Friday, February 15, 2019

ScentSationals Wax Melts Reviews - Spring 2019

ScentSationals Wax Melts Reviews - Spring 2019

ScentSationals Wax Melts - Spring 2019
Click to enlarge



I'm giving our Facebook Group first dibs to watch this review. You can see it at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail/permalink/1999083150209504/.

If you're not a member of the Facebook group, you'll need to join to see the review. Come join us at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail to discuss U.S. retail and store bought wax melts (no vendor wax and no candles). We're a fun, friendly, drama-free group!

I will make the review available to the public in a week or two.

Thursday, January 31, 2019

Hanna's Candle Wax Melts Reviews - Easter Spring 2019 "Brilliant & Bright" Collection

Hanna's Candle Wax Melts Reviews - Easter Spring 2019 "Brilliant & Bright" Collection

Hanna's Candle Wax Melts - Easter Spring 2019
Click to enlarge
Video


These new Easter/Spring 2019 wax melts are fantastic, and some of the first new scents that Hanna's Candle has come out with in over a year.



Berries & Blooms

Notes: Strawberry, Raspberry, Pink Peony, Vanilla, and Spun Sugar

This might be one of the most incredible scents I've ever smelled! Just like the scent name, it's a combination of berries (definitely strawberry, and maybe a hint of raspberry?) and blooms (honeysuckle?). But it's much more complex than that. It's super rich, super sweet strawberry, like strawberry preserves or thick sweet strawberry syrup that you drizzle over ice cream. But it's not an entirely foodie scent either, because there's also a strong note of a rich, sweet, warm floral like honeysuckle. Although it's sweet, it's not musky or perfumey. And the scent lasted all day (at least 8 or 10 hours).

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Butterfly Wings

Notes: Gardenia and Mimosa blend with Orange Flower, Tuberose, Lush Violet, and Exotic Woods

This is a floral scent but it's also very, very bitter. I thought it might be the same as their Peony & Rose Bouquet scent, which I recall as also being very bitter, but the notes are different. I'm not a fan of this scent at all, but like the Peony & Rose Bouquet, I think I'm in the minority and most people seem to really like it. I don't smell any of those scent notes.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Cherry Blossoms

Notes: Red Berries, Lychee, Jasmine, Cherry Blossom, Freesia, Peony, Lavender, Amber, and Musk

This is a bit different from cherry blossom scents I usually smell, which are more soft and powdery. This smells a bit like a girly perfume, very sweet with a bit of a Pink Sugar note. I do smell a little musk, but also a fruity note (more strawberry than cherry) and a very sweet floral like gardenia or jasmine, and maybe a smidgen of vanilla or marshmallow that gives it a tiny bit of a cotton candy vibe. I love it! It's completely different from their Wild Cherry Blossom scent.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5



Cottontails & Clover

Notes: Orange Blossom, Geranium, Bois de Rose, Coconut, and Sea Salt

I really like this scent. It smells a little like Coppertone Suntan oil, but not as much as other Coppertone type scents I've smelled. It also has a bitter note, but not enough to be annoying. Looking at the notes, I think I do detect a smidgen of coconut, and the orange blossom is what gives it that Coppertone type note. The geranium might be the bitterness. It's similar to their Starry Night, Strength (Benditaroma), and Sandy Beach scents, but not the same.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Morning Dew

Notes: Plumeria, Freesia, Cyclamen, Lily of the Valley, Violet, Sandalwood, and Musk

A pleasant soft plumeria type floral with sweet watery notes, maybe a hint of vanilla or marshmallow, and a smidgen of musk. It's not a perfumey scent, and it's not even much of a floral as it has that slightly marshmallowy note. It's very nice. It's the same as their Benditaroma Protection scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Speckled Treasure

Notes: Misty Fresh Ozone, Citrus, Sweet Red Apple, Tart Green Apple, Subtle Wood, and Musk

I smell mostly apple, with a hint of something else, maybe a fresh air note and caramel? It has a tiny bit of a soapy note, and possibly a smidgen of floral although it's not perfumey or even overly sweet. It's a very nice, pleasant scent.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Aldi Wax Melts Reviews - Spring 2019

Aldi Wax Melts Reviews - Spring 2019

Aldi Wax Melts Spring 2019
Click to enlarge

Video




Cranberry Mandarin

Notes: Red currant, juicy orange, crisp cranberry, spices, and fresh apple

This scent has been around for years, and it's made by a lot of other wax melt companies. But I like Aldi version the best. It's a bold sweet orange scent but it's not citrusy, and I detect the slight tartness of the cranberry. It might also have a smidgen of a red berry type note. Fantastic scent! This is the same scent as Hanna's Candle's Cranberry Mandarin  (not confirmed by Hanna's). Looking at the notes, I don't smell any spices at all, but I guess the other fruit note I'm detecting is the apple (barely noticeable). And red currant is the first note, so no wonder I love this scent so much. Currant is a fig-like soapy scent with a tiny bit of tartness, a hint of a perfumey note, and a smidgen of a berry note with hardly any sweetness. It's a very sophisticated scent that, when mixed with other scents, gives them a classy note.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Fresh Linen

This is different from any other laundry type scent I've smelled, and it's a completely different scent from their Fresh Cotton Blossom scent from January 2018. It smells like musk with vanilla and baby powder, although it does have a bit of a laundry note. It's not a biting laundry scent at all, and unlike most fabric softener scents, it's not overly sweet or overly "laundry". It's a very pleasant scent.

Throw: Medium, 3.25 out of 5



Lavender & Thyme

Notes: A beautiful aroma of lavender, jasmine flowers, and rose petals blended with the sultry notes of sandalwood and musk

This is the same scent that came out in January 2018. It's an authentic lavender scent. It has a hint of sweetness, but it's not a sweet, powdery lavender scent. I don't smell thyme, but there may be a hint of eucalyptus, and it does have a little bit of a medicinal note, but not overwhelming. It's a perfect lavender scent. If you prefer a sweeter lavender, mix it with a floral, perfumey, or vanilla scent. If you like spa lavender, mix it with lemon, mint, or pine. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell jasmine, rose or musk. I believe that, like last year's Lavender & Thyme scent from Aldi, this is the same scent as Hanna's Candle's Lavender Thyme (not confirmed by Hanna's).

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Tranquil Waters

Notes: A bright blue sky reflected in shimmering waters where delicate water lilies float with violet, rose and freesia blossoms before drifting into the warmth of sun-kissed driftwood, sheer musks, and white amber crystals

This is the same scent as Mainstays Peaceful Waters from Walmart, a sweet watery scent with a rich warm vanilla note that gives it a foodie note, and possibly musk as it's also a little perfumey. It's also the same scent as Hanna's Candle's Tranquil Waters (not confirmed by Hanna's).

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Hanna's Candle Wax Melts Reviews - Valentine's 2019

Hanna's Candle Wax Melts Reviews - Valentine's 2019

Hanna's Candle Wax Melts - Valentine's 2019
Click to enlarge

Video



These are the first new scents that Hanna's Candle has come out with in over a year, and I was excited to review these! They also just came out with a new Easter collection.

