Monday, January 15, 2018

Aldi Wax Melts Reviews - Spring 2018 (January)

Aldi Wax Melts Reviews - Spring 2018 (January)

Aldi Wax Melts - Spring 2018 (January)
Click to expand

Video 


Aldi comes out with 4 new wax melt scents 3 times a year: January, March/April, and September/October. The wax melts are made by Hanna's Candle and are very good quality. They cost $1.69 each. They should be at all Aldi stores this week, probably by Wednesday, January 17. Once they show up at the Aldi store, they stay on the shelves until they're sold out, which can happen within 2 to 4 weeks. Old scents do not return, so if you like these, don't wait!



Fresh Cotton Blossom

I've smelled this scent before. It's a nice sweet laundry detergent scent with a little bit of a biting laundry note, but not as much as Better Homes & Gardens Line Dried Linen. And it's not a soft powdery fabric softener scent either. It doesn't smell soapy, and it's sweeter than other similar scents I've smelled with a little bit more of a floral note, although it's not really perfumey either. Hard to describe! It's NOT the same scent as Hanna's Candle's Fresh Cotton Blossom scent. The scent lasted the entire day and was still going strong when I changed it out; I think it could have gone for 2 days!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house.



Lavender & Thyme

Notes: A beautiful aroma of lavender, jasmine flowers, and rose petals blended with the sultry notes of sandalwood and musk

This is an authentic lavender scent. It has a hint of sweetness, but it's not a sweet, powdery lavender scent. I don't smell thyme, but there may be a hint of eucalyptus, and it does have a little bit of a medicinal note, but not overwhelming. It's a perfect lavender scent. If you prefer a sweeter lavender, mix it with a floral, perfumey, or vanilla scent. If you like spa lavender, mix it with lemon. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell jasmine, rose or musk. I believe this is the same scent as Hanna's Candle's Lavender Thyme (not confirmed by Hanna's) at https://candlemart.com/products/aromabeads-singles-lavender-thyme-scented-wax-melts.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Peony & Rose Bouquet

Notes: This fresh floral fragrance blends notes of pink peony, rose, orange flower and blushing hibiscus with effervescent citrus and berry nuances; warm woods and musk provide a perfect warming finish.

This smells like old soap, which sometimes smells quite good. But it's very bitter and fake and smells kind of "burnt" to me. It doesn't smell like peony or rose to me at all. However, I think I'm in the minority, since most people love this scent. Looking at the scent notes, it might be the effervescent citrus that gives it the bitter note, although I don't smell any fizziness or citrus at all. This is the same scent as Hanna's Candle's Peony & Rose Bouquet (not confirmed by Hanna's) at https://candlemart.com/search?q=peony+%26+rose+bouquet.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



South Seas

A nice kind of sweet watery scent with a hint of warmth and maybe a bit of a perfumey note (musk?) and perhaps a smidgen of vanilla. It smells almost exactly like Mainstays Peaceful Waters (from Walmart), and it may in fact be the same scent, but I don't think so. It's actually quite different from any scent I've smelled in a wax melt, and I like unique scents. This is totally different from Hanna's Candle's South Seas scent (which is a fresh salty water scent).

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Super Tarts Scented Wax Co. Wax Melts Survey

Super Tarts Scented Wax Co. Wax Melts Survey


I'm going to start doing surveys for wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), and I'm starting with Super Tarts. I'll leave the survey open for a few weeks, and I'll report the results on this website. Please ONLY participate if you've actually tried Super Tarts wax melts. It's anonymous.

Please complete the Super Tarts survey here:


Please also comment below and let me know what you think, if you have any problems accessing the survey or filling it out, or if there are any other questions I should be asking. This will help me in setting up future surveys.



I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Friday, January 12, 2018

Goose Creek Candle Wax Melts Reviews - January 2018

Goose Creek Candle Wax Melts Reviews - January 2018

Goose Creek Candle Scented Wax Melts - January 2018
Click to enlarge

Video 


Goose Creek Candle wax melts can be found on their website at https://goosecreekcandle.com. They also have a Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/goosecreekcandle.

These new scents just became available today (January 12, 2018) in candle form. The wax melts should be available within the next week or so.

Goose Creek Candle is having a 50% off sale today, which ends tonight (January 12, 2018) at midnight (Eastern Time). If you miss the sale, they frequently have other sales. But they also tend to sell out of new scents quickly, so if you think there's a scent you'll like, don't wait until the next sale!



Black Cherry

Description: Give in to the mouthwatering aroma of sweet, spring-ripened black cherries.

Notes:
Top - Black Cherry, Crisp Apple, Sweet Plum
Mid - Violet Petals, Spun Sugar
Base - Red Currant, Green Leaves

I'm not a fan of a lot of black cherry scents because they tend to be too intense, but this one is not. It's like cherry syrup, but not overly sweet, and there's a warmth in there like maybe a hint of amber that gives it a smidgen of a perfumey note, although it's not actually a perfume scent. I like it. It smells kind of similar to their Cherry Cobbler scent, although that one is stronger and much sweeter, even a little caramely, with a bit of a cherry cough syrup note. Looking at the notes, okay red currant is a subtle almost woodsy fruit note that gives scents a "classy" vibe, so that might be why this scent is not overly sweet or intense.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Black Pepper

Description: Experience the dark and sexy allure of a midnight sky. A sophisticated blend of warm woods, bright citrus and dark spices.

Notes:
Top - Black Pepper, Bright Lemon
Mid - Mandarin, Jasmine
Base - Cedarwood, Patchouli, Amber

This is a men's cologne scent. On cold sniff I do detect a hint of black pepper, but I don't smell that when melting. It's a subtle cologne scent, not intense, and not very sweet. It has a tiny bit of a spa quality and there might be a barely detectable hint of lemon or verbena way in the background. Looking at the notes, there's the lemon.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Blueberry Cake Donut

Description: You can't resist the decadent taste of warm, bakery fresh, blueberry cake donuts.

Notes:
Top - Juicy Blueberries, Black Raspberries
Mid - Vanilla Cake, Crystalized Sugar
Base - Buttercream, Milk

This scent came out in 2015 or 2016 and then I think it skipped a year, but now it's back. I reviewed it in March 2016 at http://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2016/03/goose-creek-candle-scented-wax-melts-0316.html. It used the soft, messy wax back then, but now it uses the harder wax.

I smell blueberries but it's an artificial blueberry scent. But not in a bad way, as it smells quite nice. I also smell a bakery note with a pinch of salty richness. Looking at the scent notes, I do smell the raspberry, which may be what's making the blueberry smell fake. But strangely, I think I might detect a smidgeon of musk, because this is a somewhat "perfumey" fruity bakery scent. The scent notes in 2016 showed an apple note, but the new notes don't (I don't smell apple at all), and the old notes show musk but the new notes don't (I do smell that smidgen of a perfumey note). Throw is the same now as it was when I reviewed it in 2016.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Cherry Blossom

Description: Bright pink blossoms fill the countryside with an earthy, true cherry aroma.

