Sunday, September 23, 2018

Tuscany Candle Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018

Tuscany Candle Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018

Tuscany Candle Wax Melts - Fall 2018
Click to enlarge
Tuscany Candle Wax Melts - Fall 2018
Click to enlarge

Videos



I bought these new Tuscany Candle Fall 2018 Limited Edition wax melts at Wegman's food store, but a couple of other stores carry them, including Menards and Kroger (but not Walmart, although Walmart may have a couple of Tuscany Candle Halloween scents).

When I reviewed the first three Tuscany Candle Fall 2018 scents, Wegman's only had those three. When I went back, I found the rest of them! Which is why I have two videos and two photos instead of one!



Apple Cider Donut

A nice yummy scent that smells more like gingerbread than a donut. Although there might be a hint of apple in it but I'm not sure if that's because I'm expecting it to be there.

Throw: 0 out of 5



Autumn Apple

Fantastic authentic crisp apple scent, like standing in the middle of an apple orchard. The most realistic apple scent I think I've ever smelled! I don't detect any other notes like cinnamon or caramel.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Autumn Mums

I adore this scent! It definitely doesn't smell like chrysanthemums though (which really don't have much of a scent). It's a sweet perfumey scent with a warm cashmere or amber note and rich vanilla that makes it smell yummy even though it's not a foodie scent. It may also have a barely noticeable smidgen of fruit like plum or blackberry.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Autumn Wreath

This smells almost exactly like Better Homes & Gardens Pure White Woods, and a little bit like ScentSationals Vanilla Woods. It's not really a fall scent. It smells like an expensive furniture store. I definitely smell the wood, but it's also sweet although not in a perfumey way. It's not a patchouli or tobacco or cologne type scent either. It's a fantastic scent.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Cranberry & Orange

Cranberry & Pine would have been a better name, because that's what this smells like. I don't smell orange at all. I like this scent, nice and Christmasy.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Fall Festival

I think Fall Festival and Falling Leaves are the same scent, just a basic pumpkin pie scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Falling Leaves

I think Fall Festival and Falling Leaves are the same scent, just a basic pumpkin pie scent.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Farmhouse Kitchen

I expected a spicy scent based on the name, but there's nothing kitcheny about this scent. It smells like sweet raspberry and grape juice! It's a nice scent though, and I like it.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5



Harvest Cider

A fake apple cider scent, but I like it. It smells like apple potpourri.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Harvest Hayride

This is a weird scent and I can't figure out the notes. It's kind of pumpkiny with maybe an old apple or apple cider note, but there's a strong earthy aromatic slightly savory spice of some kind that's taking over, with maybe a bit of ginger or even sage. It smells like an old Better Homes & Gardens scent called Enchanted Pumpkin Valley, and a Yankee Candle Home Inspirations scent from Walmart from September 2017 called Beautiful Fall Pumpkins.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Pumpkin Apple

This smells similar to Fall Festival and Falling Leaves in that it's a pumpkin pie scent. But on cold sniff I do smell a little bit of apple cider in the background. I like this one! It's a completely different type of scent from Better Homes & Gardens Farm Apple Pumpkin from Walmart. Melted, I don't smell the apple note and it's just another pumpkin pie scent.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Pumpkin Spice

I expected this to be a pumpkin pie scent, but it's really not, and that's a good thing. I do smell pumpkin spices first, but with a super sweet rich vanilla marshmallow note. I love this one!

Throw: 1 out of 5



Spiced Pear

This doesn't smell like pear at all. It smells like a super salty pretzel with maybe a hint of caramel and a barely detectable smidgen of apple. I've smelled this before. Wait, this is the same scent as ScentSationals Pumpkin Apple Muffins. Sniffing them side by side, I really can't tell the difference.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Sunflower Fields

This smells almost exactly like Autumn Mums. And it doesn't smell like sunflowers (which don't have much of a scent). I love them both. Side by side, Sunflower Fields is slightly sweeter, richer and more perfumey, so I like that one a little more.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Saturday, September 15, 2018

Aldi Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018

Aldi Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018

Aldi Wax Melts - Fall 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


Aldi wax melts (Huntington Home brand) are made by Hanna's Candle. Aldi comes out with 4 scents three times a year (Spring, Summer and Fall… no Winter). The wax melts are very good quality because they're made by Hanna's!



Fall Nights

I thought this was the same scent as Hanna's Candle's Ember Glow (notes for Ember Glow are spiced wood, juniper, cinnamon, patchouli and vanilla), but now I'm not so sure. Like Ember Glow, it's a raw wood scent like pencil shavings, with leather, maybe oud wood, and possibly a smidgen of patchouli and sweet vanilla. Strangely, leather is not in the scent notes, and I don't smell any juniper/pine or cinnamon notes. Smelling Fall Nights and Ember Glow side by side, if they're not exactly the same scent, they're very close. Ember Glow is slightly more "intense", with the oud note that might be missing in Fall Nights (oud is a deep resinous tree sappy woodsy scent). Fantastic scent, and I think it's the best of the 4 new Aldi scents.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5


Maple Pumpkin

This smells like pumpkin pie, but slightly richer and sweeter, with a slight maple note and maybe even a smidgen of walnuts. Although when melted, it's really just a pumpkin pie scent, but a good one. It's not the same scent as Pumpkin Brulee from last year. I also don't think it's the same scent as Maple Pumpkin from September 2016 (https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2016/09/aldi-huntington-home-scented-wax-melts-fall-2016.html), as I described that as more of an apple cider scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5


Plumberry

I thought this might be the same scent as Tuscany Vineyard from January 2017, which I described as grape juice or cheap wine with a waxy vinyl note. This is not the same scent. It does smell like grapes, but there's another fruit in there which may indeed be plum. It does not have a waxy or vinyl note either. I'm not a fan of grape scents, but I kind of like this one as it's unique and different from the usual fall type scents.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5


Warm Apple Pie

Notes: A warm blend of fresh-picked apples, dashed with spicy accents of warm nutmeg, cinnamon, clove, and allspice over a base of brown sugar and vanilla cream

A fake apple scent that smells a little like apple potpourri, rather than apple pie. It also has a smidgen of tartness that makes it smell a little like apple cider. Even though it's fake, it smells kind of nice. I believe it's the same scent as Warm Apple Pie from last year (https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2017/10/aldi-wax-melts-reviews-fall-2017-huntington-home.html).
And I also believe it's the same as Hanna's Candle's Warm Apple Pie scent (not confirmed by Hanna's Candle), which can be found at http://www.candlemart.com.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Thursday, September 6, 2018

Better Homes & Gardens Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018 (Part 1)

Better Homes & Gardens Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018 (Part 1)

Better Homes & Gardens (Walmart) Wax Melts - Fall 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


This is a review of most of the new Walmart Better Homes & Gardens scented wax melts Fall 2018 scents. The rest of the new scents have not yet arrived at my local Walmarts at the time of this review, but when they do I will provide a link to Part 2 of my review. And I will add the official scent notes if/when I get them.



