Wednesday, July 18, 2018

DD Wickless Fragrance Cubes Wax Melt Reviews - Hobby Lobby - July 2018

DD Wickless Fragrance Cubes Wax Melt Reviews - Hobby Lobby - July 2018

DD Wickless Fragrance Cubes Wax Melt - Hobby Lobby - July 2018
Click to enlarge

Video




Flourish

Notes: Tulips, rich blond wood and musk

This smells like an expensive women's perfume with a hint of warm amber and a little bit of a gardenia note. Very nice!

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Iridescence

Notes: Warm vanilla bean and white musk

This is a pink sugar type scent (a sweet sugary perfumey scent with hints of raspberry), but it's more rich and warm, with an ambery almost slightly smoky note, not as perfumey, and only a barely detectable smidgen of raspberry (not as much as in most pink sugar scents).

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Lavish Velvet

Notes: Bergamot, orange blossom and soft Tonka

This one is really hard to describe. I smell notes of apple, wood, floral, cologne, pine, berry, vanilla, and even a hint of marshmallow, but not necessarily in that order, and all the notes are very subtle, with not one note standing out above the others. It's a very complex scent. I like it though. After a few hours it took on a bit more of the apple blossom vanilla marshmallow note, and I don't smell as much of the wood, pine and cologne notes (not that they were strong to begin with).

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Madagascar Vanilla & Cedar

Notes: Madagascar vanilla and cedar woods

A nice strong cedar scent with a sweet very slightly perfumey note (although this is not a perfume scent), and maybe a hint of patchouli. It also has a note that's not really sour, but more "pungent", that I don't care for. I just realized that this is an almost exact dupe of AmbiEscents Sophisticated Spice.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Persian Citron

Notes: Bright tangerine balanced with white musk

This reminds me a little of Yankee Honey Clementine. It smells like strong tea with a lot of honey, a little bit of a fruity almost candy-like orangey note, and maybe a smidgen of lemon. But it's not a citrusy scent. I don't smell musk or any perfumey notes at all, although it's a little sweet but also very rich. It's a difficult scent to describe. I don't care for it on cold sniff, but I like it when melted.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Pomegranate Sorbet

Notes: Pomegranate, loganberries, cassis, satinwood and cranberry

A rich dark berry scent. It's just a little sweet. I smell the tanginess of the cranberry, and a hint of zestiness like a smidgen of lemon that gives it a tiny bit of a tropical note.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Summer Breeze & Linen

Notes: Clean linen & sunshine

This is actually an older scent but I never bought it because I didn't like it on cold sniff, and I don't care for it when melted either. It's a fresh scent with maybe a bit of an herbal note, and possibly a smidgen of lemon. It's not sweet at all, actually kind of bitter, and has a little bit of an industrial cleaner note. It doesn't smell like linen or laundry at all. However, after about an hour that "industrial" note dissipated and it started to smell like green grass, so I kind of liked it after that!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Tanzanite

Notes: Crisp morning air and citron berry

This is very weak on cold sniff, but it smells like a fresh air, watery scent with a hint of a berry note and maybe a barely detectable smidgen of orange. Melted, however, it's kind of a perfumey vanilla scent with a hint of berry.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



Tonka & Oud

Notes: Soft cashmere and bergamot

The warm, sweet, velvety cashmere is the main note, but I also smell a little bit of a rich cologne note (the bergamot) and even a hint of baby powder. Oud is a damp intense woodsy scent with tree sap and cedar notes, and I think I do smell as well, but it's subtle. I really like this scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Velvet Tonka Bean

Notes: Warm tonka bean, spices and musk

This is definitely a winter scent! I smell a strong combination of cedar and pine, with a little bit of a raw woodsy note, and a smidgen of bergamot or warm amber or even a barely detectable cologne note, although it's definitely not a cologne scent. It has the crispness of pine and a little bit of the warmth of amber. I adore this scent and it's crazy strong on cold sniff.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Vanilla Orchid

Notes: Warm notes of tonka bean and hothouse flowers

This scent is not available in a melt, so I bought a small 4 oz. candle to chunk. It's a super warm rich vanilla scent with an amber note, and so warm it almost has a smokiness to it. I think there's also a sweet buttercream note, although it's not really a foodie scent because it also smells perfumey, but not really floral, and might have a hint of sweet tobacco in it. It's a completely different scent from Iridescence. Actually, I decided not to melt this one. I like the scent, but not enough to deal with hassle of chunking it up.



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Wednesday, July 11, 2018

Living Colors Wax Melts Reviews from Big Lots - July 2018

Living Colors Wax Melts Reviews from Big Lots - July 2018

Living Colors Wax Melts from Big Lots - July 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


Living Colors wax melts from Big Lots are made by MVP Group International, the company that makes Mainstays (for Walmart), Colonial Candles, Burt's Bees, True Living (at Dollar General), K-Mart & Sears brands, and many dollar store brands.

Living Colors comes out with new scents every few months, and I've reviewed pretty much all of them. But sometimes the scent names don't match the scent because they often bring back older scents and give them new names. The wax is quite soft, and in general, they don't throw well. The scents are not that great either. I don't know why I continue to buy them, except that once in awhile they come out with a really good, strong throwing scent (as you'll see below).

After you purchase Living Colors wax melts, be sure to put scotch tape over the two holes at the top of the package. When the scent is exposed to air for too long, it dissipates more quickly.



