Thursday, March 21, 2019

Smok'd Out Candle Co. Wax Melts Reviews

Smok'd Out Candle Co. Wax Melts Reviews

Smok'd Out Candle Co. Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


Smok'd Out Candle Company is a new business based in Seaside, Oregon. Emily, the company owner, made her first sale on February 10, 2019. Emily is a full-time college student studying for a degree in business. She has 3 young daughters and a husband at home, and her family has been the driving force behind Smok'd Out Candle Co. Making candles, wax melts and lotions has been a way for Emily to create moments with her daughters and spend more time at home taking care of them. There is a story behind each and every item she makes. Emily is determined not only to create quality products, but to help others do something to better their lives as well. She has an "if I can, then you can too" mentality, and as a person, mother, woman and entrepreneur, she wants to show people that they can achieve their dreams!

Smok'd Out Candle Company's wax melts are 100% soy, which concerned me because often wax melts made with soy don't throw well. But I was pleasantly surprised that these threw quite well, and they smelled great too! And I like that she puts the scent notes right on the label!

At the time of this review, these were the only available scents. However, more scents have been added, and even more are in the works.

Currently Smok'd Out Candle products can be purchased from their Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/messages/t/SmokdoutCandleCo, or just call Emily at 360-442-6782. She is working on getting a website up and running.



Black Sea

Notes: Plum, Cardamom, Amber, Dark Musk

A nice fresh rich men's cologne scent. I don't smell plum or any fruity notes, and I'm not sure what cardamom smells like.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Crow Hunter

Notes: Sage, Orange, Grapefruit, Lavender, Oakmoss, Amber, Tonka Bean

This smells like a combination of fresh sweet men's cologne and lavender. I really like it! Melted, there's a bit of a lemon note. Looking at the notes, I don't smell sage (which is a savory herbal scent), orange, grapefruit (although that might be the lemony note I detect), or tonka bean (vanilla).

Throw: Medium, 3.25 out of 5



Hex

Notes: Apple, Peach, Grapefruit, Cherry Blossom, Hydrangea, Vanilla, Powder

This is a Victoria's Secret Love Spell dupe. Most people love this scent, but I don't. It smells like bland grapefruit scented paper to me! I don't smell ANY of the notes shown for this scent!

Throw: Strong, 3.75 out of 5



Lavender

Notes: Bergamot, Lemon, Lavender, Cedar

Perfect lavender scent. Very authentic, but also with a hint of sweetness. I just smell the lavender, no bergamot (which would give it a cologney note) or lemon. I don't think I smell the cedar either, but maybe that's the slight sweetness in the scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.75 out of 5



Lavender & Vanilla

Notes: Bergamot, Lemon, Vanilla, Lavender, Buttercream, Cedar, Vanilla

This is a combination of their Lavender and Vanilla scents. It's a great combination, and has equal amounts of lavender and vanilla buttercream. Sometimes I smell more lavender, sometimes more vanilla.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Mocha

Notes: Coffee, Sugar, Vanilla & Chocolate

This is a strong, bitter, black coffee scent that reminds me of Swan Creek Candle Roasted Espresso. There may be a tiny bit of a creamy note, but on cold sniff it's not sweet and I don't smell chocolate. Melted, however, I do notice a smidgen of sweetness. It's a fantastic scent, very authentic, and really smells like I'm brewing black coffee!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Vanilla Buttercream

Notes: Sugar, Vanilla & Cream

This is a standard vanilla buttercream scent that I smell a lot, probably uses the same scented oil manufacturer. It's a fake scent but still smells quite nice.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

La-Tee-Da! Wax Melts Reviews

La-Tee-Da! Wax Melts Reviews

La-Tee-Da! Wax Melts
Click to enlarge
Video


La-Tee-Da! wax melts can be purchased from gift shops across the country, as well as online from sites like Courtney's Candles at https://www.courtneyscandles.com/mmltd.html (where I got mine because she had the best selection, and flat fee shipping was only $5), The Lamp Stand at https://www.thelampstand.com/lateeda-magicmelts.html, and PC Fallon at https://www.pcfallon.com/c-2613-wax-melts.aspx. They sell for $2.95 at Courtney's Candles and PC Fallon, but currently they're on sale at The Lamp Stand for $2.59.

There's a store locator on the La-Tee-Da! Fragrance website at https://ltdfragrance.com/where-to-purchase/, and you can download their catalog at https://ltdfragrance.com/catalogs/.

La-Tee-Da! Also makes some wax melts for H-E-B stores in Texas, including some scents that are made by ScentSationals exclusively for H-E-B.

The first thing I noticed about these melts it that the clamshell is very difficult to open. The lid separates from the rest of the clamshell and snaps into the top of the clamshell. You have to make sure it snaps in on all corners because it's easy to leave one corner unsnapped, which means the clamshell will basically be open and the scent will dissipate. Removing the lid was difficult, and I broke a nail on one! On the plus side, once that lid is snapped into place, it's very tight, so no chance of air getting in!

Although it's 2.5 oz. of wax, like most wax melts, it has 8 cubes instead of the usual 6. So each cube is slightly smaller than normal. You can melt 1 cube at a time if that's what you're used to, but 2 cubes might be better.

The wax is hard, with a dry, slightly chalky surface, rather than the smooth surface that, say, Walmart wax has. I had no problems getting the wax out of the clamshell once I was able to get the package open.



Beachfront Cabana (Seashore Musk)

Notes: Bright scent of fresh seashore, white grapefruit, crisp lemon, bergamot heart, green floral base, sweet tobacco

A nice fresh men's body wash scent with a lemon note. There's a smidgen of something else in the background with kind of a "green" very slightly herbal note, although this is not a spa or lemongrass type scent at all. When melted, there may be a barely detectable smidgen of lavender way in the background. It's a very nice scent, although it's not "beachy". After melting for an hour or so, the scent became less cologney and a bit more perfumey, like a perfumey magnolia scent with a sweet, rich, slightly salty lemony note. Still fantastic! Looking at the notes, I don't smell grapefruit or tobacco.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Christmas Cheer (Bayberry)

Notes: Cedar wreaths brightened by fresh sprigs of bayberries, holly, and a kiss of mistletoe

Fantastic scent that smells like cinnamon and pine, with a little bit of a zesty note in the background, and maybe a smidgen of cloves. It has a slightly sour note that I sometimes find with certain pine scents that gives is a Play Doh vibe, but in this scent that note is very subtle so it doesn't ruin the scent.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Coming Home (Clementine & Pinecones)

Notes: Fresh orange citrus, rustic pinecone with evergreen forest woods freshness.

A fantastic combination of pine and orange. It's mostly pine, but the orange gives it a kick of citrus. It's kind of a sour orange (clementine is similar to satsuma, a pungent, sour orange type fruit with a slightly lemon note).

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Coral Sands (Strawberry Lime)

I smell coconut and strawberry with maybe a hint of pineapple. It's a nice, pleasant, sweet scent without the sour note that a lot of tropical scents tend to have. I don't smell the lime. There are no notes shown for this one other than the strawberry and lime.

Throw: Medium, 3.25 out of 5



Denim & Diamonds (Cashmere Woods & Black Diamonds)

Notes: Glamorous blend of cashmere & black jasmine additional notes: bergamot, patchouli vanilla musk

I can't figure out what I'm smelling. It smells like patchouli, cedar and men's cologne. But although I love those types of scents, this one is kind of bland.

Throw: Faint, 2 out of 5



Fireflies (Peppercorn & Balsam)

Notes: Top notes of tangerine and pear with mild pink fruity peppercorn and peppery black pepper blended with base wood accords of mossy fir balsam, patchouli and spiced cedar.

This is similar to the Coming Home scent. I think I detect pine, but it's not like a Christmas tree pine; it's a harsh almost citrusy pine, but not in a bad way. I think I also smell a hint of patchouli and cedar, and maybe a smidgen of cinnamon. There's also a tiny bit of a waxy note and a smidgen of sourness that I don't care for, but it's not enough to detract from the scent. Looking at the notes, I don't smell tangerine or orange, although that's probably the citrusy note I detect. And I don't smell pear. It's not a sweet or fruity scent at all. I think I do detect a bit of the pepper. It's an unusual scent that I've never smelled before, and I like it.

Throw: Faint, 2.5 out of 5



Gardens of Savannah (Magnolia)

Notes: A fresh heart of magnolia grand flora, with hints of musk notes

This might be my favorite scent of the batch. It smells like real flowers. I don't know what magnolia actually smells like, but this is definitely a floral scent, and although it's sweet, it's not perfumey or overly sweet. It's a very complex scent, and there are some barely detectable notes of pine, cinnamon, wood and vanilla way in the background that help to make this scent so authentic.