Apple Cookie Crunch

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Apple-Cookie-Crunch-Scented-Wax-Melts/927982896

Notes: Oatmeal and red apple mixed with warm all spice, grated nutmeg, aromatic cinnamon stick, crushed clove, brown sugar, warm butter and pure vanilla

This is a tart but authentic bakery apple scent, like a green Granny Smith apple turnover. I think I detect a hint of walnut, which can also be bitter. Looking at the scent notes, I do detect a little cinnamon, but no nutmeg or clove. Not sure about the oatmeal. I'm not a fan of this one because although it's a little sweet, I don't care for the tartness. Melted it smells better to me though, still a bit tart but not as much as on cold sniff.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Apple Crisp Tea

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Apple-Crisp-Tea-Scented-Wax-Melts/875815206

Notes: Crisp apple and black tea leaves create a warming and comforting sensation while a touch of cinnamon adds dimension. Sweet accords of fresh pear and apple blossoms infuse the heart and lead into a comforting base of amber, vanilla and sheer musk

Based on the name I thought this was going to be just another apple bakery scent, but it's not. It's quite different from other apple scents I've smelled. It smells like an authentic fresh crisp apple with a floral or even slightly soapy note, but not really perfumey either. It's not the same as the old Better Homes & Gardens Apple Blossom Freesia scent at all. When melted, I guess there is something there that could be considered a tea note, but if I didn't know it was there I wouldn't detect it. I really like this scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Caramel Bread Pudding

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Caramel-Bread-Pudding-Scented-Wax-Melts/834518260

Notes: Caramel drizzled over homemade bread and warm butter. Vanilla pudding is blended into the batter. Fresh-baked bread is topped off with grated nutmeg, sweet cinnamon and a hint of dark vanilla essence then sprinkled with brown sugar.

I really like this yummy scent! I smell sweet caramel and rich vanilla, with a smidgen of cinnamon and maybe brown sugar. It's not a salted caramel. I don't really smell bready or buttery notes, but if it's there it's very subtle. Looking at the scent notes, they're accurate!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



First Woodland Frost

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-First-Woodland-Frost-Scented-Wax-Melts/425326068

Notes: Sparkling ozone shimmers with sun-sweetened Bosc pear and touches of golden apple resting upon the aquatic freshness of spearmint, garden mint leaves and soft pear blossom

Ooh, this is a yummy sweet rich sugary pear syrup scent with a warm perfumey note and maybe a fresh ozonic note in the background that keeps it from being too perfumey. There might be just a barely detectable smidgen of mint way in the background that gives this a crisp wintery feel. And I think there might be a hint of green apple that gives it just a smidgen of sourness, but not nearly enough to be annoying. Melted, it's a very rich scent with almost a caramel note, although it's not really a foodie scent. Looking at the scent notes, they're spot on. This is a fantastic scent that I think is going to be a best seller.

The new ScentSationals Celebration Time is also pear-based, but it's a completely different scent. With Celebration Time, the pear is much more subtle and it has more of a sweet warm cashmere perfumey note. First Woodland Frost is definitely pear first, and it also has that ozonic and slightly minty note.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Golden Sunlit Woods

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Golden-Sunlit-Woods-Scented-Wax-Melts/801688205

Notes: Blending white woods, vanilla and warm musk with crisp accents of mandarin, cardamom and golden apple create this captivating scent. Blooming floral heart of jasmine blossoms, freesia, cyclamen and cedar leaf adds tranquility.

A nice sweet warm ambery perfumey scent with rich vanilla, a little bit of a cologney note, a tiny bit of an ozonic note, and maybe a barely detectable smidgen of fruit and wood. The scent started dissipating within about 2 hours.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Lemon Pumpkin Shortbread

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Lemon-Pumpkin-Shortbread-Scented-Wax-Melts/973191208

Notes: Spiced pumpkin puree stirred with lemon and ginger zest then infused with buttery shortbread and baked with cinnamon and black clove, accented with vanilla bean and topped with lemon drizzle icing

Someone said it smells like a cross between Better Homes & Gardens Orange Buttercream Cupcake and popcorn. I thought based on that, that it might be a dupe of Better Homes & Gardens Candied Citrus Pumpkin from 2016, but it's not. It definitely smells like Orange Buttercream Cupcake (a fake but yummy orange Fruit Loops cereal type scent), but with a lemony note and a rich slightly salty note with a hint of nutmeg to give it just a smidgen of pumpkininess. Looking at the scent notes, I think I do detect a smidgen of ginger, not really shortbread although there may be a hint of bakery, and I don't smell cinnamon or clove. Melted, it just smells like a rich, lemony, slightly salty version of Orange Buttercream Cupcake, and I think it might end up being just as popular!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Pumpkin Honey Butter

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Pumpkin-Honey-Butter-Scented-Wax-Melts/643189893

Notes: Sweet and warm all spice fragrances, stirred with pumpkin butter and honey with spices of clove bud, nutmeg and cinnamon. Tonka bean and vanilla cream soothes in the background.

This is weak on cold sniff, so I can't really tell what I'm smelling. It smells kind of like burnt marshmallow. When melted, yes definitely a burnt kind of sweet scent like marshmallow. I'm not sure if I detect honey, but I definitely don't smell pumpkin. It smells slightly like ScentSationals Pumpkin Marshmallow Cream, but with much less scent, and burnt. I'm not a fan.