Malibu - Seaside

A pleasant fresh men's body wash scent, kind of like a "Cool Water", but slightly sweeter and more subtle. Perfect for a bathroom.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Napa Valley - Cabernet

As expected, this is a grapey scent. But it also has a sweet floral note, like gardenia. It smells fake and has a bit of a waxy note.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



Savannah - Lemon Cookies

This is the same scent as their popular Lemon Bars scent that came out in 2015 (and Lime Mojito from 2016, and a couple of other lemony Living Colors scents). It's one of the best lemon scents I've ever smelled in a wax melt. It smells a bit like the lemon custard inside a lemon meringue pie, sweet and rich with a hint of buttercream, but not truly a bakery scent either (no pie crust notes). Living Colors has a lot of duds, but this is one of their few scents that is truly phenomenal.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Seattle - Cinnamon Chai

A nice subtle cinnamon scent with maybe a smidgen of vanilla or even a barely detectable hint of a perfumey note way in the background. It's not an intense gum or candy type cinnamon, nor is it a bakery cinnamon. I don't detect any chai or tea notes.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



Sedona - Cactus Berry

On cold sniff this is a fake raspberry scent with something else in the background that I can't figure out, maybe a patchouli or fake chocolate? It's not really a foodie scent though, as it's very fake. I don't like it. When melted, it smells like poop. Literally. Sweet poop.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Vancouver - Cedar Forest

A fantastic pine scent with a woodsy note. It's a little sharp and pungent, but in a good way.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Monday, July 2, 2018

Trapp Fragrances Wax Melts Reviews - June 2018

Trapp Fragrances Wax Melts Reviews - June 2018

Trapp Fragrances Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


Everyone should have at least a couple of Trapp Wax Melts in their scented wax melt collection. These are high quality luxury melts that are meant to be savored, like a fine wine! Trapp Fragrances wax melts can be ordered from their website at https://store.trappcandles.com/collections/wax-melts.

I also reviewed 15 other Trapp scents (and more detailed information about their melts) at https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2017/07/trapp-fragrances-wax-melts-reviews.html, as well as last year's fall and winter scents at https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2017/10/trapp-fragrances-wax-melts-reviews-fall-winter-2017.html.



#21 - Amber & Bergamot

Notes: A smooth, velvety combination of aromatic bergamot and the sultriness of amber

This smells like an expensive perfume with a bit of warmth (but not really amber) and a slight oriental spice note. Fantastic scent!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



#45 - Burmese Wood

Notes: An incredible balance of teak and balsam woods, with a rich base note of tonka

This is the ultimate patchouli scent! It's rich and exotic and I also smell sandalwood which gives it a very slightly milky woodsy note. I love this one! Looking at the scent notes, I'm surprised I don't see patchouli. I don't smell balsam, which would have a slightly piney note. And I don't smell tonka, which is a rich vanilla scent, although this scent is quite rich and has a bit of sweetness.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



#67 - Fine Linen

Notes: Freshly laundered fine linens that radiate the lush scents of white rose petals, passion fruit nectar and blooming vanilla orchids

Based on the scent name, I expected a laundry type scent, which this is not. It smells like a rose-based floral with a bitter note, a little like old soap. There might also be a hint of fruit in the background, perhaps apricot, and looking at the scent notes that's probably the passion fruit. I didn't care for this scent.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



#12 - Guava Mango

Notes: This mouth-watering blend of two tropical fruits combines succulent mango and flavorful guava.

This is different from any guava or mango scent I've smelled in other wax melts. It's rich, sweet and fruity with a little bit of an orange note but also a very slightly savory note. It's quite nice.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



#7 - Patchouli Sandalwood

Notes: Asiatic patchouli blended with sandalwood and cedar

Fantastic patchouli scent with a little bit of a woodsy note. It's not the same scent as Burmese Wood though; that scent is more of a warm woodsy scent with a little bit of a patchouli note, while this one is pure patchouli with a little bit of a woodsy note. This patchouli is a little sweeter than other patchouli scents I've smelled, with a little bit of an old perfume note (but in a good way).

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



#63 - Pure Peony

Notes:  The perfect peony... elegant, sophisticated, and always timeless

A lovely delicate rose type floral. It's an authentic floral scent, not perfumey or overly sweet, although it has a hint of a soapy note. I really like it.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



I did not review #69 - Amber & Tonka Bean and #65 - Mandarin Goji, as Trapp is retiring both of these scents. Amber & Tonka Bean smells fantastic but only had mild throw, and I wasn't a fan of the Mandarin Goji scent (which also had mild throw).



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.
Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Saturday, June 16, 2018

Better Homes & Gardens Wax Melts Reviews - Spring 2018 (Part 2)

Better Homes & Gardens Wax Melts Reviews - Spring 2018 (Part 2)

Better Homes & Gardens Wax Melts - Spring 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


See Part 1 of this review at http://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2018/03/better-homes-gardens-wax-melts-reviews-spring-2018-1.html.



All About Spring

Notes: The vibrant freshness of new Spring leaves, soft daisy and blue hyacinth spun with sun lily, sweet rose and sweet muguet

On cold sniff this smells like lovely hothouse lilies with a bit of a rubbing alcohol note. As I expected, when melted, the alcohol note disappeared completely and thankfully all that was left was the authentic hothouse type floral note, like lily or tulip petals with a green note. It's not a perfumey scent at all, or even overly sweet. I really like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Blueberry Bundt Cake

A lot of people don't like this scent, and on cold sniff I can understand why. On cold sniff it smells like fake blueberry flavored buttered popcorn, and it's nauseatingly sweet and buttery. However, when melted it smelled much better, more like a rich buttered blueberry muffin type scent with a brown sugar. Still not authentic, and still extremely rich and sweet, but quite nice.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Orange Blossom Oak

This is a very pleasant scent, like something you can have melting in the background that won't annoy anyone. It does smell a little like orange blossom/neroli, and although it's sweet, it's not as sweet and rich as true neroli. It has a beachy vibe, with a Coppertone suntan oil note, and maybe a smidgen of a light wood note in the background. It smells a little bit like a sweeter, richer, more beachy ScentSationals Himalayan Pink Salt but without the shaving cream note. And the scent lasted the entire day. I love this one!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Pear Blossom Tea

On cold sniff this is pretty much what it says in the scent name. The perfumey floral note is in the forefront, and then equal notes of pear and green tea. Maybe also a hint of amber for warmth and richness. When melted, however, it's a sweet syrupy pear scent with a bit of a rich warm perfumey note, and I only smell a hint of the green tea. It's a fantastic scent. It reminds me a little bit of last year's Better Homes & Garden's Georgia Peach Tea.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Pure Tropical Sunshine

This is not a tropical scent. I can't figure out the notes, but it's a little lemony with a hint of coconut and maybe warm amber, and possibly a smidgen of perfume. But it's not a perfumey or very sweet scent. When melted, it smells like celery with a slightly sweet lemon note. I'm on the fence about this scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Stormy Indigo Seas

This is a fresh men's body wash scent with a slight peppery note. I've smelled it before, so it's probably a dupe of an older scent. It smells a bit like the old ScentSationals Rebel and Crimson scents, but fresher. Although it smells like a lot of other similar type scents, I like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Thursday, June 7, 2018

Barn Candle Company - Barn Bricks Wax Melts Reviews

Barn Candle Company - Barn Bricks Wax Melts Reviews

Barn Candle Company - Barn Bricks Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


Barn Candle Company is a small company in Nebraska that makes candles, wax melts, room spray, diffusers, and related accessories. Their website is
http://www.barncandles.com and their Facebook page is https://www.facebook.com/barncandles. They're also on Twitter and Pinterest. Customers can order as retail, wholesale, or as part of a fundraiser. Their products are found in many stores throughout the U.S.