Notes:
Top - Cherry Blossom, Fresh Pear
Mid - Lush Violet, Gentle Powder
Base - Bright Florals, Cedarwood

A lovely light floral with a baby powder note, and maybe a pinch of vanilla and possibly a barely detectable hint of cherry. It's sweet but not overly sweet or perfumey. It smells like a nice body cream, or actually more like scented tissues. I really like it.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Cool Rain Drops

Description: A cool breeze flows through the rainforest as ice cold rain drops begin to fall.

Notes:
Top - Sparkling Bergamot, Watery Ozone
Mid - Clary Sage, Lavender Leaves
Base - Black Pepper, Amber, White Woods

A pleasant oceany watery scent with a hint of sweetness and maybe a smidgen of soapiness. It's not a soapy or shower gel type of scent though. Looking at the notes, I do smell a little bit of the pepper and lavender. It's a nice scent, but I have a lot of scents that smell very similar.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Lemon Peel

Description: The essence of a sparkling, summer fresh lemon

Notes:
Top - Sparkling Lemon, Lemon Peel
Mid - Lime, Orange
Base - Lemongrass, Sandalwood

Super authentic lemon scent that smells like the rind of a real lemon! It's a little sweet though, so it's more like a lemonade scent, but the old-fashioned homemade lemonade that's made with freshly squeezed lemons, ice and water, and a little sugar. Looking at the notes, I see "sparkling" lemon, but there's no fizziness in this scent. Although I can see how it might have a little bit of a lemon soda vibe, but without the fizziness, although that might also be because of the lime, which I do detect as well. I don't detect any sandalwood. It's a fantastic scent! It's a completely different scent from their Old Time Lemonade scent, which also smells great, but that one is sweeter, not really authentic, and has a slight bakery note and even a bit of a soapy note.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Perfect Day

Description: A soft glow and warm rays of sunshine fills the air as a breeze of warm amber and bright mandarin sparkle with intensity.

Notes: This scent has not yet appeared on their website, so I don't know the scent notes. I'll add them when I get them.

I love this scent! It's a rich sweet warm ambery scent with maybe a smidgen of cedar and barely detectable hint of lemon. Looking at the scent notes, the lemon is the mandarin (orange), although it's so subtle it's barely there. When melted, it has kind of a sweet candy note, almost like pink sugar.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Pineapple Upside Down Cake

Description: Warm from the oven, pineapple upside down cake is the new family favorite recipe.

Notes:
Top - Warm Pineapple, Vanilla Cake
Mid - Sweet Vanilla Sugar
Base - Mandarin, Lemon, Peach

The pineapple is subtle in this scent, which I like, since I'm not a fan of pineapple scents. It's kind of a vanilla cake scent with a little bit of a pineapple note, but I also smell nuts. And it has a hint of a banana note, almost like banana nut cake with pineapples. It's not overly sweet either. I like this one, but I wish it were a little sweeter.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Tropical Daydream

Description: Escape to a lush tropical paradise. It's truly what dreams are made of.

Notes:
Top - Juicy Fresh Pineapple, Fresh Pear
Mid - Star Apple, Guava, Palm Leaf
Base - Soft Bamboo, Tropical Woodlands

This is a strong, intense, kind of harsh pineapple scent with black cherry, I think. There may also be a hint of coconut, although I don't smell that when melting. Looking at the notes, the coconut is probably the palm. I don't see black cherry, but that might be the guava.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Warm Vanilla Cake

Description: Who can resist a hot, delicious, fresh from the oven, white vanilla cake?

Notes:
Top - Fluffy Vanilla Cake, Marshmallow
Mid - Vanilla Bean, Warm Butter
Base - Twisted Vanilla Bean

On cold sniff I smell rich, slightly salty butter, with milky vanilla, a hint of lemon, and maybe a smidgen of coconut. It's very slightly sweet. Melted, it just smells like a stick of butter. It's a nice, unusual scent, perfect for mixing into other scents to add richness and tone down sweetness.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Tuesday, January 2, 2018

Living Colors (Big Lots) Wax Melts Reviews - January 2018

Living Colors (Big Lots) Wax Melts Reviews - January 2018

Living Colors (Big Lots) Wax Melts - January 2018
Click to enlarge

Video 


It looks like the Living Colors spring wax melts are coming out early at Big Lots this year.

Blue Agave
This smells like a slightly sour tropical fruit scent with a hint of citrus zest (orange?). It's a nice, fresh scent, and it's not really sweet. Throw was strong, 3.5 out of 5.

Eucalyptus Rain
This smells like a lot of their scents, and it most likely a dupe for an older scent. It smells like bathroom cleaner, but not in a bad way. It has a little bit of a biting Pine-Sol note as well as a hint of kitchen lemon. It's just a little sweet. I do smell a minty note, like garden mint, so that Pine-Sol note might indeed be eucalyptus although it doesn't have that menthol or sinus clearing effect. Throw was faint, 2.5 out of 5.

Exotic Lily
This smells like so many other Living Colors scents, and it's probably a dupe for an older scent. It's a fresh watery scent with a hint of floral and a bitter, peppery note. It's an "okay" scent, but I don't care for the bitterness. Throw was medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5.

Lavender Mist
I really like this scent. I definitely smell lavender, but it's also sweet although not a perfumey sweetness. It has just a smidgen of a lavender scented cleaner note. Throw was medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5.

Nectarine & Mint
This is a slightly sour tropical fruit scent, obviously a dupe for an older scent that they just renamed. It's very nice, and it smells a little like grapefruit. It's not sweet, it's not a peach (nectarine) scent, and I don't smell mint at all. It's similar to the Blue Agave scent, but more sour and without the fresh citrus note. Throw was mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5.

Tranquil Oasis
I don't like this scent at all. I think it's supposed to be a fresh air or watery scent, but it's only slightly sweet and has a sour or very savory note. It's not a sour tropical fruit note, but more like a basil note, but it comes across as a sour chemical note that smells like gasoline. Throw was mild, 2.5 to 3, which I was thankful for.



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Saturday, December 23, 2017

Homeline Scents (Family Dollar) Wax Melts Reviews

Homeline Scents (Family Dollar) Wax Melts Reviews

Homeline Scents (Family Dollar) Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


I found these 3 Homeline Scents brand wax melts at Family Dollar yesterday for $2 each. They were in the cleaning aisle with the Glade melts and air fresheners. They were next to the Glade melts, and the packaging looks similar, and the scents smell similar to Glade scents that have similar names, so I think they're trying to compete with Glade but at a lower price point (I think the Glade melts were $3.50). The quality of two of these scents was surprisingly good for wax melts from a dollar store; it's quite possible they're actually made by Glade.

Apple Cinnamon
This smells like apple juice with a little spice, or a light apple cider, but no mulling spices. It smells like a lot of other similar scents, but it smells great and doesn't have that waxy note that cheap apple wax tends to have, which is surprising from wax melts from a dollar store. Throw was mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5.

Hawaiian Blossoms
This smells awful, like a fake chemical cleaner with a hint of pineapple, or even what I would imagine a urinal cake smells like. I bought it just to do the review. And throw was mild, 2.5 out of 5.

Linen Fresh
This smells a lot like Glade Clean Linen, with some slightly different notes. It's a nice fresh fabric softener scent, not harsh and not perfumey. It smells like a laundromat. Very nice. And surprisingly, throw was strong, 4 out of 5.