Throw: Strong, 3.75 out of 5



Gatsby (Teak Mahogany)

Notes: Celebrates a time of rich woods, paneled dance halls, and the high life

A nice men's cologne scent with a little bit of a woodsy note. It also has a slight waxy note, like the wax might be a little old, but it's not enough to ruin the scent. It's similar to a lot of men's cologne scents I already have.

Throw: Strong, 3.75 out of 5



Irresistible (Marine Breeze & Sensual Musk)

Notes: Masculine woodland fresh scent of vetiver, oak moss & rosewood with a soft floral muguet & brightened with citrus & herbs

A very pleasant cologne scent with a fresh air note and a slight sinus clearing effect that's probably mint (although I don't actually smell mint). It's not an overly sweet cologne scent. Looking at the notes, I don't smell citrus, and not really floral per se although I'm sure it's in the background. It reminds me a bit of ScentSationals Black Tux, but with a cleaner, fresher note.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Island Blossom (Exotic Flowers)

Notes: Warm Island Breeze mingles with White Lilac, Jasmine, Gardenia, Cyclamen, Tropical Melon and a splash of Peach.

A beautiful warm sweet powdery perfumey floral scent, like a combination of sweet pea, jasmine and gardenia. There may be a smidgen of fruit way in the background, like watermelon or strawberry. I really like this one! Looking at the notes, I don't smell peach, but lilac, yes I think I detect that.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Monogrammed Linens (Lavender)

Notes: Rich lavender and herbal moss essences

I can't figure out this scent. I do smell lavender, but it has a soapy note with maybe a hint of patchouli, although it's not a patchouli scent either. Maybe a woodsy note? It's not really sweet, and has a smidgen of sourness that's a bit off-putting.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Mountain Lodge (Patchouli & Evergreen)

Notes: Top: Lime, eucalyptus, seaweed, & sage; Middle: Rosemary, lavender, & bois de rose; Base: Cedar, sandalwood, patchouli, & oakmoss

On cold sniff I smell pine and lavender with the nasal clearing effect of eucalyptus. There may also be a hint of fresh garden mint, and there's also a very slightly sweet soapy note which I guess is the patchouli, although I don't smell patchouli per se. Looking at the notes, I don't smell lime, but I think I do smell the cedar, and possibly the rose which might be the sweet, slightly floral soapy note. The soapy note makes it smell fresh, kind of like a bubble bath but not very sweet. Melted, I don't smell all the individual notes, and it smells like a super fresh herbal body wash scent. I really like it!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Pandemonium (Patchouli)

Notes: A complex layering of rich, woody elements that interweaves patchouli, cashmere, jasmine, citrus, and thyme

A fantastic patchouli scent with a hint of baby powder. It's not very sweet though. It has more of a raw wood note than patchouli scents I've smelled from other companies. It's fantastic! But it took about 2 hours to reach a good throw! When it did though, the scent lasted all day, at least 10 hours. Oh, and the scent name is actually "Pandamonium" with an "a", which is the wrong spelling of the word.

Throw: Strong, 3.75 out of 5



Perfectly Pomegranate

Notes: Fresh raspberries and strawberries intermingle accented by red delicious apple and sweetened by creamy vanilla.

This smells like rich sweet strawberry jam with a fresh apple note, and maybe a hint of sweet vanilla in the background. It smells great!

Throw: Strong, 3.75 out of 5



Smoke & Mirrors (Mahogany & Leather)

Notes: Enveloped by the warmth of supple mahogany and brushed by the velvety softness of leather and tobacco

This one is very weak on cold sniff. It's a men's cologne scent with a rich, slightly woodsy note, and a smidgen of leather. It's only slightly sweet, so it's good if you don't like sweet cologne scents. When melted, it has a nice cedar note.

Throw: Mild, 2.75 out of 5



Stay Awhile (Tropical Vanilla)

Notes:  Long lasting rich and creamy tropical vanilla is accented with sugar notes of mango.

This is a rich sweet scent that smells like tropical pineapple candy with maybe watermelon and mango notes. Wait, it smells just like bubblegum! I'm not sure if I smell vanilla or not. Melted, it's still sweet, but doesn't have that candy or bubblegum note. It's quite nice!

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Tahitian Pearls (Black Coral & Nectarine)

Notes: Lush, fruity floral dripping with the natural sweetness of juicy nectarines, with a soft whisper of jasmine, ylang and tuberose

All I smell is something bitter and waxy. I don't detect nectarine (peach) or anything tropical (coral). Maybe a floral? Looking at the notes, there's nothing in there that would create such a bitter scent. If anything, based on the notes, it should be a sweet, rich scent. I don't like this one. When melted, I do detect a floral note like rose, but it's still very bitter. It smells a lot like Hanna's Candle Peony & Rose Bouquet (as well as their new Butterfly Wings scent), which I didn't care for due to the bitterness.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



White Sport Coat (Italian Bergamot)

Notes: The zesty freshness of citrus lime, bergamot, rosewood and yuzu grapefruit warmed by the rich notes of woody cedar, black amber, and velvet cashmere.

On cold sniff this smells like men's cologne but it's not overly sweet. It has a woodsy note (cedar?) and a warm amber note. Melted, I smell mostly cedar woods, with a cologne note in the background. It's quite nice. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell lime or grapefruit at all. This is another scent that took 2 hours to throw well!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Zing! Eucalyptus Fresh

Notes: Fresh eucalyptus leaves, bright lemon cover floral herbal bouquet

I expected this to be another eucalyptus spa type scent like ScentSationals Zen, but it's completely different. On cold sniff, it's definitely eucalyptus, with that sinus clearing effect, as well as fresh garden peppermint. There may also be a smidgen of lemon. There's a barely detectable floral way in the background that I think is rose, although this is not a sweet scent at all. Looking at the notes, they're spot on.

When melted, however, the rose scent really comes out, and it smells like rose scented soap! But it's still not very sweet because of the eucalyptus, which gives it a slight herbal note when melted. I don't smell the lemon at all, or even the eucalyptus, when melted. I really like this scent, even more after the rose note came out!

Throw: Medium, 3.25 out of 5




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Sunday, March 17, 2019

Glade Wax Melts Reviews - Spring 2019

Glade Wax Melts Reviews - Spring 2019

Glade Wax Melts - Spring 2019
Click to enlarge

These new scents are only available in candle form. I haven't found them in wax melts, so I scooped out the soft candle wax and put in the wax warmer instead of burning the candles (which is easy to do, since the wax is very soft, like tub margarine). Since Glade candles use a very soft wax and Glade wax melts use a very hard wax, the throw ratings may be different for the melts. If I can find the wax melts, I will update my review.



Acoustic Sage

Notes: Dried Sage, Fig Leaves, Brown Sugar

I didn't buy this one because it's a dupe of several older Glade scents I have, including Sunset Walk and Sage & Thyme Market. It's a very strong, pungent, savory, slightly lemony "salad" type scent with no sweetness at all. It's quite nice, although not something I want my house to smell like.



Berry Pop

Notes: Strawberry, Dewberry, Lime Zest

A fake, sweet, slightly tart berry scent, like fruit flavored drink mix. When melted, there's an odd "burnt" note way in the background that I don't care for.

Throw: Faint, 2.25 out of 5



Elegant Amber & Oud

Notes: Exotic Spices, Jasmine, Warm Amber and Oud Wood

Smells a like like Glade Volcanic Coconut Cove that came out April 2018, a nice smoky milky coconut. But it's not the same scent. This scent seems to use the Volcanic Coconut Cove scent as a base, but adds a hint of sweetness, a smidgen of cinnamon, a tiny bit of a foodie note like caramel or rum, a little bit of a cologney note, and a tiny bit of wood. Oud is a deep resinous almost tree sappy woodsy scent, and I don't smell that type of wood scent per se. Amber adds a warm note to scents, and I think I do smell that a little bit. Looking at the notes, I don't smell jasmine at all (but maybe that's the slight sweetness). It's not a floral scent at all. It's a great scent, and it smells a bit like ScentSationals Fire Amber and Goose Creek Cozy Home (but not as much as Volcanic Coconut Cove does).

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Sultry Amber Rhythm

Notes: Dark rum, Arctic Mint and Black Leather

This smells like a rich men's cologne note with a sweet tobacco note and possibly a smidgen of patchouli. It almost has a foodie note, like maybe a hint of caramel or rum. I also smell a rich dark wood note. Looking at the scent notes, they're enticing! And there's the rum! I don't really smell leather, but it's probably way in the background. And I don't detect mint at all. I'd say it's a rummy, woodsy, slightly incensey men's cologne scent. And it's fantastic! Although this shares some of the notes with Elegant Amber & Oud, it's a totally different scent. But interestingly, I detect an oud note in this scent even though oud is not in the notes.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Big Lots (Living Colors) Wax Melts Reviews - March 2019

Big Lots (Living Colors) Wax Melts Reviews - March 2019

Big Lots (Living Colors) Wax Melts - March 2019
Click to enlarge

Video


These Living Colors wax melts from Big Lots use the same hard wax as the ones I reviewed in January. The ones I reviewed in February were soft wax, but I suspect they were older scents from the last few months of 2018. Although the new wax is hard, it still has a greasy surface, but it's a much better consistency than the old soft wax.



