Thursday, November 16, 2017

Big Lots Rustic Cottage Wax Melts Reviews - Winter 2017

Big Lots Rustic Cottage Wax Melts Reviews - Winter 2017

Big Lots Rustic Cottage Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


This is the first hard wax that I've found at Big Lots. Living Colors brand wax is always soft and messy, so these scents might not be the Living Colors brand. I suspect that they might have been made by ScentSationals, because the scents are dupes of older ScentSationals wax melt scents.

Enchanted Balsam
A spruce scent with a slightly smoky note and just a little bit of that biting pine note. On cold sniff it smells like every other pine scent out there, but when melted, it had a little bit of an electrical burning note. In fact, my roommate and I were looking for the source when we realized it was this scent.
Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5

Festive Cinnamon
A straight cinnamon scent, like Red Hot cinnamon candies, but also has a little bit of a Cinnabon cinnamon roll note.
Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5

Golden Butterscotch
A fake butterscotch scent, but not really in a bad way. It's a dupe of an old discontinued ScentSational or Better Homes & Gardens scent, but I don't remember the name. It's not Better Homes & Gardens Butterscotch Maple Cream, as that scent is sweeter than this one, and with the hint of maple. Does anyone know what scent this is a dupe of?
Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5

Peppermint Bark
This is a fantastic chocolate peppermint scent. It smells similar to the old discontinued Better Homes & Gardens Chocolate Peppermint Truffle scent. Now that it's melting, I think it might indeed be the same scent! Now I have to wonder if ScentSationals (which makes Better Homes & Gardens melts) made these melts for Big Lots.
Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail. And group members get a 15% discount for Hanna's orders. We also have contests where companies like Hanna's offer prizes and additional discounts.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

Candle Warmers Wax Melts Reviews

Candle Warmers Wax Melts Reviews

Candle Warmers Wax Melts
Click to enlarge
Video:


I bought these Candle Warmers Etc. scented wax melts from the At Home store. The wax is very hard and was stuck to the inside of the package, so it was extremely difficult and frustrating to get the wax out without breaking the flimsy plastic. Since the wax is already very hard, putting it in the freezer made it worse. I almost gave up on this review!

I did another Candle Warmers wax melts review in January 2016, which can be seen at http://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2016/01/candle-warmers-etc-scented-wax-melts-review.html. I don't recall the wax being as hard or difficult to get out of the package as these were.



After the Rain

Notes: Calm, clean freshness after a storm; notes of white woods, floral citrus, and musk

A nice fresh watery green scent with a little bit of an herbal note.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



Blackberry Cobbler

Notes: Wild blackberries and ripe blueberries in a sweet buttery crust

A yummy blueberry bakery scent that I've smelled many times before. There's also a hint of zing from the blackberry note.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house!



Cozy Cashmere

Notes: Warm blend of cashmere, plum blossoms, and soft amber

This smells almost exactly like Better Homes & Gardens Soft Cashmere Amber, a beautiful warm rich cashmere/amber sweet musky scent, one of my favorites. It's a little perfumey, but more like an expensive skin cream.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Eucalyptus Spearmint

Notes: Relaxing eucalyptus paired with fresh spearmint

Fantastic fresh mint scent with a hint of eucalyptus. It's not a toothpastey spearmint at all, but more like garden mint with just a smidgen of sweetness, plus the slightly savory eucalyptus. It's almost a spa type scent, and it has that sinus clearing effect if you put your nose close to it. Melted, it smells like savory salad mint, in a good way.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Freesia Blossom

Notes: Fresh freesia with hints of lime, lily and sweet amber

This smells like a fresh air oceany scent with a hint of floral and a smidgen of saltiness, and a soapy note. It's nice and not overly sweet. Perfect for a bathroom.

Throw: Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5



Lavender Vanilla

Notes: Fresh-picked lavender, soft woodland herbs, sparkling white musks, and creamy vanilla

This smells like lavender, but there's a smidgen of something else that gives it a richness, probably the vanilla. It's not a sweet, medicinal, or herbal lavender, but just right.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Lemon Sugar

Notes: Fresh lemon, coarse white sugar, and soft cashmere wood

A sweet lemony scent. It's kind of a lemonade scent with a hint of saltiness which adds richness, but it's also very sweet. It has a little bit of a soapy sour note on cold sniff, but not when melted. It also has a smidgen of a sweet perfumey scent, and looking at the scent notes, that's probably the cashmere wood.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Ocean Tide

Notes: Tranquil water, warm sand, and tropical flowers

This is a sweet watery scent but it has that strong weird bitter chemical note that both At Home Blushing Petals and At Home Clean Linen have. It really detracts from the scent, because that's all I can smell.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Roasted Espresso

Notes: Freshly brewed espresso with highlights of creamy vanilla and caramel.

A fake but interesting coffee scent that smells more like that instant coffee made with chicory. It has a hint of a nutty quality. It's not sweet, but it also doesn't have that strong burnt or bitter note that a lot of coffee scents have. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell vanilla or caramel at all.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Summer Mango

Notes: Juicy mango ripened in the summer sun, paired with bergamot and lemon zest

This smells like orange with a smidgen of a tropical note. I really like it!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house!



Watermelon Lemonade

Notes: Tart lemonade infused with juicy watermelon and fresh spearmint

This smells fantastic, and just like the scent name. It's a perfect combination of zesty lemonade and sweet watermelon, and there may be just a smidgen of tea. The scent was strong for about 2 hours then started fading. Looking at the scent notes, I think the tea note is actually the spearmint, although I don't smell mint at all.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



White Peony

Notes: Fragrant peony with hints of jasmine, fig, and vanilla

A delicate floral with a slight baby powder note, and a hint of a warm almost ambery note. Maybe also a smidgen of vanilla, and hint of a classy slightly fruity note like fig or currant. Looking at the scent notes, they're spot on. It's a pleasant scent, and I like it although it's weak on cold sniff. Nice for a bedroom or a baby's room. Melted, I definitely smell the fruity fig note which smells like a warm rich slightly blackberry note, a little bit like Scentsy Luna.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail. And group members get a 15% discount for Hanna's orders. We also have contests where companies like Hanna's offer prizes and additional discounts.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Tuesday, November 14, 2017

At Home Scented Wax Melts Reviews

At Home Scented Wax Melts Reviews

At Home Scented Wax Melts
Click to enlarge
Video:


The At Home brand scented wax melts use very soft, messy wax that I had to scoop out with a butter knife. Putting the wax melts in the freezer for a bit should help though. For the most part, the scents were rather standard and generic, without too many surprises or creative blends. These are $2.99 at the At Home stores.