Throw: Faint, 2 out of 5



Pumpkin Marshmallow Topping

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Pumpkin-Marshmallow-Topping-Scented-Wax-Melts/474100436

Notes: Swirls of pumpkin spice, sweet marshmallow cream, coconut milk and vanilla. Toasted almond, cinnamon sugar and davana add dimension while sweet sugar crystals

I'm sure this is a dupe of an older scent, but I don't know which one. It smells like snowball cookies, which are rich buttery melty shortbread pecan cookies rolled in powdered sugar. I don't smell pumpkin or spices at all, and not even marshmallow. It's a nice rich yummy scent. It smells a lot like the Michael's Ashland brand Winter White Cookies trio from November 2016. It also smells like Better Homes & Gardens Cranberry Cookie Crumble from November 2016. Sniffing PMT and CCC side by side, they're quite similar but not exactly the same. CCC is a little sweeter and richer with a hint of a brown sugar note, while PMT has more of the buttery pecan note and a hint of milkiness.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Pumpkin S'Mores Latte

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Pumpkin-Smores-Latte-Scented-Wax-Melts/970002718

Notes: Warm pumpkin puree, toasted marshmallow, graham cracker accord and milk latte. Sweet cinnamon & shaved nutmeg infuses flavor while whipped vanilla creme adds the perfect finishing touch

Why so many marshmallowy scents this season? Pumpkin Honey Butter, Pumpkin Marshmallow Topping, and Pumpkin S'Mores Latte all smell similar to each other. This one smells like graham crackers and marshmallows with possibly a smidgen of cinnamon. I don't smell coffee at all, or even pumpkin. Maybe a hint of apple? This one also has a tiny bit of that burnt note like Pumpkin Honey Butter, but much more subtle, so it must be the marshmallow causing that. Looking at the scent notes, no apple.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Sunlit Meadow Trail

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Sunlit-Meadow-Trail-Scented-Wax-Melts/737317382

Notes: White mahogany, aromatic birch wood, crisp juniper berry and fresh green balsam shimmer with fragrant herbs, touches of sparkling citrus, green moss, and smooth ambered sandalwood

This smells just like a nice shampoo, body wash, or air freshener. It's fresh with a slightly salty ozonic note, a hint of a soapy and maybe peppery note, a smidgen of floral, and possibly a smidgen of apple or apple blossom. But although it's a little sweet it's not perfumey. This is a perfect scent for the bathroom, and I really like it.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Sweet Blackberry Bourbon

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Sweet-Blackberry-Bourbon-Scented-Wax-Melts/184238524

Notes: Sweet and tart blends infusing blackberry and pumpkin with red currant, davana, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and clove. Sandalwood, aged oak barrel and a touch of vanilla bean adds the perfect balance. But the candle notes are blackberry, red currant, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, clove, sandalwood, oak, and vanilla make up this sweet, fruity, and slightly herbaceous scent

This smells like mulberry and cinnamon, and maybe a bit of cranberry. It's not a "bourbon" or alcohol type of scent, and not even blackberry. It's a little sweet, and it's quite cinnamony. Definitely a holiday scent. I believe it's a dupe of a holiday scent from 2014 or 2015 (I forget the name). This one took over 2 hours to throw fairly well. For the first 2 hours or so, throw was very mild and I could barely smell it.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



These are the scents I'm still waiting for, and will review them  as well:
  • Chilled Pomegranate Wine
  • Mahogany & Sandalwood
  • Warm Velvet Pomegranate
  • Spiced Vanilla Embers
  • Aloha Pineapple Pumpkin
  • Dark Midnight Skies
  • Woodland Forest Floor duo - Fallen Leaves & Green Moss

These 2 scents will probably arrive in November:
  • Creamy Marshmallow Cocoa ("Holiday Edition")
  • Warm Fireside Flurries

I'm not sure if these 2 scents will be available in wax melts, or just candles:
  • All Things Nice
  • Vermont White Spruce
  • Lavender & Freesia
  • Country Gingerbread Cookie



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Tuesday, September 4, 2018

Mainstays Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018

Mainstays Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018

Mainstays Wax Melts - Fall 2018
Click to enlarge

Video:


Rustic Pine

On cold sniff I smell a strong, slightly biting pine, but I also smell a fresh air soapy note, as well as a smidgen of a rich vanilla or caramel way in the background (which probably can't be detected when melting). It's an odd combination of notes, and I'm not sure how well they'll work together.

Melted, however, as I expected, I only smell pine. Considering how few scents Mainstays has, I don't think they need so many of them to be pine (Pine, Evergreen Spruce, Rustic Pine, and even a little Shade of Autumn).

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5


Shades of Autumn

I really like this scent. It smells like raw wood and fallen leaves with just a hint of pine, and maybe a barely detectable smidgen of apple.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Sunday, August 26, 2018

ScentSationals Wax Melts Reviews from Walmart - Fall 2018

ScentSationals Wax Melts Reviews from Walmart - Fall 2018

ScentSationals Wax Melts from Walmart - Fall 2018
Click to enlarge

This review (both text and video) can only be seen by members of our "Scented Wax Melts Retail Store Bought" Facebook discussion group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail/.

The link to the actual review video and text after you join is: https://www.facebook.com/notes/scented-wax-melts-retail-store-bought/scentsationals-wax-melts-reviews-from-walmart-fall-2018/1765674806883674/.

9/9/18 - I added the official scent notes as well as the links to each page on the Walmart website where they can be found (doing a search on the Walmart site won't bring them up yet).

Come join our fun, active group of over 3,000 store-bought and retail scented wax melt lovers (no vendor wax), including brands like ScentSationals, Better Homes & Gardens, Hanna's Candle, Goose Creek, Swan Creek, Yankee, Tuscany Candle, Michael's wax melts, dollar store wax, and more!

Tuesday, August 21, 2018

Yankee Candle Wax Melts Reviews from Walmart - Fall 2018

Yankee Candle Wax Melts Reviews from Walmart - Fall 2018

Yankee Candle Wax Melts from Walmart - Fall 2018
Click to enlarge

Video




Apple Pumpkin

Description: Cultivated with care... home-grown apples and pumpkins blended with ginger and clove.

Notes:
Top: Apple, Yellow Fruits, Orange, Fresh Greens, Butter
Mid: Baked Pumpkin, Red Fruit, Cinnamon, Clove, Nutmeg, Fresh Ginger
Base: Vanilla, Caramelized Sugar, Baked Pie Crust, Cream, Musk

This is the same scent as the Yankee Candle Home Inspiration scent called Pumpkin Apple Harvest from Fall 2017. It's almost the same scent as Better Homes & Gardens Farm Apple Pumpkin, and Mainstays Apple Pumpkin. Even the wax is a similar color. But this scent is very slightly richer and sweeter though (more like the old ScentSationals Apple Berry Crumble). It's a strong sweet apple scent, like the inside of an apple pie. I smell some spice like nutmeg and perhaps a touch of cinnamon, and that's what gives this a smidgen of a pumpkin pie note (although it's not a pumpkiny scent at all). Fantastic scent! But the Better Homes & Gardens version is a scent monster with a throw of 5 out of 5, and it costs $2.00 instead of $3.93 for the Yankee scent. And the Mainstays Apple Pumpkin scent is $.93 (but for 1.25 oz.) and is also a scent monster. So if you like this scent then go for the Better Homes & Gardens or Mainstays version because they're cheaper, easier to find, and have better throw.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Autumn Wreath

Description: There's a cheerful fall welcome in the spicy warmth of autumn leaves and cinnamon apples.