Barn Candle Company's wax melts are made from pure palm wax. Palm wax is all natural and environmentally friendly. It's a hard wax rather than soft messy soy wax. The wax has a beautiful iridescent look. Palm wax prefers a higher melting temperature than the standard 20W warmer, so I used a 24W warmer for these melts.

A special coupon code is available to readers of this review. The code is SWR18 and it's good for 10% off fragrance products, excluding their Brick sets and Pantry items for retail customers.



Acai Berry

Notes: A tropical medley of pineapple, mango, mandarin and raw coconut from the Brazilian Islands.

This is a fruity scent with a creamy note and a hint of a grapefruit and tropical note. There's also something else I can't put my finger on that makes this smell a tiny bit like Victoria's Secret Love Spell dupe wax melt scents. It's an interesting scent, and I kind of like it.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Amethyst Garden

Notes: A sophisticated light floral blend wafting through a spring breeze with the fragrance of satsuma plum, pear, quince apple, lemon blossom, allspice, star jasmine and vanilla orchid.

A lovely scent that smells like oriental spice perfume with a hint of baby powder, and a little bit of an apple note. I love it!

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Bamboo & Hemp

Notes: Bamboo stalks are complimented with natural vetiver and patchouli with undertones of hemp seed and oakmoss

This might be my favorite scent of the bunch. It smells a little like expensive shampoo, but it's more than that. It's a honeysuckle type floral, but not overly sweet, and with an herbal note. But I think I also detect a rich vanilla note. And it's soapy with maybe a hint of laundry and possibly a barely detectable smidgen of baby powder. It's just amazing! Looking at the scent notes, I don't think I detect bamboo, which has kind of a green raw woodsy coconut note. But vetiver and oakmoss, absolutely. I don't detect patchouli either, but that might be the rich vanilla note (patchouli sometimes has a chocolatey note).

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Barn Burner

Notes: That feeling when a guy walks by and it's all you can do to not spin on your heels just to see where that divine scent came from

A fantastic men's cologne scent. It's not the usual men's body wash type scent, but more like good department store men's cologne, a little like Hugo Boss.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Barn Special

Notes: Our signature scent is an aromatic blend of freshly cut apples, juicy oranges, spicy and rich cinnamon, orange clove and colorful cranberries.

A very sweet cinnamon apple scent with a clove note. I think I also smell cranberry, and perhaps a barely detectable smidgen of orange, which gives it a tiny bit of a pomander note. I normally don't like pomander (it smells weird to me), but it's very subtle in this scent. I really like this one! Looking at the scent notes, they're spot on. Melted, the orange clove pomander notes come out a little more, but it's still a great warm cozy fall scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Berry Kisses

Notes: The sweet flavor of chocolate covered raspberries.

A yummy chocolate fudge scent with a hint of raspberry. It's very fudgy and cocoa-ey and not overly sweet. When melting, the raspberry note comes out a bit more.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Cherry Blossom

Notes: Citrusy, with fruity green top notes with floral middle notes of Rose, Lily of the Valley and Jasmine enhanced with long lasting sweet, woody and musk bottom notes.

This is weak on cold sniff, but I smell a little bit of cherry with a slight floral note, and maybe a hint of peach. It's definitely not a cherry blossom scent (which doesn't actually smell like cherries).

Throw: Faint, 2 out of 5



Citrus & Sea Salt

Notes: A tropical aroma, complete with a lime beverage rimmed with coarse sea salt

This is different from other scents I've smelled with this name that are usually spa type scents. This smells like lime soda, or ginger ale with extra lime. It's not fizzy, but it's definitely an intense lime scent, and not overly sweet like a creamy lime beverage. There's no coconut either.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Coconut Lime Verbena

Notes: Coconut shavings are enhanced with a blend of lime, verbena, vanilla, and light musk.

Coconut with a little bit of a lime note. A nice refreshing summer scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Country Rain

Notes: The boom of thunder and the clap of lighting are followed by the splash of clear and beautiful rain. This clean, fresh fragrance captures the aroma after a rain storm.

A fresh very sweet watery scent with a floral note. I've smelled this scent before from other companies, and I really like it.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Freshly Ground

Notes: That moment the Barista grinds a freshly roasted batch of coffee beans

This is not really an authentic coffee scent, but it's different and I really like it. It smells like mocha fudge. It's a rich warm chocolatey coffee scent.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Grandpa's Porch

Notes: Sweet pipe tobacco

I really like this scent. It smells like cherry tobacco and cedar with a smidgen of baby powder.

Throw: Very faint, 2 out of 5



Lemon Chiffon

Notes: Tarty, sweet, lemon fragrance collides with the perfect velvet smooth texture.

This smells like lemon dish detergent with a hint of bakery, but in a good way. It's fresh and clean, but also yummy! The bakery notes came out a little more as time went on, but it also took on a slightly burnt note. Still a nice scent though.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Ocean

Notes: A crisp marine scent blended with delicate water lily, rose and cyclamen in this refreshing ocean aroma

A delicate watery scent with a hint of a floral and maybe a smidgen of a baby powder note. It's not overly sweet and does have a little bit of an "oceany" note. I really like it.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



Ruby Red

Notes: Dripping with the juicy fragrances of a winter Ruby Red grapefruit, spilling with flavor.