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

DD (Hobby Lobby) Wax Melts Reviews

DD (Hobby Lobby) Wax Melts Reviews

DD (Hobby Lobby) Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


DD (Darsee & David) candles and wax melts are made exclusively for Hobby Lobby. They come out with a handful of new scents a few times a year. Most of the scents in this review are brand new, within the past few months. I enjoy the DD (Hobby Lobby) scented wax melts, and I especially like that they show the scent notes right on the label.



Amber Petals

Notes: Frosted citron, amber, cedarwood and neroli

This smells like warm, rich musky old-fashioned honeysuckle perfume. DD also has (or used to have) a scent called Honeysuckle Bouquet, which was different from this scent (more soapy and not as sweet and rich, like honeysuckle scented soap). Looking at the scent notes, I do detect the neroli in the background, which is a scent I love. And the amber of course adds the warmth. I don't smell cedar, and I definitely don't smell citrus. I'm surprised I don't see honeysuckle or musk in the notes. I really like this scent.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Apple Spiced Cider

Notes: Cinnamon, red apple & clove

A typical fall cinnamon apple scent. This one smells a bit better than other similar scents I've smelled. It's more authentic and doesn't have that waxy note that some cinnamon apple scents have.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Christmas Tree

Notes: Pine needles, fir balsam & wintergreen

A fantastic blue spruce scent with a woodsy note. It's not a biting pine scent or a smoky scent, and it's different and more authentic than most of the pine type scents I've smelled, with that aldehyde type of note that I love in Colonial Candle's Blue Spruce scent. Looking at the scent notes, wintergreen has an anise note, but I don't smell anything like that in this scent, or any minty notes either.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5



Exotic Oasis

Notes: Blooming clematis, magnolia, ebony wood and poppies

I love this scent! It's a super sweet floral perfumey scent with a berry note and maybe a hint of marshmallow, a bit like pink sugar. Very girly! Looking at the scent notes, I'm surprised I don't see any fruit since I do smell a little bit of fruit, maybe raspberry or plum.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



Gardenia Blossoms

Notes: Gardenia, jasmine & lilac

This smells like real gardenia. It's not overly sweet or perfumey. It has a little bit of a hothouse or greenhouse floral note. Looking at the scent notes, I do smell the lilac too. It's a nice scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Gourmet Taffy

Notes: Buttery salt water taffy at its best

This scent wasn't available when I did this review; hence no picture (I added this review on 12/29/17). It's a sweet candyish scent, but different from the Jelly Bean scent in that it's also rich and buttery. I can't tell what kind of fruit it is; it smells a little like pineapple. And the wax is yellow. It's not overly fruity, but more like a sweet buttery candy scent with a slight fruit note. It's a nice scent, but it only lasted about an hour and a half!

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Grammie's Toffee

Notes: Butter, caramel & vanilla

It's caramel. A nice scent, but just a typical caramel scent. It's slightly salty but not really a salted caramel scent.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Grapefruit & Cinnamon

Notes: Bright citrus & spice

It's an odd combination, but it works. This smells like a tropical berry. I smell the slight bitterness of the grapefruit, although I don't detect grapefruit per se. And I detect a little of the cinnamon, but it smells more like it's just part of the berry scent. It's sweet too, but not overly sweet. I like it. It smells a lot like an old ScentSationals scent called Fiesta (different from Tropical Fiesta). I'm surprised I don't see berries in the notes.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Jelly Bean

Notes: Fruity melange of strawberry, pineapple, banana, grape and orange

This is a fruity candy scent, but I can't figure out what fruit. I think I smell grape, but maybe also a little bit of strawberry and even banana. Looking at the scent notes, they're spot on. I don't smell pineapple or orange though. Although it's a sweet scent, it's slightly less sweet than what I would expect from a jelly bean scent. Actually, it smells more like fruity gumdrops or gummy bears or something like that. It smells a bit like ScentSationals Rock Candy but with slightly different notes, and a little less sweet.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Lavender & Oakwood

Notes: Soft medley of rosewood oak and blond woods wrapped with fresh lavender

This is a medicinal but fresh lavender scent with a eucalyptus note and a hint of light milky sandalwood. It's not a sweet scent, but it does have just a smidgen of sweetness. I like it; it's different.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Sunflower Meadow

Notes: Summer sunflowers in full bloom

This smells like jasmine with maybe a hint of neroli. It's not a warm, rich, musky honeysuckle scent like Amber Petals, and it's different from their old Honeysuckle Bouquet scent. It also has a little bitterness that makes it more authentic and not as perfumey. I don't normally like that bitter note, but it's subtle and doesn't detract from the scent. I like this one.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Tangerine & White Musk

Notes: Fresh citrus burst of grapefruit and tangerine with lavender and white musk

This is an orange scent with some notes in the background that I don't like. I don't smell musk or anything perfumey at all. It's like orange mixed with peach and something a little bitter or sour, but not sour in a good way like satsuma. Looking at the scent notes, the bitterness is the grapefruit. And I don't smell lavender at all. Actually now that I know it's in there, maybe I do detect it a little, but it doesn't work well at all with the bitterness of the grapefruit.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Warm Cookies

Notes: Sweet milk, creamy butter & vanilla

Super rich vanilla cookies with maybe a hint of brown sugar and smidgen of marshmallow. It's a sweet scent, but not overly sweet, and it's even a little salty, like the butter that makes it rich. It's different from other vanilla cookie scents I've smelled, and I thought I detected a smidgen of chocolate, although it's not in the scent notes.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Water Lily & Bergamot

Notes: Clean water lily and bergamot

A nice green slightly zesty scent with a hint of a cologne note and perhaps a smidgen of a floral undertone. It's similar to White Sage & Eucalyptus, but that scent is more peppery and this one is sweeter and with the cologne and slight floral note. I like this one more.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



White Sage & Eucalyptus

Notes: Sage and eucalyptus intermingled with lime and aromatic black pepper

A zesty herbal scent with a slight peppery note and a smidgen of mint. I guess the mint is the eucalyptus. There's a slight savory note which I guess is the sage, but it's an herbal savory note. Looking at the scent notes, I do detect the lime, which is the zestiness. It's more herbal than zesty. I like it. It's very similar to Water Lily & Bergamot, but this scent is more peppery and that scent is a little sweet and with a cologne note. 

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Wood Shop

Notes: Fresh cut wood, sweet leather and cologne

I love this scent! It's men's cologne with raw wood and mesquite (salty smoky woodsiness). It's not a real wood shop type scent, as that would have that raw pencil shavings type wood note. And it's not a smoky campfire type scent. It's like a combination of men's cologne and ScentSationals Smoked Birch (or AmbiEscents Aspen Birch, same scent). Looking at the notes, I don't smell leather although it could be way in the background.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Sunday, December 17, 2017

Shortie's Candle Company Wax Melt Reviews

Shortie's Candle Company Wax Melt Reviews

Shortie's Candle Company Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


Shortie's Candle Company is a company in Reno, Nevada that makes candles, wax melts, and accessories such as warmers. They sell their products online as well as through wholesalers across the country including Whole Foods and various card and gift shops. They even have a Fundraiser Program for organizations.

Shortie's Candle Company can be found online at their website at https://www.shortiescandles.com, Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/ShortiesCandleCompany, and Twitter at https://twitter.com/shortiescandles.