Notes:
Top: Green Leaf, Apple
Mid: Cinnamon, Clove, Nutmeg
Base: Woody Notes, Vanilla

This is a sour apple scent, like old apples that have fallen on the ground and mixed with brown leaves. But not really in a bad way. It's a nice fall scent, but also very common. This type of scent is found in a lot of fall melt collections.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Balsam & Cedar

Description: Balsam, aromatic cedar wood and juniper berry blend together in a fresh forest scent.

Notes:
Top: Crisp Citrus, Herbs, Red Berry
Mid: Pine Balsam, Cedar, Sandalwood
Base: Vanilla, Warm Amber, Musk

A pine scent with a slightly smoky spruce note and a woodsy note. When melted, it also has a slightly sour "dirt" note that I don't like (maybe it's the "herbs" in the scent notes?). Looking at the notes, I don't smell any of them at all except the pine balsam, and maybe the herbs (the sourness?)

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Cranberry Chutney

Description: A delicious reminder of Thanksgiving dinner... tangy, fresh cranberries with orange zest and raisins.

Notes:
Top: Ripened Raspberry, Strawberry Leaf
Mid: Cranberry, Black Cherry
Base: Iris, Orange Flower

I don't think this is the same scent as the Yankee American Home and Yankee Home Inspiration Delicious Cranberry scent from the past few years. That scent was a crisp clear sweet tart cranberry with nothing added, and it smelled like plain sweet cranberry juice with just a smidgen of bitter cranberry (the description was: "Sweet and wonderful, natural cranberry is blended with vanilla and sugar cane"). This scent smells like a combination of raspberry and cranberry. I really like it. Looking at the notes, there's the raspberry. I don't smell any floral notes, but now that I know there are floral notes, I guess I detect maybe a smidgen that might be making the raspberry note smell even sweeter.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Crisp Fall Night

Description: The autumn evening invites with brisk earthiness and dreamy interludes of lavender and woodland notes.

Notes:
Top: Bergamot, Grapefruit, Black Peppercorn
Mid: Lavender, Maple Leaf
Base: Vetiver, Oak

A very nice woodsy scent with a smoky note and a hint of men's cologne. It's only very slightly sweet. I think this is the same scent as the Yankee Candle Home Inspiration scent from 2017 called Cool Autumn Nights, which I described as follows: "A subtle men's cologne scent with a light wood note. It's not overly sweet or cologney, so even if you don't like cologne scents you might like this one." Looking at the notes, I don't smell grapefruit at all. Bergamot and vetiver are notes that are typically used in cologne scents. And I think I detect a smidgen of pepper and lavender.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Enchanted Moon

Description: A still, clear, moonlit night made magical with hints of juniper, peony and teak.

Notes: Juniper, Peony and Teak

A powdery perfumey scent that smells a little like a bubble bath. I also smell a light woodsy note, which tempers the perfumey note so it's not too sweet. And maybe a smidgen of baby powder. Looking at the notes, I don't smell juniper, which would give it a soft subtle pine note, which this definitely does not have. I really like this scent!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Honeycrisp Apple Cider

Description: A scent that revives and relaxes — fresh Honeycrisp cider warming up a glass.

Notes:
Top: Honeycrisp Apple
Mid: Apple Cider, Honey
Base: Musk

The most realistic apple scent I've ever smelled. It doesn't smell like apple cider to me, but more like a fresh apple orchard. It's not overly sweet either, just "authentic". Looking at the notes, I don't smell honey or musk, although there might be a smidgen of a caramel note which could be the honey. On cold sniff there's a slight sour old apple note (which is probably supposed to be the cider), but I don't smell that when melted. I like it!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Kitchen Spice

Description: This modern blend of sweet orange, clove, ginger and cinnamon is a new take on pantry favorites.

Notes:
Top: Spicy Cardamom, Sweet Orange, Clove
Mid: Nutmeg, Cinnamon, Ginger
Base: Almond, Musk

I smell ginger first, then some other spices like a hint of nutmeg, cinnamon and clove. Looking at the notes, I'm surprised I don't see ginger, but maybe it's the cardamom I'm smelling (cardamom supposedly smells a little like fennel, which is a licoricey scent, but this doesn't smell like licorice at all). I don't smell orange either, although this does smell a little bit like orange pomander, so I guess I do smell orange. I don't smell almond or musk at all.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Pumpkin Pie

Description: Sweet pumpkin, nutmeg, molasses, cinnamon, and a hint of apple in a buttery crust.

Notes:
Top: Creamy Pumpkin, Citrus
Mid: Harvest Spices of Clove and Cinnamon
Base: Baked Crusty, Butter

It's a pumpkin pie scent. What else can I say? It's a little more buttery than other pumpkin pie scents I've smelled. It's a nice scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Silver Birch

Description: Autumn is in the air... the slight crispness of an early fall breeze mingles with the spicy dryness of just-turning leaves.

Notes:
Top: Watery Notes, Ozone, Siberian Pine
Mid: Clove, Eucalyptus, Cypress
Base: Pine, Patchouli

A lot of people love this scent, and with good reason. It smells great! It's a rich woodsy, slightly smoky spruce scent. It's not a biting pine type scent. It has a smidgen of a fresh air note as well. Looking at the notes, I don't smell clove or patchouli at all, but those notes might be contributing to the "richness" of this scent. The scent only lasted about 2 hours.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Sparkling Cinnamon

Description: Holiday glow... the spicy warmth of real imported stick cinnamon with a hint of cloves.

Notes:
Top: Cinnamon Stick
Mid: Clove, Cardamom
Base: Bay Leaf, Cedarwood

A straight sweet cinnamon scent with a strong clove note. It's not really a harsh "Big Red" gum scent though. It's not the same scent as the 2017 Yankee Home Inspiration Sparkling Cinnamon Spice scent, as that one had a slight fizzy note, like cinnamon soda, and this one does not.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Spiced Pumpkin

Description: Pumpkins baked in simmering spices of clove, nutmeg and cinnamon, and sweetened with brown sugar.