This is a sour, savory, salty, zesty scent with a lemony grapefruit note. But it doesn't smell like real grapefruit. It's interesting though, and I do like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Rustic Grace

Notes: Pure and white as a bridal bouquet, filled with the sweet smells of hyacinth and citrus

This smells like a popular wax melt scent called Amazing Grace, a classy perfume scent. But there's another a smidgen of another note in there which I guess is the "rustic" part, maybe tobacco and citrus? I don't smell that other note as much when melted though. I really like this scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Salted Caramel

Notes: The rich, smooth buttery flavors of your favorite childhood caramel, with the final nodes of sea salt that add that final blend of sweet and salty.

This is different from other salted caramel scented wax melts I've smelled. It smells like vanilla buttercream with a caramel note, a little maple... and a hint of bacon! It's a really nice scent.

Throw: Faint, 2.5 out of 5



Shenanigans

Notes: It will take you back to Saturday morning cartoons enjoyed with a big bowl of fruity cereal.

On cold sniff this smells like a combination of bakery lemon and kitchen lemon (like lemon-scented dish detergent), with a hint of orange and a smidgen of a soapy spa-type lemongrass. But when melted, it smells like Fruit Loops cereal. I really like it, but it started to smell a little burnt after about 2 hours.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Stress Relief

Notes: Soothing and relaxing aroma of eucalyptus, fresh mint, sage, and musk

This smells just like ScentSationals' Zen scent, a slightly spearminty soapy scent with maybe a hint of a sandalwood note. It's a nice subdued relaxing scent. Looking at the scent notes, eucalyptus has a bit of a pine note, and I don't smell that. I do detect the musk, which gives this just a smidgen of a perfumey note. Very nice scent.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Strawberry Rhubarb

Notes: A country patch of hand picked strawberries blended with freshly cut stalks of rhubarb

A fantastic rich sweet juicy succulent strawberry scent, like strawberry jam. I love this one!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Tropical Punch

Notes: Bring on Summer and a cold glass of Kool-Aid! This fragrance smells like cherry, strawberry, and orange with a touch of lemon lime thrown in for good measure.

I don't think I've ever had a wax melt that smells as much like cherry Kool-Aid as this one does on cold sniff, and super strong on cold sniff too. Fantastic! But melted, it lost a lot of that cherry note and took on a very chemical type note.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Wednesday, June 6, 2018

Scentsy Wax Cube Reviews - May 2018

Scentsy Wax Cube Reviews - May 2018

Scentsy Wax Cubes - May 2018
Click to enlarge

Video




Accidentally in Love

Notes: Crisp, gingery tangerine and exotic palm frond keep things clean and bright.

This smells like a lemongrass spa scent. Not sure why it's red! It's not sweet at all. I like it. Looking at the scent notes, I don't detect ginger, tangerine/orange or palm at all, although the palm might be the lemongrass I think I'm smelling.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



All You Need is Love

Notes: Coconut Sugar, Creamy Vanilla and Bing Cherry

A rich buttery caramel butterscotch scent with a whipped cream note, but it's not overly sweet. There aren't any bakery notes either. Maybe a hint of coconut? Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell cherry. I really like this scent.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Aloha Citrus

Notes: A fresh tide of tangerine, jade blossom and vetiver.

A nice tropical fruit scent with a hint of floral and maybe a smidgen of a zesty peppery note. I like it.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Blue Grotto

Notes: Run away with fresh tropical notes, sweet citrus and lush botanicals.

A nice sweet orange scent with a hint of a tropical and/or berry note. It's not zesty or overly citrusy, and no sour notes. I like it. I think this scent came out last year.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Blue Raspberry Ice

Notes: Sweet cherry, icy white lemon and blue raspberry

This smells like a fruity (raspberry?) slushy with a little bit of a zesty lemony note. I really like it. I don't think this is a brand new scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Dazzling Pomegranate

Notes: Serve a sparkling medley of pomegranate, bright orange and mimosa accord.

A fantastic berry scent with a little bit of a lemon zest note, a slight savory note, and a smidgen of sourness (but not enough to be annoying). It's only very slightly sweet. I like it! Because of the sourness I would classify this as a tropical fruit scent.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Grapefruit Sunshine

Notes: Follow brisk citrus, pink grapefruit and subtle vanilla to a brighter place.

A slightly zesty scent with a lemony and grapefruit note. It's a little savory, not really sweet. It's similar to several other Scentsy scents, like Citrus Garden (but not as bitter) Summer Sunset and Citrus Pop (but not as lemony). I love these types of scents.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Lemon Coconut Chiffon

Notes: Melt-in-your-mouth lemon custard layered with butter cake and sprinkled with toasted coconut

A yummy creamy lemon bakery scent. I do smell a little of the coconut. It's a very nice scent, although similar to a lot of other lemon bakery scents.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



I did NOT buy these based on cold sniff:

Blue Hyacinth - This doesn't smell like hyacinth at all (which smells a lot like lilac). This scent is floral with a bit of an earthy note, not perfumey or overly sweet, and kind of generic. The Mainstays Blue Hyacinth scent at Walmart (which I reviewed HERE) is much better and extremely authentic.

Blueberry Rush - Smells nice and very strong, but a typical fake blueberry bakery scent that every company makes (I have a lot of scents that smell just like this, from several wax melt companies)

Coastal Strawberry - Very weak on cold sniff, and not as "succulent" and fruity as other strawberry scents I've smelled.

Darling Dahlia - Generic floral

Flower Child - Weak on cold sniff

Havana Cabana - Strong pineapple note (I don't care for pineapple scents)

Jungle Jam - Pineapple note (I don't care for pineapple scents)

Mandarin Grapefruit Amber - This smelled awful to me, with a bitter "moldy" note.

Mandarin Splash - Nice, but nothing special

Midnight in Curacao - Pineapple note (I don't care for pineapple scents)

Rainforest Bungalow - Smells like bug spray

Spring Forward - Generic floral, weak on cold sniff

Sugar - Nice cotton candy/pink sugar type scent, but weak on cold sniff

Summer Soleil - Coconut and tropical fruit, just okay

White Grapefruit - Nothing special




Want to discuss this review and other retail and Scentsy wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Big Lots Wax Melts Reviews - Living Colors - May 2018

Big Lots Wax Melts Reviews - Living Colors - May 2018

Big Lots Wax Melts - Living Colors - May 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


The Living Colors wax melts from Big Lots uses soft wax that tends to not throw well. However, these news scents use a harder wax, so I hope that will improve the throw.