Apple Cider (Essence brand)
A nice but slightly generic sweet apple cider scent.
Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5

Apple Orchard
A generic crisp fresh apple scent without any spices. It's not overly sweet, so it actually smells a bit authentic.
Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5

Blushing Petals
I've smelled this scent before, and it's awful, a nauseatingly bitter scent with a terrible metallic chemical note. There is a bit of a floral note in the background with maybe a hint of baby powder, but it's barely noticeable behind the bitter chemical scent.
Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5

Buttered Maple (Essence brand)
Maple butterscotch scent, a little generic but very nice.
Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5

Cinnamon Sparkle (Christmas Magic Collection)
This smells like sweet cinnamon candy. It's a straight cinnamon scent.
Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5

Cinnamon Streusel
A nice sweet cinnamon bun scent.
Throw: Faint, 2 out of 5

Clean Linen
Like the Blushing Petals and Candlewarmers Ocean Tide scents, the main note is that strong bitter chemical note. I can smell the laundry notes in the background, but the bitter chemical note ruins it.
Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5

Emerald Balsam (Christmas Magic Collection)
A nice pine scent. It has a little bit of that "biting" pine note.
Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5

Eucalyptus Leaves
This smells almost exactly like ScentSationals Zen, that slightly minty spa laundry scent. It's not a eucalyptus scent at all, as that would be savory and slightly zesty. The mint in this scent is a spearmint or garden mint (but no toothpastey notes), mixed with a sweet almost laundry scent. It's nice and relaxing.
Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5

Frosted Cookies (Christmas Magic Collection)
A fantastic creamy milky vanilla scent with a bakery note. It smells like vanilla cookies but it's very milky and not very sweet. There may also be a smidgen of a nutty note, but it's a different scent from their Vanilla Bean scent.
Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5

Harvest Pumpkin (Essence brand)
I've smelled this scent before, and it's really not a pumpkiny scent. I smell molasses, brown sugar, cinnamon, apple, vanilla, and raisins, as well as a little bit of a sweet "biting" note that I can't figure out. It smells almost exactly like the old Better Homes & Gardens Enchanted Pumpkin Valley.
Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5

Island Mango
This is a fake, slightly "biting" pineapple, and it's not very sweet. I'm not a fan of pineapple scents, but there's something about this one that I kind of like.
Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5

Lavender Chamomile
A nice lavender scent with just a smidgen of sweetness. It's not a medicinal lavender, nor is it a sweet powdery lavender. I don't smell chamomile.
Throw: Poor 1 out of 5

Lime Cilantro
A fantastic zesty lime scent. It's not a sweet lime, more savory, like a spa scent. I really like this one.
Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5

Midnight Orchid
I found this one a week after I bought the others, but I didn't get it. It's a nice cologne type scent with a warm sweet floral note, but it was very weak on cold sniff.

Patchouli Amber
This is almost an exact dupe of the old ScentSationals Date Night and the Moonlit Walk (blue side) side of the old ScentSationals Date Night duo. It's a fantastic super rich, warm, ambery and slightly woodsy men's cologne scent.
Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5

Sea Mist
This is weak on cold sniff, but it's a pleasant watery fresh air scent with a slight floral note and maybe a smidgen of vanilla. There's also a little bit of a musty note, but not in a bad way.  It would be a nice bathroom scent.
Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5

Teakwood
This smells like sandalwood, a light slightly milky wood, but there's also a sweet warm slightly cologney note (although it's not a cologne scent). It's a pleasant scent.
Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5

Vanilla Bean
Vanilla with a strong nutty note, like peanuts. It smells like a freshly baked vanilla cookie with nuts, and it's not overly sweet.
Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail. And group members get a 15% discount for Hanna's orders. We also have contests where companies like Hanna's offer prizes and additional discounts.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Sunday, November 12, 2017

Tuscany Candle Wax Melt Reviews

Tuscany Candle Wax Melt Reviews

Tuscany Candle Scented Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video:


I found these Tuscany Candle wax melts at the At Home store. Tuscany has some great scents, but their throw tends to be so-so, usually weaker than I'd like. Although once in awhile I find a few strong throwers.

Chocolate Chip Cookie
This smells like a yummy peanut butter cookie. I don't smell chocolate at all, so this is probably a dupe of an older scent. Tuscany Candle tends to reuse a lot of their scents and give them new names.
Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5

French Toast
Notes: The pleasing scent of cinnamon, sugar and spices with nutmeg and vanilla
This really smells like french toast! I can smell the bread and the maple syrup and a buttery note and a hint of cinnamon. Yummy!
Throw: Faint, 2 to 2.5 out of 5

Patchouli
This is one of my favorite patchouli scents. It's rich and woodsy and has a hint of nuttiness and chocolate. I tried this one a few years ago and was so disappointed because the throw was very weak. And unfortunately it's still the same.
Throw: Very faint, 2 out of 5

Sea & Sand
Notes: The fresh scents of rain, linen and orange
This smells like Coppertone Suntan Oil with just a barely detectable smidgen of a salty note, like ocean water. Fantastic scent.
Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5

Wine & Roses
This smells like cherry soda without the fizziness. It doesn't smell like wine, grapes, or roses. It's a nice happy scent. Tuscany does make a Black Cherry scent, but that scent is a more intense cherry, with a little bit of a tart note.
Throw: Mild, 2.5 or 3 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail. And group members get a 15% discount for Hanna's orders. We also have contests where companies like Hanna's offer prizes and additional discounts.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Saturday, November 11, 2017

Abby Candles Wax Melt Reviews

Abby Candles Wax Melt Reviews

Abby Candles Wax Melts
Click to enlarge
Video:


Abby Candles is a small candle and wax melt company in Oklahoma. Their wax is a soy blend, and they carry over 60 fragrances. They also carry warmers and air fresheners. Abby Candles is heavily involved in fundraising for any size group, from 5 to over 500, perfect for schools, class trips, sports teams, student activities, and more (more information about their fundraising can be found at http://www.abbycandles.com/fundraising).

Abby Candles can be found on their website at http://www.abbycandles.com, and on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/abbycandlesinc.

I enjoyed the Abby Candles wax melts. The wax was stuck to the inside of most of the clamshells, so I had to cut each cube out with a butter knife. But this was definitely not a deal-breaker; they would probably pop out more easily if tossed in the freezer for a bit.

Abby Candles has 2 promos available to readers of this review. They are available through December 16, 2017. Great for Christmas presents!

1. Receive a FREE Live, Laugh, Love plug in warmer with a purchase of $35 or more, code WARMER35. Must enter item number 1174 into shopping cart, and promo will discount item. Not valid on fundraising orders.

2. Receive a FREE Sandstone 2 piece electric warmer with a purchase of $50 or more, code WARMER50. Must enter item number 1250 into shopping cart, and promo will discount item. Not valid on fundraising orders.



Butterscotch Brulee

Description: So yummy, you'll be reaching for a spoon; a scent just like butterscotch pudding

A fantastic super rich buttery sweet butterscotch scent with lots of brown sugar. So incredibly yummy! Looking at the scent notes, it's much richer than butterscotch pudding. It smells like brown sugar mixed with melted butter, and some caramel mixed in. I love this scent!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Caribbean Holiday

Description: A blend of tropical berries and vanilla

This smells like cranberries and a floral. It's a nice scent.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 or 3 out of 5



Cinnaberries

Description: The perfect potpourri of cinnamon and sweet berries

A sweet cranberry scent with a bit of cinnamon.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 or 3 out of 5



Cinnamon Cider

Description: Like a delicious glass of fresh apple cider with a touch of cinnamon stick.