Cherry Blossom

A fantastic fruity floral cherry blossom scent with a little bit of a rich vanilla buttercream note, as well as possibly a smidgen of caramel and strawberry, and a hint of candy and perfumey notes. It smells a little bit like Yankee Candle's Floral Candy, which I love, and I can't believe I'm saying this, but I like this scent even more! Even though throw is not really strong, I'm going to keep it because it smells so good (I might just sniff it in the package from time to time!)

Throw: Medium, 3.25 out of 5



Sea Salt

This is a fresh watery herbal scent. It's just slightly sweet, so it's not a shower wash type of scent. The herbal note smells like a garden herb, maybe garden mint, although it's not actually "mint" scent. It's also a little bit peppery. I think there's also a smidgen of a floral in the background that gives it the very slight sweetness that keeps it from being too savory. It's quite nice.

Throw: Faint, 2.25 out of 3



Spring Bouquet

A fantastic sweet lilac scent with a hyacinth note. Although it's a little perfumey, it's more authentic than a lot of lilac scents out there. It's similar to Yankee Candle Sweet Lilac, and Mainstays Blue Hyacinth, but much more similar to the Yankee scent. I don't detect any other floral notes.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Spring Breeze

It's peach (most likely a dupe of another scent) with a very slightly sour note, but it also has a milky note that makes it smell like peaches and cream. It's just a little bit sweet, not as sweet as the actual peach fruit though. It's VERY milky and creamy like, well, heavy cream and peaches! It's a much nicer scent than I expected it to be.

Throw: Strong, 3.75 out of 5



Sugar Lemon

This is a different lemon scent than their Lemon Bars or Lemonberry Scone scents. This smells like "kitchen lemon", like a fresh sweet lemon scented dish detergent. It's not a bakery or lemonade or spa type lemon scent at all. It's sweet and lemony and clean (but not soapy), and it smells great. After melting for about a half hour, it started taking on a bit of a chemical note that I didn't care for. The scent started dissipating within 2 hours.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Sunset Sands

A sweet floral scent (a little lilac-y, but there are other flowers in there) with a warm ambery note, a fresh watery note, and a smidgen of a Coppertone suntan oil note. I really like this scent! But when melted, it took on an odd slightly stinky metallic note that ruined it for me.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Saturday, March 16, 2019

Kohl's (Sonoma) Wax Melts Reviews - Spring 2019

Kohl's (Sonoma) Wax Melts Reviews - Spring 2019

Kohl's (Sonoma) Wax Melts - Spring 2019
Click to enlarge

Video


This text review includes 3 additional scents that were not available when I did the video review: Citrus Coast, Mahogany Coconut, and White Lavender. All but 5 of the Kohl's (Sonoma) Spring 2019 wax melts are scents that came out last year (January 2018).



Citrus Coast

Notes: Mandarin, salt water and hibiscus

This is a new scent. It's a savory grapefruit scent, like grapefruit with some herbs mixed in. It's not sweet at all. Looking at the notes, mandarin is orange and I don't smell orange at all. And hibiscus is a floral, which I also don't detect at all. I'm not a fan of this one as I prefer citrus scents that have at least a bit of sweetness.

Throw: Medium, 3.25 out of 5



Coconut Mahogany

Notes: Coconut, sea salt and mahogany

This is a new scent, and it's true to its name, and it smells great! On cold sniff it's a rich, sweet, warm cologne scent with a mahogany note (which has a tobacco, slightly incensey, slightly patchouli note with a smidgen of a woodsy note). But I also smell a hint of sweet coconut with a subtle salty note. But melted, it smells like a super sweet coconut candy, without any woodsy notes, and maybe just a smidgen of the cologne note. I really like this scent!

Throw: Medium, 3.25 out of 5



Coconut Mojito

Notes: Pomegranate, coconut milk and sweet lemon

A super sweet (almost nauseatingly so) coconut scent with a slightly salty lime note and maybe another fruit. It's much sweeter than other similar scents, but it smells fantastic. Looking at the scent notes, the tanginess is the lemon, although I can't actually pick that note out on its own. I don't know if this is the same Coconut Mojito scent that came out last year (https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2018/01/kohls-sonoma-scented-wax-melts-reviews-spring-2018.html). The notes for that scent were coconut, strawberries and mint, but I described the scent the same way, although I recall that I didn't care for the scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.75 out of 5



Limoncello Frosting

Notes: Lemon zest, buttercream and whipped vanilla

This is a new scent. It's a standard lemon bakery scent that smells like a lot of other lemon bakery scents out there. But that doesn't mean it's not fantastic, because it is! Although like most similar scent, it's not an authentic scent, more like lemony Fruit Loops cereal! It's very similar to (if not the same as) the beloved Tuscany Lemon Sugar Cookie scent. And it's slightly more lemony and slightly less sweet than ScentSationals Iced Lemon Sugar Cookies (I like the Sonoma scent more).

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Mango Margarita

Notes: Mango nectar, blood orange and fresh lime juice

This scent returned from last year (https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2018/01/kohls-sonoma-scented-wax-melts-reviews-spring-2018.html), although I think it was also available a year or two before that. I smell mostly grapefruit, with an orange note and possibly a hint of zesty lemon. It's a nice fresh thirst-quenching summer scent.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Tropical Rainforest

Notes: Bamboo, citrus zest and oakmoss

This scent returned from last year (https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2018/01/kohls-sonoma-scented-wax-melts-reviews-spring-2018.html). It's a very nice fresh, watery men's cologne scent with maybe a hint of wood and a smidgen of coconut. Looking at the notes, I don't smell citrus at all.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Tropical Shores

Notes: Sparkling citrus, island coconut and vanilla sugarcane

I think this is a new scent. It smells like a combination of salty lemon and coconut, but it's not a foodie scent because it also has a bit of a perfumey note (although it's not a perfumey scent, and it's not even very sweet). There may be a hint of wood way in the background. I like it!

Throw: Strong, 3.75 out of 5



White Lavender

Notes: Spring lavender, white woods and water mint

This is a new scent. I smell a hint of lavender and the alcoholic note of men's cologne. But it has only a hint of sweetness, so not nearly sweet enough to be a cologne scent. The lavender has a bit of a waxy note. And there's a smidgen of a garden herb note that gives this a very slight savory note. Looking at the notes, I guess it's the water mint, although this doesn't have a minty note. I don't care for this scent.

Throw: Very faint, 1.5 out of 5



Also returning from last year (January 2018 - https://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2018/01/kohls-sonoma-scented-wax-melts-reviews-spring-2018.html) are Watermelon Sangria, Tahitian Pineapple, and Blue Hawaiian. And maybe a couple of others. I didn't buy them again this year because I didn't care for them.



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Sunday, March 10, 2019

AmbiEscents Wax Melts Reviews - Spring 2019

AmbiEscents Wax Melts Reviews - Spring 2019

AmbiEscents Wax Melts - Spring 2019
Click to enlarge

Video


Disappointly, all of these except 2 are dupes of ScentSationals or Better Homes and Gardens scents (AmbiEscents melts are made by ScentSationals). At $2.99 each, it doesn't make sense to buy them unless you can't find the original scent at your local Walmart (where they cost $2.00).



Aloha Coconut
https://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/store/product/ambiescents-trade-6-pack-aloha-coconut-scented-wax-cubes/5280171?keyword=fragrance-cubes

Notes: Candied coconut flakes, vanilla pound cake, sweet vanilla buttercream icing and sugar strands

This is the same scent as ScentSationals Coconut Vacay (which is similar to Better Homes & Gardens Island Coconut Lime, but with mostly lime and just a hint of coconut, and without the slightly soapy note that Island Coconut Lime has). The scent notes are totally wrong, as this is a coconut scent with a strong lime note, and no vanilla, cake, or buttercream notes. Actually, sniffing them side by side, they "might" be very slightly different. Aloha Coconut seems to be MORE limey than Coconut Vacay (although not as limey and sweet as Mainstays Coconut Lime).

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Boss Lady
https://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/store/product/ambiescents-trade-6-pack-boss-lady-scented-wax-cubes/5280174?keyword=fragrance-cubes

Notes: Sweet orange zest, apple, tonka bean, jasmine, pink berry and coconut milk

This is the same scent as ScentSationals Girlfriend Night.