Hugs & Kisses
Notes: Luscious chocolate
On cold sniff this smells like chocolate buttercream with a hint of coffee and a smidgen of nut. But melted, the coffee note really comes out and it smells like mocha, without the buttercream and nutty notes. It's quite nice, and doesn't have the bitter note that some chocolate scents tend to have. I don't think it's the same as any of their other chocolate scents.
Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5

Love Gives You Wings
Notes: Sweet vanilla
This is a vanilla cake scent with a smidgen of a nutty note. It might be the same as their Vanilla Frosted Cupcake scent.
Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5

Passion
Notes: Red hot cinnamon
This does indeed smell like red hot cinnamon candies. It might be the same as their Candied Cinnamon, Ground Spice & Cinnamon, or Jolly Rancher Cinnamon Fire scent. I'm not a fan of straight cinnamon scents, but this one is quite nice. It has a hint of warmth (perhaps cloves) and it's very sweet, like cinnamon candy.
Throw: Strong, 3.75 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Friday, January 25, 2019

Mainstays Wax Melt Reviews - Spring 2019

Mainstays Wax Melt Reviews - Spring 2019

Mainstays Wax Melts - Spring 2019
Click to enlarge

Video




Coconut Lime

I was not expecting this scent to smell as good as it does. I expected it to smell like mostly coconut with a hint of lime. But instead, it's a perfect combination of sweet creamy lime and coconut. It's a nice sweet scent with just a smidgen of saltiness, like a creamy tropical lime drink, and it's fantastic.

Comparing it to other similar scents, I like this new Mainstays Coconut Lime scent the best:

ScentSationals Coconut Lime and Better Homes & Gardens Island Coconut Lime (same scent) and ScentSationals Coconut Vacay smell completely different. Coconut Lime is mostly coconut with a slightly salty lime note, and Coconut Vacay is an even mix of coconut and lime, but the lime is slightly salty and lemony. Neither of these scents are sweet.

Yankee Perfect Margarita / Margarita Time is a fresh sweet creamy lime scent, and I don't really smell coconut. It's a great scent, but it's richer and more "limey" than the Mainstays scent, with another note that I've never cared for, maybe honey, which sounds great, but it makes this scent too rich.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Papaya Passion
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Mainstays-Papaya-Passion-Wax-Melts/870098087

A tropical fruit scent with notes of pineapple and papaya, and possibly a smidgen of coconut. It's sweet but not overly sweet, and not overly pineapply. After doing this review, I realized that this scent has returned from last year, and I reviewed it in February 2018. Throw was strong last year, 4 out of 5, but as we all know, there are a lot of variables that can affect throw.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Pineapple Lily

A tropical scent that smells almost exactly like Papaya Passion, but a little less sweet, and has a slightly sour fruit note that a lot of tropical scents have (but not in a bad way). I only smell a smidgen of pineapple, and I don't smell any lily or floral notes.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Peach & Mango and Wild Honeysuckle have returned from previous years. I reviewed both of them in February 2016.



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Wednesday, January 16, 2019

Goose Creek Candles Wax Melt Reviews - Spring 2019

Goose Creek Candle Wax Melt Reviews - Spring 2019

Goose Creek Candle Wax Melts - Spring 2019
Click to enlarge

Video


This is a review of Goose Creek Candles wax melts Spring 2019 scents. As is usually the case with Goose Creek Candle scents, these are very nice!



Angel Food Cake

Notes:
Top: Angel Food Cake, Warm Vanilla Bean
Mid: Whipped Cream, Soft Pear
Base: Cream Cake, Warm Sugar

Fantastic scent, and a bit unusual. It smells like slightly burnt sugar (in a good way) and milky vanilla, with a toasted marshmallow note, a hint of caramel, and maybe a barely detectable smidgen of some kind of fruit. It's sweet and rich, but not cloyingly sweet. On cold sniff I thought it might have a perfumey note, but when melted it does not. Looking at the scent notes, the fruit I'm detecting is the pear, but it's barely noticeable.

Throw: Strong, 3.75 out of 5



Baby Powder

Notes:
Top: Lemon, Lavender, Powder
Mid: Baby Powder Essence
Base: Violet, Rose, Cedarwood

It's baby powder! And it's fantastic! It has another note in there though that differentiates it from baby powder slightly, a bit of a musky note. Looking at the notes, I don't detect lemon, lavender, violet, rose or cedar. Perhaps the rose ever so slightly.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Island Bliss

Notes:
Top: Mandarin Orange, Amber, Sandalwood
Mid: Coconut Nectar, Kiwi Flower
Base: Soft Pear, Sandalwood

This is a fresh watery perfumey scent with a hint of lemon and possibly a smidgen of plum or a tropical fruit way in the background. Looking at the scent notes, the lemon I'm smelling is actually the orange, and the other fruit I guess is the pear. The tropical note must be the coconut. I don't smell sandalwood or any woodsy notes at all. It's quite nice!

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Mahogany Driftwood

Notes:
Top: Lemon, Orange, Cardamom
Mid: Jasmine, Rosemary
Base: Mahogany, Teakwood, Driftwood

This is a men's cologne scent with woodsy, pine, and slightly smoky notes. On cold sniff, I smell more of the woodsy notes. But when melted, I smell more of the cologne note, although it's not an intense, sweet cologne scent. It's quite nice, kind of like ScentSationals Black Tux. Looking at the notes, I don't smell lemon or orange at all. The combination of rosemary and mahogany might be the pine I think I detect. And I guess the jasmine provides that hint of sweetness.

Throw: Strong, 3.75 out of 5



Sage Leaf & Citrus

Notes:
Top: Sage, Bright Citrus, Warm Leaves
Mid: Lavender, Geranium
Base: Patchouli, Powder, Musk

This smells like Sage & Citrus scents from other companies. Like other Sage & Citrus scents, I don't actually smell sage or citrus. Sage is a savory herb, and this is a slightly sweet scent, not savory. As for the citrus, perhaps a very sweet lemon? Although if I didn't know it's supposed to have a citrus note, I would not detect it. It's a nice, unique scent that smells a bit like an industrial cleaner, but not in a bad way at all. I like this Goose Creek version better than others I've smelled, as there seems to be a hint of something else way in the background that almost gives it a tiny bit of a foodie vibe. Looking at the notes, yes, I would definitely call this scent "bright", so I guess it IS citrus that I'm smelling. I don't detect lavender, but I think I do detect a hint of patchouli. And it's not a perfumey scent, so I don't smell musk.