Their wax melts are made with soft food-grade paraffin wax, although in February they will be changing their formula to a natural soy blend. I was told that they've done extensive testing on the new soy blend and they throw extremely well. Hopefully I will get to review them when they are released!

These wax melts were fantastic. The scents were high quality and the throw on just about every one was strong or bold. I love strong throwing wax, so these wax melts were winners for me!



Apple Afternoon

Notes: Warm scent of apple cider mingles with evergreens

I love this scent. It smells like a combination of apples and pine, with maybe a smidgen of vanilla. It sounds like a strange mix, but it really works. Looking at the notes, the apple smells like more of a fresh apple than apple cider, and I don't smell mulling spices.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Banana Coconut Blast

Notes: Banana and coconut, blended with a pinch of sugar

This is a very sweet, almost candy-like banana scent with a hint of coconut. It's a fake banana scent rather than authentic banana. Melted, it smells like a rich sweet vanilla banana frosting. I like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Bayberry Fir

Notes: Bayberry and Douglass Fir, with subtle hints of cinnamon, clove, vanilla, and hardwoods

A smoky pine scent with a sour kind of sage-y note. I've smelled this scent before, and I don't really care for it. However, I think that's just me, as it's similar to some other scents that I don't like, that other people love.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Blue Moon

Notes: Jasmine, cyclamen and carnation waft with top notes of lime zest that mingle with deep marine notes that form the base and body of this fragrance.

A fresh air, watery type scent with a hint of a peppery note, maybe a smidgen of grapefruit, and perhaps a barely detectable tinge of mint. Looking at the scent notes, I don't really smell floral notes because this is not a sweet scent, and actually has a little bit of the salty marine note. I guess the lime zest is the grapefruit I think I smell. It has a slight bitter note that at first I didn't care for, but when I melted it a second time I actually liked it.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Grapefruit

Notes: This bitter sweet citrus fragrance features watery green nuances blended with top notes of lily of the valley and coriander blossom on a body of Pink Pomelo Grapefruit.

Wow, this is an incredible scent! I definitely smell the grapefruit, but I think there's also some other sweet fruit in there as well. I love this one; it's fresh and juicy and summery! Looking at the scent notes, the sweetness I detect is probably the lily of the valley (although I don't smell any floral notes at all). Coriander supposedly is a pungent soapy slightly citrusy scent that smells a little like pink peppercorns, and I do smell a citrusy scent but that might be from the grapefruit.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the entire house



Lemon Blueberry Twist

Notes: Lemons and blueberries twisted together with a pinch of sugar

This smells like lemon verbena with a tangy lime note. I think I detect a smidgen of the sweet blueberry. It's not a foodie scent like the name would suggest, and I think I detect a barely noticeable hint of citronella, almost like a bit of spa type of scent. There's some note in this one that I don't care for.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Mistletoe Moments

Notes: Freshly trimmed pine tree and the sweet aroma of ripe juicy berries

I smell pine and a little bit of sweet tart cranberry. This also has that slightly sour note that the Bayberry Fir scent has, which I don't care for. Like the Bayberry Fir, I think I'm in the minority as it seems that a lot of people like this type of scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Pepperberry Spice

Notes: With top notes of berries, citrus and spicy pepper, pepperberry mixes well with cinnamon and clove, and a mild base of vanilla, patchouli and sandalwood

I smell patchouli with a hint of an old perfume note, in a good way. I think I also smell a little bit of clove, and maybe a smidgen of a berry note. It's a unique scent, and I really like it. Looking at the notes, I don't smell citrus.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Pinion & Patchouli

Notes: The woody Southwest scent of pinyon pine paired with a touch of musky aromatic patchouli oil, derived from an exotic Asian relative of the mint family

This smells fantastic, like balsam (a sprucey type scent) with a deeper, warmer slightly sweet note which is probably the patchouli. Pinion is a type of wood that smells like juniper. When melted, it's a very nice aromatic blue spruce type scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Stargazer Lily

Notes: All of the strong beautiful fragrance of the flower without the mess

This really smells like a lily! It's not overly sweet, but it does have a little bit of a rich musk perfume note. It also has a little bit of an old-fashioned soapy note. It smells like real flowers in a hothouse or greenhouse, although it does have a hint of bitterness that I don't care for.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Sugarplum Cranbery

Notes: Tart cranberries top this concoction of sweet plums sprinkled with a dusting of sugar

This is a sweet, slightly tart fruity scent that smells a little like fruit candy, but also has a tropical note. Despite the sweet tartness, it doesn't really smell like cranberry. I'm probably smelling more of the plum. I'm not a fan of the scent as it's a bit too tart, even though it's also very sweet.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



White Chocolate Mint

Notes: White chocolate mixed together with freshly pureed mint

A fantastic rich vanilla mint scent with a warm chocolate note. The chocolate is not that burnt, bitter chocolate that some chocolate scents have. I love this scent, and my roommate wanted to steal it! But the scent started fading within 2 hours.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Friday, December 15, 2017

Aromance Wax Melts Reviews

Aromance Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


Aromance wax melts are discount store wax melts that I bought from Ollie's for $1.49 each. Although most of them smelled good, most of them also had mild throw, with a few exceptions. Many of them had a weird bubbly wax consistency that I've seen in dollar store melts before. I believe these are manufactured by several wax melt companies, including ScentSationals, Hanna's Candle, and Empire Brands Co. (this is not confirmed). Occasionally wax melt companies are approached by distributors and asked if they want to contribute their scents, which is why some of these smell like scents from other well-known brands. But despite the low price, if you prefer wax melts with strong throw, you probably won't be happy with most of these.

Alpine Holiday
I love this scent, and I think it's a dupe for an older Better Homes & Gardens winter scent but I don't remember which one. It smells a lot like the green side of Ashland Shimmering Noel Trio from Michaels from 2016. Also like a combination of Better Homes & Gardens Frosty Winter Nights, with that sweet slightly spearmint note, and Better Homes & Gardens Winter's Sleigh Ride, with that smoky note. But it's not as sweet as Frosty Winter Nights and not nearly as smoky as Winter's Sleigh Ride. It's a nice cool winter scent. Throw was mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5.

Apples & Berries
I thought this might have been the same scent as the old Mainstays Apples and Berries, but it's not, although it's quite similar. Just like the name says, I smell apples, and some kind of berry in the background. Throw was mild, 2.5 out of 5.

Autumn Berries
The label shows cranberries, but this smells more like cherries with a sweet apricot note and maybe a hint of vanilla. It's not a harsh fake cherry scent like Cherry Cheesecake, and it's not tart. It's not an autumn type scent, and there are no spices. It's very nice. Throw was faint, 2 to 2.5 out of 5.

Autumn Leaves
This smells like apple with a slightly sour brown fallen leaves note. It's a nice typical fall scent. Throw was mild, 2.5 out of 5.

Banana Nut Bread
A nice rich banana scent with a sweet and very slightly salty nutty note with a warm vanilla note or maybe a smidgen of caramel. It smells fantastic, and strangely, I think it's the same scent as Hanna's Candle's (and Aldi) Banana Nut Bread. Throw was bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house.

Blue Spruce
Something is wrong with this one, like they forgot to add fragrance oil. Zero scent on cold sniff, other than the scent of the wax itself. And throw was 0 out of 5.