Throw: Strong, 3.75 out of 5



Confetti Cake

This is the same as AmbiEscents Sugar Cookies, basically just a nice sweet vanilla scent with a buttercream note (a slightly different scent from ScentSationals Vanilla Bean). In fact, my store receipt says "Sugar Cookie"!



Cotton Blossom

Fantastic laundry scent. It's definitely a dupe of another ScentSationals or Better Homes & Gardens scent, because I've smelled it several times before. It smells more like laundry detergent than a powdery fabric softener (or might be a mix of both), but it's also not a harsh detergent scent like Better Homes & Gardens Line Dried Linen.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Cotton Candy
https://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/store/product/ambiescents-trade-6-pack-cotton-candy-scented-wax-cubes/5280176?keyword=ambiescents

Notes: Spun sugar

This is the same scent as ScentSationals Cotton Candy Cloud.

Throw: Medium, 3.25 out of 5



Flower Festival

This is not a floral scent at all. In fact, I think it's the same scent as last year's Better Homes & Gardens Pineapple Melon Freeze, which was a dupe of an older ScentSationals scent called Tropical Fiesta. It's a waxy, slightly sour tropical scent with a cantaloupe note, and maybe a bit of pineapple, but it's not sweet at all. I don't care for it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Hawaiian Honeysuckle
https://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/store/product/ambiescents-trade-6-pack-hawaiian-honeysuckle-scented-wax-cubes/5280173?keyword=fragrance-cubes

Notes: Pineapple, melon, berry, kiwi, honeysuckle, white orchid, soft musk and sheer ozone

This is the same scent as ScentSationals Honeysuckle Pineapple.

Throw: Faint, 2 out of 5



Ocean Waves
https://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/store/product/ambiescents-trade-6-pack-ocean-waves-scented-wax-cubes/5280175?keyword=fragrance-cubes

Notes: Sparkling ozone, sea salt, jasmine, cyclamen, peach and warm, musk-infused woods

This is the same scent as ScentSationals Ocean TidesAmbiEscents Maui Beach (not to be confused with ScentSationals Maui Beach Waves, which is a different scent), and ScentSationals Calypso Sands. It's fantastic!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Ripped Jeans
https://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/store/product/ambiescents-trade-6-pack-ripped-jeans-scented-wax-cubes/5280172?keyword=fragrance-cubes

Notes: Egyptian cotton, freshly laundered denim, citron, white aldehydes, lush greens, translucent musk and warm, ozone-infused woods

This is a laundry scent, but it's different from Cotton Blossom, which is kind of cross between laundry detergent and fabric softener. This scent smells more like musk, gardenia, and a smidgen of rose, with a little bit of a fresh laundry/fabric softener note. Despite the Egyptian cotton note in this scent, it's a different scent from ScentSationals Egyptian Cotton. And despite the florals and musk, it's not a super sweet perfumey scent, because of the laundry note. I haven't smelled this one before, so I don't know if it's a dupe of another scent. Okay, the notes are exactly the same as ScentSationals Laundry Basket, which I no longer have. But I do have AmbiEscents Laundry Basket and I sniffed them side by side and they're totally different scents. But AmbiEscents Laundry Basket and ScentSationals Laundry Basket may be different scents.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Shake It Up
https://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/store/product/ambiescents-trade-6-pack-shake-it-up-scented-wax-cubes/5280170?keyword=fragrance-cubes

Notes: Pink sugar cupcakes, sugared berry icing, fruit nectars and strawberries

This is the same scent as ScentSationals Unicorn Cake.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Sunlit
https://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/store/product/ambiescents-trade-6-pack-sunlit-cream-scented-wax-cubes/5280169?keyword=fragrance-cubes

Notes: Juicy apple, sweet berries, pink jasmine petals and soft woods

This is the same scent as ScentSationals Celebration Time, although the scent notes for Celebration Time are, "A sweet citrus blend accented by soft greens, fresh berries, ginger sparkle with hints of white jasmine, cala lily, white woods and golden amber finished with candied vanilla and toasted sugar". I just sniffed them side by side. It's a warm ambery super sweet perfumey pear nectar scent, and it's fantastic.

Throw: Strong, 3.75 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Saturday, March 9, 2019

Better Homes and Gardens Wax Melts Reviews - Spring 2019

Better Homes and Gardens Wax Melts Reviews - Spring 2019

Better Homes and Gardens Wax Melts - Spring 2019
Click to enlarge

Video


This is a review of Better Home and Gardens Spring 2019 wax melts. I've included links where each scent can be found on the Walmart website, as well as the UPC codes in case you want to do your own search on Brickseek.



Agave White Tea
UPC: 843283106348

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Agave-White-Tea-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/835219222
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-gardens-Bhg-Agave-White-Tea-Wax-Cubes/759567713

Notes: Agave and white tea leaves stir together with fresh top notes of bergamot, waterlily, and lemon. The comfort of sandalwood, vanilla and must lay the foundation

This is a very pleasant and delicate scent that smells like a luxurious milky white tea body cream. I can smell a little bit of the tea, but it's very subtle, and it's not a foodie scent at all. It also has a bit of a floral note, as well as a smidgen of an herbal note. And although it's sweet, it's not overly sweet and definitely not perfumey. I really like this one. It's perfect for a bedroom or baby's room. I adore this scent, and if it were stronger I'd buy a bunch! It should work fine in a small room though. Most people love this scent.

Throw: Mild, 2.75 out of 5



Banana Berry Smoothie
UPC: 843283106355

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-gardens-Bhg-Banana-Berry-Smoothie-Wax-Cubes/465664140

This smells like the name, a sweet combination of banana and berries. I smell strawberry with a slight banana note. It's not an authentic scent, nor is it meant to be. It's a fake banana and berry candy type scent that reminds me of the old BB Bats banana flavored taffy candy. I really like it! Someone said it's "dominated by the berry. That aspect makes up about 60-70% of the blend and the creamy banana is about 30-40%! Definitely a yummy one!"

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Berry Mango Freeze
UPC: 843283106416

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Berry-Mango-Freeze-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/769174193
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-gardens-Bhg-Berry-Man-Fr-Wax-Cubes/144111986

Notes: Sweet strawberry splashed with tropical passion fruit, juicy pineapple, and coconut water. But notes for the candle are: Sweet pomegranate, tart Acai berry, red cassis and wild mango swirl with juicy nectarine and fruited guava over ripe, sugar-sweet passion fruit and fresh kiwi

I smell pineapple... and apple! It's very nice. Someone else described it as, "Almost a dead on dupe for Bath & Body Works Aloha Kiwi Passionfruit. It’s a really nice, watery fruit scent that isn’t too sweet! There’s almost a perfumey aspect in the background as well."

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Blueberry Lime Mojito
UPC: 843283106362

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Blueberry-Lime-Mojito-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/387663431
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-gardens-Bhg-Blueberry-Lime-Mojito-Wax-Cubes/942350752

Notes: Blueberry and lime with a heart of verbena, peach, and nuances of rum. A touch of mint adds dimension while sugar crystals and benzoin are the perfect finishing touch

This is very similar to the old ScentSationals Blackberry Lemonade scent, but that scent was more lemony and not as sweet, and didn't have as much of a berry note. But it was one of my favorites. This is a fruity scent (I'm not sure if it's blueberry per se) with a lime note and a smidgen of soapy lemongrass. It's very nice. Looking at the notes, this is not an "effervescent" or fizzy scent. And verbena might be the hint of lemongrass. I don't detect mint at all. Someone said, "I smell blueberry and lime, no mint. Not the same blueberry as Better Homes & Gardens Blueberry Bundt Cake, thank goodness." Someone else said, "Mainly a berry based carbonated scent to my nose, the lime also comes in and adds a fresh zing to the blend! There’s the same fizzy drink note in this one as Better Homes & Gardens Ginger Berry Margarita from last year! Really makes the scent realistic!"