Throw: Strong, 3.75 out of 5



Storm Front

Notes:
Top: Orange, Red Pineapple, White Peach
Mid: Crisp Apple, Jasmine, Lavender
Base: Cedarwood, Sandalwood, Amber

This is a lovely perfume scent with musky and slightly peppery notes, a hint of a sweet floral like gardenia, a touch of bergamot that gives it a little bit of a cologney note, and maybe a smidgen of creamy fruit and light wood. It smells great! The scent notes are pretty accurate, although I don't smell orange and pineapple per se, but there definitely is a fruit note in there somewhere.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Wind Blown Cotton

Notes:
Top: Soft Cotton, Fresh Air
Mid: Sun Rays, Spring Breeze
Base: Soft Sandalwood, Gentle Flowers

This is a laundry scent, but different from any others I've smelled. That's because it has barely any sweetness. It's not a harsh or soapy laundry detergent scent either, more like fabric softener but not powdery, floral or perfumey. It's quite pleasant. If you like laundry scents but they give you a headache, try this one! Looking at the notes, I don't smell sandalwood per se, but that might be what's keeping this scent from being too sweet.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Michaels Wax Melt Reviews - Spring 2019

Michaels Ashland Wax Melts Reviews - Spring 2019

Michaels Ashland Wax Melts - Spring 2019
Click to enlarge

Video


Since Hanna's Candle stopped making the Ashland wax melts for Michaels last summer, the throw on the Michaels wax melts has weakened considerably. The scents are still nice, although some of them, especially those that are supposed to be repeats of older scents, are missing that extra depth or character that Michaels wax melts used to have.



Apple & Hibiscus

Notes: Apple, Pear, Seneca Grass, Lavender, Plum, Spearmint, Amber, Oakmoss, Balsam, Tonka Bean, and Sandalwood

This scent returned from last year. It smells like caramel apples with a fresh slightly floral note. It smells almost exactly like last year's scent, but last year's scent was fresher and smelled more like apple scented shampoo. This year's scent has a little bit more of a foodie quality. But the differences are barely noticeable, and both scents are fantastic. Throw was the same for this year's scent and last year's.

Throw: Strong, 3.75 out of 5



Camellia & Sweetpea

Notes (from last year): Pear, Bergamot, Melon, Rose, Geranium, Violet, Vanilla, Amber, Patchouli, Benzion, and Cedarwood

This is the same scent as last year's Camellia & Sweet Pea, which I adore. It's a sweet perfumey cherry blossom type scent with baby powder, rose, and maybe vanilla, as well as a little bit of warmth from amber or cashmere, and possibly a smidgen of patchouli. Looking at last year's note, I think I do detect a smidgen of melon. A fantastic, complex scent! The throw from last year's scent was bold, 5 out of 5, and the scent lasted all day.

Throw: Medium, 3.25 out of 5



Coastal Driftwood

I barely smell anything on cold sniff. It's a fresh perfumey scent with maybe a hint of vanilla, but it's too mild to tell.

Throw: Very faint, 1.5 out of 5



Farmhouse Flower

This smells like a combination of floral with pineapple and apricot, and possibly a smidgen of coconut. It's more of a tropical scent than a floral scent, but even though I'm not a fan of pineapple scents, I like this one because the pineapple is very subtle, it's quite sweet, and the perfumey note has a tiny bit of an amber like warmth.

Throw: Faint, 2 out of 5



Fresh Gardenia

A lovely gardenia scent that smells more like gardenia perfume, although it's not overly sweet because of a smidgen of bitterness that makes it smell slightly authentic. This scent lasted all day, and I still smelled it the next day even after it was no longer in the warmer. This scent is the clear winner out of the Spring 2019 scents.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Fresh Bamboo

This smells almost exactly like Sonoma Bamboo from Kohl's, and might in fact be the same scent. Which makes me wonder if the new manufacturer of these melts is Empire Brands (the company that makes Sonoma and Tuscany melts). It's a fantastic rich honeysuckle jasmine scent with a slightly fresh grassy herbal hothouse/greenhouse type note that makes it smell authentic. Although it's sweet, it's not really perfumey. Fantastic scent. Scent started dissipating a bit within 3 hours.

Throw: Strong, 3.75 out of 5



Fresh Water Pearl

This scent has returned from last year, but it's a different scent. It seems like they tried to re-create the scent, but missed a couple of notes.

My description of last year's scent was, "A nice fresh air sweet watery scent with a salty note and a smidgen of a peppery note. It smells like a fresh body wash. Nice scent, smells like a lot of similar fresh ocean water type scents I have, but I really like it. Looking at the notes (Fresh Waters, Citron, Palm Leaves, Grapefruit, Geranium Petals, Rosewater, and Cool Eucalyptus), the peppery note is probably the slight bitterness of the grapefruit and geranium. And I do smell a smidgen of eucalyptus, even though this is a sweet-ish scent."

This year's scent is kind of a fresh air scent with a hint of a peppery note, and also a soapy note and slight bitterness that I didn't detect in last year's scent. It's still a nice scent, but it lacks the depth and character that last year's scent had.

The throw from last year's version was Bold, 5 out of 5. The throw for this year's version is poor, but someone else said they tried this year's version and throw was very strong!

Throw: Poor, 1 out of 5



Lavender

This smells like real lavender, and it's a little sweet although not perfumey. But the sweetness has a fake slightly sour note way in the background, although not enough to be annoying. It's a very nice scent, but I've smelled better lavender scents.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5



Lilac

Lilac is usually a strong scent, but this one is very weak on cold sniff. It does have a lilac note, but it's not a true lilac scent. There's something else in there that I can't figure out, maybe melon? It's just too weak to tell.

Throw: Very faint, 1.5 out of 5



Sunwashed Teakwood

Notes: Vanilla and Teakwood notes from last year - Sweet Tobacco Leaf, Golden Honey, Madagascar Vanilla, Tonka Bean, Leather, and Cedarwood

This is almost exactly the same scent as last year's Vanilla and Teakwood, and I don't think most people would be able to tell them apart. It's a cedar scent with a hint of a tobacco note, but it's also quite sweet, perfumey or a little cologney, but not floral. The Vanilla and Teakwood scent had a smidgen of something else way in the background that's missing in this scent and that gave it more "character". It's still a very nice scent. The throw for Vanilla and Teakwood was strong, around 3.75 out of 5.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5



Tulip & Neroli

This is an unusual scent that I've never smelled before. It smells a bit like poinsettia or some other very natural, earthy type flower. I also detect a hint of soft cinnamon, and possibly a smidgen of a fruity note. It's not a sweet perfumey scent. Very difficult to describe, but I kind of like it. Tulips don't actually have a floral scent, and I don't really smell neroli (a rich honeysuckle type orange blossom scent).

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



White Tea Rose

This is the same scent as Mandarin Teak from January 2017. My review for that scent was: "Creamy orange with a woodsy note, and some other notes that I can't identify that help to temper the orange and wood notes so that they're not too strong. This might be my favorite scent of the new Spring Collection, and throw is excellent, around a 3.5 or 4 out of 5."

I think the woodsy note is cedar. And it has a hint of a cologne note too. It's a wonderful scent. But it's definitely not rose or even a floral scent! Throw for both this year's and last year's scent was the same.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Friday, January 11, 2019

Brand New Spring 2019 ScentSationals and Better Homes & Gardens Scents at Walmart!

Brand New Spring 2019 ScentSationals and Better Homes & Gardens Scents at Walmart!



Brand New Spring 2019 ScentSationals and Better Homes & Gardens Scents have been disclosed and will be arriving at your Walmart very soon. Want to see what they are? Head over to https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail/permalink/1947946665323153/. Join the group to see the post and the photos of ALL the new scents!

And guess what, one of the scents is Cotton Candy! Finally!! Another one is a scent that was previously only available in a candle, and it's fantastic!! All the labels are bright and colorful. Around 40 brand new scents total!! CHECK THEM OUT!!!

