perfumey note and maybe a fresh ozonic note in the background that keeps it from being too perfumey. There might be just a barely detectable smidgen of mint way in the background that gives this a crisp wintery feel. And I think there might be a hint of green apple that gives it just a smidgen of sourness, but not nearly enough to be annoying. Melted, it's a very rich scent with almost a caramel note, although it's not really a foodie scent. Looking at the scent notes, they're spot on. This is a fantastic scent that I think is going to be a best seller.

The new ScentSationals Celebration Time is also pear-based, but it's a completely different scent. With Celebration Time, the pear is much more subtle and it has more of a sweet warm cashmere perfumey note. First Woodland Frost is definitely pear first, and it also has that ozonic and slightly minty note.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Golden Sunlit Woods

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Golden-Sunlit-Woods-Scented-Wax-Melts/801688205

Notes: Blending white woods, vanilla and warm musk with crisp accents of mandarin, cardamom and golden apple create this captivating scent. Blooming floral heart of jasmine blossoms, freesia, cyclamen and cedar leaf adds tranquility.

A nice sweet warm ambery perfumey scent with rich vanilla, a little bit of a cologney note, a tiny bit of an ozonic note, and maybe a barely detectable smidgen of fruit and wood. The scent started dissipating within about 2 hours.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Lemon Pumpkin Shortbread

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Lemon-Pumpkin-Shortbread-Scented-Wax-Melts/973191208

Notes: Spiced pumpkin puree stirred with lemon and ginger zest then infused with buttery shortbread and baked with cinnamon and black clove, accented with vanilla bean and topped with lemon drizzle icing

Someone said it smells like a cross between Better Homes & Gardens Orange Buttercream Cupcake and popcorn. I thought based on that, that it might be a dupe of Better Homes & Gardens Candied Citrus Pumpkin from 2016, but it's not. It definitely smells like Orange Buttercream Cupcake (a fake but yummy orange Fruit Loops cereal type scent), but with a lemony note and a rich slightly salty note with a hint of nutmeg to give it just a smidgen of pumpkininess. Looking at the scent notes, I think I do detect a smidgen of ginger, not really shortbread although there may be a hint of bakery, and I don't smell cinnamon or clove. Melted, it just smells like a rich, lemony, slightly salty version of Orange Buttercream Cupcake, and I think it might end up being just as popular!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Pumpkin Honey Butter

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Pumpkin-Honey-Butter-Scented-Wax-Melts/643189893

Notes: Sweet and warm all spice fragrances, stirred with pumpkin butter and honey with spices of clove bud, nutmeg and cinnamon. Tonka bean and vanilla cream soothes in the background.

This is weak on cold sniff, so I can't really tell what I'm smelling. It smells kind of like burnt marshmallow. When melted, yes definitely a burnt kind of sweet scent like marshmallow. I'm not sure if I detect honey, but I definitely don't smell pumpkin. It smells slightly like ScentSationals Pumpkin Marshmallow Cream, but with much less scent, and burnt. I'm not a fan.

Throw: Faint, 2 out of 5



Pumpkin Marshmallow Topping

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Pumpkin-Marshmallow-Topping-Scented-Wax-Melts/474100436

Notes: Swirls of pumpkin spice, sweet marshmallow cream, coconut milk and vanilla. Toasted almond, cinnamon sugar and davana add dimension while sweet sugar crystals

I'm sure this is a dupe of an older scent, but I don't know which one. It smells like snowball cookies, which are rich buttery melty shortbread pecan cookies rolled in powdered sugar. I don't smell pumpkin or spices at all, and not even marshmallow. It's a nice rich yummy scent. It smells a lot like the Michael's Ashland brand Winter White Cookies trio from November 2016. It also smells like Better Homes & Gardens Cranberry Cookie Crumble from November 2016. Sniffing PMT and CCC side by side, they're quite similar but not exactly the same. CCC is a little sweeter and richer with a hint of a brown sugar note, while PMT has more of the buttery pecan note and a hint of milkiness.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Pumpkin S'Mores Latte

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Pumpkin-Smores-Latte-Scented-Wax-Melts/970002718

Notes: Warm pumpkin puree, toasted marshmallow, graham cracker accord and milk latte. Sweet cinnamon & shaved nutmeg infuses flavor while whipped vanilla creme adds the perfect finishing touch

Why so many marshmallowy scents this season? Pumpkin Honey Butter, Pumpkin Marshmallow Topping, and Pumpkin S'Mores Latte all smell similar to each other. This one smells like graham crackers and marshmallows with possibly a smidgen of cinnamon. I don't smell coffee at all, or even pumpkin. Maybe a hint of apple? This one also has a tiny bit of that burnt note like Pumpkin Honey Butter, but much more subtle, so it must be the marshmallow causing that. Looking at the scent notes, no apple.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Sunlit Meadow Trail