This smells like apple cider with a little extra cinnamon. It's not a harsh or sour "mulling spices" type of cider.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Cinnamon Toast

Description: As warm, spicy and comforting as the treat itself.

A nice cinnamon roll scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Citrus Splash

Description: A refreshing blend of grapefruit, lemon, lime and a hint of orange

A nice sweet authentic orange juice scent. Looking at the scent notes, I smell mostly orange, and maybe a bit of the grapefruit. Lemon and lime might be in there although they're much more subtle.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Day at the Beach

Description: Spicy vanilla, exotic florals and a touch of citrus

A very nice subtle coconut scent with vanilla and a little bit of floral, although it's not a very sweet scent. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell citrus at all.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 or 3 out of 5



DeLime in DeCoconut

Description: Smooth creamy coconut and zesty lime combine to make a refreshing combination

A nice creamy coconut lime scent. It's not an overly strong or citrusy lime, and it's sweet but not overly sweet. Very nice!

Throw: Medium, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Evergreen Dreams

Description: A clean, woodsy scent that's perfect for the holidays--or all year long.

This is a unique scent. I do smell pine, but I also smell some sweet cinnamon I think, but the cinnamon itself is subtle. Looking at the scent notes, there might indeed also be a hint of a light woodsy note like sandalwood, but it's very faint.

Throw: Medium, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Fresh Linen

Description: Wrap yourself in the scent of freshly cleaned linens dried in the warm summer sun. Like a billowing breeze, this scent is fresh, clean and crisp.

A nice but generic fresh laundry detergent scent. It's not a harsh biting detergent or soapy scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Frosted Cranberries

Description: A scent perfectly blended for holiday entertaining, mixing white cranberry, juicy peach, wild strawberry and raspberry.

Tart but slightly sweet cranberries. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell peach or strawberry. Raspberry, maybe just a little.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Holiday Fruit Basket

Description: An exotic blend of strawberry, peach, apple and coconut enhanced by almonds, French vanilla and cinnamon

I smell creamy strawberry and cherry with a hint of vanilla. This smells more like a summer scent to me, and it's quite nice. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell peach, almonds, cinnamon, apple or coconut.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Leather

Description: Leather smells just like when you purchase a new car with leather seats or sit on a plush leather chair, or conjure visions of motorcycle jacket fringe or a cowboy saddle.

This smells like leather and dirt, like potting soil, but not in a bad way. It's an interesting, unique scent.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 or 3 out of 5



Lemon Drop

Description: Cheerful and sunny, the lemon and sugar mixture is sure to bring a smile to your face

A nice sweet lemon scent, somewhere between a kitchen lemon and a bakery lemon.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Spa Treatment

Description: Unwind with this relaxing fragrance that mixes sage and hints of lemon-lime and talc. The soft clean scent will take you away to a day at the spa.

I've smelled this scent before, and it's usually called "Sage & Citrus", although it doesn't smell like sage or citrus to me. It's a sweet almost baby powder scent with a bit of a sweet lime note (without the citrus) and maybe a slight herbal note which I guess is sage (although sage is a savory herb and this is not a savory scent). There may also be a hint of vanilla. It's a spa scent but could also have a little bit of an industrial cleaner scent if it were less sweet.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Spring Breeze

Description: This scent is like a soft breeze carrying a perfect combination of light florals, sandalwood and a touch of citrus.

A lovely sweet floral that smells like Coppertone Suntan oil mixed with spring flowers and a green grassy note. I really like it!

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Welcome Home

Description: A welcoming blend of cinnamon and light florals

This smells like cinnamon with maybe a hint of clove. It's a sweet cinnamon with a bit of a Red Hot cinnamon candy quality. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell any floral notes.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Winter Wonderland

Description: A magical blend of cool peppermint and cinnamon with hints of crisp apple and creamy nutmeg

A nice slightly sweet peppermint scent with a slight apple note and a hint of cinnamon. Looking at the description, the notes are spot on.

Throw: Faint, 2 or 2.5 out of 3



I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Friday, November 10, 2017

Comfort Candle Company Wax Melt Reviews

Comfort Candle Company Wax Melt Reviews

Comfort Candle Company Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video:


Comfort Candle Company is a small company in Comfort, Texas that makes candles, wax melts, fragrance oils and related items in 40 scents. Their candles and wax melts are handcrafted using a proprietary soy blend, and they use the latest in candle making technology. Their products are made with American made ingredients and materials.

Comfort Candle Company's website is https://comfortcandlecompany.com, Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/comfortcandlecompany, Twitter https://twitter.com/ComfortCandleCo, and Instagram https://www.instagram.com/comfortcandleco.

I really REALLY enjoyed these melts! They smell fantastic, authentic, and unique, and most of the scents I've never smelled anywhere before. I review a lot of wax melts, and I often come across a lot of the same scents, so I'm always hoping to find scents that are unique. Comfort Candle Company definitely delivers! I can also tell that they use very high quality oils. They don't have the generic feel that a lot of wax melts have. I even like the scent names, and the labels are simple and classy.



Alpine Spruce

Description: Wonderful organic blend of spruce, redwood, and moss

A lovely spruce scent (not a biting pine) with a slightly smoky note, and maybe a smidgen of sweet vanilla. It almost has a smidgen of a patchouli note.

Throw: Medium (3 to 3.5 out of 5)



Blanco Patchouli

Description: A uniquely tantalizing sweet and earthly exotic scent

Fantastic rich earthy patchouli, just a little sweet and a little woodsy. A high quality patchouli scent.

Throw: Mild (2.5 to 3 out of 5)



Bluebonnet

Description: Bountiful fragrant Texas wildflowers during the height of a springtime blooming season

A lovely authentic high quality spring floral scent. It's sweet but not perfumey, with a fresh dewy and a hint of sweet green grass.

Throw: Strong (3.5 to 4 out of 5)



Comfort

Description: Ecstasy of salvation and spiritual joy

I've never smelled anything like this, and I love it! It smells like a blend of baby powder and incense like nag champa, and maybe a hint of honeysuckle and warm cashmere. It's a rich, sweet, warm scent, like an expensive perfume. I wish I knew what the notes were.

Throw: Mild (2.5 to 3 out of 5)



Divine

Description: Strawberry, pomegranate, and extra vanilla create this luscious delight

Strawberry with sweet rich vanilla marshmallow. Very nice!

Throw: Strong (4 or 4.5 out of 5)



Havana

Description: Enticing notes of bergamot and patchouli highlights

A nice cherry tobacco scent with a bit of an incense note and maybe of smidgen of baby powder. Very nice!

Throw: Medium (3 out of 5)



Hill Country Home

Description: Maple and walnut high notes create a cozy and comforting home

Fantastic cinnamon roll scent with a glaze of sweet vanilla icing. This is slightly different from other cinnamon roll scents I've smelled in that it's more authentic and a higher quality. And it's not overly cinnamony. Looking at the scent notes, yes I think I do smell maple, but not really any nutty notes although it may be very subtle.