Throw: Medium, 3.25 out of 5



By The Pool
UPC: 843283106331

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-By-the-Pool-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/642368698
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-gardens-Bhg-At-The-Pool-Wax-Cubes/540757722

Notes: Notes of fresh marine florals drift over ozonic greenery infused with sweet tropical fruit nectars and the creamy essence of coconut sunscreen

I like this one! It's coconut with a hint of fruit that I couldn't put my finger on, until I realized it's melon, either honeydew or cantaloupe but I think it's more cantaloupe although it's very sweet, like cantaloupe candy. It's not the same scent as the old ScentSationals Calypso Sands though, as that was honeydew with a sweet floral and maybe a smidgen of coconut. I think there's also a tiny bit of a cologney note, a smidgen of light beach wood to temper the sweetness a little, and possibly a barely detectable hint of chlorine (unless I "think" it should be there because of the scent name). This is similar to Better Homes & Gardens Maui Beach Waves but much sweeter, and with the fruity candy note. It's sweeter when melted than it is on cold sniff. I believe this is the "Splash" side of the old Better Homes & Gardens By The Pool duo from 2016. The scent lasted all day, at least 8 hours. Someone said it's a "really soft scent, almost like a very light cologne citrus watery blend mixed with a beachy coconut!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Chilled Raspberry Lemonade
UPC: 843283106461

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Raspberry-Lemonade-Stand-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/756928935
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-gardens-Bhg-Raspberry-Lemonade-Wax-Cubes/825101655

Notes: Raspberry, blackberry, peach, and pomegranate infused with a refreshing combination of lemon, vanilla, verbena, and sugar crystals

Fantastic scent that smells like lemonade, with a faint raspberry note. I thought it would be the same as Better Homes & Gardens Chilled Cherry Limeade from 2017, but it's a different scent.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5



Clear Blue Oasis
UPC: 843283106379

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Clear-Blue-Oasis-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/779139568
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-gardens-Bhg-Clear-Blue-Oasis-Wax-Cubes/848129754

Notes: Fresh bergamot, white amber ozone and a mirage of desert sand freshen palm tree greens and aquatic waters over hints of cedarwood and moss

A nice fresh men's body wash scent with a strong salty lemon note (which might be the palm). It's sweet but not overly sweet. I have a lot of men's cologne/body wash scents and they usually all smell pretty much the same, but this one is different and I love it. Someone in our group said, "It’s a really fresh/aquatic fragrance with pops of a leafy greenery essence. There is a smidgen of a cologney undertone to it, but it’s not overkill run you out the house defcon 5 I need oxygen cologney. It’s really good!!"

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Coconut Cabana Linen
UPC: 843283106386

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-gardens-Bhg-Coconut-Cabana-Linen-Wax-Cubes/273067754

This smells almost exactly like the new ScentSationals Sun Drenched Linen scent, but ScentSationals doesn't put out the same scents at Walmart in the same season. I think Sun Drenched Linen has a smidgen of a cologney note (barely noticeable) and Coconut Cabana Linen has a smidgen of a coconut note. But I think they start with the same base scent, which is a slightly bitter laundry type scent that has a little bit of a chemical note when melted. I don't care for this scent, but I like it more than the Sun Drenched Linen scent. It looks like I'm the only one who thinks they smell the same. Someone said, "Sun-Drenched Linen smells like a fresh men’s cologne and Coconut Cabana Linen is brighter with a tropical note." Someone else said, "I don't think they smell anything alike. Coconut Cabana Linen has a strong coconut to it." Someone said with this scent, "The linen is stronger and the coconut is not sweet. It’s an elegant scent." Someone else said, "I love Coconut Cabana Linen but there are sometimes where I feel like it smells like a public bathroom cleaner." Someone else said, "It’s a nice laundry just a very subtle hint of coconut".

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Daffodils & Daisies
UPC: 843283106393

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-gardens-Bhg-Daffodils-And-Daisies-Wax-Cubes/563274669
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Daffodils-Daisies-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/439219259

Notes: Fresh, blooming daffodils nod in a warm Spring breeze spiked with luminous green daisy and soft magnolia fused with sunlit freesia, breezy orange blossom and musk

I adore this scent! I smell orange blossom/neroli and a sweet, rich floral that I can't place, like honeysuckle or magnolia. There's something else in there that gives it a warm sweetness, like a honey note. Looking at the notes, it's probably the musk, and this scent is a little perfumey but it's really more of an authentic floral. It's different from other floral scents I've smelled. It doesn't smell like daffodils or daisies though, since neither of those flowers actually have a floral scent! Someone said, "Can’t place the flowers but very authentic. Does not smell like honeysuckle like Better Homes and Gardens Bluebells and Buttercups does."

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Going Totally Tropical
UPC: 843283106409

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Going-Totally-Tropical-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/121126114
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-gardens-Bhg-Going-Totally-Tropic-Wax-Cubes/778544608

Notes: A soft island breeze swirls above ripe tropical guava, candied passion fruit and bright, juicy pineapple lifted by wild greens and soft amber musk

A nice sweet tropical fruit scent. I think I smell guava and a hint of pineapple. It has a candy like note. I can usually take or leave tropical scents, but I love this one! Looking at the notes, yes, I do detect a very slight perfumey note.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Melon Ball Punch
UPC: 843283106423

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Melon-Ball-Punch-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/742369721
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-gardens-Bhg-Melon-Ball-Punch-Wax-Cubes/874068648

Notes: Watermelon, honeydew, and cantaloupe mixed with sugar water, vanilla, and peach, with citrus accords of mandarin, orange, and lemon to add sparkle.

This just smells like cantaloupe, with maybe a hint of cucumber. It's only slightly sweet, and a little bland. I'm not a fan of cantaloupe scents. I think this would smell better if it were sweeter. Someone said this smells very authentic, like melon on a plate.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Mojave Sunset Sands
UPC: 843283106430

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Mojave-Sunset-Sands-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/575519890
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-gardens-Bhg-Mojave-Sunset-Sands-Wax-Cubes/424723024

Notes: Notes of deep amber floralcy reflecting elements of oriental sandalwood, smooth cedar, and pure vanilla touched by tropical mango, sugared nectarine, and sweet peach

This smells like men's cologne with another note I can't figure out, like a tropical wood (but not palm, as that has a nutty coconut note that this scent does not have). I do smell a hint of wood and possibly a barely detectable smidgen of pineapple. That other note is a little sour, but not in a bad way. Maybe that note is lemon? It's a dupe of a scent I smelled a few years ago, but I don't remember which one. This is just an okay scent for me. Looking at the notes, the fruits are mango, nectarine, and peach! Someone said, "I think there’s a little fruit in there, but it’s a clean sunshiney scent, very gender neutral." Someone else said, "This one is super sweet & perfumey! Also borderline floral.. it really doesn’t smell like what you’d expect after reading the name! But there’s also a strong lemon in the blend too, and I also want to say I’m picking up on coconut? This one is a really complex blend!" Someone else said, "It's kind of musky like cedar but in a summery way."

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Pink Flamingo Flower
UPC: 843283106447

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Pink-Flamingo-Flower-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/294581530
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-gardens-Bhg-Pink-Flamingo-Flowers-Wax-Cubes/469420954

Notes: Fruity and floral fragrance blending pink lemon, waterlily, and mandarin with peony, freesia, and jasmine. A base of musk, white woods, and vanilla evokes feelings of calm and relaxation.

A nice pleasant slightly sweet candy like floral with a slightly salty note (I'm finding that note in a lot of the new scents) that gives it a richness, a smidgen of lemon, and another fruity note like strawberry or guava, but the fruity note is like a fruity candy note. And there's a tiny bit of warmth. Melted, I also detect a hint of an oriental spice note that gives this scent a very slight perfumey note.

Throw: Medium, 3.25 out of 5



Pomelo Nectar Prosecco
UPC: 843283106454

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-gardens-Bhg-Pomelo-Nectar-Wax-Cubes/722998156

Pomelo is a grapefruit type scent, and prosecco is a sparkling white wine. Thankfully this scent doesn't smell like wine, because scents that try to smell like alcoholic beverages (unless they're the creamy tropical type) often end up with a sour fermentation note. This scent might have that way in the background, but if so, it's barely detectable. And there are no "sparkling" or fizzy notes. I don't smell grapefruit either. It's a super sweet candy like scent that smells more like rich apricot nectar, although it's not a peachy scent at all. Some of that sweetness may be a floral, like gardenia or sweet pea. I didn't think I would like this one based on the name, but I love it! Melted, it's extremely sweet, with slightly more of a floral note and less of the fruity note, almost like straight syrupy sugar mixed with a floral and a hint of apricot nectar. Although it's extremely sweet, it doesn't have that rich, buttery, slightly nauseating sweetness like ScentSationals Sugar High (it's not even really a foodie scent). It's also one of those scents that's not overly strong, but the scent takes over the entire house. Someone described it as "zingy and crisp".

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Sage Leaf Aloe
UPC: 843283106478

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Sage-Leaf-Aloe-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/979895945
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-gardens-Bhg-Sage-Leaf-Aloe-Wax-Cubes/569725293

Notes: Desert sage, green aloe leaf, and hints of cactus flower sparkling with a burst of bergamot and orange infused with fresh melon and pear

An interesting super salty savory scent with a lemon note and a hint of an herbal note. It might also have a smidgen of bergamot that gives it a barely noticeable fresh cologne note way in the background. It's just barely sweet. I like it.  It's very similar to the new ScentSationals Cactus Garden. They're both extremely salty, and savory with a slight lemony note. I think Cactus Garden is slightly more lemony, while Sage Leaf Aloe has a tinge more of an herbal note. I like them both, but I like Cactus Garden a little more. A couple of people said this smells like Yankee Pink Sands, which is a sweet almost perfumey scent. Pink Sands also has a coconut note, and come to think of it, I think this scent also has a smidgen of coconut way in the background.