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Sunlit-Meadow-Trail-Scented-Wax-Melts/737317382

Notes: White mahogany, aromatic birch wood, crisp juniper berry and fresh green balsam shimmer with fragrant herbs, touches of sparkling citrus, green moss, and smooth ambered sandalwood

This smells just like a nice shampoo, body wash, or air freshener. It's fresh with a slightly salty ozonic note, a hint of a soapy and maybe peppery note, a smidgen of floral, and possibly a smidgen of apple or apple blossom. But although it's a little sweet it's not perfumey. This is a perfect scent for the bathroom, and I really like it.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Sweet Blackberry Bourbon

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Sweet-Blackberry-Bourbon-Scented-Wax-Melts/184238524

Notes: Sweet and tart blends infusing blackberry and pumpkin with red currant, davana, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and clove. Sandalwood, aged oak barrel and a touch of vanilla bean adds the perfect balance. But the candle notes are blackberry, red currant, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, clove, sandalwood, oak, and vanilla make up this sweet, fruity, and slightly herbaceous scent

This smells like mulberry and cinnamon, and maybe a bit of cranberry. It's not a "bourbon" or alcohol type of scent, and not even blackberry. It's a little sweet, and it's quite cinnamony. Definitely a holiday scent. I believe it's a dupe of a holiday scent from 2014 or 2015 (I forget the name). This one took over 2 hours to throw fairly well. For the first 2 hours or so, throw was very mild and I could barely smell it.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



These are the scents I'm still waiting for, and will review them  as well:
  • Chilled Pomegranate Wine
  • Mahogany & Sandalwood
  • Warm Velvet Pomegranate
  • Spiced Vanilla Embers
  • Aloha Pineapple Pumpkin
  • Dark Midnight Skies
  • Woodland Forest Floor duo - Fallen Leaves & Green Moss

These 2 scents will probably arrive in November:
  • Creamy Marshmallow Cocoa ("Holiday Edition")
  • Warm Fireside Flurries

I'm not sure if these 2 scents will be available in wax melts, or just candles:
  • All Things Nice
  • Vermont White Spruce
  • Lavender & Freesia
  • Country Gingerbread Cookie



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Tuesday, September 4, 2018

Mainstays Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018

Mainstays Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018

Mainstays Wax Melts - Fall 2018
Click to enlarge

Video:


Rustic Pine

On cold sniff I smell a strong, slightly biting pine, but I also smell a fresh air soapy note, as well as a smidgen of a rich vanilla or caramel way in the background (which probably can't be detected when melting). It's an odd combination of notes, and I'm not sure how well they'll work together.

Melted, however, as I expected, I only smell pine. Considering how few scents Mainstays has, I don't think they need so many of them to be pine (Pine, Evergreen Spruce, Rustic Pine, and even a little Shade of Autumn).

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5


Shades of Autumn

I really like this scent. It smells like raw wood and fallen leaves with just a hint of pine, and maybe a barely detectable smidgen of apple.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Sunday, August 26, 2018

ScentSationals Wax Melts Reviews from Walmart - Fall 2018 (teaser)

ScentSationals Wax Melts Reviews from Walmart - Fall 2018

ScentSationals Wax Melts from Walmart - Fall 2018
Click to enlarge

UPDATE (October 10, 2018) - Since the new Walmart winter/holiday wax melts are starting to come out, I've made THIS review available to everyone at https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2018/10/scentsationals-wax-melts-reviews-from-walmart-fall-2018.html.

This review (both text and video) can only be seen by members of our "Scented Wax Melts Retail Store Bought" Facebook discussion group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail/.

The link to the actual review video and text after you join is: https://www.facebook.com/notes/scented-wax-melts-retail-store-bought/scentsationals-wax-melts-reviews-from-walmart-fall-2018/1765674806883674/.

Come join our fun, active group of over 3,000 store-bought and retail scented wax melt lovers (no vendor wax), including brands like ScentSationals, Better Homes & Gardens, Hanna's Candle, Goose Creek, Swan Creek, Yankee, Tuscany Candle, Michael's wax melts, dollar store wax, and more!

Tuesday, August 21, 2018

Yankee Candle Wax Melts Reviews from Walmart - Fall 2018

Yankee Candle Wax Melts Reviews from Walmart - Fall 2018

Yankee Candle Wax Melts from Walmart - Fall 2018
Click to enlarge

Video




Apple Pumpkin

Description: Cultivated with care... home-grown apples and pumpkins blended with ginger and clove.