Notes:
Top: Citrus, Orange, Nutmeg, Spiced Pumpkin
Mid: Cinnamon, Clove
Base: Vanilla, Baked Notes

A yummy sweet clove scent with cinnamon, a very slight pumpkin spice/nutmeg note, and maybe a smidgen of buttercream for richness. I've smelled it before, and I like it. Looking at the notes, I don't smell citrus or orange at all.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Sugared Cinnamon Apple

Description: Scrumptious cinnamon apple with a taste of whipped vanilla frosting.

Notes:
Top: Apple Slices
Mid: Cinnamon Cider, Sugar
Base: Fresh Vanilla, Nutmeg, Crushed Clove

This smells fantastic. It's similar to the Apple Pumpkin scent, but that scent is a little more salty. It's a rich super sweet apple scent with a hint of cinnamon and maybe a barely detectable smidgen of nutmeg and clove. I thought based on my description that it was the same scent as Yankee Home Inspiration Pumpkin Berry Parfait from 2017, but it's a different scent; that one was saltier and with a hint of butter and bakery. This scent is more like the gooey insides of an apple pie, but with a hint of a buttercream note.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Warm Luxe Cashmere

Description: The sensuous feel of a soft cashmere in a scent that's both creamy and luxurious.

Notes:
Top: Rich Vanilla Cream
Mid: Winter Iris, Velvet Petals, Warm Cashmere
Base: Amber Silk, Creamy Sandalwood, Patchouli

A warm soft cashmere scent with vanilla. It has a bit of a perfume note but it's not overly sweet, although it's quite rich. Looking at the notes, yes I think I do detect a smidgen of sandalwood, which gives this a very slight milky wood note way in the background. I don't really smell patchouli. Fantastic scent!

Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Friday, August 17, 2018

Goose Creek Candles Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018

Goose Creek Candles Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018

Goose Creek Candles Wax Melts - Fall 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


These are the new Goose Creek Candles wax melts scents for Fall 2018. Goose Creek Candle's website is https://goosecreekcandle.com. I'm a fan of Goose Creek's wax melts. The scents are high quality and the throw tends to be quite strong. Highly recommended!



Autumn Leaf & Amber

Description:
Escape to the woods in a secluded autumn lake house. Leaves shimmer as the evening sun sets.

Notes
Top: Delicious Red Apple, Sparkling Amber
Mid: Fallen Leaves, Autumn Lake House
Base: Cedarwood, Rich Patchouli, Vanilla

This is not a sweet scent at all, more savory, peppery and a little sour/bitter. It's a peppery apple scent, and the apple is more of an old apple that fell on the ground after the fall season and mixed with old brown leaves. But not in a bad way. It's different. Looking at the notes, there's the apple and fallen leaves, not sure what an autumn lake house smells like though! On cold sniff I do detect a hint of amber (which is a sweet warm woodsy scent) and patchouli, but I don't smell those at all when melted.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Bedtime Stories

Description:
Roasting marshmallows by the fire, the imaginations run wild as our favorite bedtime stories are being told. (formerly Campfire Marshmallow)

Notes
Top: Campfire Marshmallow, Warm Vanilla Bean
Mid: Whipped Cream, Light Smokey Notes
Base: Vanilla Extract, Sandalwood, Soft Balsam

A nice rich vanilla marshmallow scent with a smidgen of a smoky note. The Goose Creek website says this is the same scent as their 2016 Campfire Marshmallow scent (https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2016/06/goose-creek-candle-scented-wax-melts-review.html), but I recall that scent having more of a slight laundry or perfumey note, and not as much marshmallow, and the throw was not good. This scent smells more like their Marshmallows scent from May 2018 (https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2018/05/goose-creek-candle-wax-melts-reviews-may-2018.html)

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Carnival Pralines

Description:
The scent of carnival treats fills the air. Caramel, vanilla and chocolate, oh my!

Notes
Top: Warm Caramel, Toasted Hazelnut
Mid: Delicious Pralines, Chocolate Cream
Base: Whipped Vanilla, Salty Essence

A nice rich caramel scent with a milk chocolate note. Yummy!

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Pumpkin Cupcake

Description:
A perfectly sweet pumpkin cupcake topped with vanilla bean & caramel swirl icing.

Notes
Top: Pumpkin Cake Batter, Vanilla Bean
Mid: Sweet Pumpkin, Soft Cinnamon
Base: Caramel, Almond, Brown Sugar

A rich warm caramel bakery scent with a slight vanilla note and maybe a hint of pumpkin spice, and a smidgen of a nutty note. It's not all that pumpkiny, or even spicy, which is good.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Sunflower Daydream

Description:
Beautiful sunflowers drift gently in a cool harvest breeze.

Notes
Top: Sunflowers, Sweet Autumn Apple
Mid: Jasmine, Rose, Ozonic
Base: Cedarwood, Amber, Musk

This is a salty caramel apple scent with a bit of a warm amber note. But it's not a perfumey scent, or even a floral scent at all, and definitely not a sunflower type scent. It's very salty, with almost a popcorn note, but also sweet. I like it!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Warm & Welcome

Description:
It's a warm and cozy embrace as you grab a comfy blanket and start season 2 of your favorite new show.

Notes
Top: Warm Glowing Amber, Vanilla Sandalwood
Mid: Vanilla Orchid, Marshmallow Crème
Base: White Mocha, Vanilla, Creamy Woods

This smells like marshmallow with a soft slightly cashmere note. It's a little sweet with just a tiny bit of a perfumey note, but it's not a perfumey scent at all. It's rich and warm and might have a hint of caramel, and maybe a barely detectable smidgen of chocolate, but although it smells yummy, it's not really a foodie scent. I like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



I didn't get Carving Pumpkins or Fluffy Pancakes (I was told that they won't be available in melts, only candles).