Friday, January 4, 2019

Living Colors Wax Melts Reviews (Big Lots) - Spring 2019

Living Colors Wax Melts Reviews (Big Lots) - Spring 2019

Living Colors Wax Melts (Big Lots) - Spring 2019
Click to enlarge



Video


I had all but given up on Living Colors wax melts a few months ago after consistently getting poor throw. But I am pleasantly surprised that these new Spring 2019 scents throw quite well. I see that the wax is hard, not soft which has been the case, so it looks as though the wax manufacturer has changed the wax formula. And the company that makes the Living Colors melts is MVP Group Intl., the same company that makes Mainstays melts for Walmart, and just changed the Mainstays formula from soft to hard wax!



Coconut Sands

This is a very sweet coconut with pineapple, and a little bit of a vanilla and nutty note. It would almost smell like coconut candy, but it has a "harshness" and fake note that I don't care for.

Throw: Strong, 3.75 out of 5



Eucalyptus Mint

This smells a lot like ScentSationals Zen, but it's not as sweet and has a little more of the mint note. It's a very soft spearmint scent with a bit of a fresh air note in the background and maybe also a smidgen of garden mint. It's nice and relaxing.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Fresh Air

A nice sweet laundry scent. It's more soft, like fabric softener, rather than a harsh detergent. There may be a hint of a fruity note in the background, like apple.

Throw: Medium, 3.25 out of 5



Jade Tea

A nice super fresh men's body wash with a hint of lavender and possibly a smidgen of lemon. This is not a tea scent at all.

Throw: Medium, 3.25 out of 5



Lotus Flower

This is a super sweet candy like scent that might have coconut and pineapple notes, and maybe a smidgen of floral. There's a note that I don't care for and I couldn't figure out what is was, and then I remembered I've smelled a scent very similar to this before, and the note is melon, specifically cantaloupe (not watermelon). In fact, that's the main note, and the coconut, pineapple and floral (if those notes do in fact exist) are way in the background. So this scent is a little nauseating to me.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Soothing Lavender

I've smelled this scent before, and I think it's the same scent as Bath & Body Works Lavender Vanilla (or maybe it's Yankee Lavender Vanilla?). It's a great scent, but like with other Lavender Vanilla dupes, I don't really smell lavender, and there's some note that I'm never able to figure out, coconut perhaps. It's that note that makes this scent memorable, and there's nothing else out there like it. I'd say it's more like coconut, vanilla, and a hint of lavender. It smells a little bit like a cleaner, or an odor eliminating scent, but not in a bad way. I really like this scent.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Pier 1 Wax Melts Reviews - Spring 2019

Pier 1 Wax Melts Reviews - Spring 2019

Pier 1 Wax Melts - Spring 2019
Click to enlarge

Video


I was expecting to be blown away by these new Pier 1 Spring 2019 wax melt scents, like I was with the Christmas scents last month. But the Magnolia Blooms and Pink Champagne scents, although they're nice, are not unique or strong enough to justify the $3.99 price. Wait for a sale.


Blue Hydrangeas

Notes:
Top notes: Sweet hydrangea blossoms, delicate violets, white lilac, jasmine, May rose.
Base note: Ambered musk.

This smells like a cross between lilac and hyacinth, and although it's sweeter than the real thing, it smells authentic. It's a fantastic scent that smells very similar to Mainstays Blue Hyacinth and Yankee lilac scents. It's not quite as perfumey as some other lilac scents I've smelled, like Better Homes & Gardens French Lilac.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5


Magnolia Blooms

Notes:
Top notes: Nectarine, English pear, black currant.
Middle notes: Pink magnolia, peony, wild daisy.
Base notes: Blonde woods, amber, sueded musk.

A pleasant floral scent with a fresh note and possibly a smidgen of lemon way in the background. It's not a body wash scent, as it's too sweet and full-bodied, although it's not overly sweet so it's not really perfumey either. Maybe more like a woman's body spray. Looking at the scent notes, I guess the lemon (citrus) I detect is nectarine (although it doesn't smell like peach to me). Although it's a very nice scent, I think it's too similar to other scents to justify the $3.99 price.

Throw: Mild, 2.75 out of 5


Pink Champagne

Notes:
Top notes: Pink grapefruit, citrus bitters.
Middle note: Strawberry.
Base notes: Vanilla, musk.

This smells like a Victoria's Secret Love Spell dupe (like ScentSationals Magic Spell, Tuscany Stressless, Scentsy Lucky in Love, etc.) mixed with lemon and extra grapefruit. It's not a sweet scent. It smells like watery grapefruit and lemon. I'm not a fan of Love Spell type scents, as they smell like bland grapefruit scented paper to me, but with the extra citrus, this one is quite nice and smells kind of refreshing. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell strawberry.

Throw: Mild, 2.75 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Tuesday, December 11, 2018

Michael's Wax Melts (Ashland) Reviews

Michael's Wax Melts (Ashland) Reviews

Michael's Wax Melts (Ashland)
Click to enlarge

Video


These scents have been available at Michael's for years, and are there year-round (although some Michael's don't carry them at all). They are located in the candle aisle, not the seasonal kiosks where the taller seasonal candles and wax melts are located. The wax formula has changed, as well as some of the scents and packaging. For years the wax was very soft and messy (probably soy), and with only a few exceptions they didn't throw well. The new wax is hard (paraffin) and throws much better. But the more likely reason for the improved throw is that these harder wax melts are made by Hanna's Candle! However, Hanna's is no longer making any wax melts for Michael's, so these newer melts are from last year.

To identify the old and new wax melts, the old wax melts say 2.4 oz. on the label, and of course the wax is very soft. The new wax melts says 2.5 oz. on the label, the wax is hard, and the package is slightly taller than the old package (but not as tall as the seasonal scents).



Enchanting Lavender

There are 2 versions of this scent at the store, the much older (from 2014-2015), softer wax in the 2.4 oz. clamshell, and the newer hard wax in the 2.5 oz. clamshell from last year (made by Hanna's Candle).

Both lavender scents are authentic, but they are two different scents.

I prefer the older scent, which is a little sweeter and more powdery. The newer scent is more authentic, with a little bit of that medicinal herbal lavender note that smells like a smidgen of eucalyptus. I believe it's the same scent as Hanna's French Lavender Garden.

The old scent, however, has a very faint throw, maybe 2 out of 5, because it's that soft soy wax and it's quite old. The newer scent has a strong throw, around 3.5 out of 5.



Mango Cilantro

The new version does smell like mango, kind of like peach but a bit harsher. I don't smell cilantro or any herbal notes. It's a nice scent if you like peach or tropical fruit type scents, but like a lot of those types of scents, it has a tiny bit of that cat pee vibe.

The older, softer wax formula smelled better (I no longer have it and couldn't find it this time). It wasn't as harsh, didn't have the cat pee vibe, and it was a sweeter "peach nectar syrup" type of scent. Throw was slightly weaker with the old formula though, Mild or Medium, 3 out of 5. The new harder wax has strong throw, 3.5 out of 5.