Blossoms & Summer Flowers
This is a nice clean bright floral body wash scent. It's not perfumey or overly sweet. And it's not a honeysuckle type scent, which is what I would expect from a scent with this name. Throw was mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5.

Cherry Cheesecake
A very fake chemical cherry scent, but strangely it smells fairly good. Throw was medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5.

Cherry Mango
I really like this scent. It's fun and summery. I smell the cherry first, then the other fruit which is the mango, although it smells more like orange, but not a very citrusy orange. This smells a bit like a cherry soda without the fizziness, or a Hi-C fruit drink. Throw was mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5.

Christmas Memories
This is so weak on cold sniff I barely smell anything, maybe a smidgen of pine and something else? Throw was poor, 1 out of 5.

Cinnamon
This smells like cinnamon and cloves. I'm not a fan of straight cinnamon, but the cloves gives it a nice warmth. Throw was faint, 2.5 out of 5.

Fallen Leaves
This smells almost exactly like Autumn Leaves, but with more of that slightly sour brown fallen leaves note. Throw was strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5.

Fresh Home
I've never had a wax scent that smelled like wintergreen... until now! Wintergreen smells kind of like a combination of sweet spearmint and anise. It's used for a lot of muscle pain ointments, so it kind of has a Ben-Gay note. But I think this has another note in it as well, maybe a slight laundry or floral note, or even cinnamon. I'm not a fan of spearmint or wintergreen scents, but this is actually not too bad, and it sure is unique. Throw was medium, 3 out of 5.

Fresh Laundry
It's very weak on cold sniff, but it's a nice warm fabric softener scent, and not very sweet, and it seems like there's a smidgen of vanilla in the background. Throw was faint, 2 to 2.5 out of 3.

Frosted Sugar Plum
This smells like Tuscany Candle Stressless, which is a dupe for Victoria's Secret Love Spell perfume. But it also has a little bit of a plum note. The Stressless scent smells bland to me, like grapefruit and paper, but the addition of the plum in this scent makes it smell quite nice. Throw was faint, 2 to 2.5 out of 5.

Garden Rain
This is the same scent as Mainstays Garden Rain from Walmart. It's a fresh sweet watery airy scent with a little bit of an ocean-y quality and a smidgeon of floral perhaps that makes it very slightly perfumey. It has a generic bathroom air freshener scent, but it's still quite nice. Throw was strong, 4 out of 5.

Iced Snowberries
A generic slightly waxy very tart berry scent, maybe cranberry? It smells a lot like Better Homes & Gardens Iced Winter Cranberry from Walmart. Throw was very faint, 1 to 2 out of 5.

Line Dried Linen
This is similar to Better Homes & Gardens Line Dried Linen, but it's not the same scent. Like the BH&G version, this is a sharp laundry detergent scent, but this version is sweeter and a little less harsh than the BH&G version. Throw was medium, 3 out of 5.

Peppermint Creme
A sweet rich vanilla scent with a little bit of marshmallow and peppermint. It's not as minty as other similar scents I've smelled, but it still smells great. It smells just a little bit like Better Homes & Gardens Marshmallow Candy Cane, but the Aromance scent is sweeter, richer, creamier and more vanillary, while the BH&G scent is a little more minty. I actually like the Aromance scent a little more. Throw was medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5.

Pineapple & Cilantro
A sweet pineapple candy scent. I don't smell cilantro or any savory notes at all. Throw was mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5.

Raspberry
A slightly tart berry scent that smells like a combination of raspberry and cranberry. Throw was medium, 3 out of 5.

Rose Petals
This is not a rose scent at all. It smells like smoke with a smidgen of a floral or soapy note. It smells nice, but throw was faint, maybe 2 out of 5.

Rustic Retreat
A smoky scent but not a burning wood smokiness, more like a fake slightly salty Liquid Smoke scent with a very slight sour sage-y note and a foodie quality. I've smelled this scent many times before and I'm not a fan. Throw was medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5.

Sandalwood & Sage
A nice sweet soapy sandalwood scent with a bit of a cologne note. Throw was mild, 2.5 out of 5.

Sea Salt
A salty water scent with a soapy note and just a smidgen of sweetness. It smells slightly like Garden Rain, but without the sweet or floral notes. It's not sweet enough to be a body wash type scent. When melted though, it had a little bit of a bitter note that I didn't like, and wasn't sweet enough, kind of like old soap. Throw was strong, 3.5 out of 5.

Snowflake
I love this scent. It's smoky woods and mint, and smells a little bit like Better Homes & Gardens Winter's Sleigh Ride and Winter Ski Resort. It's a bit similar to Alpine Holiday, but not as sweet or minty. Throw was strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5.

Spiced Cake
A nice clove scent with a bit of a bakery note and a hint of cinnamon and ginger. Throw was mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5.

Spiced Cranberry Compote
A typical fall cranberry scent with a hint of cinnamon. It's tart with a little sweetness. Throw was medium, 3 out of 5.

Strawberry Kiwi
This is a tropical fruit scent. I don't smell strawberry. It's not very sweet, nor is it a sour tropical fruit scent. Throw was medium, 3 out of 5.

Wild Berries & Cream
A rich warm raspberry scent. This smells more like raspberries than their Raspberry scent. Fantastic scent. Throw was faint, 2.5 out of 5.

Wild Cherry
This smells like sweet cherry candy or cough syrup. It's a nice scent. Throw was faint, 2 out of 5.



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

Tuscany Candle Winter Holiday 2017 Scented Wax Melts Reviews

Tuscany Candle Winter Holiday 2017 Scented Wax Melts Reviews

Tuscany Candle Winter Holiday 2017 Scented Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


I bought these Tuscany Candle Winter Holiday Christmas 2017 wax melts at Wegmans food store for $2.50 each last week. These are the "Limited Edition" melts; I believe Tuscany Candle has more winter/holiday scents that are not limited edition, although I haven't found them.

Cinnamon Snow
I smell sweet, rich cinnamon and molasses, but it's not really a foodie scent because there's a hint of wood in the background. It's a really nice, unique scent. Throw was mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5.

Cranberry Apple Cider
This is an apple cider scent with a little bit of spices, but no harsh mulling spices. It smells like cider made with fresh, crisp, earthy apples, and it's not overly sweet. I don't know if I detect cranberry, although there is a smidgen of tartness. This is a more authentic apple cider scent than a lot of similar scents I've smelled. Throw was mild, 3 out of 5.

First Snow
A minty scent, but it's not sweet. It smells like either strong garden mint or peppermint without the sweetness. It's not spearmint, so it's not a toothpastey mint. It has that sinus clearing effect, and there may be a eucalyptus note, but it doesn't have the menthol, pine, or Vicks Vaporub note that eucalyptus scents tend to have. When melted, there's also a bit of a black pepper note. It's a nice, unique scent, although a little too savory; I would have preferred a little sweetness. Throw was strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5, but it started dissipating within 2 hours.

Fraser Fir
This is not the same as their usual pine scent that they come out with every year but with a different name, such as Evergreen & Balsam, and Frosted Spruce. This is more of a raw wood scent with a smoky note and a hint of pine. It's quite weak on cold sniff, which is unusual for a pine scent. Throw was mild, 3 out of 5.