Throw: Medium (3 to 3.5 out of 5)



Mt. Laurel

Description: Beautiful purple flowers with grape smelling blooms

This is a floral scent with a perfumey note, a hint of strawberry, and a little bit of coffee! It's an unusual but very nice scent! Looking at the description, no coffee, and I guess the strawberry is the grape note although I don't actually smell grape.

Throw: Strong (3.5 or 4 out of 5)



Red Currant

Description: Savory blend of tart red currants and golden fruit glaze

Red currant is one of my favorite scents, and this is a fantastic version. Red currant is a classy, upscale scent of a fruit with a distinct soapy note and a smidgen of light wood. It's very slightly sweet and just a tiny bit tart (but not like cranberry).

Throw: Strong (3.5 or 4 out of 5)



Spiced Tea

Description: Warm, flavorful holiday tea with a pinch of cinnamon

This smells a lot like the Hill Country Home scent, like a cinnamon roll. But it's a little less sweet, and slightly more cinnamony. I don't smell any tea notes.

Throw: Medium (3 out of 5)



Utopia

Description: The irresistible scent of valley fresh grapefruit

I can't figure out what I'm smelling, but it's nice. Some kind of fruit with a hint of pine, maybe grapefruit and something else? When melted, I think the pine is eucalyptus because it has a sinus clearing effect. Looking at the scent notes, yep it's grapefruit, but it doesn't mention the eucalyptus/mint note. And I think there might also be another fruit in there. Or maybe a hint of a floral? Melted, it smells like pine and grapefruit, but with something else, and a creamy note but not vanilla. It's not a sweet scent, just a tiny bit of sweetness.

Throw: Strong (3.5 or 4 out of 5)



Verbena et Sage

Description: Herbal delight sure to soothe your soul

A nice verbena spa scent with a lemony note. I don't know if I smell sage per se, although there is a very slight savory herbal note. Melted, it has a bit of zestiness.

Throw: Medium (3 out of 5)



White Lavender

Description: Clean, light aroma with soothing and relaxing elements

This smells like authentic lavender right from the plant. It's not sweet nor is it too medicinal.

Throw: Barely (1 to 2 out of 5)



I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Mainstays Scented Wax Melts Reviews - Winter 2017

Mainstays - Winter 2017 Scented Wax Melts Reviews

Mainstays Scented Wax Melts - Winter 2017
Click to enlarge

Video:


These 3 new Mainstays Winter 2017 scents use hard wax rather than the usual soft messy wax. The surface is slightly greasy, like Scentsy wax. These 3 scents were manufactured by Hanna's Candle exclusively for Walmart. The other Mainstays Winter 2017 scents, such as Pine, Evergreen Spruce, and Cinnamon, have returned from previous years. I reviewed the Pine and Evergreen Spruce scents on November 8, 2016.

I don't know the scent notes of these 3 Mainstays melts, but as soon as I find out, I'll add them to this review.



By The Fire
A nice smoky scent but it's not a woodsy smoky scent, more like almost a foodie smoky scent. There may be a hint of a cologne note, but it's definitely not a cologne scent, nor is it a sweet scent at all. It has a bit of a Play-Doh note but that doesn't really detract from the scent. It smells a lot like the old discontinued Better Homes & Gardens Wooded Mountain Trails and a little bit like the discontinued ScentSationals Camelot, but with slightly different notes.
Throw: Medium, 3 or 3.5 out of 5

Cranberry Mistletoe
A nice strong sweet and tart cranberry scent with a pine note. There's also a smidgen of some other berry note in here like raspberry that gives it a bit more richness.
Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5

Gingerbread Spice
A perfect gingerbread scent. I can smell the bread and all the spices, including nutmeg, allspice, ginger, and a hint of cloves and cinnamon. Fantastic yummy scent!
Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail. And group members get a 15% discount for Hanna's orders. We also have contests where companies like Hanna's offer prizes and additional discounts.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Country Light Candle Company Wax Melt Reviews

Country Light Candle Company Wax Melt Reviews

Country Light Candle Company Wax Melts
Country Light Candle Company is a small company in Central New York that has been making candles, tarts, votives, and related products since 1997. Their candles and votives are made of 100% soy, and their no-stick tarts are made of palm wax. The tarts are easy to remove from the warmer after they've cooled. I did have to pry a bit with a butter knife, but once I got an edge loose, the rest of the wax slid  right out, rather than sticking to the bottom as many wax melts do. 

Their No-Stick Wax Tarts are 100% natural, using palm wax made with sustainable palm oil and top tier phthalate-free, eco-friendly cosmetic grade fragrance oils.

Country Light Candle Company can be found on their website at
http://www.countrylightcandle.com, and on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/CountryLight.

I truly enjoyed these tarts. The fragrances were fantastic, and for the most part the throw was very strong, quite a few of which were strong enough to take over the whole house! And in general, they lasted a very long time, many as long as 8 hours until I changed out the wax (although they might have lasted longer if I hadn't removed the wax).

Since the scents I reviewed were tarts, and therefore quite small, there wasn't any wax left over when I was done. So I couldn't do a review video.

Get 15% off your entire order (no minimum purchase required) through 12/31/17 by entering tarts4me15 in the shopping cart. 



Angel

Notes: A romantic and classic scent of jasmine, musk, patchouli and brown sugar

This smells a little like Angel perfume, which I guess is what it's supposed to smell like. On cold sniff, it's not quite as sweet as the perfume, but it's still a very nice scent. Melted, however, it really smells like Angel perfume! Not exactly, but pretty close. I love this scent!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Antique Sandalwood

Notes: A woody, musky blend of oak moss, sandalwood, patchouli, cedar wood softened with notes of violet, jasmine & tonka bean.

It's quite weak so I can't figure out what I'm smelling. Maybe a warm perfumey light wood? Sandalwood scents tend to not be strong in general. It's a nice scent.

Throw: Very faint, 1 to 2 out of 5



Aqua Spa

Notes: Indulge in notes of modern rose and lily brightened with hints of orange, lime and ozone.

A super fresh, watery scent with a soapy note and maybe a little bit of lemon. Nice and relaxing. Looking at the scent notes, I guess the lemon I smell is a combination of the orange and lime. I don't smell rose, and not really any floral notes. When melted, I don't smell the lemon as much, although it does have a smidgen of a clean kitchen lemon note. I love this scent!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the entire house!



Autumn Lodge

Notes: A fireside glow of freshly cut wood, fir needle, patchouli and vanilla

I smell sweet tobacco and patchouli, and maybe a hint of cloves. Looking at the scent notes, I don't detect fir at all, and this is not a woodsy scent, and I'm surprised I don't see tobacco. I really like this scent!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house.



Blizzard

Notes: A blustery blend of fresh mint, pine & fir needles, cedar bark and eucalyptus with hints of midnight jasmine

I smell pine and peppermint with a smidgen of sweet floral in the background. Looking at the notes, they're spot on, although I don't detect jasmine per se. Fantastic scent, one of the best non-foodie mint scents I've ever smelled.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house, and the scent lasted all day, at least 8 hours



Cashmere Glow

Notes: Envelop yourself in the warmth of vanilla, French pear and cashmere musk

A nice warm, sweet perfumey scent of cashmere/amber and maybe a smidgen of fruit in the background, like apricot or apple. Looking at the scent notes, the fruit is pear.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Cinnamon Patchouli

Notes: Warm cinnamon, spicy clove and deep patchouli with a hint of cranberry

What a great combination! I smell patchouli with a little bit of a cinnamon. A nice cozy scent!