Blue Waters

This one is very hard to describe. It's a super sweet scent similar to Mainstays Peaceful Waters. It's watery but also floral, and although it's very sweet, it doesn't smell like perfume. It might have a hint of vanilla or coconut in it. I like it.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Cabana Breeze

This smells great, like a sweet young girlie perfume with sweet coconut and tropical fruit candy notes.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Coconut Mango

This smells like the inside of an Almond Joy bar (without the chocolate). It's a rich buttery almond and coconut scent with a sweet vanilla note. It smells fantastic. But there is no mango or any kind of fruit or tropical notes at all. It's most likely a dupe of an older scent with a different name.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Fiji Palm

This is a fresh green scent with a sweet peppery watery note that makes it smell a little like men's body wash. But I think I also detect a smidgen of pineapple, not sure. Melted, it's a little on the bitter side, which gives it a tiny bit of a bug spray note.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Freesia & Hyacinth

A nice pleasant watery floral scent. It's not perfumey, but maybe a little soapy like a body wash. It doesn't smell like hyacinth though, which smells a bit like lilac.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Guava Colada

This is an unusual scent. It's a fake fruity scent with a hint of a rich warm vanilla note, a smidgen of pineapple, and a little bit of a ginger ale type fizziness which makes it smell like soda. But when melted, that soda note is annoying.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5



Pineapple Orchid

A sweet intense fake pineapple scent, like pineapple flavored powdered drink mix or hard candy. I don't smell floral notes at all. If you like pineapple scents, this is a good one.

Throw: Faint, 2 out of 5



Tropical Sunset

This is a dupe of an older scent, maybe several. It's a sour tropical fruit scent, but it's not a bad sour, more like a "rich", slightly zesty sour. I like it. And there are no pineapple notes. Ah, I believe it's the same scent as Island Nectar, which I reviewed in May 2016.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Verbena & Pear

This is my favorite scent of the bunch. I've smelled it before, and I believe it's a dupe of an older scent. It doesn't smell like verbena or pear at all. It's a super soapy fresh shower gel type scent, not overly sweet, and a little herbal, a bit like an Irish Spring soap scent, but more soapy. It's fantastic.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Sunday, May 20, 2018

ScentSationals Wax Melts from Meijer's – Spring 2018 Reviews

ScentSationals Wax Melts from Meijer's – Spring 2018 Reviews

ScentSationals Wax Melts from Meijer's – Spring 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


These ScentSationals scents are only available at Meijer's and perhaps some other stores, but not Walmart.



Citrus Sunrise

This is an orange scent with a grapefruit note. It's different from their other new orange scents, like ScentSationals Orange Pops and Better Homes & Gardens Red Lava Citrus. And it's also different from the new ScentSationals Morning Bliss, which is a grapefruit scent with a hint of orange and a slightly sour note.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Exotic Sandalwood

This smells like oud wood, a deep resinous almost tree sappy woodsy scent, but mixed with a sweet note which I think is vanilla, and a very slight sour note that gives it a darker, more intense vibe. There's also a hint of chocolate, but I think that's patchouli (which sometimes has a slight cocoa note). This is not the same scent as ScentSationals Vanilla Woods. I really like this scent, and it's very unique!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Home Sweet Home

This scent came out several years ago at Walmart but was discontinued. It smells like light sweet apple cider and cinnamon, but there's another note that I can't figure out, which makes this different from other fall type scents. It's sweeter than most fall scents, so maybe brown sugar? Pear? All fall scents tend to smell similar to me, but this one is unique and I really like it. It's a completely different scent from Yankee Candle's Home Sweet Home.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Summer Sunset

This is the same scent as the new AmbiEscents Sunset in Paradise. It's a fantastic slightly perfumey pineapple scent with maybe a sweet vanilla note, and candy note, and a little bit of honeysuckle, and there might be some other kind of fruit in there as well. I'm not a fan of pineapple scents, but this one is heavenly, and my favorite of all the new AmbiEscents scents! There's a new ScentSationals scent that just came out called Honeysuckle Pineapple. This is NOT that scent at all; that one to me smells like straight pineapple. This scent, however, is super sweet candy-like perfumey pineapple.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Cucumber Cantaloupe Fusion

I think this is the same scent as ScentSationals Cucumber Melon. It's a nice pleasant scent that smells like sweet honeydew melon watered down a little bit by the cucumber. It's similar to ScentSationals Calypso Sands, which also has the honeydew note, but that scent is a little sweeter and has a bit of a floral note.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Fresh Garden Fusion

I love this scent. It's a super sweet jasmine/gardenia perfume scent with musk and I think a barely detectable smidgen of honeydew melon. When melted, I don't smell any melon, and it smells very similar to ScentSationals Egyptian Cotton and ScentSationals Cottage Window.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Limoncello Popsicle Fusion

This is the same scent as the new AmbiEscents Italian Limoncello. I love this scent! It's limey and lemony with a lemongrass note, and a little bit salty and just a smidgen of sweetness but actually not very sweet at all. It almost has a bit of a spa quality due to the lemongrass note.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Ocean Air Fusion

A fantastic fresh air scent with a zesty slightly sour slightly lemony note. It's kind of a spa scent, and it's not really sweet, but it's fantastic! It's a dupe of an old scent called ScentSationals Big Sur from 2013-2014.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

ScentSationals HEB Texas Scented Wax Melts – Spring 2018 Review

ScentSationals HEB Texas Scented Wax Melts – Spring 2018 Review

ScentSationals HEB Texas Scented Wax Melts – Spring 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


These ScentSationals wax melts scents are only available at HEB stores in Texas.



Austin City Lights

Notes: Eastern oud wood, balsamic amber and Moroccan patchouli fuse with breezy orange blossom, golden nutmeg and pure vanilla touched by warm, black musk.