Gingerbread Village
This smells like oatmeal raisin cookies with ginger. I definitely smell all 3 notes: oatmeal, raisins and ginger. Fantastic, yummy scent! Throw was medium, 3.5 out of 5.

Holiday
This is a smoky scent that smells more like Liquid Smoke, or a foodie smokiness, a little bit like bacon, but with a hint of sour. I've smelled this scent many times before, and it's not one of my favorites. Throw was strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5.

Holiday Hearth
I really like this scent. It smells like raw wood with a bit of a smoky note, but it's not a campfire type scent. And it doesn't have that weird Liquid Smoke foodie smoky note that a lot of similar scents have. And there's no sweetness like cloves. There may be a smidgen of pine way in the background, but this is not a pine scent. It smells almost exactly like the Fraser Fir scent, but this scent is slightly smokier and that scent has slightly more pine. Throw was medium, 3.5 out of 5.

Peppermint Meringue
On cold sniff, the Tuscany Peppermint Meringue puts all other peppermint scents to shame, including Better Homes & Gardens Marshmallow Candy Cane and Ashland Joy Peppermint. It's on par with my beloved Better Homes & Gardens Chocolate Peppermint Truffle that was discontinued years ago... and maybe even better than that! It's the richest, sweetest, most incredible peppermint patty scent I've ever smelled in a wax melt. It smells like peppermint fudge if there were a thing. I definitely smell the chocolate too; it's sweet and subtle while also being very rich, but not a bitter burnt chocolate at all. Throw was medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5.



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Sunday, December 10, 2017

Yankee Candle Home Inspiration Winter 2017 Wax Melt Reviews

Yankee Candle Home Inspiration Winter 2017 Wax Melt Reviews

Yankee Home Inspiration Winter 2017 Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


Yankee Candle Home Inspiration didn't put out many winter/holiday scents this year. Fresh Balsam Fir came out with the fall scents in September. I think the holiday scents were in very limited supply, as the few that I saw on the Walmart shelves disappeared quickly and were not replaced.



Holiday Apple Wreath

Notes: A welcoming holiday mix of apple, cinnamon stick and fresh clove woven with vanilla

I smell cloves with sweet apple and a little bit of cinnamon. A typical nice warm winter scent. I've heard this is the same as the regular Yankee scent "Red Apple Wreath", although the scent notes on their website are different.

Throw: Very faint, 1 to 2 out of 5



Merry Cherry

Notes: A spirited concoction of juicy cherries and spicy cinnamon to ring in the holidays

This scent has returned from 2015. It's a sweet maraschino cherry syrup scent with a very slight perfumey note, not overpowering or harsh or black cherry. I don't smell any cinnamon at all. This is a summer type scent rather than a winter scent. It's a fun, happy scent! Throw was medium, 3.5 out of 5, when I reviewed this in the older rectangular package in December 2015. Throw is a bit stronger now that this is in the newer oval package with "more fragrance" shown on the label.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Sparkling Bright Christmas

Notes: ?

This smells like lemon verbena with that clean soapy note. It has a slight spa lemon quality. There's something else in there, maybe lime, but also a tiny bit of a sour note (but not bad). I thought I detected a smidgen of pine, but I don't think so. This is a unique scent, and I like it. It's not really a winter scent though. I've heard this is the same as the regular Yankee scent "All is Bright" (scent notes: a blend of sparkling citrus scents drifting on warm musk).

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Spiced Orange & Clove

Notes: Whole orange pierced with rich and earthy clove

This is a typical orange pomander scent, kind of like cloves plus a note of orange, a bit more savory than sweet, but there's also a waxy note in there. I'm not a fan of orange pomander in general, so I don't like this one. I also reviewed this scent in September 2016 (but I didn't buy it then).

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Glad Tidings

This was available at some Walmart stores, but I couldn't find it. However, it's available in the UK. I don't know if it's the same scent, but the description from the Yankee UK website is "Bright and happy as a mantle hung with Christmas stockings waiting to be found, full of warm amber and edged with sweet citrus."



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Sunday, December 3, 2017

Scentsy Bar Reviews - December 2017 - Part 2 of 2

Scentsy Bar Reviews - December 2017 - Part 2 of 2

Scentsy Bar Reviews
Click to enlarge
Video


This Scentsy bar review is a bit different from my usual Scentsy reviews. I'd like to focus a little on the seller first: Carrie Mamulski. Carrie joined Scentsy in 2013 and is now a "Star Consultant". She hosts Scentsy parties, and although she is located in New Jersey, she ships anywhere in the U.S. Carrie loves Scentsy and enjoys sharing it. She always tries to throw in something extra with each order. And if you buy warmers from her, she will replace their bulbs for free as needed. Just a little extra gesture to show her appreciation!

So yes, you can buy Scentsy from any Scentsy rep, but it's nice to deal with someone who is completely knowledgeable about the product, provides great customer service and quick shipping, and goes the extra mile for her customers.

Carrie Mamulski's Scentsy page is https://carriemamulski.scentsy.us.

This is part 2 of 2 of Scentsy review scent starting with M to V. I reviewed scents starting with B to L in October (link is below).

 My other Scentsy reviews (so far) can be found at:
- http://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2017/10/scentsy-bar-reviews-october-2017-1.html
- http://www.scentedwaxreviews.com/2017/10/scentsy-bar-reviews-september-2017.html
- http://www.scentedwaxreviews.com/2017/06/scentsy-wax-bars-reviews-june-2017.html
- http://www.scentedwaxreviews.com/2016/06/scentsy-wax-bars-reviews.html
- http://www.scentedwaxreviews.com/2016/05/scentsy-wax-bars-review-from-user-not-seller.html



Mariposa Lily

Notes: Mariposa lily blooms with sugar apple and pineapple slices

A creamy fruity floral. I can't tell if it's strawberry or apple or some other kind of fruit. It's not overly sweet and not perfumey at all. Nice and subtle. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell pineapple at all.

Throw: Good, 3 out of 5



Painted Leaves

Notes: Blue spruce, red maple and golden woods

Pine with a hint of woodsiness and a smidgen of mint. Very nice scent! Looking at the notes, I don't know why mint is not listed; I definitely smell mint, and it has a sinus clearing effect. There's a note in this one that makes it smell just a bit different from other pine scents, but I can't figure out what that note is. It's not a biting pine, there's no eucalyptus, and there are no smoky notes at all. Maybe it's the red maple and golden woods.

Throw: Excellent, 4 out of 5



Passion Fruit Colada

Notes: Honeydew and passion fruit surge with sugarcane

This smells like a lot of their other warm perfumey slightly fruity creamy blackberry type scents. Not that I'm complaining; this smells great, but I have like 6 other Scentsy scents that smell almost exactly like it. This doesn't have a colada or tropical note, which I expected based on the scent name. Looking at the scent notes, yes I think I do detect honeydew melon. And when melted, I think I detect a barely noticeable smidgen of coconut.