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Cotton Candy

Notes: A sweet delight - the fresh, sugary scent of cotton candy just made at the fair

This smells more like bubblegum to me than cotton candy, although it's very weak on cold sniff so it's hard to tell. When melted, I could detect a tiny bit of vanilla with a chemical note from a few inches away.

Throw: 0 out of 5

This is one of their most popular scents, and others have mentioned that the throw is quite good. A lot of variables can affect throw, and I only had a 1oz. tart to work with, so I was unable to test it thoroughly.



Cranberry Salsa

Notes: Juicy cranberries, grapes, lemon, grapefruit, strawberries, and pomegranate with nuances of apple and heliotrope

I can't figure out what I'm smelling as it's weak on cold sniff. Fruit and floral and mint?

Throw: Poor, 1 to 2 out of 5



Dragon's Blood

Notes: Luxurious blend of amber and myrrh with cozy sandalwood and patchouli.

I sweet very incensey scent similar to Nag Champa, with notes of patchouli and a very sweet soapy note. I love this one.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



First Snow

Notes: A cheerful blend of fresh mint, blooming jasmine and pine needles.

A nice mint scent with a little bit of pine. The pine is very subtle, and the mint is either peppermint without the sweet creamy vanilla note, or fresh mint with a bit of sweetness. There's a very subtle sweet floral note also. Looking at the scent notes, they're spot on. I do smell a hint of floral but not jasmine per se. Melted, there's also a little bit of a soapy note, and this smells like a chilly slightly floral mint body wash. I really like this scent!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Freesia Fantasy

Notes: A lush, bright freesia with hints of lily of the valley and white musk

I can barely smell anything on cold sniff, maybe a slightly floral soapy scent?

Throw: Poor, 0 to 1 out of 5



Frosted Snow Drops

Notes: Jasmine, greenery & orange with notes of ginger, rose, carnation, peach and a hint of musk, powder & vanilla

This smells like pine and creamy milk, with maybe a hint of patchouli and coconut? Looking at the scent notes, I guess I was way off! I didn't care for this scent.

Throw: Faint, 2 out of 5

This is one of their most popular scents, and others have mentioned that the throw is quite good. A lot of variables can affect throw, and I only had a 1oz. tart to work with, so I was unable to test it thoroughly.



Grandpa's Pipe

Notes: A cozy scent with notes of cherrywood, raspberry, vanilla and tobacco.

This smells like black cherry to me, so I guess it's supposed to be cherry tobacco. But there's also something else in there like a leathery note, and maybe a smidgen of caramel. It's a nice, interesting scent. When melted and all of the scents come together, it does smell a bit like cherry tobacco. I really like it!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Hearth and Home

Notes: A homey blend of orange spice, fir and pine notes and an earthy smokiness.

I smell pine and a little smokiness and a smidgen of sweet spice and maybe a fresh air note. Looking at the notes, I don't smell orange, although it does smell a little like orange pomander.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Lavender Lullaby

Notes: A comforting blend of lavender and musk. Compare to J&J Bedtime Bath.

I think I smell a bit of lavender, but it's extremely weak, even on cold sniff.

Throw: None, 0 out of 5

This is one of their most popular scents, and others have mentioned that the throw is quite good. A lot of variables can affect throw, and I only had a 1oz. tart to work with, so I was unable to test it thoroughly.



Madagascar

Notes: Notes of rich ylang ylang are seduced with jasmine and softened with creamy vanilla in this beautiful floral fragrance.

I have no idea what I'm smelling, but it's fantastic. I think it's some kind of Eastern incense spice and a strong vanilla. Oh wait, it smells like ylang ylang. Looking at the notes, there it is! I've never smelled ylang ylang scented wax before, and if a scent has that as a note, it never smells authentic. But this one does! Amazing!

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Meditation

Notes: Golden vanilla orchid mingles with incense made from frankincense and myrrh

I really like this scent! It's caramely vanilla with incense. Looking at the notes, there's the vanilla, but I don't detect any floral notes. I guess the caramel note is the combination of vanilla, frankincense and myrrh? At first the incense notes were stronger, but as time went on, the caramely notes became stronger.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Orange Blossom Thyme

Notes: Bright citrus, honeysuckle and orange blossom are enhanced with hints of fresh herbs.

This is a sweet orange blossom/neroli scent with a smidgen of a savory herb in the background. I also detect a little bit of honeysuckle. Looking at the scent notes, they're spot on. It's a nice, unique scent, and I really like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Sleepy Hollow

Notes: Midnight heather intertwined with mysterious patchouli, fir needles and a hint of vanilla.

A super sweet jasmine floral scent with something else I can't figure out, maybe a hint of pepper? Looking at the notes, I guess heather is the jasmine, and pepper is the fir. Now that I know that other note way in the background is fir, I do smell it a little. When melted, there's a little bit of a bitter note, but not enough to detract from the scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Smoke & Odor Eliminator

Notes: Wipe out smoke & odors with this invigorating spice fragrance infused with orange, grapefruit & Cinnamon essential oils.

I'm not a fan of this scent and I can't figure out what it smells like. I think clove and maybe also a floral but there's something slightly sour in the background. It almost smells a little like orange pomander, which is a scent I don't like, but not quite since I don't really smell orange. I didn't test its odor eliminator qualities.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Sugared Spruce

Notes: A sweet and fresh blend of pine needles, orange, strawberry and a touch of sugared vanilla

A biting pine with a Pine-Sol note and maybe a smidgen of lemongrass. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell orange, strawberry or vanilla (I actually love the combination of pine and fruit, but this scent was too biting to smell the fruit notes). This one was a bit too biting for me.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Vanilla Oak

Notes: Warm vanilla enveloped with oak wood, cedar, patchouli and musk

This smells like a cross between a "Sage & Citrus" spa scent with sweet light cedar wood and maybe a hint of lime, and Bath & Body Works (and Scentsy) Lavender Vanilla. It's quite nice.

Throw: Bold, 4 to 4.5 out of 5



Witches Brew

Notes: Mystical patchouli, sandalwood and dragon's blood with a splash of cinnamon and cedar wood essential oil.

This is a fantastic patchouli scent with a rich soapy woodsy note. I think this is supposed to be a dupe for Yankee Witches Brew.

Throw: Very faint, 1 to 2 out of 5

This is one of their most popular scents, and others have mentioned that the throw is quite good. A lot of variables can affect throw, and I only had a 1oz. tart to work with, so I was unable to test it thoroughly.



I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Saturday, November 4, 2017

Broken Top Candle Co. Wax Melts Reviews

Broken Top Candle Co. Wax Melts Reviews

Broken Top Candle Co. Scented Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video:


Broken Top Candle Co. is a small company in Bend, Oregon that makes 100% soy candles and scented wax melts. The Broken Top Candle Co. website is https://brokentopcandleco.com, and their Etsy page is https://www.etsy.com/shop/BrokenTopCandleCo. If you don't find the scent you want on the website, you might find it on the Etsy site.