Throw: Medium, 3.25 out of 5



Shangri La
UPC: 843283106522

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Shangri-La-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/989336792
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-gardens-Bhg-Sangria-Wax-Cubes/820102254

Notes: An alluring fusion of Turkish rose, Sambac jasmine, and African violets lifted with wild bergamot and ginger spiced mandarin wrapped in Moroccan amber, oriental musk and a touch of Tahitian vanilla

I adore this scent! It's a soapy floral with a hint of saltiness (I'm noticing that salty note in a lot of the new scents, and I like it; it adds body and richness to the scent), although that saltiness might actually be bergamot (which gives scents a cologne note, but I don't smell cologne notes in this scent). The floral is not really authentic, but it's also not perfumey and it's not an overly sweet scent. It smells like a pleasant floral soap. The floral note might be rose or jasmine. Looking at the notes, there's the rose, jasmine and bergamot. I don't smell ginger or mandarin (orange) at all. Someone said it smells a lot like Dove soap.

Throw: Medium, 3.25 out of 5



Sparkling Iced Tea
UPC: 843283106485

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-gardens-Bhg-Sparkling-Citrus-Tea-Wax-Cubes/586177649

This smells very similar to the old ScentSationals Blackberry Lemonade, but I don't think it's exactly the same. It has that same main note of slightly salty, slightly soapy lemon. But I think I do detect a very subtle tea note in this scent. Someone said it's the "exact scent of powdered lemon flavored iced tea mix". Someone else said, "Super distinct herbal tea notes mixed with lemon!"

Throw: Medium, 3.25 out of 5



Strawberry Pretzel Bars
UPC: 843283106492

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Strawberry-Pretzel-Bars-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/801451948
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-gardens-Bhg-Strawberry-Pretzel-Bars-Wax-Cubes/396116169

Notes: Fresh sliced summer strawberries stirred with cane sugar and sweet vanilla infused whipped cream atop a rich butter and salted pretzel crust

It's a super rich, sweet creamy strawberry scent with a little bit of saltiness. I don't smell pretzels per se, like no bready note, but the saltiness gives it an extra richness that makes this scent so fantastic. A couple of people said this smells a lot like Better Homes & Gardens Wild Berry Cheesecake. Someone said it smells like a "syrupy dessert topping strawberry, not a fake scent, very yummy!" Someone else said, "You get the juicy base strawberry note but a hint of salty pretzel also comes in. Love the sweet & savory combo!"

Throw: Medium, 3.25 out of 5



Sunlit Frasier Fir
UPC: 843283106508

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Sunlit-Frasier-Fir-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/211918392
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-gardens-Bhg-Sunlit-Fraiser-Fir-Wax-Cubes/792576976

Notes: Fresh citrus, aromatic evergreen, and dazzling white fir combined with intriguing notes of gently smoked balsam, precious woods, and a dash of festive spice

It's a pine scent. It's got a little bit of a "harsh" pine note (rather than a smoky woodsy spruce type scent), and I don't detect any other notes or sweetness. It's a nice pine scent though, and perfect for mixing with other scents like orange, lemon, fruit, vanilla, lavender, cologne, etc. Someone said it smells like "every other Christmas tree scent. Really crisp & woodsy, no sweetness."

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Tropical Island Dream
UPC: 843283106515

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-Gardens-2-5-oz-Tropical-Island-Dream-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/999298867
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Better-Homes-and-Gardens-Scented-Wax-Cubes-Tropical-Island-Dream/889242536

Notes: Citrus lemon and grapefruit shimmering with red currant and touches of peach wrapped in warm jasmine and fresh peony over breezy musk and amber.

A very sour scent with a lemon note that has a little bit of a gasoline vibe. But it actually isn't quite that awful. It's not the same kind of sour as the new ScentSationals Flamingo scent, which is more of a pungent, slightly "warm" fruity scent and smells fantastic. This scent is harsher and not fruity. It might be a dupe of ScentSationals Isla Bonita from 2016, but I don't have that scent anymore to compare.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

ScentSationals Wax Melts Reviews - Spring 2019

ScentSationals Wax Melts Reviews - Spring 2019

ScentSationals Wax Melts - Spring 2019
Click to enlarge

Video


This is a review of ScentSationals Spring 2019 wax melts. These can also be found on the ScentSationals website.



Agave Lime

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ScentSationals-2-5-oz-Agave-Lime-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/186151310
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Scent-Sationals-Scts-Agave-Lime-Fragrance-Cubes/603539817

Notes: Agave and lime, accented by cardamom and sage. A heart of freesia, cyclamen, and verbena blossom is comforted by a lush foundation of vanilla, sandalwood, and musk.

This smells like rich men's cologne with sweet and salty lemon notes. It's fantastic, and the scent lasted all day. Agave smells like a bland watery cucumber (which is what ScentSationals Blue Agave smells like, and thankfully this scent is nothing like that).

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Apples! Apples! Apples!

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ScentSationals-2-5-oz-Apples-Apples-Apples-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/971609503
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Scent-Sationals-Scts-Apples-Apples-Apples-Fragrance-Cube/303744407

Notes: Just-picked Macintosh apple blended with fruity orchard Empire, sweet Jonagold and a touch of tart Granny-Smith apples.

It's just a plain authentic apple scent. It's similar to Better Homes & Gardens Fresh Orchard Apples, but sniffing them side by side, Fresh Orchard Apples is not as authentic and has a tiny bit of a biting note. This scent is more full bodied and much more realistic, and smells very nice. But it's still just an apple scent. It's not the same as last year's ScentSationals Country Living, which was fantastic due to a slight note of pine.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Beach Please

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ScentSationals-2-5-oz-Beach-Please-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/758264551
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Scent-Sationals-Scts-Beach-Please-Fragrance-Cubes/740353329

Notes: Sea kelp and turquoise waves mingled with salty ocean air, sun-warmed sands, and metallic seashells glinting with tropical fruit with notes of melon, guava, pineapple, and passion fruit.

This smells like a rich perfume with hints of watermelon, honeydew, maybe pineapple, and possibly a smidgen of coconut and a little vanilla. It's sweet and fresh and a little fruity, and absolutely fantastic! Someone said this reminds them of ScentSationals Coral Shores from last year, and after sniffing them side by side, I definitely agree they're very similar! First time I melted it, the throw was mild, maybe 2.75 out of 5. Second time it was stronger, Medium, like 3.25 or 3.5 out of 5

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Cactus Garden

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ScentSationals-2-5-oz-Cactus-Garden-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/796868276
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Scent-Sationals-Scts-Cactus-Fragrance-Cubes/645164462

Notes: Sparkling fresh top notes of misted citrus blended with a lush, herbal, fruity aloe accord wrapped in a warm body of wood with amber and spice.

A wonderful salty, savory, zesty scent with no sweetness at all, and with maybe a hint of tart lemon, although it's not a lemon scent. There might be a smidgen of a green or herbal note in the background. I really like this one. It's very similar to the new Better Homes & Gardens Sage Leaf Aloe. They're both extremely salty, and savory with a slight lemony note. I think Cactus Garden is slightly more lemony, while Sage Leaf Aloe has a tinge more of an herbal note. I like them both, but I like Cactus Garden a little more. It's also a little bit like Agave Lime, but that scent is more of a men's cologne scent, so it's sweeter. Someone said it's "treen, watery, fresh with maybe a touch of floral".

Throw: Strong, 3.75 out of 5



Cake Batter Ice Cream

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ScentSationals-2-5-oz-Cake-Batter-Ice-cream-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/461325060
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Scent-Sationals-Scts-Cake-Batter-Ice-Cream-Fragrance-Cub/725159837

Notes: Indulge in this guilt-free, classic cake batter accord enriched with decadent, sweet buttercream while vanilla sugar swirls throughout, creating a simply divine treat!

This smells like super sweet vanilla buttercream frosting on a rich yellow cake with milk or white chocolate ganache in the middle. You might be tempted to take a bite out of the wax! It might be the same scent as an old ScentSationals scent called Chocolate Chip Cookie, although I think this scent has more of a yellow cake note. Someone else said, "This smells just like Bath & Body Works  Boardwalk Vanilla Cone! It’s a very unique vanilla note coming through, like marshmallow. There’s also a really nice element in this one that’s super rich and decadent- like a buttercream frosting! This is a must have, because it might seem like a basic vanilla cake scent, but it’s so much more!" Several other people said they definitely smell chocolate.