Mixed Berries

This smells like fruit candy, sweet with a little bit of tartness. It smells like a couple of different types of fruits, like mulberry, cranberry, cherry, and maybe a hint of raspberry. It smells artificial, but not annoyingly so. The older, softer wax formula (which I no longer have and couldn't find this time) had almost zero throw. The new harder wax has strong throw, 3.5 out of 5.



Mountain Air

The old scent is one of my favorite scents. It smells like a super soapy soap and fresh air, with hardly any sweetness. There may be a smidgen of an herbal note way in the background. It would smell a little like a men's body wash if it were sweet. Throw is bold, 4.5 or 5 out of 5, which is unusual for the older scents.

The new scent is completely different, and it's also a nice scent. It's the same as Aldi's Fresh Cotton Blossom from January 2018 (also made by Hanna's Candle), but oddly it's not the same scent as Hanna's own Fresh Cotton Blossom. It's a nice sweet laundry detergent scent with a hint of a biting laundry note. But it's not a soft powdery fabric softener scent either. It doesn't smell soapy, and it's sweeter than other similar scents I've smelled with a little bit more of a floral note, although it's not really perfumey either. Hard to describe! Aldi's Fresh Cotton Blossom was a scent monster with a throw of 5 out of 5, and this one is pretty much the same, bold, 4.5 or 5 out of 5 (although it took an hour to get there!)



Soothing Vanilla

The old scent is just a plain, generic vanilla, with possibly a smidgen of coconut. It smells like a vanilla scented car air freshener. Not a bad scent, but a bit artificial. It smells better melted, quite nice actually, and without the buttery cookie note that a lot of vanilla scents have. Throw is faint, 2 out of 5, but might work okay in a tiny room like a bathroom.

The new scent is totally different, and smells incredible. I've smelled it before, so I think it's a dupe for something else but I don't know what. It smells like an expensive warm cashmere/amber perfume with a hint of vanilla and maybe a smidgen of patchouli. But it's not an overly perfumey scent, and it's not really a floral. One of my favorite scents, throw is bold (4.5 to 5 out of 5), and the scent lasted the entire day (at least 12 hours, but probably would have gone longer if I hadn't turned off the warmer). I wrote about this one in my Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail/permalink/1410049855779506/.




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Friday, December 7, 2018

ScentSationals Aromatherapy Wax Melts Reviews from Meijer

ScentSationals Aromatherapy Wax Melts Reviews from Meijer

ScentSationals Aromatherapy Wax Melts from Meijer
Click to enlarge

Video


These ScentSationals wax melt scents are made with essential oils, and they're made exclusively for Meijer (Meijer stores are only in Indiana, Illinois, Ohio, Michigan, Wisconsin, and Kentucky). And unfortunately they don't ship outside of the area.



Bergamot & Sage

This is a combination of a slightly zesty herbal note (sage) with a rich slightly soapy cologney note (bergamot) and a smidgen of a savory lemon note. I really like this one.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Cedarwood & Sea Salt

This is a sweet perfumey scent with an incensey note, maybe a hint of baby powder, and possibly a smidgen of cedar. But there's also a note I can't figure out that I don't care for, almost a little metallic. It's a nice scent but not my favorite.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Eucalyptus & Rosemary

A very nice zesty, savory, slightly lemony scent that smells a little like a salad. It's similar to the old Better Homes & Gardens Zesty Lemon Peppercorn, but it's not the same scent. However, I've had this scent before. It might be the same scent as ScentSationals Fusion Fig Tree, ScentSationals Fusion Bamboo, and Better Homes & Gardens Brazilian Bamboo Wood (I no longer have those scents, so I could be wrong). It's also similar to Ashland Cilantro Lime from Michael's from March 2016.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Juniper & Mahogany

Notes: Warm mahogany, aromatic birch wood, crisp juniper berry and fresh green balsam shimmer with fragrant herbs, touches of sparkling citrus, and smooth ambered sandalwood, all wrapped around sage and sweet moss

This is the same scent as Better Homes & Gardens Mahogany & Sandalwood (https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2018/09/better-homes-gardens-wax-melts-reviews-fall-2018-2.html):

A warm, woodsy, smoky cologne scent with a smidgen of spruce. Fantastic! Looking at the notes, the spruce I smell is probably the juniper and balsam. I don't smell citrus at all. It's very rich, sweet and smoky, and even a little salty. I love this scent, and it lasted for 16 hours (probably would have gone longer if I hadn't removed it).

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Lavender & Chamomile

This is a perfect blend of lemongrass and an authentic herbal lavender. I think I smell more of the lemongrass, and the lavender is in the background. It's a nice spa scent, not a sweet powdery lavender.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Lemon & Grapefruit

I do smell grapefruit, but not really the lemon. It's not a fresh citrusy grapefruit, just a bland bitter waxy grapefruit. It's not bad, but not my favorite.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Lemongrass & Wild Mint

This is the same scent as AmbiEscents Lemongrass & Peppermint from March 2017 (and ScentSationals Fusion Invigorate Me from May 2017). It's a lovely soapy lemongrass scent with a very subtle fresh garden mint note (not a spearmint or peppermint). It's a fantastic spa scent, both relaxing and energizing. This scent is also similar to the old discontinued ScentSationals Sparkling Herbs scent, but with more lemongrass.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Lime & Coconut

Notes: Freshly fallen, cracked coconut fruit blended with the zesty brightness of island lime fused with sweet sugarcane and a hint of vanilla

I believe this is the same scent as Better Homes & Gardens Island Coconut Lime from March 2017 (and ScentSationals Coconut Lime). It's a fresh watery coconut scent with just a smidgen of a lime note.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Nutmeg & Cinnamon

This smells like a cinnamon roll with a smidgen of ginger. I'm not sure if I smell nutmeg, as that would give it a pumpkiny vibe, which I don't get from this scent. If you like cinnamon bakery scents, this is a really good one.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Orange & Vanilla

This is a pure orange scent, and it's fantastic. It's a dupe of a ScentSationals or Better Homes & Gardens scent I've smelled before, but I don't remember which one (not ScentSationals Molten Orange or Better Homes & Gardens Orange Buttercream Cupcake). I don't really smell vanilla (it's not an orange bakery scent or orange creamsicle type scent, and I don't detect any other notes, like grapefruit or berries).

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Spearmint & Peppermint

This smells like sweet peppermint candy. It's very minty, with a little bit of a creamy vanilla background. There may be a hint of spearmint that gives this just a tiny bit of a toothpastey vibe, but it's very subtle (I don't like spearmint, and I love this scent, so yes, the spearmint is very subtle). This might be a dupe for a ScentSationals holiday peppermint scent. I really like it.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Tea Tree & Wintergreen

This is a dupe of an older ScentSationals scent, but I don't remember which one. It doesn't smell like tea tree or wintergreen at all (I love the scent of tea tree oil, but not wintergreen). It does have a slight fresh garden mint note, but it's also quite savory (not a sweet scent at all) with other herbs like maybe sage or rosemary. I recall that I didn't like the scent before, but I quite like it now. It smells a lot like an old scent by Glade called Sunset Walk (and Sage & Thyme Market, same scent).