Their wax melts come in resealable bags with very nice labels. The bags are paper with a wax lining inside, so you should use the melts within a few weeks or months as the scent could dissipate through the bag over time. The wax comes in round discs that are very convenient... Just plop 2 or 3 discs in the warmer. 2 discs are a little larger than 1 regular clamshell cube. So if you usually use 1 cube, you'll want to use 2 discs. If you usually use 2 cubes, you could use 3 or 4 discs. Each bag contains 8 discs which weigh 0.25 oz. each (total 2 oz. in each bag), and at the time of this review each bag is $6.00. The wax does not need to be cured, and can be melted as soon as you get them.



Apple Maple Bourbon

Notes: Fresh apple with a touch of vanilla, maple, and smooth bourbon. This fragrance is infused with natural essential oils, including a touch of cinnamon

Fantastic sweet caramel apple scent with a hint of maple and a smidgen of that sweet bourbon note.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Blue Spruce

Notes: Spruce with a bright citrus note. This fragrance is infused with natural cedarwood and pine essential oils.

A nice spruce scent with a slightly smoky note. This is not a biting pine scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Brandied Pear

Notes: Candied pears and warm notes of cask aged brandy

Oh this is nice! I smell juicy pears in a rich pear syrup with barely a smidgen of cinnamon, and a bit of a bakery note. Yummy!

Throw: Mild, 2.5 or 3 out of 5



Cedar Citrus Berries

Notes: Warm berries, hints of spice, and cedar. This fragrance is infused with natural essential oils including cedar, ginger, nutmeg, mandarin, and ylang ylang.

I can't figure out this scent. It's not what I expected based on the scent name. I smell sweet berries with a warm note, but I can't tell what kind. Strawberries maybe? It has a little bit of a woodsy note, which I guess is cedar, but it doesn't smell like cedar. It almost smells like berry scented lipstick, but not in a bad way at all. It's a very nice scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Christmas Tree

Notes: Siberian pine needles mixed with holly berries and a hint of apple

A perfect pine scent. It's similar to the Blue Spruce scent, but not as smoky, and a little more woodsy and authentic. There may also be a smidgen of vanilla or berries, but barely noticeable.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Coffee with Cream

Notes: Fresh brewed coffee with a hint of chocolate and hazelnut

A fantastic creamy coffee scent. It smells like real coffee, and has only a smidgen of sweetness. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell chocolate or hazelnut.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Cozy Flannel

Notes: Cinnamon leaf, fig, and lavender blend seamlessly into the rich base of cypress, cassia root and sandalwood

This is not a laundry scent. I can't describe this at all, because I can't figure out the notes. It's a musty scent with a hint of sweetness and maybe fig and a smidgen of light wood. Looking at the scent notes, there's the fig and sandalwood. I think I do detect a hint of cinnamon, but it's not a foodie or fall cinnamon, and it's barely noticeable. I don't smell lavender. It's just an "okay" scent for me.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Fresh Squeezed

Notes: Bergamot and grapefruit

This smells just like sweet grapefruit juice! It's not a fake or candy type citrus scent. I think I also smell orange.

Throw: Medium, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Glistening Snow

Notes: A subtle mint with rich notes of vanilla

This is a vanilla marshmallow scent with a peppermint note. Very nice!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Grapefruit

Notes: The crisp dominant scent of grapefruit is gently blended with a touch of sweet fruit and a hint of peach. This unique blend gives a strong grapefruit throw with just a hint of sweetness to take the tangy edge off.

A nice grapefruit scent with a slightly savory note. Looking at the scent notes, yes I think I do smell peach. This scent is only slightly sweet, but not as sweet as other grapefruit scents I've smelled, almost like a spa grapefruit.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Just Peachy

Notes: Fresh peach nectar with hints of citrus

Oh this smells so authentic! I don't like a lot of peach scents because they smell fake or like cheap air freshener, but this is the real thing! It's sweet and crisp and fresh, and when I opened the bag it was like I opened a bag of freshly picked peaches! It kind of has that crisp fresh apple vibe, but it's peach. Actually there might be a hint of sweet apple. I can't believe how realistic this scent is! Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell citrus at all, but maybe there's a smidgen and that's what gives this scent such a fresh, crisp note.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Lavender

Notes: Infused with essential oil, our lavender is a simple, yet robust flavor

A perfect lavender scent! It smells like authentic lavender oil with a little sweetness to keep it from smelling medicinal. It's not a sweet perfumey lavender though.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Mint Mojito

Notes: Freshly muddled mint with subtle undertones of pineapple and sugarcane

This smells like a combination of two of my least favorite scents: spearmint and pineapple. But strangely, I actually like it, and it's not overly sweet.

Throw: Medium, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Mint Biscotti

Notes: Mint oil, cedar wood, citronella, with a subtle hint of chocolate

This smells like peppermint with a creamy vanilla note, a bit like a candy cane, but not overly sweet. It's similar to the Glistening Snow scent, but that scent is marshmallow and not as minty. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell citronella or chocolate at all.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 or 3 out of 5



Mt. Bachelor

Notes: Amber and vanilla, with natural essential oils, including cardamom seed oil and clove leaf oil

A nice warm cologne scent with woodsy and fresh notes. It's not overly sweet or pungent. Looking at the scent notes, I guess the clove is the warmth I'm detecting, although I don't really smell clove per se. It's a very nice scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Pacific Rain

Notes: Fern foliage and rich green florals. This fragrance is infused with natural essential oils including bergamot and violet.

I'm not sure what I'm smelling, as this scent is weak on cold sniff. It smells like a subtle floral but not very sweet, and with a hint of pepper.

Throw: Poor, 1 out of 5



Pineapple Sage

Notes: Pineapple and sage combined with natural eucalyptus, guaiacwood, and cedar wood essential oils

Very nice scent of sweet pineapple with a very slight pine note. Unique!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Red Headed Love

Notes: Fresh grated ginger with a hint of saffron, crisp apple and fresh squeezed lemon

I can't figure out the notes in this scent, but I like it. I smell ginger and apples, and maybe a smidgen of lemon. There's also a perfumey and clean note, and maybe a hint of pepper. Looking at the scent notes, they're spot on!

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Sea Salt & Surf

Notes: Fruit, a smooth jasmine middle note, and finished off with a hint of driftwood and cream. This fragrance is infused with orange oil

A very nice fresh watery scent with a hint of floral, but I also detect a rich vanilla note, which give this a little bit of a foodie quality, and maybe a hint of honeydew melon. Looking at the scent notes, the floral is jasmine, although I don't smell jasmine per se. The vanilla I guess is the cream. I think I do detect a smidgen of sandalwood. And I guess the honeydew I think I'm smelling is the fruit and orange oil, although I don't actually smell orange. I really like this one! Melted, I detect a coconut note, even though it's not listed in the scent notes.