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Friday, August 3, 2018

Febreze Unstopables Wax Melt Review - Vanilla

Febreze Unstopables Wax Melt Review - Vanilla

Click to enlarge

Video


This smells a bit like Scentsy Lavender Vanilla, which I've been told is a dupe of Bath & Body Works Lavender Vanilla. It smells like a combination of lavender, cashmere/amber for warmth, a hint of musk, a smidgen of patchouli, and just a tiny bit of vanilla. It's a nice scent. I found it at Walmart at the end of July 2018, but like the other Unstopables wax melts (which I reviewed HERE), I don't know if all Walmarts will carry it.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Febreze One Wax Melts Reviews

Febreze One Wax Melts Reviews

Febreze One Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


The new Febreze One melts are made with soy wax (like all of their scents), as well as essential oils, and no artificial perfumes or dyes. As of July 2018 I've only found them at Walmart. Both scents are very strong on cold sniff, especially the peppermint. But they don't throw as well as I expected they would; in fact, I had better luck putting a cube of the peppermint scent in a dish without even melting it. Febreze has come out with a wax warmer specifically for their melts. The new warmer is only 8.5 watts, which means it doesn't get very warm. Most wax warmers are 20 to 24 watts (I used a 20 watt Glade warmer to melt these). It's possible that the essential oils burn off too quickly with a regular warmer, and the Febreze warmer might be better for these melts. And both scents dissipated within 1.5 to 2 hours. But again, the Febreze warmer might prevent that. I don't have the new Febreze warmer, nor will I buy a separate warmer just for these melts. Oh, and these melts are $4.95 each, for 2.75 oz. Which is quite pricey, and more than their other Febreze scents which are usually $2.97 (or $3.97 for the Unstopables).



Lemongrass & Ginger

This smells like you've just walked into an expensive spa. It's a very natural essential oil scent, but it's hard to describe. I smell the lemongrass, but it's more "warm" and soapy and less lemony (not very lemony at all, actually) than other lemongrass scents I've smelled. And I think I do detect ginger in the background, so that might be the warm soapy note. It's not sweet at all. I really like this one, but the scent started dissipating within 1 hour and was gone within 2 hours.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Febreze-ONE-Soy-Wax-Melts-with-Essential-Oils-Lemongrass-Ginger-Scent-6-Cubes-2-75-Ounce/221994149



Peppermint & Rosemary

This is real peppermint oil, and has a strong sinus clearing effect. It's a little sweet, and it also has a little bit of an herbal/spa note, which is probably the rosemary. I don't smell rosemary per se, which is a savory herb with undertones of pine and lemon. Although there might be a smidgen of a lemongrass type note in the background which gives this scent the herbal/spa quality. This scent dissipated within 1.5 hour, and within 2 hours it was gone.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5 (but a couple of other people tried this scent and said it was a 5 out of 5)

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Febreze-ONE-Soy-Wax-Melts-with-Essential-Oils-Peppermint-Rosemary-Scent-6-Cubes-2-75-Oz/820618715



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Febreze Cranberry & Pumpkin Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018

Febreze Cranberry & Pumpkin Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018

Febreze Cranberry and Pumpkin Wax Melts - Fall 2018
Click to enlarge

Video




Fresh-Harvest Pumpkin

A nice pumpkin spice scent, sweeter than most, with maybe a hint of brown sugar, and not as many spices. But it's a dupe of just about every pumpkin scent they've come out with for years, including last year's Fresh-Fall Pumpkin.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Fresh-Twist Cranberry

This is a dupe of other cranberry scents that Febreze has come out with for years, including Sugared Cranberry and Cranberry Cheer. I think this scent was also out last year. It's fantastic, a combination of fake fruit with just a smidgen of tartness (but not actually cranberry), a hint of a light raw wood note, a little bit of a perfumey note, and a smidgen of a fresh note. It's not a foodie scent and not even all that fruity.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5 (but the older versions of this scent had a much stronger throw)

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Wax-Melt-Febreze-Wax-Melts-Fresh-Twist-Cranberry-Air-Freshener-1-Count-2-75-oz/55122803



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Saturday, July 28, 2018

Ashland (Michaels) Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018

Ashland (Michaels) Wax Melts Reviews - Fall 2018

Ashland (Michaels) Wax Melts - Fall 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


Hanna's Candle is no longer making the Michaels (Ashland) wax melts (starting with these Fall 2018 scents). I don't know who the new manufacturer is.



Autumn Walk

I smell men's cologne, sandalwood, and a fresh air note. It's the same as the Autumn Walk scent from July 2017. I said last year that the cologne note was a bit harsh. Actually, I think it has a very slight sour note, or maybe a smidgen of that old apple note, or old wood, way in the background, and that's what I don't care for.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Cinnamon Pecan Buns

Someone made a mistake at the factory, because this is the same scent as the Classic Pumpkin Spice scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Classic Pumpkin Spice

Just like the scent name says, this is a standard pumpkin pie type scent. A little generic, nothing exciting.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Delicious Apple

It's apple. I don't think I detect any spices. It smells nice even though it's a fake apple scent, like apple potpourri. Melted, I detect a hint of caramel.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Pumpkin Spice Chai

This smells a little like apple cider with a sweet raisin note. I do smell nutmeg, which gives it a pumpkiny note. I don't smell any tea or chai notes though. I think it's the same as Pumpkin Spice Chai from July 2017, but maybe not (I described that as a sweet pumpkin pie scent with a hint of chai tea). When melted, I don't really smell the apple note that I smell on cold sniff, and it smells more pumpkiny.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Vanilla Pumpkin

On cold sniff smells like a sweet creamy milky vanilla scent with coffee and a hint of nutmeg and cinnamon. It's a really nice scent, my favorite of this collection. Melted though, I smell more of the pumpkin spices and much less of the coffee. It's still a nice scent though.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Tuesday, July 24, 2018

Liza Jane Candle Company Wax Melts Reviews

Liza Jane Candle Company Wax Melts Reviews

Liza Jane Candle Company Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


Liza Jane Candle Company is a new candle and wax melt business in Waxahachie, Texas. Unlike most small wax vendors, Liza uses paraffin in her products instead of soy. I find that paraffin throws better than soy ("throw" is how far you can smell the scent in the room while it's melting).

The paraffin she uses is a special grade that intensifies the throw. And even though the temperature was in the 90's when I got these in the mail, they didn't melt at all! They are a bit soft and greasy like soy, and slightly sticky so that I had to use a butter knife to get a cube out of the clamshell, but that was not a problem at all; in fact, it was better than getting my fingers greasy!

Liza Jane Candle Company is now one of my new top favorite wax melt vendors. Those who know me know I have very high expectations when it comes to wax melts, and Liza Jane Candle Company exceeded every one of them. I liked most of the scents, and again, unlike most wax vendors, just about all of the wax melts had excellent throw! I even like her labels, which are classy and professional. Liza was wonderful to work with, professional, and an all-around nice person who provided exceptional customer service. And if all of that weren't enough, 2% of all sales goes to Parkinson's Disease Research for a cure!