This is the same scent as the old ScentSationals Oud Noir, a deep resinous almost tree sappy woodsy scent with a sweet slightly perfumey note. It's similar to ScentSationals Exotic Sandalwood, but that scent has a slightly sour, slightly vanilla/chocolatey note with a bit of patchouli. There may be a hint of vanilla in this scent as well, but if so it's very subtle. It smells a little like ScentSationals Vanilla Woods, but deeper and more intense. It's one of my favorite scents.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5 (but Oud Noir throw is bold, 5 out of 5)



Barton Springs

This is the same scent as Moonlit Walk, the blue side of ScentSationals Date Night duo that came out several years ago and might still be available at some Walmarts. It's a fantastic super rich, warm, ambery, sweet, slightly peppery men's cologne scent. The scent lasted over 24 hours!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Indian Paint Brush

Notes: Leafy greens, aquatic floralcy of water lily and lotus flower, sparkling ozone, and glittering musk

This is the same scent as ScentSationals Water Lily & Lotus from February 2017, a clean zesty soapy herbal peppery ginger scent. It's not sweet at all, and it smells a lot like ScentSationals Thai Ginger. I like it!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Stars at Night

Notes: Ripe fig, sweet berry, and absinthe

This is the same scent as last year's ScentSationals Midnight Summer, and the notes for that scent were figs layered with Indian jasmine, ballerina rose and green notes of absinthe. It's a dark blackberry scent with floral, although it's not really a berry scent or a floral scent. This smells a lot like ScentSationals Blackberry Cider, although a little sweeter, with a bit of a "pink sugar" note. It also has a very subtle hint of men's cologne. A fantastic, and "sexy" scent.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Tres Leches

A sweet vanilla buttercream scent with a smidgen of caramel I think, and maybe a barely detectable hint of chocolate. Melted, there may also be a very slight hint of cinnamon. It's richer and not as one-dimensional as a lot of other vanilla scents out there. Actually, I think it's the same scent as Better Homes & Gardens Vanilla Cookie Crunch, but if not, it's very similar.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Friday, May 11, 2018

Goose Creek Candle Wax Melts Reviews - May 2018

Goose Creek Candle Wax Melts Reviews - May 2018

Goose Creek Candle Wax Melts - May 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


Goose Creek Candle hit it out of the park with these new Spring 2018 scents! They all smell fantastic and throw great! And as a bonus, the lids fit tightly on the clamshell, which is good because with many of the older ones I have, the lids would fall off easily.Goose Creek Candle candles and wax melts can be found on their website at https://goosecreekcandle.com.



Blood Orange

Description: A watery blend of fresh sliced blood oranges drenched in cool island rain.

Notes:
Top: Blood Orange Zest, Orange Peel
Mid: Crisp Mandarin, Tangerine Splash
Base: Cool Rain, Sandalwood

This smells like lemon, grapefruit and orange with a tangy, slightly savory note. It's a totally different orange scent than I've ever smelled. It's not a bright, citrusy, sweet orange juice scent at all. It only has a hint of sweetness, but it's also not a harsh, "burnt" orange scent like ScentSationals Molten Orange. It's such a great scent that even though it's not a strong thrower, I'm going to keep it and use it in a smaller room.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Marshmallows

Description: A delicious blend of fluffy marshmallows and heart warming vanilla bean.

Notes:
Top: Warm Vanilla Bean
Mid: Fluffy Marshmallows
Base: Toasted Vanilla Crème

A very nice milky vanillary marshmallow scent. It's not a Bath and Body Work Vanilla Bean Noel type scent at all. It's more milky and marshmallowy, with maybe a hint of smokiness (perhaps the "toasted" part of the vanilla creme) and even a barely detectable smidgen of a laundry note. I really like it. In 2016 Goose Creek had a scent called Campfire Marshmallow, but I don't remember if this is the same scent or not, although I did describe it the same way. That scent did not throw well (and it used the older soft messy wax), but this one does.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Rain Drenched Strawberry

Description: A soft garden rain falls from the sky. Sun-kissed strawberries begin to glisten.

Notes:
Top: Fresh Fallen Rain Drops, Sun Kissed Strawberries
Mid: Garden Rhubarb, Soft Jasmine
Base: Light Coconut, Vanilla

Fantastic rich succulent super strawberryish strawberry scent that smells like strawberry sorbet or gelato. It's not a creamy scent like iced cream, and although it's quite sweet, it's not sugary sweet like strawberry jam. It's actually a rather authentic strawberry scent, like the inside of a jumbo sun-ripened fresh garden strawberry! I adore this scent!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5




Rainbow Sugar

Description: It's cotton candy dreams! A fluffy, sugary rainbow of colors

Notes:
Top: Frozen Strawberries, Iced Lemon
Mid: Juicy Raspberry, Pink Pomelo
Base: Spun Sugar, Vanilla

This is Pink Sugar! It's a super sweet marshmallowy cotton candyish scent with a raspberry note. One of my favorite scents! I think this one might be sweeter and slightly more fruity than some other Pink Sugar scents I've smelled. It's similar to Better Homes & Gardens Pink Sugar Berry, but again, a bit sweeter and more raspberryish.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5




Summer Moon

Description: A midnight moon reveals the secret path. It’'s the classic late summer night fragrance.

Notes:
Top: Citrus, Warm Woods, Bergamot
Mid: Light Lavender, Soft Pine
Base: Patchouli, Moss, Vetiver

This is a nice men's herbal body wash scent, like a Cool Water type scent. It's not overly sweet, and I think I detect a smidgen of lavender and pine. I really like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5




Very Berry

Description: A cheerful blend of summer fresh berries. Indulge in this deliciously chilled, very berry treat!

Notes:
Top: Blueberries, Strawberries, Raspberries
Mid: Soft Apple, Peach Nectar
Base: Vanilla Sugar

I love this scent! I smell super sweet blueberries with a sugary slightly marshmallowy cotton candy note, a little like the Rainbow Sugar scent ("Pink Sugar") but with blueberries. It's not an authentic fruit scent, but it smells fantastic. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell peach or apple, but maybe a little raspberry.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Aldi Wax Melts Reviews - Summer 2018 (May)

Aldi Wax Melts Reviews - Summer 2018 (May)
 
Aldi Wax Melts - Summer 2018 (May)
Click to enlarge

Aldi comes out with 4 new wax melt scents 3 times a year: January, April/May, and September/October. The wax melts are made by Hanna's Candle and are very good quality. They cost $1.69 each. They should be at all Aldi stores this week, or if not, this weekend. Once they show up at the Aldi store, they stay on the shelves until they're sold out, which can happen within 2 or 3 weeks. Old scents do not return, so if you like these, don't wait! However, many of these scents are available on the Hanna's Candle website, possibly under different names (for "legal" reasons, Hanna's has not confirmed this; it's just my personal observation).