Throw: Medium, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Sunset in Mexico

Notes: Fresh peaches, melon, crisp coconut, strawberries and the smooth rich hint of vanilla

A super sweet tropical fruity scent with a pineapple and coconut note, and maybe a hint of sweet creamy vanilla. Looking at the scent notes, I do smell a honeydew melon, and strawberries I think. I really think I smell pineapple, but it's not an overwhelming pineapple note. I don't think I smell peaches. It's a nice sweet summery scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Tumalo Cider Co.

Notes: Rich mulled cider with holiday spices and a hint of fresh orange peel

This smells more like sweet rich apple pie filling with cinnamon and cloves. Fantastic!

Throw: Medium, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Vanilla

Notes: Rich and decadent vanilla

Not just a regular vanilla, this is a rich milky sweet buttercream vanilla, and it smells like French Vanilla ice cream. Very nice!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Whiskey

Notes: Potent alcohol notes, rich oak, and smoked peat infused with natural essential oils, including patchouli and birch tar oil

Oh this one is different! It does smell like whiskey, and I even smell the alcohol! There's also a smidgen of smokiness and maybe a hint of caramel. I like it, and I've never found a liquor scent that actually has that alcohol note; they usually smell awful, with a sour fermentation note that this scent absolutely does not have.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Making Scents in AZ Wax Melts Reviews

Making Scents in AZ Wax Melts Reviews

Making Scents in AZ Scented Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video:


Making Scents in AZ is a small candle and wax melt company based in the White Mountains of Arizona. All of their candles and wax melts are made with EcoSoya wax, which is 100% soy wax, not blended, no paraffin. And their products are now free of hydrogenated oil. The older wax was also EcoSoya and 100% soy, but it contained hydrogenated oil, which made the wax appear marbled and had a softer, more crumbly and messy consistency. In general these were nice scents and the throw was good on some, not good on others, as is to be expected with most wax melts. I found that the scents did not last long, however, around 2 or 3 hours, although that's okay for me since I like to change out scents often.

Their website is http://makingscentsinaz.com and their Facebook page is https://www.facebook.com/MakingScentsInAZ.



Black Cherry

Description: Strong, fresh, black cherry scent; perfect for those who love cherries!

A nice strong black cherry scent. Black cherry is a harsh biting type cherry, but it smells great.

Throw: Bold, 4 out of 5



Cornucopia

Description: Blend of pear, sweet pumpkin, vanilla, clove and sugar

Fantastic sweet apple scent with a raisin note and a hint of caramel, and maybe a smidgen of cinnamon. I also detect a sweet floral note like gardenia. Looking at the scent notes, I guess the apple and gardenia I'm smelling is actually pear.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Country Rain

Description: Soft bouquet of rose and violet with a body of musk

I've smelled this scent before. It's a nice baby powder type floral with a sweet watery note, perfect for the bathroom.

Throw: Medium, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Eucalyptus

Description: A wonderful scent for relaxing and relieving stress

A eucalyptus scent that smells a little like Vicks VapoRub. Great for melting if you have a cold! Has a little bit of an industrial cleaner note.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 or 3 out of 5



Fireside

Description: Cozy combination of woods, spices and fresh eucalyptus (duplicate of Yankee Candle fragrance)

I smell a little bit of a Liquid Smoke note, mixed with tobacco and a hint of wood and maybe a smidgen of patchouli. It's a nice scent, but it has a little bit of a chemical note. I've never smelled the Yankee Candle version so I don't know how it compares.

Throw: Medium, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Gardenia

Description: Fresh and earthy, and smells like a fresh blooming Gardenia flower

This is a fantastic gardenia scent. It smells like a combination of orange blossom/neroli (one of my favorite scents) and gardenia, with a bit of a fresh soapy note. It's not an authentic floral scent, but more of a neroli/gardenia perfume, but in a good way. It's not overly perfumey though. I love this one!

Throw: Medium, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Hawaiian Tropics

Description: A light, fruity, tropical blend of orange, pineapple, strawberry and hints of lavender and jasmine

This is a tropical type scent but it has a bit of a bathroom cleaner note. I'm not a fan of this scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Lemon Cake

Description: Reminiscent of fresh, creamy, sweet and tangy lemon cake

A perfect lemon scent! A nice zesty lemon with sweet creamy vanilla. This is not as sweet as some other similar scents I've smelled, and it smells quite authentic. I love this one!

Throw: Medium, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Mahogany

Description: Notes of fresh mahogany and blood orange, with essences of cognac on a base of bourbon vanilla, and sandalwood

I've smelled this scent before. It's a fantastic sweet pipe tobacco scent with a slight patchouli note and maybe a smidgen of maple and caramel. One of my favorite scents! Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell orange at all. And the maple and caramel are probably the cognac and bourbon vanilla.

Throw: Poor, 1 out of 5



Ocean Breeze

Description: A beautiful light scent of roses with some strawberry and peach

A nice fresh soapy scent with a floral note, but it's not overly sweet or perfumey. It smells like a woman's shower gel or shampoo.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Patchouli

Description: Pungent aroma of patchouli leaves

A nice slightly sweet patchouli scent.

Throw: Very faint, 1.5 or 2 out of 5



Pumpkin

Description: Pumpkin and spices with vanilla pudding undertones to accentuate the sweetness of the pumpkin aroma.

This is not a regular pumpkin scent, and it's different from their Pumpkin Pie Spice scent. It's much better, a super sweet rich caramel marshmallow scent with nutmeg and cinnamon. Fantastic and yummy!

Throw: Poor, 1 out of 5



Sage

Description: A blend of sweet sage, lavender and orange with hints of fresh pine needles

A grassy soapy scent. It's a little sweet, not savory (which is what I would expect from a sage scent).

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



White Cherry Blossom

Description: A beautiful floral of cherry blossoms scent surrounded by fresh leafy greens

A nice powdery sweet floral with a smidgen of a fresh green note and maybe a barely detectable hint of fruit. It's not really a cherry blossom scent, more like orchid. Very nice scent, I really like it!

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5, but scent lasted about a half hour



Winter Hideaway

Description: A warm and cozy fragrance consisting of cypress, wintergreen and smoky vetiver, lavender, cedar wood and amber, with essence of frosted mint leaf and coriander

A lovely pine scent with a vanilla mint note. The pine is subtle, and the vanilla is just slightly sweet and a little soapy.

Throw: Medium, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Thursday, November 2, 2017

Root Candles Scented Wax Melts Reviews

Root Candles Scented Wax Melts Reviews

Root Candles Scented Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video:



Root Candles has been making candles since 1869! They just recently came out with a new product, scented wax melts. The melts are an all-natural blend of beeswax, soy, and other vegetable waxes and colored with all-natural vegetable based dyes.

Root Candles' website is http://rootcandles.com, and they can also be found on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/rootcandles, Twitter at https://twitter.com/rootcandlebuzz, and several other social media sites including Pinterest, YouTube,  Instagram, and Google Plus.

They are having a 40% off promotion until November 21, 2017. Just enter the code REVIEWERFALL17 towards the bottom of the cart page, before checkout.



Awaken - Basil & Lime

Description: Sparkling zesty lime, orange and grapefruit flourish with cool green basil, cilantro and thyme. Nature comes alive at the base with fresh tones of fir, musk and rosewood.