Throw: Good, 3 out of 5



Peach & White Amber

Notes: Deep floral notes and earthy, provocative amber

Fantastic warm ambery perfumey type scent, but it's not overly sweet or perfumey. I think I smell a hint of gardenia or jasmine. I definitely smell a sweet creamy vanilla. And maybe a smidgen of a fruit note which I assume is peach, although if I didn't know that, I wouldn't be able to tell what kind of fruit. And maybe a barely detectable hint of woods which is the amber (a warm woodsy note). Looking at the scent notes, hmm, no peach? Melted, I do smell more of a fruit note and this scent takes on a bit of a creamy fruity vibe.

Throw: Excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Persian Lime & Sandalwood

Notes: Tangy kaffir lime, cultured by earthy notes and an urbane touch of sandalwood

A nice fresh clean men's cologne scent. I don't actually smell lime.

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Pink Haze

Notes: A sweet confection of berries, nectarines and vanilla-laced whipped cream nestled in marshmallow fondant.

This is weak on cold sniff and smells like pink sugar, that very sweet cotton candy like perfumey scent with a hint of berry. But it's more subtle than pink sugar, and not as cloyingly sweet, with maybe a bit of vanilla marshmallow and a hint of floral.

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Pretty & Plum

Notes: Red plum gets pasty-perfect with black coconut and sweet cream.

Rich vanilla cake. On cold sniff I also smell a little bit of a sweet berry filling that smells like blueberries and blackberries, but I don't really smell the fruit when melted. I also smell coconut on cold sniff, which I also don't really smell when melted. It's quite nice!

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Quiet Grove

Notes: Bergamot, jasmine and sandalwood

I can't figure this one out, but I like it. It smells kind of like a body wash, sort of fresh and maybe with a smidgen of floral and lemon. Looking at the scent notes, bergamot makes sense as that's a base for a lot of fresh body wash and cologne scents (although this is not really a cologne scent). Jasmine is the floral (although it's not a sweet floral so I would not have known it was jasmine per se). And sandalwood, yes I guess there is a subtle light woods note.

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Sea Salt & Avocado

Notes: Pink sea salt, Valencia orange and creamy avocado

It's very weak on cold sniff, and I just smell a bland green scent. But melted, it's a fresh green scent with a hint of grapefruit and a little bit of creaminess. It's fresh with just a hint of sweetness. Looking at the scent notes, the grapefruit I'm smelling is actually orange, although this is not an orange scent. It's an unusual mix of notes that actually work quite well together.

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Silver Bells

Notes: Minty candy canes with pear, in a blanket of caramel and vanilla sugar.

Very nice warm perfumey scent, similar to Scentsy Luna, with a minty note, and perhaps a slight blackberry note. OK looking at the scent notes, it's pear, not blackberry. I really like this scent!

Throw: Excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Sweet Pea & Vanilla

Notes: Raspberries and sweet pea petals with vanilla

This is definitely a sweet pea scent, and I do detect the slight foodie quality of sweet vanilla that adds a bit of richness to this scent. I like this one. Looking at the scent notes, yes now I do detect a hint of berry although it's subtle. When melted, I definitely smell the raspberry note, which gives this a little bit of a berry candy vibe. And the vanilla gives it a smidgen of a caramel note. I really like this one, and the scent on cold sniff does not do it justice!

Throw: Excellent, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Toasted Coconut Amaretto

Notes: Praline cream, almond and just a hint of anise

Yum! I smell almond and sweet amaretto liquor (amaretto has a hint of cherry in it), with maybe a creamy vanilla. Coconut is in the scent name, but not in the notes, although I think I do smell it just a little on cold sniff (but not when melted). I don't smell anise at all though (which is good). When melted, the cherry note really comes out, and it becomes more of a perfect blend of maraschino cherry, almond, and a bit of sweet creamy vanilla.

I believe the fragrance oil Serendipity consists of almond, cherry and coconut notes, but I'm not a fan of Serendipity scents, so while this scent might share some of those notes, it's quite different. I really like this one!

Throw: Very good, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Very Merry Cranberry

Notes: Red winter berries pop against a backdrop of snow-covered cedar

Fantastic sweet cranberry scent, almost a little candy-like. I think I also detect a smidgen of peppermint, cinnamon and cloves, but all very subtle. Looking at the scent notes, okay I think I do smell cedar. But I definitely smell peppermint, although it's not very strong and has a mild sinus clearing effect. I really thought I smelled cinnamon and cloves, but maybe not.

Throw: Excellent, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the whole house.



I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Sassy Kandle Wax Melts Reviews - Winter 2017 Scents

Sassy Kandle Wax Melts Reviews - Winter 2017 Scents

Sassy Kandle Wax Melts - Winter Christmas Holiday Scents 2017
Click to enlarge
Video


These are Sassy Kandle Co.'s new Fall and Winter 2017 wax melt scents. Sassy Kandle Co. is one of my favorite wax vendors! Her scents are unique, and with good throw or better.

Sassy Kandle Co. is a candle and wax melt vendor based in Windsor, Colorado. Their website is https://www.sassykandle.com, Etsy is https://www.etsy.com/shop/SassyKandleCo, and Facebook page is https://www.facebook.com/SassyKandleCo.

I really enjoyed these wax melts. The scents were fantastic, and I even like the iridescent, very slightly glittery labels on the clamshells. The wax was very soft and hard to get out of the package though. I had to use a butter knife to pry out a cube, but it wasn't a big deal.

I reviewed their regular (non-holiday) scents in August 2017 at http://www.scentedwaxreviews.com/2017/08/sassy-kandle-co-wax-melt-tarts-reviews.html, and in October at http://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2017/10/sassy-kandle-co-wax-melt-tarts-reviews.html.



Alpine Frost

Notes: Fresh cool mountain breezes on cypress trees and frosted woods, with notes of oakmoss and fresh spices

Fantastic scent that combines a sweet clean fresh soapy body wash scent with a pine note. It's a great combination!

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Aspen Winter

Notes: Citrus blends with an abundance of warm winter spices of clove, cinnamon and sweet vanilla

Oh I really like this scent. It's a sweet candied cinnamon scent with cloves, but I also detect a creamy sweet vanilla buttercream which keeps this scent from being "just another" cinnamon scent. But it's not a cinnamon roll type scent either, as I don't detect any bakery notes. It's more like a sweet cinnamon frosting. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell any citrus at all.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Autumn Red Maple

Notes: A sweet and warm maple scent with notes of ripe pear and vanilla bean blended with toasted maplewood and amber

This is a really unusual scent, and I love it. It smells like rich caramel, maple, a little bit of apple, black pepper, and a little bit of wood. It had a smidgen of a barbecue sauce vibe, although it's very rich and caramely. Looking at the scent notes, the apple note I'm detecting is actually pear. Fantastic scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Bayberry

Notes: Bayberries, fir, and balsam, with the just the right amount of nutmeg and spice

This is another very unusual scent. On cold sniff I don't like it. But warmed, I can't stop smelling it, even though I'm not sure if I like it! I smell pine with a sour note, almost like sage, but there's also a warm very slightly sweet note in the background like amber, and maybe some kind of resinous tree sap type note like oud wood. I don't smell berries at all. This smells like some kind of chemical, but not a bad chemical. Looking at the scent notes, they seem too simple for this complex of a scent.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Chestnuts & Brown Sugar

Notes: A very sweet, rich and buttery seasonal fragrance. A warm baking smell with caramel, rich maple, chestnuts and buttery brown sugar.