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Vanilla & Sugarcane

This is the same scent as ScentSationals Vanilla Bean Butterscotch, and it's also very similar to (or possibly the same scent as) Better Homes & Gardens Butterscotch Maple Cream. It's a fantastic butterscotch scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



There may be more scents is this collection that I didn't find (I only found 13, and they usually come out with an even number of scents). If I'm able to find the missing scent(s) I'll add it to this review.



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Sunday, December 2, 2018

Chesapeake Bay Candle (Target) Wax Melts Reviews - November 2018

Chesapeake Bay Candle (Target) Wax Melts Reviews - November 2018

Chesapeake Bay Candle (Target) Wax Melt
Click to enlarge

Video


Chesapeake Bay Candle wax melts from Target are just "okay" for me. Although they've brought the price down from $3.99 to $2.99, they don't compare to Walmart wax melts (ScentSationals and Better Homes & Gardens) in terms of scent quality and throw. But these scents actually performed better than their wax melts have in the past, in terms of throw.

A minor annoyance is that the clamshell doesn't close completely. The back edges stay open, so when you close it you have to snap it shut all the way around. Otherwise, air will get in and the scent will start to dissipate within weeks.

I've done a couple of other Chesapeake Bay wax melt review videos, in 2015, 2016 and 2017. And many of those older scents are still available.



Balsam Citrus
https://www.target.com/p/6pk-wax-melts-balsam-citrus-home-scents-by-chesapeake-bay-candle/-/A-53443095

I smell pine with a slightly soapy balsam note as well as a slight orange note. I've always liked the combination of pine and orange, so I really like this scent. The scent started dissipating within 2 or 2.5 hours.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Jasmine Bouquet
https://www.target.com/p/6pk-warmer-scent-melts-jasmine-bouquet-home-scents-by-chesapeake-bay-candle/-/A-14454597

I really like this scent. It smells like jasmine scented soap. And it's quite soapy, almost like a bland Ivory soap, but with a sweet jasmine perfume note. This is one of those odd scents that's subtle rather than strong, but yet throws very well. So I can smell it downstairs while it's melting upstairs, but just a whiff of it here and there. It's very nice!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Oats & Honey
https://www.target.com/p/6pk-wax-melts-oats-honey-chesapeake-bay-candle/-/A-52966916

Notes: Sweet honey and rustic oats

I can't figure out what I'm smelling. I do smell the honey, but the main note is almond perhaps, although it's not as "almond-y" as other almond scents I've smelled. It's quite sweet and has a little bit of a perfumey note. It's not one of my favorite scents, but I kind of like it.

Throw: Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Sea Salt Vanilla
https://www.target.com/p/wax-melts-6pk-sea-salt-vanilla-0-39oz-chesapeake-bay-candle/-/A-52966911

Notes: Vanilla and sea salt with notes of ocean air and musk

A fresh watery scent with a little bit of a vanilla note, and a hint of musk that gives it a bit of a perfumey quality. There may also be a tiny bit of light wood in the background. When melted, I also detect a tiny bit of a slightly bitter metallic note that I also smelled in the Silver Bells scent. It's a nice scent, but I don't care for the bitter note.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Teakwood
https://www.target.com/p/2-3oz-6pk-wax-melts-teakwood-home-scents-by-chesapeake-bay-candle/-/A-17268954

A fantastic tobacco-ey scent with light wood note and maybe a hint of patchouli, Very nice!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Under the Tree / Silver Bells / Woodland Berries
https://www.target.com/p/6pk-wax-melts-under-the-tree-silver-bells-woodland-berries-home-scents-by-chesapeake-bay-candle/-/A-53443096

Under the Tree
I smell pine, eucalpytus, a woodsy note, and something else I can't put my finger on, maybe a barely detectable smidgen of patchouli or tobacco. It's not really a pine/Christmas tree scent though, but I like it.
Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5

Silver Bells
A sweet slightly perfumey scent with maybe a hint of vanilla and smidgen of peppermint. It has a little bit of a weird metallic note that I don't care for, but it's still a nice scent.
Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5

Woodland Berries: See review below



Woodland Berries
https://www.target.com/p/6pk-wax-melts-woodland-berries-home-scents-by-chesapeake-bay-candle/-/A-53443092

A nice red currant scent (red currant is a fig-like soapy scent) with a hint of a perfumey note and a smidgen of red berry. It also has some balsam in it (a soft pine note with a soapy note and a hint of sweetness). Very nice scent! But the scent started dissipating within 2 or 2.5 hours.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Friday, November 30, 2018

Yankee Candle Wax Melts Reviews from Walmart - Winter/Holiday 2018

Yankee Candle Wax Melts Reviews from Walmart - Winter/Holiday 2018

Yankee Candle Wax Melts from Walmart - Winter/Holiday 2018

It appears that there are only three new Yankee Candle Winter/Holiday 2018 scents at Walmart. A couple of wintery scents came out with the fall scents which I reviewed at https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2018/08/yankee-candle-wax-melts-reviews-fall-2018-walmart.html.



Frosty Gingerbread

Description: Gingerbread freshly frosted—a holiday delight that fills any room with welcome and warmth

An intense, rich gingerbread scent that smells like warm ginger snap cookies fresh out of the oven. There's nothing "frosty" about it though, as there aren't any minty notes at all. This scent seems to have a lot of scented oil in it, as there's a bit on the surface, and if you get it on your nose or lip it burns, like real ginger oil or cinnamon oil. It's better and stronger than any other ginger type scent I've smelled. Throw is strong, but I expected it to be a bold scent monster that would take over the entire house.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5.



Poached Pear Flambe

Description: Juicy pear, fresh peeled and ready to delight in a bath of caramel colored brandy.

Notes:
Top: Pear Nectar, Crystalized Sugar
Mid: Honey, Caramel
Base: Whipped Vanilla, Fruity Musk

This smells just like pears, plus a bit of a sweet milky vanilla note and a hint of caramel. It has a smidgen of a perfumey note, but it's not overly sweet. Fantastic scent.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Icy Blue Spruce

Description: A fresh breath of winter forest—juniper berries, blue spruce, spearmint leaves.

I didn't buy this one because I wasn't crazy about the scent. It's a pine scent with a musty note that gave it a little bit of a Play-Doh vibe.



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Sunday, November 25, 2018

St. Jude Candle Company Wax Melts Reviews

St. Jude Candle Company Wax Melts Reviews

St. Jude Candle Company Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


These are sold by Walmart, H-E-B, and smaller grocery store chains like Foodtown and Foodarama in Texas. They're made by St. Jude Candle Company in Houston, Texas. The candles can be found at most Walmarts (usually the next aisle over from the wax melts), but I've never seen the wax melts in the stores. Walmart online prices range from $2.45 to $3.00 depending on the scent, and 4 scents are available. I expected these to be rather cheap "dollar store" type wax melts, but they're actually a good quality, they use a hard but slightly soft wax with a little bit of a greasy surface, and they smell great.

I have to admit, these melts feel a bit sacrilegious, like I shouldn't be melting them just for the enjoyment of it, and I should be reading the prayer card that comes with each one!