Fantastic scent! I smell lime with a slightly savory, tangy note of some kind of herb, and maybe a hint of pine, and even a smidgen of orange. Looking at the scent notes, they're spot on. Although this is not as savory of a scent as the notes sound, really more zesty, with only a barely noticeable tinge of sweetness.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 or 3 out of 5



Detoxify - Spearmint & Tea Tree Oil

Description: Complementing fragrances of bergamot, geranium and jasmine mingle with the richness of spearmint and tea tree oil.

I smell spearmint and catnip, with the slight sinus clearing effect of garden mint. It's a very natural, herbal scent with just a tinge of sweetness, but it's not a sweet scent. I don't smell tea tree oil at all, which is good because I like the scent of tea tree oil, but not as a house scent. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell jasmine, but maybe a little bit of geranium which has a bit of an Ivory soap note. It's an okay scent. It smells like an herb garden.

Throw: Medium, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Devote - Jasmine Myrrh

Description: The sanctity of myrrh and the elegance of jasmine calms the mind and focuses your energy. These fragrances are elevated by clover, amber, and the champaca flower.

I smell jasmine with a weird herbal note in the background that smells like bitter Ivory soap note, which is probably the myrrh. There's also a light grassy note which is probably the clover. I don't care for this scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Energize - Rosemary Eucalyptus

Description: Energizing essential oils of rosemary and eucalyptus give an immediate lift, touch of rejuvenation, energy and invigoration.

I smell a strong minty sinus clearing eucalyptus with a very slightly sweet and savory herbal note. Maybe also a smidgen of orange? This is not a sweet scent at all, and it's not as savory or zesty as eucalyptus by itself. I like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Enlighten - Cedar Verbena

Description: Stimulate your creativity and create an environment for learning using the essential oils of cedar and verbena along with the stimulating color of yellow to create intellectual strength.

I think I smell a light woodsy note, but more like a sandalwood than cedar. And there's also a hint of lemongrass, and maybe a smidgen of floral. This is not a sweet scent at all, and it doesn't really have much of a scent. Not my favorite.

Throw: None, 0 out of 5, and the scent completely disappeared, even from an inch away, as soon as it melted in the warmer.



Entice - Orange Clove

Description: The spicy scent of clove stimulates the mood and the juicy orange adds refreshment. The combination is completely seductive.

This smells the same as their Cinnamon Clove holiday scent, even though the notes are slightly different. Very nice clove and orange scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Illuminate - Juniper Rosewood

Description: Free your mind of clutter and confusion by mixing the simplicity of the color white with the clarifying power of juniper and rosewood essential oils for cleanliness and clarity.

This is very difficult to describe. Juniper is kind of a pine scent, but I don't smell pine, although maybe there's a bit of a balsam type note. There's also a rich creamy note, like milk, but not sweet at all. And maybe a hint of light wood. I've never smelled anything like this, and I'm not sure if I like it or if it's appropriate as a scent for your house.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Invigorate - Pomelo Pine

Description: Effervescent blend of pomelo and pine revitalize your spirit and elevates your mood. This refreshing combination is complemented by the richness of clove, cedar, and sandalwood.

I love my pine scents, especially if it's mixed with something else, and great pine mixers are citrus scents like lemon and orange. Pomelo is a grapefruit scent without the bitterness. This is mostly a pine scent, with a hint of pomelo and a smidgen of warmth from clove. My favorite scent of this collection!

Throw: Mild, 2.5 or 3 out of 5



Meditate - Vetyver & Olibanum

Description: Citrus, Myrhh and Olibanum combine to create focus, relaxation and clarity essential for the journey of meditation. The green, fresh notes of Vetyver and Fir Needles increases the power of the clarifying essential oils.

This smells almost exactly like the Devote scent, but without the jasmine or grassy note. It has that same bitter Ivory soap note, which, like the Devote scent, is probably the myrrh. Looking at the scent notes, olibanum is another name for frankincense, which has an earthy sweet warm note, which this scent kind of has. I don't smell citrus at all. Like the Devote scent, I don't care for this one either, although between this scent and Devote, I like this one slightly better.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Relax - Geranium Lavender

Description: Pure essential oils of lavender and the geranium bud combine with the tranquil color of lavender to provide an atmosphere of comfort, calm and relaxation.

I love lavender scents, and this is a very nice lavender scent with the slightly bitter floral note of geranium. The geranium gives it a slight Ivory soap note, but it works well with the lavender. There may also be a smidgen of citronella, but that might just be the geranium.

Throw: Medium, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Relieve - Eucalyptus Menthol

Description: The scent of eucalyptus increases overall brain activity and relieves congestion. When mixed with subtle menthol, expect comfort from colds and headaches

A nice pure patchouli scent, no eucalyptus or menthol at all, and not even a little bit of sinus clearing effect.

Throw: Poor, 1.5 out of 5



Seduce - Patchouli & Anise

Description: The energizing scent of Lemon Zest combined with the warmth and sensuality of Anise envelopes the room in a seductive atmosphere. Combined with Violet, Jasmine, and Patchouli, this fragrance will leave you relaxed and comfortable.

This smells like men's cologne with a note of something I can't figure out, apple maybe? I don't smell anise at all, which would have a licorice type note. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell lemon or jasmine, but I think I do smell violet, and there's a bit of warmth and a hint of woodsiness from the patchouli. I like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



HOLIDAY SCENTS

Candy Cane
Notes: Peppermint, sweet vanilla, soft notes of caramelized sugar and a touch of balsam
A true candy cane scent, with a strong icy peppermint and a sweet vanilla note. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell balsam at all.
Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house

Cinnamon Clove
Notes: Warm, spicy aroma of cinnamon and clove combine with sweet orange and sparkling mandarin
This smells like orange pomander, which I don't normally like, but I really like this version because the orange is brighter and a bit more "orangey" than what I usually find in pomander scents. And I definitely smell the clove, which smells authentic.
Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5

Scotch Pine
Notes: Spruce, scotch pine and sage mix with notes of musk, patchouli and labdanum
I smell pine with maybe a hint of eucalyptus and smidgen of cloves and a slight smoky note. But there's something else in here I can't put my finger on that I'm not sure I like, a savory note perhaps. Looking at the scent notes, it might be the sage that has that savory note. The clove note is probably the patchouli. Labdanum is the Rose of Sharon plant, and the scent is a "balsam-like, woodsy, earthy, smoky, leathery, oakmoss scent". I'm not a fan of this scent because of the slightly savory smoky note.
Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5

Tobacco Wreath
Notes: An earthy combination of tobacco, pine, patchouli, and oakmoss with notes of caramel, sugar, and marshmallow.
Fantastic scent that smells like vanilla marshmallow with a hint of sweet tobacco and patchouli, and maybe a smidgen of caramel. There may also be a smidgen of pine way in the background. Looking at the scent notes, they're spot on.
Throw: Medium, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail. And group members get a 15% discount for Hanna's orders. We also have contests where companies like Hanna's offer prizes and additional discounts.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.