A fantastic sweet rich buttery caramel and brown sugar scent with just a hint of nut. It's not a salty caramel scent, and not really a bakery scent (no bready or cookie notes).

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Christmas Memories

Notes: Orange peel and cranberry sauce flowing nicely into middle notes of cinnamon sticks and freshly ground cloves, with base notes of evergreen and pinecones.

On cold sniff, this is a very nice spruce scent with a hint of wood, a very slight peppery note, and maybe a smidgen of a nutty note in the background. There's also a hint of cloves and maybe cinnamon, but very faint. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell orange but there could be a barely detectable berry note which is the cranberry. The base note of evergreen is definitely the predominant note in this scent. Melted, however, I just smell a nice smoky spruce scent but none of the other notes.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Crackling Campfire

Notes: That warm, smokey, woodsy firewood scent

I like this one! It's very smoky, not a woodsy smoke like an actual campfire, but more of a "Liquid Smoke" that you put on food, as it also has a clove note. It's a nice warm smoky fall or winter scent.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Deck the Halls

Notes: Blend of cinnamon bark and leaves with fir needles and pine enhanced by clove buds

I smell cloves and a warm musky perfume note, with a hint of pine. Very nice combination. Looking at the scent notes, I'm surprised I don't see musk or floral or some kind of perfumey note, since I definitely smell it.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Holiday Festivities

Notes: Spruce, apple cider, cranberries, grapefruit, mandarin, cinnamon, and clove, with a light essence of vanilla beans

This smells a little like Scentsy Snowberry (one of my favorite scents), but with a little bit more of a spruce note. There are other notes in the background, maybe a hint of orange, nut, and vanilla. Looking at the scent notes, yes, I do smell the slight bitterness of grapefruit (in a good way), and the orange (mandarin), and there's the vanilla. I don't smell apple at all, and very little, if any, cinnamon or clove. Fantastic scent!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Hot Cranberry Tea

Notes: Cranberry, fragrant tea leaves and a touch of lemon and spices

A nice sweet cranberry scent with a hint of cinnamon. It's not very tart, which is good. I don't smell tea or lemon at all.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Merry Mistletoe

Notes: A festive pine scent with a top note of sweet berries and green apples and Siberian pine needles. Notes of cedarwood, balsam, patchouli, blue spruce and citrus round out this fantastic holiday scent!

I love pine scents, and this one is fantastic. It's pine tempered with a tiny bit of vanilla I think, and maybe a hint of berry. It has just a smidgen of sweetness. I don't smell apple, citrus, or patchouli per se, but the patchouli is probably the slightly woodsy tobacco-ey warmth I'm detecting. Melted, it smells even better, such an amazing scent! After a few hours I detected a bit more of the vanilla, even though there's no vanilla in the scent notes.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Mulled Cider

Notes: Spicy bouquet of apple, clove, orange and cinnamon top notes with a sweet musky background.

Despite the scent name, this is not a mulled cider type scent. It's apple cider, but without the harsh mulling spices that a lot of apple cider scents tend to have. It's very sweet, more like apple juice, and with a little bit of spice that actually makes it smell more like apple butter. There may also be a smidgen of tea and honey. Looking at the scent notes, it's the musk that probably makes this scent so unique. Very nice!

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Peppermint Twist

Notes: Cool peppermint and a splash of sweet vanilla

A nice sweet creamy vanilla peppermint scent, like the inside of a peppermint patty (but no chocolate).

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Pomegranate Cider

Notes: Aroma of hot cider spiced with cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves. The scent is then punched up with notes of pomegranate and strawberry.

I really like this one. It smells like cranberry, but sweeter and less tart than a lot of cranberry scents I've smelled. And there may be a sweet apple note in there as well. Looking at the scent notes, okay no apple, so it must be the strawberry I smell. Very nice! The spices are subtle, just enough to make this smell like a light cranberry apple cider.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Pumpkin Honey Chai

Notes: This sweet and spicy fragrance blends creamy pumpkin with freshly grated cinnamon, clove, nutmeg and black chai, balanced out with the smooth notes of vanilla, milk & honey

This is a pumpkin pie type scent, but there are some other notes that make this not smell like just another pumpkin pie scent. It's very rich and creamy, with almost a caramel or butterscotch note. I don't smell honey or chai or tea at all, although the sweet rich caramely scent might be the honey. The creamy notes are probably the vanilla and milk.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Pumpkin Pecan Waffles

Notes: Maple syrup, golden waffles, pumpkin spice, brown sugar

This smells a lot like Mainstays Pecan Pumpkin Cake, a super rich nutty maple caramel scent. Although this scent has a bit of an almond note, and it's very slightly sweeter. It might also be a dupe for Bath & Body Works Pumpkin Pecan Waffles (although I've never smelled that one). Looking at the scent notes, I'm surprised I don't see some kind of nutty note. And I don't detect pumpkin spice, which is good. Fantastic scent!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Pumpkin Spice

Notes: Butternut squash, pumpkin puree, cinnamon, clove and vanilla

This is not a typical pumpkin spice type scent, which is good. It's a nice caramel pumpkin scent, and it's not salty like a lot of pumpkin scents can be. And I don't smell a lot of spice.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Rocky Mountain Christmas

Notes: Balsam, fir, evergreen, cedar, berries and a hint of the forest.

I smell pine but there's another strong note in there that I can't identify that makes this scent a little sour or salty or smoky or even savory, something I can't figure out. It's a different type of pine scent, not bad, just different, and I like it. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell berries at all, and this is not a sweet scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Spiced Cranberry

Notes: Fresh, tart cranberry with yummy spice notes

Sweet but lightly tart cranberry, with a pine note. When melted, I smell the pine just a little bit more, but it's a nice combination of the pine and the fruity note. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell any spice, like cinnamon. I'm surprised I don't see pine or balsam in the scent notes.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Thankful

Notes: Sparkling citrus, cinnamon powder and macintosh apple with notes of blush rose, clove buds and crushed greens on a base of raspberry jam, scarlet peach and sugared vanilla.

This smells like apple cider made with sour brown apples that have fallen to the ground, but not in a bad way. Or apple cider and fallen brown leaves. It's sweet and a little sour with a little bit of cloves and cinnamon. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell rose, raspberry, peach or vanilla. I'm surprised I don't see any woodsy or sour notes, but maybe that's the crushed greens.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Winter Candy Apple

Notes: A fun, festive blend of red apple, winter rose petals, and candied orange

I smell a very sweet candy type apple scent with a perfume note, like maybe a Pink Sugar mixed in. Looking at the scent notes, ah, the perfume note is the rose. Yep, now I smell the rose. I don't smell orange, but the "candied" part of the orange note is probably the sweet candy note of the apple that I smell. When melted, I also detect a hint of light wood that tempers some of the sweetness of this scent. I really like this scent!

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Yuletide

Notes: The aroma of bayberries and apples with a base note of fresh pine needles and thyme, with a top note of freshly ground cinnamon bark and mulberry.

I smell sweet cranberry with a hint of tartness, apple, orange, and a hint of pine, and maybe a smidgen of cinnamon. It's a nice refreshing winter scent. Looking at the scent notes, there's no cranberry or orange, so it's probably the combination of bayberries and apples I smell.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.