Liza Jane Candle Company can be found on her website at https://www.lizajanecandleco.com, and on Facebook at
https://www.facebook.com/lizajanecandleco.



Angel Wings

Notes: A powdery bouquet of rose, jasmine and hawthorne enhanced by fresh vanilla, musk and wood

I love this scent! It's primarily a baby powder scent, but there's something else, a very sweet floral note like jasmine, and a little musk. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell rose, wood or vanilla, and I don't know what hawthorne smells like.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the entire house!



Butt Naked

Notes: A saucy blend of melons, strawberries, pears and fresh green apples

I've smelled this scent before, and it smells like super sweet cherries with a watermelon note and a little bit of a tropical fruit note, and maybe rich vanilla (although it's definitely not a bakery scent). Very nice! Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell apples, and not really the strawberries either, although what I think is cherry is probably a combination of all those fruits.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Cashmere

Notes: A warm, herbal musky fragrance with a light musk base woven with notes of muguet, sandalwood, creamy vanilla and patchouli, with top notes of mandarin and lime

I can't figure out the notes in this one. It's kind of sweet and girly, but not overly sweet like Pink Sugar. Not really soapy either, and not a perfumey scent. Maybe a smidgen of sandalwood way in the background? Cashmere is actually a warm, rich, ambery perfumey scent, but this scent is not that at all. Looking at the scent notes, I definitely don't smell mandarin (orange) or lime. I think I detect a bit of the musk, and possibly a smidgen of patchouli. It's a pleasant scent, but just kind of "meh" for me (but just because it wasn't my favorite doesn't mean it won't be yours!)

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Cowboy Leather

Notes: Smells like the inside of a saddle shop

Yep, it's leather, and it smells great! Also makes a great mixer... smells fantastic when mixed with pine, woodsy, patchouli or cologne scents.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the entire house!



Cranberry Chutney

This smells like a combination of maraschino cherry and cranberry, or maybe cranberry with a candy note. It's fresh and sweet with some cranberry tanginess. It's not an authentic cranberry scent, but I still really like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Dreamy Vanilla

A sweet rich vanilla buttercream. Scent started dissipating within 2 hours.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Fresh Cut Bamboo

This is not really a bamboo scent, as bamboo has a nutty coconut note. But it's fantastic! It smells like hothouse flowers, a combination of honeysuckle and jasmine with watery and grassy green notes that keep it from being too sweet or perfumey. Unfortunately, the scent started dissipating within 1.5 hour.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Grapefruit

Fantastic zesty white grapefruit scent. It's not a sweet pink grapefruit. It might have a smidgen of lemon in it. Nice and thirst-quenching!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the entire house!



Icicles

Notes: Ozone and cypress with mid notes of jasmine and spice on a base of cedar, sugar and moss

I've smelled this scent before, and it's fantastic. It's a raw wood scent, like a birch or light wood, with a fresh note, and maybe also mint (fresh mint, not peppermint or spearmint) and maybe a bit of eucalyptus and possibly a smidgen of pine. But it's not a pine scent. It's a nice wintery scent. Looking at the scent notes, no mint! And I don't smell jasmine or sugar, as it's not sweet at all and there are no floral notes.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the entire house!



Inner Peace

Notes: Energizing notes of cherry & almond blended with notes of neroli, orange flower, jasmine and strawberry. Base notes of cotton candy, vanilla, and raspberry.

I can't figure out what I'm smelling, but it's pleasant. It smells like soap with maybe a subtle citrus or orange note, and maybe a bit of floral, and possibly a smidgen of vanilla. It's a little sweet, but not perfumey. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell most of those notes! On cold sniff it's not a fruity scent, but when melted I definitely smell the fruit, although it's more like fruit scented soap with an orangey note.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Jasmine Orchidea

Notes: Blend of jasmine, orange blossom and rose with a hint of sheer musk

A nice perfumey scent with jasmine and a hint of something else. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell rose at all, and not really orange blossom (which is a scent I love).

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Key Lime Pie

A sweet creamy lime scent. When melted, it has a hint of a lime scented cleaner note, but not in a bad way. It's a fresh, summery scent.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Midnight Cowboy

Notes: Notes of citrus, bergamot, sea salt and amber wood

A fresh "Cool Water" type men's cologne or body wash. I like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Peach

A nice peach scent, kind of authentic. It's a sour peach rather than a sweet peach, but if you like sweet peach, it smells fantastic mixed with Dreamy Vanilla!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Pink Sugar

Notes: A fruity blend of cotton candy, lemon drops, caramel and raspberry jam on a dry down of musk

I love the Pink Sugar scent, no matter who makes it. It's like a combination of a pre-teen girl's perfume, cotton candy, and a hint of raspberry. I don't smell lemon, but I do smell the musk of the perfume, and maybe a smidgen of the caramel although it's not a foodie scent at all. Fantastic!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Wine & Roses

Notes: Red roses mixed with red wine

This smells exactly like the scent name: roses and wine. The rose is the predominant note, but I also detect a sweet grapey wine. It's a nice, interesting combination.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5




I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Sunday, July 22, 2018

Sonoma Wax Melts Reviews at Kohl's - Fall 2018

Sonoma Wax Melts Reviews at Kohl's - Fall 2018

Sonoma Wax Melts at Kohl's - Fall 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


I'm underwhelmed with the Kohl's Sonoma Fall 2018 wax melts scents. Several are dupes of scents from previous years, many are "typical" fall spice pumpkiny type scents (nothing exciting), and some of the ones that are different have weak throw.



Apple Spice

Notes: apple, spice and cinnamon

A typical apple cider scent, but not as much of that harsh "mulling spices" note. So it smells more like sweet apple juice with a hint of cinnamon. It's different from the Hot Apple Cider scent; I like this scent much more, as it's more authentic.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Autumn Hayride

Notes: cedarwood, cinnamon bark and white clove

This is the same Autumn Hayride scent that came out in October 2015 and October 2016, and I'm glad they brought it back because it's fantastic, a smoky woodsy scent that smells like burning leaves. I think I do detect the cloves a little, because it's not just a smoky scent, there's something else in there. One of my favorite fall scents. The 2015 and 2016 versions were bold throwers, 5 out of 5.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Bergamot Driftwood

Notes: bergamot, driftwood and spice

Bergamot is used in cologne type scents, and that's kind of what this is, but it's also "salty", if that makes sense, and has a woodsy note with just a smidgen of smokiness. It also has a little bit of a spa or herbal quality like a tiny bit of zestiness, perhaps lemongrass way in the background. I like it.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5



Bourbon Pumpkin Brulee

Notes: pumpkin, creamy vanilla and caramelized sugar

I think this is a dupe of an older scent, but I don't remember which one, maybe White Pumpkin Marshmallow from August 2017? I described it the same way back then: "This smells just like the scent name... sweet marshmallow with pumpkin spices. Very nice!"