Throw: Strong, 3.75 out of 5



Cedar & Lavender

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Scent-Sationals-Scts-Cedarwood-Lavender-Fragrance-Cube/475552155

Notes: Amber mahogany wood spirals verdant greens and elements of citrus-splashed lavender over nuances of oriental amber, marine-spiked moss and white cedar

A fantastic scent that smells like rich men's cologne, and do smell a hint of lavender. Not sure about the cedar, although there may be a smidgen of a woodsy note in the background. I'm also detecting a hint of coconut for some reason. After melting for a few hours, the cologne note started dissipating and I smell the lavender a little more. It smells a little bit like Scentsy Lavender Vanilla and Yankee Lavender Vanilla (both of which might be dupes for Bath & Body Works Lavender Vanilla). I adore this scent! Interestingly, it got stronger after almost 2 hours. At first the throw was more of a medium, like 3.25 out of 5. Then fairly strong, around 3.5 out of 5. And after 8 hours it's quite strong, like 3.75 out of 5.

Throw: Strong, 3.75 out of 5



Cotton Candy Cloud

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Scent-Sationals-Scts-Cotton-Candy-Cloud-Fragrance-Cubes/259223502

Notes: The ultimate sweet spun sugar confection! A blend of fresh peach nectar with subtle undertones of shredded coconut and pink lady apple topped with a hint of lemon and wrapped in chiffon musk.

This is not a cotton candy scent, but it still smells great. It shares many cotton candy notes, such as strawberry (the main note) and lemon, but although it's sweet, it's not sweet "enough" to be true cotton candy. It has a smidgen of a salty sour note (not in a bad way) that ScentSationals Pink Velvet had (although this is nothing like that scent). It's similar to Unicorn Cake, but not the same scent. Unicorn Cake also has an orange note, a more pronounced lemon note, and a bakery note. Someone said, "There is a very light note of cotton candy, but I mostly smell sugared strawberry. It smells good, but it's not authentic cotton candy." Someone else said it smells just like Better Homes & Gardens Sugared Lavender Twist (I think there's maybe a tiny bit of a similarity). And someone else said, "This smells like the 'sugar' in Sugared Lavender Twist. If you like that one, you’ll probably like this one!" And someone else said, "This one pretty much captures what you think of when you hear cotton candy- a generic sweetness, almost like a berry, with a distinct spun sugar vanilla finish. Also, I feel like I’m picking up on a soft floral in the background. Think along the lines of Bath & Body Works Pink Petal Tea Cake." Several other people said it reminds them of the old ScentSationals Violet Sugar.

Throw: Medium, 3.25 out of 5



Crystal Healing

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ScentSationals-2-5-oz-Crystal-Healing-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/287738094
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Scent-Sationals-Scts-Crystal-Healing-Fragrance-Cubes/984488553

Notes: This bright scent revels in the complexities of freshness, illuminated by an aura of sun kissed pomelo, sunny lemon and effervescent orange blended with a fruity floral bouquet of succulent apricot, peony petals, jasmine draped in sweet berry notes, flowing to an unexpected backdrop of sheer amber, clean musk, and a subtle hint of vanilla woods.

I can't figure out the notes for this one, but it smells great. I smell a light, authentic floral like lily (not rose, jasmine, honeysuckle, or any overly sweet florals), with a hint of lemon I think, and maybe a hint of bergamot (which gives it a tiny bit of a cologne note, although it's not a cologne scent at all). Perhaps also a smidgen of a light wood note, and even a barely detectable smidgen of powdery cinnamon way in the background that most people wouldn't notice. It smells like an authentic flower scent, not overly sweet, not perfumey, not overbearing, but just right. It's kind of similar to the Magnolia scent, but a little sweeter and with less of the lemon note. Someone said it smells like Lolita Lempicka perfume, which has some anise, violet, and vanilla. There may be a barely detectable smidgen of anise (a licorice type scent) way in the background, but I don't think most people would notice it. Someone else said, "Very deep almost powdery floral mixed with a citrusy fresh vibe." Looking at the notes, I don't smell fruity notes, especially orange.

Throw: Strong, 3.75 out of 5



Dapper

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ScentSationals-2-5-oz-Dapper-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/647238158
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Scent-Sationals-Scts-Dapper-Fragrance-Cubes/256072193

Notes: Aquatic sea kelp and brilliant marine mosses that reveal black peppered basil and earthy sage embraced by white cedar, cardamom, grated nutmeg, and salted musk with amber.

I thought this was the same scent as ScentSationals Fusion Bourbon, but sniffing them side by side, they're similar but not the same. This is a men's cologne scent with a little bit of a smoky cedar note. It's very nice, and the scent lasted for at least 8 hours.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Flamingo

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ScentSationals-2-5-oz-Flamingo-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/356009074
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Scent-Sationals-Scts-Flamingo-Fragrance-Cubes/732968460

Notes: Walmart website: Fruity floral fragrance blending pink lemon, waterlily and mandarin with peony, freesia, and jasmine, and a base of musk, white woods, and vanilla.
Notes: ScentSationals website: Pikake, hibiscus and pineapple flower sparkle above notes of pink mango, ripe guava and Polynesian papaya sweetened with coconut blossom and emerald palm (I think this is the correct one based on how it smells.)

This is a sour tropical fruit scent with a zesty sour note. It's been used for many other tropical scents, and with good reason, because it smells great! The notes that some people have said they detect in this scent include grapefruit, pineapple, melon, and peach. I don't really detect any of those, although maybe a hint of the grapefruit. It smells to me like a combination of satsuma (a small orange/ mandarin type citrus fruit with a pungent, sour, fruity lemon note) and a tropical fruit like small yellow guava (which can have a bit of a pungent bay leaf type note, unlike pink guavas which are sweeter). I got it! It's a dupe of ScentSationals Mango Luau (from 2017), Better Homes & Gardens Wild Island Fruit (from 2014 I think), AmbiEscents Passion Fruit Love, and AmbiEscents Brazilian Sunset. The notes for ScentSationals Mango Luau were "papaya sweetened with sugar, mango, guava and tropical passionfruit with hints of vanilla", although I'm not sure how accurate that is, since this scent is not sweet. I love it though! Someone said it reminds them of ScentSationals Himalayan Pink Salt with more grapefruit (but I don't think it smells like that at all).

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Flower Shop

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ScentSationals-2-5-oz-Flower-Shop-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/604597666
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Scent-Sationals-Scts-Flower-Shop-Fragrance-Cubes/693441780

Notes: A bouquet of lilac, hyacinth, and baby's breath revels emerald carnation, rock rose, and hints of freesia wrapped in a blooming lily freshness

This smells like authentic spring flowers. It's not perfumey or soapy, and it's not even all that sweet. It really smells like I have a vase of lilies, lilacs and hyacinths on the table. Fantastic! The label shows tulips, but tulips don't have a scent! Someone else said, "Lilac first, very authentic florals."

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Inner Zen

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ScentSationals-2-5-oz-Inner-Zen-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/760074467
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Scent-Sationals-Scts-Inner-Zen-Fragrance-Cubes/524238319

Notes: Vibrant garden mint and crushed eucalyptus embraced by acquatic spearmint and frosted rosemary accents

I think this is the same scent as last year's Better Homes & Gardens Aromatherapy Rosemary & Spearmint. This is pure spearmint. It's not a chewing gum or  sweet candy spearmint (although someone said it smells like Wrigley's spearmint gum), but more like fresh spearmint from the garden, although it is a LITTLE sweet. It does have a bit of a toothpaste note, but again, not as sweet. I don't smell eucalyptus at all (which would have a bit of a pine note). If you like spearmint scents, you will adore this one! I'm not a fan of spearmint, and even I like it. It's also a good mixer... combine it with lemon and/or lavender to make a nice spa scent, or with a fresh air, laundry, cologne, or vanilla scent. It seems like everyone who has tried this scent loves it!

Throw: Strong, 3.75 out of 5



Jiggle Wiggle Strawberry

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Scent-Sationals-Scts-Jiggle-Wiggle-Strawberry-Fragrance/831473008

Notes: Home-made strawberry jam topped with bright notes of lemon peel and dusted with raw sugar cane, supported by crystallized vanilla swirls.

On cold sniff this smells just like strawberry Jell-O, or more specifically, the powder used to make Jell-O. It might have a little bit of raspberry in it as well. It's not an authentic strawberry scent, nor is it meant to be. It's more of a sweet strawberry candy scent. When melted, however, that slightly tart note that I thought might be raspberry became more pronounced, and turned into more of a chemical note that I don't care for. It's still a nice scent, but I liked it better on cold sniff. A couple of other people agreed about the chemical note.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Magnolia

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ScentSationals-2-5-oz-Magnolia-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/433141090
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Scent-Sationals-Scts-Magnolia-Fragrance-Cubes/383049410

Notes: A bouquet of rose, jasmine, and cherry blossom are settled into the heart of the fragrance. The base is comprised of lush leafy greens with soft undertones of apple peel brightened by lemongrass and grounded by crisp musk.

