Saturday, February 24, 2018

AmbiEscents Wax Melts Reviews - February 2018


Video:


Bed Bath & Beyond came out with new AmbiEscents wax melt scents in January 2018, which I reviewed at http://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2018/01/ashland-michaels-wax-melts-reviews-january-2018.html, but these are 5 even newer scents that may not yet be in stores as of the end of February. But look for them soon!



Beach Sand
Notes: A tropical blend of sun blushed fruit

A pineapple scent. There may be a smidgen of coconut and a hint of light beach wood, but it's primarily pineapple. It's not an overly sweet candy pineapple scent either. I'm not a fan of pineapple, but if you are, you'll probably love this one. I believe it's a dupe of some other ScentSationals or AmbiEscents scent, but I don't remember which one.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Blush Peonies

This is the same scent as Estate Blushing Peonies for J.C. Penney, one of my favorite scents. It's a super sweet floral perfume scent with a hint of musk, baby powder, and bubble bath, and maybe even a smidgen of cotton candy or "pink sugar". It's a little similar to Michael's Ashland Camellia & Sweet Pea (which I also love) but with slightly different notes. Definitely a little girl's scent, but I love it too!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Boho
Notes: Ripe fig, sweet berry, and absinthe

This is the same scent as last year's ScentSationals Midnight Summer, and the notes for that scent were figs layered with Indian jasmine, ballerina rose and green notes of absinthe. It's also the same scent as the new AmbiEscents Boho, but the notes for that scent incude sweet berry. It's a dark blackberry scent with floral, although it's not really a berry scent or a floral scent. This smells a lot like ScentSationals Blackberry Cider, although a little sweeter, with a bit of a "pink sugar" note. It also has a very subtle hint of men's cologne. A fantastic, and "sexy" scent.

Throw: Excellent, 4 out of 5



French Lavender

This one says "Odor Eliminator", so I guess it's used to cover up odors. I think I've smelled this scent before. I smell the lavender but it's not a natural lavender, more like a lavender scented cleaner, but it's also quite sweet, like vanilla and a little bit of musk. But it's not the same scent as AmbiEscents Linen & Lavender, ScentSationals Ambered Lavender, or ScentSationals Sugared Lavender Twist. It might have a hint of lemon in it, but not enough to be a spa scent. I'd say the notes are lavender, vanilla, a hint of musk, and a smidgen of lemon (or lemongrass). It smells a little like Yankee Lavender Vanilla and Scentsy Lavender Vanilla, but with maybe a smidgen of lemon or lemongrass (but it doesn't smell like Yankee Lemon Lavender).

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Spa Day (#SpaDay)
Notes: A Delicate Blend of Light Floral and White Musk

This is the same scent as ScentSationals Egyptian Cotton. It's a brand new scent, but AmbiEscents already has a new Egyptian Cotton dupe called Luxe Linen (which I reviewed at http://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2018/01/ambiescents-wax-melts-reviews-january-2018.html). So this Spa Day scent might be only available in certain stores if Luxe Linen is not available.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Saturday, February 17, 2018

Yankee Candle Wax Melt Reviews from Walmart - February 2018

Yankee Candle Wax Melt Reviews from Walmart - February 2018
Yankee Candle Wax Melts from Walmart - February 2018
Click to enlarge
Yankee hit it out of the park with these 28 new scents! The scents are fantastic, and the throw on most of them is excellent. This review is exclusive to our Facebook group, where we discuss store-bought/retail scented wax melt brands (no vendor wax).

Join our group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail and THEN click the link below to see the review:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail/permalink/1531321880318969

(If you click the review link before you're a member, it won't work.)



I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info.

Wednesday, February 7, 2018

Wonderberry Wax Co. Wax Tarts Reviews

Wonderberry Wax Co. Wax Tarts Reviews

Wonderberry Wax Co. Wax Tarts
Click to enlarge

Video:


This is a review of Wonderberry Wax Co. wax tarts. Wonderberry Wax Co. is a small business based in Missouri. Her wax tarts are made with para-soy, blending the excellent scent throw of paraffin and the attractiveness and texture of soy. Courtney, the owner, uses only the best fragrance oils, which are 100% concentrated. All tarts are hand-poured in a smoke-free, pet-free environment. They work best with warmers from 20W to 24W.

I truly enjoyed these wax melts. I love the fun labels with big writing that's easy to read, the bright cheerful colors of the wax, and the creative scent blends. In general, the scents didn't last long, around 1 to 2 hours, but I often get bored of a scent quickly so I don't mind changing them out often.

Wonderberry Wax Co. wax tarts can be purchased on their website at http://www.wonderberrywax.com. She also has a Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/wonderberrywax and is on Instagram at https://www.instagram.com/wonderberrywax.