Notes:
Top: Apple, Yellow Fruits, Orange, Fresh Greens, Butter
Mid: Baked Pumpkin, Red Fruit, Cinnamon, Clove, Nutmeg, Fresh Ginger
Base: Vanilla, Caramelized Sugar, Baked Pie Crust, Cream, Musk

This is the same scent as the Yankee Candle Home Inspiration scent called Pumpkin Apple Harvest from Fall 2017. It's almost the same scent as Better Homes & Gardens Farm Apple Pumpkin, and Mainstays Apple Pumpkin. Even the wax is a similar color. But this scent is very slightly richer and sweeter though (more like the old ScentSationals Apple Berry Crumble). It's a strong sweet apple scent, like the inside of an apple pie. I smell some spice like nutmeg and perhaps a touch of cinnamon, and that's what gives this a smidgen of a pumpkin pie note (although it's not a pumpkiny scent at all). Fantastic scent! But the Better Homes & Gardens version is a scent monster with a throw of 5 out of 5, and it costs $2.00 instead of $3.93 for the Yankee scent. And the Mainstays Apple Pumpkin scent is $.93 (but for 1.25 oz.) and is also a scent monster. So if you like this scent then go for the Better Homes & Gardens or Mainstays version because they're cheaper, easier to find, and have better throw.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Autumn Wreath

Description: There's a cheerful fall welcome in the spicy warmth of autumn leaves and cinnamon apples.

Notes:
Top: Green Leaf, Apple
Mid: Cinnamon, Clove, Nutmeg
Base: Woody Notes, Vanilla

This is a sour apple scent, like old apples that have fallen on the ground and mixed with brown leaves. But not really in a bad way. It's a nice fall scent, but also very common. This type of scent is found in a lot of fall melt collections.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Balsam & Cedar

Description: Balsam, aromatic cedar wood and juniper berry blend together in a fresh forest scent.

Notes:
Top: Crisp Citrus, Herbs, Red Berry
Mid: Pine Balsam, Cedar, Sandalwood
Base: Vanilla, Warm Amber, Musk

A pine scent with a slightly smoky spruce note and a woodsy note. When melted, it also has a slightly sour "dirt" note that I don't like (maybe it's the "herbs" in the scent notes?). Looking at the notes, I don't smell any of them at all except the pine balsam, and maybe the herbs (the sourness?)

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Cranberry Chutney

Description: A delicious reminder of Thanksgiving dinner... tangy, fresh cranberries with orange zest and raisins.

Notes:
Top: Ripened Raspberry, Strawberry Leaf
Mid: Cranberry, Black Cherry
Base: Iris, Orange Flower

I don't think this is the same scent as the Yankee American Home and Yankee Home Inspiration Delicious Cranberry scent from the past few years. That scent was a crisp clear sweet tart cranberry with nothing added, and it smelled like plain sweet cranberry juice with just a smidgen of bitter cranberry (the description was: "Sweet and wonderful, natural cranberry is blended with vanilla and sugar cane"). This scent smells like a combination of raspberry and cranberry. I really like it. Looking at the notes, there's the raspberry. I don't smell any floral notes, but now that I know there are floral notes, I guess I detect maybe a smidgen that might be making the raspberry note smell even sweeter.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Crisp Fall Night

Description: The autumn evening invites with brisk earthiness and dreamy interludes of lavender and woodland notes.

Notes:
Top: Bergamot, Grapefruit, Black Peppercorn
Mid: Lavender, Maple Leaf
Base: Vetiver, Oak

A very nice woodsy scent with a smoky note and a hint of men's cologne. It's only very slightly sweet. I think this is the same scent as the Yankee Candle Home Inspiration scent from 2017 called Cool Autumn Nights, which I described as follows: "A subtle men's cologne scent with a light wood note. It's not overly sweet or cologney, so even if you don't like cologne scents you might like this one." Looking at the notes, I don't smell grapefruit at all. Bergamot and vetiver are notes that are typically used in cologne scents. And I think I detect a smidgen of pepper and lavender.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Enchanted Moon

Description: A still, clear, moonlit night made magical with hints of juniper, peony and teak.

Notes: Juniper, Peony and Teak

A powdery perfumey scent that smells a little like a bubble bath. I also smell a light woodsy note, which tempers the perfumey note so it's not too sweet. And maybe a smidgen of baby powder. Looking at the notes, I don't smell juniper, which would give it a soft subtle pine note, which this definitely does not have. I really like this scent!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Honeycrisp Apple Cider

Description: A scent that revives and relaxes — fresh Honeycrisp cider warming up a glass.