An authentic floral scent that smells a little bit like the Crystal Healing scent, but it's a little less sweet, a little more rich, slightly more lemony, and with a slightly salty note. It's not a lemony scent though, but I think the hint of lemon is there because it makes the floral note smell more authentic (I think magnolia flowers do have a hint of a lemon). It has a bit of a soapy powdery rose note, but it's not perfumey at all. It's a completely different floral from the Flower Shop scent (which is more lilac/hyacinth, and doesn't have the salty and lemony notes). Fantastic scent. Someone said, "I smell a bit of rose, but good rose, not soapy old lady rose." Someone else said they smell powdery rose and lemon.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Pacific Coast Highway

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ScentSationals-2-5-oz-Pacific-Coast-Highway-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/539796343
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Scent-Sationals-Scts-Pacific-Coast-Highway-Fragrance-Cub/137296061

The notes on both the Walmart and ScentSationals website are wrong; they're the notes for Better Homes & Gardens Smoky Gray Mist (Softly smoked woods surrounded by the emerald freshness of crystal marines, shimmering ozone, and cool citrus fruit splashed over dewy cyclamen and aromatic herbs touched by amber)

I smell pineapple, strawberry and maybe a little orange, along with a hint of a fresh air note. It's
a very pleasant scent. Someone said it's a coconutty beachy scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Peace & Love

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ScentSationals-2-5-oz-Peace-Love-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/234784308

Notes: Sweet greens and tropical pineapple spun with crushed lavender petals and sugared berries.

This smells like a garden herb with a little bit of a lemony note (but it's not a lemongrass or spa type scent at all). It's a very "natural" scent, and it's savory rather than sweet. It has a bit of a sour and slightly salty note. I'm not a fan of this one, but I think it would make a good mixer for sweet floral scents, to tone them down and give them a more natural, authentic feel. Someone said it smells like a sweet jasmine type flower, several people said it smells like bubble gum, and a couple of people said it's "too sweet". Someone else said mostly sweet with a little citrus and a strange minty herbal note. Maybe my sniffer is off or I got a bad batch, because I don't smell ANY sweetness, flowers or fruity notes in this scent, despite the fact that lavender and sugared berries are in the notes. Nope, it's just me! I had a friend sniff it, and he said it smells "kind of like sweet fruit"!

Throw: Medium, 3.25 out of 5



Strawberry Orange

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Scent-Sationals-Scts-Strawberry-Orange-Fragrance-Cubes/185314149

Notes: Zesty citrus orange spun with sweet hints of fresh meadow strawberry swirled with creamy undertones of smooth vanilla bean.

This smells like super sweet strawberry and orange hard candy. What else can I say? It's incredible and I adore this scent! Someone said this is tart and reminds her of Better Homes & Gardens Pink Sugar Berry (I do get a smidgen of tartness, probably from the orange, although it may also have a hint of raspberry, and the similarity to Pink Sugar Berry might just be the strawberry note).

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Sugar High

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ScentSationals-2-5-oz-Sugar-High-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/195961407
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Scent-Sationals-Scts-Sugar-High-Fragrance-Cubes/838653745

Notes: Tantalizing notes of blueberry, sweet raspberry, gleaming acai berry, and a smooth blend of cream and pure vanilla sugar.

On cold sniff it smells like super sweet burnt sugar with a little bit of maple syrup and a hint of caramel and possibly a smidgen of apple (but it's not a "caramel apple" scent). Looking at the notes, no apple. But raspberry, yes a little. I don't smell blueberry though. However, there's something about this scent that does remind me of last year's Better Homes & Gardens Blueberry Bundt Cake (and maybe also Better Homes & Gardens Jamaican Rum Gelato), both with that almost nauseatingly sweet buttery richness. Someone said it smells like a scent called Circus Concessions that's available in vendor wax (description: cotton candy, caramelized apples and hints of funnel cakes). Someone said, "This is pungent and has some tartness to it. It reminds me a bit of Better Homes & Gardens Pink Sugar Berry which I don’t care for, but even more tart." (I personally don't get tartness from this one). Someone else said, "If high fructose corn syrup had a scent, this would be it!" I really like this scent, but from what others are saying, it's a bit too rich and sweet for some people. You could temper some of that sweet richness by mixing in a cube of plain vanilla or apple, or turn it into a completely different scent by mixing it with lemon, orange, or even a lavender that might be too medicinal and needs some sweetness. Mix into pretty much any scent that needs more sugar!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Sun Drenched Linen

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Scent-Sationals-Scts-Sun-Drenched-Linen-Fragrance-Cubes/945376750

Notes: A refreshing blend of coconut, linen, cashmere and sparkling aldehydes is accented by
salty accords in this fruity, clean fragrance experience. Sandalwood, musk and amber creates a warming sensation.

On cold sniff this smells like a sweet harsh laundry scent. When melted, it takes on a tiny bit of a burnt vinyl chemical note that I don't like.  Someone said this smells just like fresh clean laundry though, and someone else said it's a laundry scent with a touch of fresh, summery cologne. This smells almost exactly like the new Better Homes & Gardens Coconut Cabana Linen scent, but ScentSationals doesn't put out the same scents at Walmart in the same season. I think Sun Drenched Linen has a smidgen of a cologney note (barely noticeable) and Coconut Cabana Linen has a smidgen of a coconut note. But I think they start with the same base scent. It looks like I'm the only one who thinks they smell the same. Someone said, "Sun-Drenched Linen smells like a fresh men’s cologne and Coconut Cabana Linen is brighter with a tropical note." Someone else said, "I don't think they smell anything alike. Coconut Cabana Linen has a strong coconut to it."

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



This Is Us

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ScentSationals-2-5-oz-This-is-Us-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/805025302
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Scent-Sationals-Scts-This-Is-Us-Fragrance-Cubes/603768323

Notes: Rich pumpkin puree with bright nuances of golden apples, red berries, juicy mandarin, and warming nuances of cider spices, cinnamon sticks, and musk

This is a fall scent, so I'm not sure why it's coming out in the spring! It's an apple scent with a sour note, like old apples that have fallen on the ground at the end of the season, and mixed with a little dirt. Although that description sounds awful, it's actually really nice, and very authentic. There may be a barely detectable smidgen of spice like cinnamon, but it's not really an apple cider scent as it's not overly sweet. Someone else said it's a "dirt scent patchouli" (hmm, I wonder if this does have patchouli; I don't smell that, but if it does have patchouli in it, maybe that's why I like it so much!). Looking at the notes, no patchouli, but I do see pumpkin which I don't smell at all (no nutmeg notes). I don't smell mandarin (orange) or musk either.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Unicorn Cake

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ScentSationals-2-5-oz-Unicorn-Cake-Scented-Wax-Melts-4-Pack/213822501
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Scent-Sationals-Scts-Unicorn-Cake-Fragrance-Cubes/834424926

Notes: Pink sugar cake drizzled with sugared berry icing infused with fruit nectars and the sweet essence of ripe strawberries

This is a fantastic scent that smells like strawberry, raspberry, orange, and lemon, all mixed with a little bit of a yellow cake note. It's like Pink Sugar plus cake minus any perfumey notes, but with the addition of orange that makes it smells a little like Better Homes & Gardens Orange Buttercream Cupcake (which is why people have said this smells like Fruit Loops cereal), and lemon that makes it smell a little like Better Homes and Gardens Iced Lemon Pound Cake). It's sweet but not sickeningly sweet, and it has just a smidgen of tartness, probably from the lemon. It smells like a much much sweeter, fruitier version of ScentSationals Pink Velvet from 2016. It's also similar to (but not the same as) Cotton Candy Cloud (but with more orange and lemon, plus the bakery (a bit of a yellow cake) note that Cotton Candy Cloud does not have). Someone said it's a white cake with lemon undertones, as well as a nutty undertone with coconut, and when melted, the lemon note disappears. Someone else said, "This one is suuuper similar to Better Homes & Gardens Fresh Pulled Taffy. It’s almost a lemon citrusy sugary sweet scent! Reminds me of those Lemon Girl Scout cookies!!" Someone else said it has a "weird tangy cake note...like sour cake", and I kind of agree with that! Someone else said it "smells like a yummy sweet blueberry cake that I’d want to eat." I knew it smelled like something I've smelled before, but when she said blueberry, it hit me. It's a dupe of (or very similar to) an older blueberry bakery type scent, not Better Homes & Gardens Blueberry Bundt Cake, but blueberry pancakes or cupcakes or something like that, from 2013 or 2014. I don't have any of those scents anymore to compare, but now that I know it's blueberry, I can't unsmell the blueberry. So I actually like this scent more now! I still do smell the other notes too though, like raspberry, orange, lemon, and the yellow cake note.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.