Bakery in the Woods

Notes: Leaves (B&BW type - golden nectar, red apples, and spiced berries), cider donuts, and gourmet cupcakes

A super sweet marshmallow scent with brandy soaked raisins and maybe a slight honey note and perhaps a smidgen of cinnamon. So unusual! Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell any "leaves" or apple scents or cider donut notes.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Beach House

Notes: Dried coconut, night-blooming jasmine, vetiver, driftwood, and seaweed

I've smelled this scent before, and it's fantastic, but hard to describe. It's a sweet smoky tropical floral scent. It's not perfumey, and I think there's a hint of light beach wood in the background, and maybe a little bit of coconut. Looking at the scent notes, I'm surprised I don't see fruit or the source of the smokiness (maybe the driftwood or the seaweed?). It's a very unusual scent, and I like it!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Bewitched

Notes: Love Spell type blended with fruity orange soda

This smells like a Victoria's Secret Love Spell dupe combined with a fake orange note, like orange Tang, or maybe even orange soda since it has a smidgen of fizziness. Victoria's Secret Love Spell dupes always smell like bland grapefruit scented paper to me, even though the notes of the perfume are peach, cherry blossom and white jasmine (I've never actually smelled the perfume). I'm not a fan of Love Spell dupes (although I'm in the minority, as most people tend to like this scent), but because this has that extra orange note, I really like it. What a brilliant combination! And looking at the scent notes, they're spot on.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Birthday Krispies

Notes: Birthday cake, rice krispie treats, and a splash of citrus punch

I love this scent. It smells like super sweet buttercream marshmallow cake frosting with a little bit of lemon and a hint of vanilla cake.

Throw: Faint, 2.5 out of 5



Campfire Caramel Corn

Notes: Gooey campfire-roasted marshmallows and sticky caramel popcorn

This smells like a combination of campfire marshmallow (marshmallow with a very slight smoky note) and caramel corn. Yummy!

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Cinnamon Glazed Donuts

Notes: Fresh-baked donuts glazed with caramelized cinnamon sugar, warm spices, and buttery vanilla

This is definitely a cinnamon bakery scent, but it's more like cinnamon bread. It's very bready and not too sweet. It's different from other cinnamon bakery scents I've smelled, but I'm not a fan (although I'm generally not a fan of cinnamony bakery scents, so I might be in the minority).

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



Crazy Eight No. 4

Notes: Watermelon, creamy coconut, limes, oranges, ocean water, ylang ylang, ginger, and tropical fruits

This smells like pink sugar (a very sweet perfumey candy-like marshmallowy scent with a slight raspberry note) with a tropical note. Very nice!

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Frosted Blueberry Bread

Notes: Zucchini bread, blueberry muffins, and cream cheese frosting

This smells like other blueberry bakery scents out there, with that strong fake blueberry scent that smells fantastic. But this one has a twist. It's richer, creamier, and has a tinge of a tangy note. Yummy! Looking at the scent notes, the rich, creamy, tangy note is the cream cheese, but I don't really smell the zucchini bread.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5



Kissing in the Woods

Notes: Leaves (B&BW type - golden nectar, red apples, and spiced berries) blended with dusky vanilla sandalwood

I'm not a fan of this scent. It's a weird waxy scent that smells a little like toast, but I also smell powdery cinnamon in the background. Looking at the scent notes, I'm getting maybe the smidgen of apple, and the milkiness of the sandalwood. It's just an odd scent to me.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



Lavender Tea Bread

Notes: Earl grey and apple tea, sweet lavender, and zucchini bread

This is a bready scent that smells like toast, and I think it has that "zucchini bread" scent mixed in. But it also smells like tea. I don't really smell lavender. I'm not a fan of tea scents or bready scents (including zucchini bread), so this scent wasn't my cup of "tea".

Throw: Faint, 2 out of 5



Luigi's Mansion

Notes: Pistachio pudding cake, kettle corn, and cannoli

I love this scent! It's a super rich creamy pistachio scent with a hint of a cornbread note in the background. Looking at the scent notes, they're spot on!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Orange Clove

Notes: Juicy orange slices blended with cinnamon, nutmeg, and clove. A classic holiday smell!

A perfect combination of warm clove with an orange note. I think I smell cinnamon too. This is not a typical orange pomander scent, as pomander scents have a weird nauseating soapy note for me and I don't like them. It's a nice scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Red Hot Melted Marshmallow

Notes: Red hot cinnamon and marshmallow

A perfect combination of red hot cinnamon and sweet vanilla marshmallow. I'm not a fan of straight cinnamon scents, but I like this one. When melted, I smell more of the cinnamon, but because of the marshmallow it's not a red hot cinnamon and it's very sweet and candy-like.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Sex on Coconut Beach

Notes: Sex on the beach (pineapple, orange, peach, and cranberry tropical mixed drink) blended with creamy coconut milk

I smell pineapple, sweet creamy coconut, and some other fruity notes. Nice summery scent!

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Sugared Cherry Wonderland

Notes: Warm sugar cookies and maraschino cherries topped with toasted marshmallows

Oh this smells incredible! I smell sweet vanilla marshmallow with a slight maraschino cherry note and maybe a smidgen of coconut. Looking at the notes, no coconut, so maybe that's the toasted marshmallow I smell.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



Summer Marshmallow Pie

Notes: Key lime pie, mango sorbet, and marshmallow

This smells fantastic, like a combination of limes and sweet vanilla marshmallow.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Volcano Margarita

Notes: Volcano type (tropical fruits, sugared citrus, and green notes) blended into a frozen margarita

A nice sweet salty lime scent with maybe a hint of orange. Perfect for the summer!