See my review (text and video) of each scent at the link below:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail/permalink/1613489135435576/

If you click the review link before you're a member, it won't work, so you'll need to join the group first, at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.


Want to discuss this review and other store-bought wax melts? Join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail. The Scented Wax Melts Store-Bought/Retail group is the only Facebook group for discussing U.S. retail and store-bought scented wax melts. We're a fun group of 3,000 members, with NO ads, NO vendor wax, and NO drama.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Tuesday, May 1, 2018

Hillbilly Wax Company Wax Melts Reviews

Hillbilly Wax Company Wax Melts Reviews

Click to enlarge

Video


Hillbilly Wax Company is a small business in North Carolina that makes scented wax melts. Stacy Green started this business a few months ago and already she has quite a following due to her unique theme and scent blends. Unlike most wax vendors, Stacy's wax melts are made with paraffin wax rather than soy. Since scents made with paraffin wax tend to "throw" better than those made with soy, in general her wax melts performed quite well. Stacy's website is https://hillbillywaxco.com and her Facebook page is https://www.facebook.com/Hillbilly-Wax-Company-Clyde-NC-2105169326373261/.



Bad Hillbilly

Notes: Lord of Misrule by Lush Dupe, a mysterious blend of rich patchouli and warm sandalwood. Citrus, vetiver and kisses of black pepper round out this fragrance.

I smell patchouli and a little bit of a raw woodsy note, and maybe a smidgen of cologne. I like it. Looking at the scent notes, the vetiver is the cologne note, and I think I do detect a hint of pepper, but no citrus.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Bear Butt

Notes: Butt Naked type. Granny Smith apples blended with honeydew melon and cherry on a bed of creamy vanilla taffy.

I smell sweet watermelon and strawberry with maybe a note of pear. It's rich and creamy. Looking at the scent notes, okay kind of close! Yes, now I do realize it's honeydew rather than watermelon, but with the combination of the apple and cherry it was hard to tell. I'm not a fan of melon scents, but I kind of like this one.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Candy Shoppe

Notes: Raspberry, strawberry and banana blend with sweet sugar, wild berry and cherry on a bed of creamy vanilla taffy

A nice fruity scent with a little bit of a sweet creamy note. I smell strawberry, banana and watermelon, with a little bit of cherry.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Dirty Boy

Notes: Dirty Lush Dupe. The fresh scent of spearmint blended with sandalwood and thyme. This is a clean fresh and sexy scent.

This is a strong spearmint/wintergreen scent. It's a little sweet, but herbal. Looking at the notes, the thyme is probably the herbal note. I don't smell sandalwood. Melted, it has a smidgen of a candyish note, in a good way.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Gettin' Inked

Notes: Green floral freesia type with top notes of cyclamen, hawthorn and lilac, middle notes of jasmine, lily, rose, and violet with a musk and tonka bean base note.

This one is interesting and very hard to describe! It's a sweet floral like sweet pea or gardenia, but I also smell a little bit of oriental spice and soapiness, and even a smidgen of tobacco way in the background. Looking at the scent notes, this is not the scent I would expect based on the notes, but it's different and I like it.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Hillbilly Hippie

Notes: Cannabis Blossom (green fern and cannabis notes open up to a floral accord of gardenia and violet. White musk and golden amber round out this fragrance) and a touch of patchouli (an earthy, musky, woodsy favorite)

This smells like pure marijuana! There might be something else way in the background, but all I'm smelling is pot. Looking at the scent notes, there's the cannabis blossom. I was told that the blossom doesn't smell like pot, but nope, it does. My roommate had no idea what I was melting, walked by my room and said, "Why am I smelling pot?"

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Lady Lavender

Notes: Sweet buttercream and lavender

This smells like a combination of lavender, vanilla, and maybe also slight bakery and perfumey notes, although it's not overly sweet.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



Nutty Squirrel

Notes: Pistachio Puddin' Cake, which is creamy vanilla custard mixed with pistachio nuts, honey, almond and heliotrope.

Oh this smells fantastic!! It's a super rich creamy sweet pistachio scent.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Southern Martini

Notes: Blue Sugar type with Kick Ass blackberry and a hint of lemon for balance

This smells like Blue Sugar (a popular wax melt fragrance) but with a plum/blackberry note. I like it. Blue Sugar is actually a men's cologne with top notes of mandarin orange and bergamot; middle notes of coriander, patchouli, lavender, licorice and cotton candy; and base notes of tonka bean, star anise and cedar. I'm not a fan of Blue Sugar because I can smell the anise and licorice a bit, but I like this version because of the blackberry note.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Watermelon Smash

Notes: Fresh crisp watermelon that starts with top notes of watermelon and strawberry followed by middle notes of jasmine, rose and green notes all on a base of cassis, oakmoss, white woods and vanilla

I smell mostly watermelon, with a hint of some other notes I can't identify. Maybe another fruit?

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Tuesday, April 3, 2018

ScentSationals Wax Melts - Survey Results

ScentSationals Wax Melts - Survey Results

ScentSationals Wax Melts - Survey Results

ScentSationals survey results for ScentSationals wax melts scents, throw, quality, prices, and more. 163 anonymous participants completed this survey. The survey was only open to people who have used ScentSationals wax melts, and submissions could only be made one time by the same person.