St. Jude Candle Company's website is http://stjudecc.com, and these can be found on the Walmart website at: https://www.walmart.com/ip/St-Jude-Candle-Company-Wax-Melts-with-Prayer-Card/55640170


Guardian Angel (Vanilla)
This is a nice plain vanilla scent, very similar to ScentSationals Vanilla Bean, but with a bit of a sweet buttercream note. It's a common vanilla scent, but it's quite nice.
Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5

Sacred Heart of Jesus (Strawberry)
This is a super fake strawberry scent that smells kind of like cherry, like a strawberry-cherry hard candy, and with a smidgen of a perfumey note. It's not a biting cherry soda type scent though. It's absolutely fake but it smells pretty good on cold sniff. But when melted, there's a little bit of a chemical note in the background, and the scent is just a little too fake. It would probably smell better mixed with the vanilla scent.
Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5

Saint Jude (Jasmine)
A perfumey slightly soapy jasmine scent that I've smelled many times, but I love it. And the scent lasted all day, at least 12 hours.
Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5

Virgen de Guadalupe (Rose)
It's a fake rose scent, like rose scented soap. It's not an authentic rose, but I love it! And the scent lasted for most of the day.
Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Colonial Candle Simmer Snaps (Wax Melts) Reviews

Colonial Candle Simmer Snaps (Wax Melts) Reviews

Colonial Candle Simmer Snaps (Wax Melts)
Click to enlarge

Video


I gave up on Colonial Candle wax melts a year or two ago because of poor throw, so I was pleasantly surprised that most of these scents threw quite well. Colonial Candle's scents are fantastic, rich and complex, so when they do throw well, they're exceptional. The wax is very soft though, and with their oval shaped packaging, it makes it quite difficult to get out of the package. I have to use a butter knife. But this is not a deal breaker.

I found their customer service to be very good. I was given a refund on a couple of the full price scents that had very weak throw, but there were no refunds on the sale items as they were discontinued scents.

Colonial Candle wax melts ("Simmer Snaps") can be found on their website at https://colonialcandle.com/collections/scented-simmer-snaps.



Amber & Oud

Notes:
A seasonal splash of citrus and fruits paired with warm spices and a hint of golden honey.
Top: Ripe Strawberry, Red Delicious Apple, Lemon Sparkle
Middle: Pineapple Juice, Golden Honey, Mandarin Rind
Bottom: Cinnamon Bark, Warm Clove, Bayberry

Amber is a warm perfumey note, and oud is a dark resinous woodsy scent. This scent is neither. This scent was obviously given the wrong name. It's a cinnamon apple scent with a warm clove note on cold sniff, and an apple cider scent with a little bit of a mulling spices note. Looking at the scent notes, they describe this scent, but not the scent name. It's a nice scent though, but definitely not Amber & Oud. In fact, Colonial Candles did have an Amber & Oud scent in 2015 that was closer to the actual scent name; it smelled like cedar, amber and baby powder.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Cozy by the Fire

Notes: Smoke and wood with cashmere, amber, sandalwood and patchouli

I expected a smoky, woodsy or tobacco scent based on the name, but this smells like perfume that's a little old. But in a good way. There may also be a bit of vanilla and maybe oriental spices in this one, and possibly a smidgen of patchouli and a little bit of warmth from amber. Looking at the scent notes, no, there are definitely no smoky notes. It's a nice scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Emerald Fir

Notes: A festive swirl of ground cinnamon, peppered clove, and darkened maple

This is a pine scent with a slightly waxy, sour, clay like note. I don't smell cinnamon, clove or maple. I don't like this scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Fall Festival

Notes: A woodland escape with notes of citrus and palm leaf blended with a sage and illuminate notes of amberwood, teak, and white cedar.
Top: Iced Bergamot, Palm Leaf, Lemon
Mid: Freesia, Rose, Sage
Bottom: Amberwood, Teak, White Cedar

This one is very weak so I can't figure out what I'm smelling. It's kind of like apple with a floral or perfumey note, and maybe a hint of cedar and possibly a fresh air note.

Throw: Faint, 2.5 out of 5



Pink Peppercorn

Notes: Crushed cardamom seeds with oriental spices and cashmere woods

A nice black pepper scent with a clove note and maybe a smidgen of sandalwood. Looking at the scent notes, they're spot on. It's a nice, unique scent.

Throw: Very faint, 2 out of 5



Raspberries and Cream

Notes: A delicious raspberry confection whipped with notes of plum, exotic passion flower, and warm amber

This smells like very sweet fruity candy made with strawberry, raspberry and plum, but I think it also has a hint of a warm perfumey note. Very nice scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Sage Leaf & Honey

Notes: Fresh clary sage is balanced with nuances of lemon flower and tupelo honey with traces of Tuscan herbs and sheer woods.

This is a very difficult scent to describe. When melting, in the room it smells a little fresh and green, maybe slightly herbal but not a cologne or body wash type scent, maybe a smidgen of floral and light wood, slightly sweet. Up close I do detect the honey but it's almost like honey and tobacco. It's not a savory scent, which I would expect from sage, but that's a good thing. Looking at the scent notes, I don't detect lemon at all.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Sweet Black Plum

Notes: Sugared plum is celebrated with sparkling citrus, white clove and jasmine leaf

Very nice fruity scent of plum and maybe raspberry, but with a warm amber perfume note. It's similar to other plum-based perfumey scents like Scentsy Luna, but a little more fruity and not as perfumey. Looking at the notes, I don't smell citrus or cloves, but I do smell the jasmine, and that's the warm perfumey note that I thought was amber.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Wisteria

Notes: Sparkling nuances of citrus mingle in the breeze with jasmine petals, wisteria, and pink magnolia blossoms

A fantastic sweet floral with maybe a hint of jasmine, orange blossom/neroli, and possibly a smidgen of honey and musk. Looking at the notes, I don't detect citrus. I love this scent, and it lasted all day (at least 10 hours).

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Yuletide Carol

Notes: Figs and blackberries blended with sweet berries and floral notes finished with warm floral and wood notes

Super sweet buttery sugar with a little bit of caramel and maybe a smidgen of a warm ambery perfume note, and possibly a tiny bit of strawberry or raspberry. Definitely not a holiday scent, but I love it. Fantastic scent!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Village Candle Wax Melts Reviews

Village Candle Wax Melts Reviews

Village Candle Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


The first and only other time I reviewed Village Candles Wax Melts was in September 2015 when they were called "Simmerblends" (https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2015/09/village-candles-simmerblends-scented-wax-melts-review.html). I reviewed 8 scents at that time and for the most part, I wasn't impressed. I had better luck with these scents. But although the scent blends, quality and throw on many of these were quite good (and many were not, as is the case with any brand), I don't think they were good enough to warrant the $4 price. I got them on sale for $3, so if you want to try out Village Candle wax melts, it's best to wait for a sale.

I've found customer service to be excellent. They were very nice on the phone when I called about getting a refund on the wax melts that didn't throw, and they gave me a refund on those melts with no problem. For that reason alone I will probably order from them again!

They are (or recently were) having a 30% off sale on holiday fragrances. Use the code STOCKUP at checkout. I don't know if the code is still valid though. And  they are also having Black Friday sales although they expire at the end of the day on November 25, 2018.

Village Candle wax melts and other products can be found on their website at https://www.villagecandle.com.