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Caramel Toffee

Notes: caramel, butterscotch and cinnamon

This is the same Caramel Toffee scent that came out in October 2015 and October 2016, and it's fantastic. It smells just like the notes: rich caramel, butterscotch, and cinnamon. It smells a little like a cinnamon roll but without the bakery notes.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Cinnamon Spice Cookie

Notes: cinnamon, warm maple syrup and sugar cookie

A yummy rich scent of brown sugar with a bit of a raisin note, a hint of maple and cinnamon, and possibly a smidgen of nutmeg. I also smell a vanilla cookie note in the background. The scent started dissipating around 1.5 hour.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Crackling Cedarwood

Notes: smoked woods, warm vanilla and sweet tobacco

I'm pretty sure this is an older marshmallow type scent. It's a sweet vanilla buttercream scent with a strong marshmallow note and a hint of caramel and maybe a smidgen of woodsiness. I do smell the sweet tobacco as well. It's very nice. I don't think it's the same as Toasted Marshmallow from August 2017, as that had a milky note with a hint of smokiness. But it might be the same scent as Fireside Memories (also August 2017), which smelled like marshmallow with a hint of caramel and a smidgen of barely noticeable smokiness (even though the scent notes were different).

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Crafted Caramel Apple

Notes: green apple, vanilla and caramel

A very nice sweet caramel apple scent. I definitely smell the apple, so it's not all caramel like some similar scents are.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Cranberry Oak

Notes: cranberry, red currant and oakwood

I really like this scent. I can smell the cranberry, the currant, and the woodsy note, and maybe a hint of pine. It also has a smidgen of a warm cologne note, although I don't smell that as much when melted. This is more of a Christmasy/holiday scent than a fall scent. The scent started dissipating in under 2 hours.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Fall in Love

Notes: apple, pear and cedar

This smells like musty pineapple to me, but I think it's the combination of old brown apples and leaves, plus a woodsy note like cedar, and a sour note that I don't care for. This is the same scent as Fall in Love that came out in August 2015. Back then, my review was, "I smell earthy pineapple with a woodsy note and very slight sweetness. It has a slight tropical note to me."

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Falling Leaves

Notes: fresh apples, woodland sage and cedarwood

This smells like old brown apples and leaves, that typical musty fall apple scent. It's the same Falling Leaves scent that came out in August 2015 (although the notes were different then: crisp green apple, orchard pear, oakwood and harvest acorn). My review then was, "It smells to me like apples on the ground in October, at the end of the apple season, mixed with brown leaves. Almost like old apples, but not in a bad way. It smells like apple cider with a mossy note, not very sweet, and very little spice if any. Definitely a fall scent."

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Farmstand Peach Cobbler

Notes: harvest peaches, brown sugar and salted caramel

This is the same scent as Brown Sugar Peaches that came out in August 2017. My review is the same as it was last year: "I don't smell peaches or brown sugar. It's a salty savory scent with just a hint of sweetness. My roommate says it smells like roasted chicken, and I agree! I don't like this one." I do smell peach in this scent though, but that weird salty sage note of turkey stuffing takes over. But most people love this scent and don't detect any chicken or stuffing notes!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Golden Sunflower

Notes: citrus, sage and peppercorn

This is not a floral scent, and it's not sweet at all. But I like it. It's a zesty lemony spa scent with lemongrass and herbal notes.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Harvest Pumpkin Patch

Notes: clove, pumpkin and dark woods

This is a clove scent with pumpkin, like pumpkin pie filling (without the pie crust) with extra cloves. And it's very sweet. I don't think I smell any woodsy notes. I like this one.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5



Hot Apple Cider

Notes: red apple, nutmeg and orange zest

A typical kind of generic apple cider scent. This one has a little bit of an apple pie note.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Iced Vanilla

Notes: buttercream, vanilla and cane sugar

I don't know why this is called "iced" vanilla, because it's just a vanilla buttercream scent. It smells great though, like super sweet buttercream, or a sweet vanilla milkshake. I think there might be a barely detectable hint of cinnamon way in the background. When melted, it has a bit of a bakery note, like a vanilla cookie with a hint of cinnamon and sweet buttercream frosting. Yummy!

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Juniper and Cypress

Notes: juniper, cypress and sage

This is the same as Silent Night from October 2016 and November 2017 (even though the scents notes are different... 2016: pine, sandalwood and musk; 2017: amber, pine, lavender and sweet sandalwood). It's a rich pine scent with a smoky background, a hint of sweetness, and a smidgen of a cologne note. Fantastic scent, and I'm glad they brought it back.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Pumpkin Spice

Notes: pumpkin, brown sugar and gingered vanilla

A typical pumpkin pie type scent. It's one of the better pumpkin pie scents I've smelled though, without that waxy generic note that some pumpkin pie scents have. It's probably the same pumpkin spice scent that Sonoma comes out with every year.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Rustic Cedar

Notes: bergamot, sandalwood and rose

This is kind of a cologney scent (the bergamot), but it also has a little bit of a warm note with a smidgen of floral (probably the rose), and I think there's a barely detectable hint of berry way in the background. Melted, it has a bit of a sweet tobacco note. It's nice.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



Vanilla Pumpkin Latte

Notes: pumpkin, warm vanilla and espresso

This is the same as their Vanilla Pumpkin Latte scent from August 2017, and I'm glad they brought it back because it's one of my favorite scents. It's a fantastic super creamy coffee scent with a sweet milky vanilla note and a smidgeon of pumpkin spices and maybe a hint of caramel. It's definitely a coffee scent rather than a fall or pumpkin scent. It's also similar to their Pumpkin Latte scent from August 2015, but this scent is creamier, sweeter, milkier, and a little less coffee-ish.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Weathered Woods

Notes: cedar, sweet clove and pepper

This is light on cold sniff. It smells like a perfume or men's cologne with oriental spice notes. I do detect all 3 notes, the cedar, peppery note, and a little bit of the clove. I like this one.

Throw: Faint, 2.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.