SCENT QUALITY
How good they smell
ChoiceVotes
Poor3
Fair4
Good27
Very Good84
Excellent45


THROW
How far you can smell scent in room when melting
ChoiceVotes
Poor3
Fair4
Good47
Very Good74
Excellent35

SCENT DURATION
How long the scent lasts when melted
ChoiceVotes
Under 1 hour3
1-2 hours4
2-4 hours28
4-6 hours54
6-8 hours48
Over 8 hours26


SCENT UNIQUENESS
Are they different from scents you've smelled from other companies?
ChoiceVotes
No unique scents6
Some unique scents80
Many unique scents68
Every scent is unique9


EASE OF USE
How easy to get out of package, to handle, cut, clean up, etc.
ChoiceVotes
Not Good1
Average21
Good141


WAX HARDNESS
ChoiceVotes
Very Soft/Messy1
Soft2
Average38
Hard87
Very Hard34


BEST WARMER TO USE
ChoiceVotes
25W Bulb Warmer71
20W Hotplate Warmer56
24W Hotplate Warmer54
Tealight Warmer26
15W Warmer18
40W Warmer7
Other6
12W Warmer5


PRESENTATION
Label artwork, packaging, how the wax looks, etc.
ChoiceVotes
Poor1
Fair10
Good43
Very Good62
Excellent47


PRICES
Not including shipping
ChoiceVotes
Low93
Average68
High1


AVAILABILITY
How often the company is open or closed, how often they sell out of products, etc.
ChoiceVotes
Poor1
Fair19
Good50
Very Good61
Excellent32


Would you buy ScentSationals wax melts again and/or recommend them to others?
ChoiceVotes
Absolutely Yes133
Probably22
Maybe5
Probably Not2
Definitely Not1



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Friday, March 30, 2018

Living Colors Wax Melts Reviews from Big Lots - Spring 2018

Living Colors Wax Melts Reviews from Big Lots - Spring 2018

Living Colors Wax Melts from Big Lots - Spring 2018
Click to enlarge

Video





Cherry Blossom

A perfect fruity floral cherry blossom scent. I smell sweet floral with a fruity cherry note, and also a laundry note. Very nice! I find that just about all cherry blossom scents tend to have weak throw no matter who makes them.

Throw: Very faint, 2 out of 5



Deep Ocean

Sweet fresh water with a hint of a peppery note, a sweet floral note, and maybe a smidgen of lemon and a tiny bit of musk. It smells like a men's body wash but a little different from other typical men's body wash scents. I really like it.

Throw: Very faint, 1 to 2 out of 5



Desert Sage

This smells like freshly mowed grass with sweet floral and peppery notes. The peppery note makes it smell like an authentic flower, but it's not really a floral scent either; it's a little sweet but not flowery sweet or perfumey. It's more of a "green", natural scent, but definitely not sage, since sage is a savory scent. I really like it!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Morning Glory

Morning Glory flowers really don't have a scent, and they definitely don't smell like this! This is a nice, rich, super sweet scent that smells like a combination of fake grape candy and floral, with maybe a hint of vanilla. It's unique and I like it, although it's almost nauseatingly sweet.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



White Nectarine

This may be a dupe for an older tropical fruit scent. I do smell peach, but maybe also mango. It's not overly sweet, and it has a bit of that sour tropical note but not enough to be annoying. Even though it has a tropical note, I don't detect pineapple or coconut. It's a great scent, and very strong on cold sniff.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Tuesday, March 27, 2018

Ashland (Michaels) Wax Melts Reviews - March 2018

Ashland (Michaels) Wax Melts Reviews - March 2018

Ashland (Michaels) Wax Melts - March 2018
Click to enlarge

Video 




Coconut Sea Salt

Notes: Creamy Coconut, Vanilla Bean, Golden Pineapple, Banana Leaf, Lemongrass, and Sea Salt

This smells like pineapple and coconut with maybe a hint of apple. Looking at the scent notes, I don't think I smell banana, although maybe that's the apple I think I smell. And I definitely don't smell lemongrass, which is a soapy savory lemony spa type scent, which this scent is not. Melted, the pineapple is a bit on the subtle side. So although I'm not a fan of pineapple scents, I like this one! And it lasted all day!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Mango Margarita

Notes: Mandarin Orange, Juicy Mango, Agave Nectar, Coconut Milk, and Sea Salt

Oh this one is nice and summery. I definitely smell the orange and mango, and a hint of the coconut. Even so, it's not an overly tropical scent, it's sweet and rich with a slightly salty note, and I don't smell any pineapple (which I often smell in scents with mango margarita type names).

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Pineapple Salsa

Notes: Pineapple, Pear, Melon, Apple, Strawberry, Banana, Coconut, Peach, Vanilla, and Musk

This is pineapple all the way, although it's very sweet, like pineapple candy, and there may be a hint of vanilla in it, and possibly a bit of coconut. Maybe some other fruit like strawberry and banana? Looking at the scent notes, there's the strawberry, banana, coconut and vanilla! I don't like pineapple scents but this one is "okay" because it's very sweet and has other fruit notes.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Pink Coconut

Notes: Orange, Bergamot, Fennel, Raspberry, Coconut, Lily-of-the-Valley, Musk, Vanilla, and Oak Wood

This smells very similar to the new ScentSationals Girlfriend Night. It's a sweet girly perfume scent with a slight fruity note, maybe raspberry, and a smidgen of coconut. Yep, there's the raspberry and coconut. I don't smell orange or fennel at all. I LOVE this scent!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Turquoise Waters

Notes: Mineral Springs, Water Lotus, Sea Glass, Peony Bouquet, Cyclamen Flower, Jasmine, Hydrangea Petals, Rosewater, and Oakmoss

This is a sweet fresh watery scent with a grassy note and maybe a barely detectable smidgen of lemon. No, no lemon in the scent notes. I've smelled other scents that had "sea glass" in the notes, and they smell a lot like this. There's a bit of floral in this, but it's not really a floral scent, but I think that's what gives it the grassy note. It smells a little bit like ScentSationals Fresh Air, but with some different, more crisp, grassy notes. Very refreshing!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Vanilla Macaron

Notes: Apple, Orange, Coconut, Honey, Cinnamon, Spearmint, Rich Vanilla, and Musk

This one is weak on cold sniff, and I can't figure out the notes. It's vanilla with maybe a bit of a perfumey note but also maybe a smidgen of nut, and for some reason I'm smelling a barely detectable hint of spearmint that I don't think I'll smell when it's melted. Looking at the scent notes, there's the spearmint! I don't smell apple or orange though. It's a nice interesting scent, but it seems like the notes it contains don't belong together. They're confusing me. Melted, it's a perfumey vanilla with a nutty note, and I don't smell the spearmint at all. I like it, but there's something odd about it.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.