Acai Berry Tobac

Notes: Acai berries blended with sheer musk and light tobacco

This is a raw wood patchouli tobacco scent with a cologney note. I think I also smell a barely detectable smidgen of fruit on cold sniff, but not at all when melted (I expected a more fruity scent based on the name and notes). It smells fantastic though.

Throw: Faint, 1 out of 5



Berry Blossom

Notes: Passionflower, raspberry, lush greens and a light creamy musk

A lovely floral scent with a fruity note that smells like red currant (a fig-like soapy scent with a very slight berry note and only a smidgen of sweetness) mixed with a slightly sweeter fruit, perhaps peach or even cranberry. It's a great scent and it's not overly sweet because of the tartness of the fruits, but it's also not a tart, bitter scent. Very nice!

Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5



Coastal Christmas

Notes: Ocean salt air, sea kelp, balsam

This smells a little like BHG Fragrant Woodland Walk. It's definitely pine, but I also smell a clean, ozoney note in the background. It's not a sweet or perfumey scent at all. It has a bit of a slightly sour Play-Doh note though, and if it weren't for that note I would love this scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Forest Morning

Notes: Crisp air, fresh water, forest moss, timber

On cold sniff this smells like pine mixed with peppery, slightly zesty herbs that smell very authentic. But it's not a typical zesty lemony herbal scent that smells like a salad. It smells like someone just cut the grass, and there were some zesty weeds mixed in and you can smell them in the air. Very natural! Melted, I still smell those notes, but it loses some of the zesty authenticity and has more of a musty quality that I don't care for as much. The scent notes are definitely leaving a few notes out!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Home for Christmas

Notes: Sweet rum and butter blend with a medley of fruit scents

This is one of best holiday scents I've ever smelled! There are so many notes in here, I don't know where to begin. I smell apple (or pear), cinnamon, vanilla, and maybe a smidgen of ginger. Which sound like pretty standard notes. But it's rich and sugary sweet, with powdered sugar type notes, so it may also contain caramel, a hint of cloves, and maybe a molasses or rum type note. But what makes this different is a barely detectable smidgen of pine, and a very subtle nutty note way in the background. A very complex and wonderful holiday scent!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Honey Patchouli

Notes: Golden honey with essence of patchouli oil

I smell patchouli with a tobacco note, and a little bit of the honey, even though this scent is not overly sweet.

Throw: Very faint, 1 out of 5



Just For You

Notes: The sweet, perfumed air of a flower shop, with rose, fresh-cut stems, lush greens, and baby’s breath

A nice floral scent that smells like a combination of rose and peony. The peony is slightly bitter, but not enough to be annoying. It does smell like a flower shop, with freshly cut, dewy flowers! I don't think it's quite as authentic as the Wild Rose scent, but I still really like it. Unfortunately, the scent dissipated within an hour or so!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Mountain Retreat

Notes: Deep red berries, warm amber and crushed peppercorns

This scent is fantastic. I smell plum and possibly cranberries (although it's not a tart scent), along with cinnamon, a light woodsy note, and a sweet floral like honeysuckle or orange blossom. An unusual combination of notes that work perfectly together (although it's not a "mountain" type of scent). Looking at the notes, I guess the amber is the floral I think I smell. I do detect a smidgen of a peppery note, but I'm surprised I don't see cinnamon in the scent notes because I do smell a hint of that. Melted, I smell mostly an orange blossom type scent, and the rest of the notes are in the background. I love it!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Patchouli Plum

Notes: Dark fruit and woody notes, plum and musky patchouli, with a splash of raspberry

I didn't know what to expect based on cold sniff, as I couldn't really tell what I was smelling. But melted, it's fabulous! It's a combination of plum with a rich cherry tobacco note and a little bit of light woods and rich warm amber. It's nothing like Sugarplum Fairy, which is sweet and more "plummy". This scent has just a hint of sweetness, and the tobacco note is in the forefront. I think I do smell patchouli, but it's not as strong as the name would suggest. It's very rich and warm, and my description doesn't do it justice.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Powder Fresh

Notes: Lily of the valley, muguet, baby powder and vanilla

It's baby powder, and maybe slightly sweeter and a tiny bit more flowery. It's fantastic!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Scarlet Berry Tulip

Notes: Jasmine, violet, raspberry, blonde woods

I can't figure out what I'm smelling, but it's very complex with a lot of different notes, and it smells great! I definitely smell a floral (jasmine?) and berries (raspberry or blackberry), and a warm note like amber, maybe a hint of citrus (it has a tiny bit of zest in the background), and possibly tobacco or patchouli. Absolutely fantastic!!

Throw: Faint, 2.5 out of 5



Sleigh Ride

Notes: Notes of fresh outdoors, cedar, and pine

This is not the scent I expected based on the name. It's a fresh but soapy men's body wash type scent with a hint of light wood and a smidgen of pine. I don't smell nearly as much pine as I expected based on the notes. It's not sweet at all like cologne. It's a pleasant scent, but similar to a lot of other fresh body wash type scents I've had.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Smoked Birch

Notes: Amber, birch bark, and musk with a tough of fresh cologne

This is a super rich smoky scent that's so authentic it smells like burning mesquite. There's no other scent like it. I don't detect any cologne notes at all, and it's not sweet. It just smells like a campfire with rich, aromatic mesquite wood. Incredible! It smells almost exactly like ScentSationals Smoked Birch. But it's nothing like Yankee Candle's Silver Birch (a completely different scent). Only the votive was available and it was on sale for $1.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Sugarplum Fairy

Notes: Damask plum is blended with pomegranate, wrapped with golden amber and raspberry, and dusted with white cedarwood

This is a fantastic scent that smells like a lot of other plum and blackberry based scents out there, like Scentsy Luna, Goose Creek Moonlit Bloom, and ScentSationals Midnight Summer. It has a deep plum or blackberry base, with a perfumey note and a rich amber note for warmth. This version is much richer and more intense than other similar scents, so much that it almost has a slightly salty note (although it's a sweet scent). I adore this scent!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Summer Breeze

Notes: Crystal waters, driftwood, honeysuckle

A watery fresh air scent with a little bit of floral (honeysuckle or orange blossom), and it might have a bit of a vanilla note. It's a pleasant scent, although it has a hint of bitterness that I don't care for. Looking at the notes, I do smell a little bit of light wood.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Sunrise

Notes: Pineapple, dahlia, and sheer musk

A sweet powdery perfumey floral with a honeysuckle note and a smidgen of fruit, apricot and strawberry perhaps? It also has a tiny bit of a tropical note, so the fruit might be pineapple. It's a very nice scent.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



Wild Rose

Notes: Rose paired with peonies, mandarin and sandalwood

A nice old-fashioned tea rose scent. This smells more authentic than most rose scents I've smelled, and it doesn't have that "rose-scented soap" or perfumey note that I usually detect. I love this perfect rose scent! Looking at the notes, I do detect a smidgen of light wood that gives this scent some of its authenticity. But I don't smell mandarin (orange) at all.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Winter Clementine

Notes: Clementine, balsam and tart citrus

Pine and citrus has always been one of my favorite combinations, and this scent blends them perfectly. It's an authentic pine needle scent (probably the most authentic pine scent I've ever smelled) blended with a mix of orange and grapefruit. Fabulous!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.