Notes:
Top: Honeycrisp Apple
Mid: Apple Cider, Honey
Base: Musk

The most realistic apple scent I've ever smelled. It doesn't smell like apple cider to me, but more like a fresh apple orchard. It's not overly sweet either, just "authentic". Looking at the notes, I don't smell honey or musk, although there might be a smidgen of a caramel note which could be the honey. On cold sniff there's a slight sour old apple note (which is probably supposed to be the cider), but I don't smell that when melted. I like it!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Kitchen Spice

Description: This modern blend of sweet orange, clove, ginger and cinnamon is a new take on pantry favorites.

Notes:
Top: Spicy Cardamom, Sweet Orange, Clove
Mid: Nutmeg, Cinnamon, Ginger
Base: Almond, Musk

I smell ginger first, then some other spices like a hint of nutmeg, cinnamon and clove. Looking at the notes, I'm surprised I don't see ginger, but maybe it's the cardamom I'm smelling (cardamom supposedly smells a little like fennel, which is a licoricey scent, but this doesn't smell like licorice at all). I don't smell orange either, although this does smell a little bit like orange pomander, so I guess I do smell orange. I don't smell almond or musk at all.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Luscious Pumpkin Trifle

Description: A mouthwatering temptation of vanilla cake, cinnamon, sweet cream and pumpkin

This showed up at my Walmart in October 2018, not in August with all the other fall scents. It's a much better, sweeter version of pumpkin pie, with a sweet yellow vanilla cake note, maybe a hint of nut, and for some reason I smell a smidgen of banana. Looking at the notes, nope, no nuts or banana. Melted, it smells like a rich vanilla buttercream mixed with pumpkin pie spices. It's quite nice!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Pumpkin Pie

Description: Sweet pumpkin, nutmeg, molasses, cinnamon, and a hint of apple in a buttery crust.

Notes:
Top: Creamy Pumpkin, Citrus
Mid: Harvest Spices of Clove and Cinnamon
Base: Baked Crusty, Butter

It's a pumpkin pie scent. What else can I say? It's a little more buttery than other pumpkin pie scents I've smelled. It's a nice scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Silver Birch

Description: Autumn is in the air... the slight crispness of an early fall breeze mingles with the spicy dryness of just-turning leaves.

Notes:
Top: Watery Notes, Ozone, Siberian Pine
Mid: Clove, Eucalyptus, Cypress
Base: Pine, Patchouli

A lot of people love this scent, and with good reason. It smells great! It's a rich woodsy, slightly smoky spruce scent. It's not a biting pine type scent. It has a smidgen of a fresh air note as well. Looking at the notes, I don't smell clove or patchouli at all, but those notes might be contributing to the "richness" of this scent. The scent only lasted about 2 hours.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Sparkling Cinnamon

Description: Holiday glow... the spicy warmth of real imported stick cinnamon with a hint of cloves.

Notes:
Top: Cinnamon Stick
Mid: Clove, Cardamom
Base: Bay Leaf, Cedarwood

A straight sweet cinnamon scent with a strong clove note. It's not really a harsh "Big Red" gum scent though. It's not the same scent as the 2017 Yankee Home Inspiration Sparkling Cinnamon Spice scent, as that one had a slight fizzy note, like cinnamon soda, and this one does not.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Spiced Pumpkin

Description: Pumpkins baked in simmering spices of clove, nutmeg and cinnamon, and sweetened with brown sugar.

Notes:
Top: Citrus, Orange, Nutmeg, Spiced Pumpkin
Mid: Cinnamon, Clove
Base: Vanilla, Baked Notes

A yummy sweet clove scent with cinnamon, a very slight pumpkin spice/nutmeg note, and maybe a smidgen of buttercream for richness. I've smelled it before, and I like it. Looking at the notes, I don't smell citrus or orange at all.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Sugared Cinnamon Apple

Description: Scrumptious cinnamon apple with a taste of whipped vanilla frosting.

Notes:
Top: Apple Slices
Mid: Cinnamon Cider, Sugar
Base: Fresh Vanilla, Nutmeg, Crushed Clove

This smells fantastic. It's similar to the Apple Pumpkin scent, but that scent is a little more salty. It's a rich super sweet apple scent with a hint of cinnamon and maybe a barely detectable smidgen of nutmeg and clove. I thought based on my description that it was the same scent as Yankee Home Inspiration Pumpkin Berry Parfait from 2017, but it's a different scent; that one was saltier and with a hint of butter and bakery. This scent is more like the gooey insides of an apple pie, but with a hint of a buttercream note.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Warm Luxe Cashmere

Description: The sensuous feel of a soft cashmere in a scent that's both creamy and luxurious.

Notes:
Top: Rich Vanilla Cream
Mid: Winter Iris, Velvet Petals, Warm Cashmere
Base: Amber Silk, Creamy Sandalwood, Patchouli

A warm soft cashmere scent with vanilla. It has a bit of a perfume note but it's not overly sweet, although it's quite rich. Looking at the notes, yes I think I do detect a smidgen of sandalwood, which gives this a very slight milky wood note way in the background. I don't really smell patchouli. Fantastic scent!

Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Friday, August 17, 2018

Goose Creek Candles Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018

Goose Creek Candles Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018

Goose Creek Candles Wax Melts - Fall 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


These are the new Goose Creek Candles wax melts scents for Fall 2018. Goose Creek Candle's website is https://goosecreekcandle.com. I'm a fan of Goose Creek's wax melts. The scents are high quality and the throw tends to be quite strong. Highly recommended!



Autumn Leaf & Amber

Description:
Escape to the woods in a secluded autumn lake house. Leaves shimmer as the evening sun sets.

Notes
Top: Delicious Red Apple, Sparkling Amber
Mid: Fallen Leaves, Autumn Lake House
Base: Cedarwood, Rich Patchouli, Vanilla

This is not a sweet scent at all, more savory, peppery and a little sour/bitter. It's a peppery apple scent, and the apple is more of an old apple that fell on the ground after the fall season and mixed with old brown leaves. But not in a bad way. It's different. Looking at the notes, there's the apple and fallen leaves, not sure what an autumn lake house smells like though! On cold sniff I do detect a hint of amber (which is a sweet warm woodsy scent) and patchouli, but I don't smell those at all when melted.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Bedtime Stories

Description:
Roasting marshmallows by the fire, the imaginations run wild as our favorite bedtime stories are being told. (formerly Campfire Marshmallow)

Notes
Top: Campfire Marshmallow, Warm Vanilla Bean
Mid: Whipped Cream, Light Smokey Notes
Base: Vanilla Extract, Sandalwood, Soft Balsam

A nice rich vanilla marshmallow scent with a smidgen of a smoky note. The Goose Creek website says this is the same scent as their 2016 Campfire Marshmallow scent (https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2016/06/goose-creek-candle-scented-wax-melts-review.html), but I recall that scent having more of a slight laundry or perfumey note, and not as much marshmallow, and the throw was not good. This scent smells more like their Marshmallows scent from May 2018 (https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2018/05/goose-creek-candle-wax-melts-reviews-may-2018.html)

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Carnival Pralines

Description:
The scent of carnival treats fills the air. Caramel, vanilla and chocolate, oh my!

Notes
Top: Warm Caramel, Toasted Hazelnut
Mid: Delicious Pralines, Chocolate Cream
Base: Whipped Vanilla, Salty Essence

A nice rich caramel scent with a milk chocolate note. Yummy!

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Pumpkin Cupcake

Description:
A perfectly sweet pumpkin cupcake topped with vanilla bean & caramel swirl icing.

Notes
Top: Pumpkin Cake Batter, Vanilla Bean
Mid: Sweet Pumpkin, Soft Cinnamon
Base: Caramel, Almond, Brown Sugar

A rich warm caramel bakery scent with a slight vanilla note and maybe a hint of pumpkin spice, and a smidgen of a nutty note. It's not all that pumpkiny, or even spicy, which is good.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Sunflower Daydream

Description:
Beautiful sunflowers drift gently in a cool harvest breeze.

Notes
Top: Sunflowers, Sweet Autumn Apple
Mid: Jasmine, Rose, Ozonic
Base: Cedarwood, Amber, Musk

This is a salty caramel apple scent with a bit of a warm amber note. But it's not a perfumey scent, or even a floral scent at all, and definitely not a sunflower type scent. It's very salty, with almost a popcorn note, but also sweet. I like it!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Warm & Welcome

Description:
It's a warm and cozy embrace as you grab a comfy blanket and start season 2 of your favorite new show.

Notes
Top: Warm Glowing Amber, Vanilla Sandalwood
Mid: Vanilla Orchid, Marshmallow Crème
Base: White Mocha, Vanilla, Creamy Woods

This smells like marshmallow with a soft slightly cashmere note. It's a little sweet with just a tiny bit of a perfumey note, but it's not a perfumey scent at all. It's rich and warm and might have a hint of caramel, and maybe a barely detectable smidgen of chocolate, but although it smells yummy, it's not really a foodie scent. I like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



I didn't get Carving Pumpkins or Fluffy Pancakes (I was told that they won't be available in melts, only candles).




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.