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



Winter in the Woods

Notes: Leaves (B&BW type - golden nectar, red apples, and spiced berries), peppermint sticks, and hot cranberry tea

I smell peppermint and maybe a hint of apple and cinnamon. Melted, I smell a bit more of the cinnamon, but it's not overpowering at all. Nice winter scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Yoshi Eggs

Notes: Mango papaya, crunchy pears, and vanilla marshmallow milkshake

Yoshi Eggs are a character from a Super Mario video game. This is a nice scent. It's a super sweet candy like scent, but I can't figure out the notes. Marshmallow? A little bit of fruit? I think the fruit is pear. Looking at the scent notes, they're spot on, although I don't really smell mango papaya but it's probably in the background.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5




Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

SEMO Wax Melts Reviews

SEMO Wax Melts Reviews

SEMO Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


SEMO Wax Melts is a brand new wax melt vendor located in Southeast Missouri. Their website was just launched at http://www.semowaxmelts.com, and their Facebook page is https://www.facebook.com/semowaxmelts. Their wax comes in 2 oz. bags and is very affordable.

I enjoyed these wax melts. The scents were fantastic and in general, the throw was quite good. And Traci Woodall, the company owner, was a pleasure to deal with. This is a new company, but I think it has all the ingredients necessary to be successful: Great smelling wax with very good throw, affordable prices, and fantastic customer service.



Apple Cinnamon & Berries

Notes: All three scents come alive when mixed together to make a sweet scent with just a hint of kick.

It's a bit light on cold sniff, but I do smell apples with a berry note, and maybe a barely detectable smidgen of cinnamon. It has a very slight perfumey note but that's what makes this scent different. I like it.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Boo Berry Cane Pops

Notes: Great year round scent of Blueberry, Strawberry and Vanilla with just a hint of sweet sugar. Cake and frosting all balled up in one!

I smell fake blueberry and banana (but not in a bad way) with a smidgen of a bakery note. It smells great!

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



Cactus & Sea Salt

Notes: The new botanical twist of an oceanic accord has dramatic tones of cactus with fresh green elements and unexpected texture. This vibrant green quality creates a shimmering top note that accents the fragrance signature of fresh sea spray. Unexpected salty accents add newness to the blend while elements of sea moss and warm driftwood create rich undertones that support the fragrance from within.
Top notes: shimmering green cactus, ocean air
Middle notes: sea spray, sea salt
Bottom notes: driftwood, sea moss

A fresh pleasant oceany water scent. It smells like a fresh body wash with a slight cologne note.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Downtown Bakery

Notes: House blend of bread, donuts, butter brickle and Vanilla Bean Noel

I smell maple and sweet vanilla with maybe a hint of marshmallow, and a smidgen of cinnamon and a hint of bacon! Not sure why I smell bacon, but I do smell it, although it's faint. Fantastic yummy scent, although no bacon in the scent notes!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Fruit Loops

Notes: This one starts off with strong notes of lemon followed by lime, grapefruit and sugar. All this is set on notes of lemongrass, verbena and lily.

A sweet tangy lemon orange scent that smells just like Fruit Loops cereal. Fantastic!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Honey I Washed The Kids

Notes: Golden honey, soft white musk, sparkling bergamot, bits of toffee, crisp apple and sweet orange

This is a popular vendor wax scent and it smells fantastic, like a slightly honey scented soap or luxurious body cream, with just a smidgen of caramel. It's not really perfumey or overly sweet. Very nice.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Lots of Lush

Notes:  3 Blend of Lush Types:
1. Avo Bath- Lemongrass, citrus and sage blend beautifully with notes of violet, cinnamon, vanilla and white musk
2  Calacazz- A beautiful complex fragrance features lime, neroli and olibanum.
3. So White- It contains notes of orange, citrus, apple, rose, bergamot and neroli.

Oh I like this one! It's a sweet slightly soapy lime scent. Clean and very nice!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Marshmallow Smoothie

Notes: House blend of Marshmallow, Vanilla, and Sugar

I love this scent. It's vanilla and marshmallow with a buttery note. Yummy!!

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Rainbow

Notes: Beginning with top notes of pear, green grapes, kiwi, raspberry and peach; followed by middle notes of jasmine and lily of the valley; and well rounded with a base note of white musk.

This smells like pear and banana with a sweet vanilla note. It's a fake fruity scent, but it's fantastic. When melted, I think it's more pear and much less banana, if any. Looking at the notes, the banana I think I smell is probably the combination of the grape and other fruits. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell floral or perfumey notes, but they may be why this smells like a fake fruity scent (but not in a bad way at all).

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Rainbow Sherbert

Notes: Creamy vanilla with notes of juicy pineapple, honeydew melon and sweet raspberry

A nice orange candy scent with a little bit of a berry note. Looking at the scent notes, no orange, although it does smell like orange to me.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Strawberry-Lemon Crunch Cookie

Notes: House blend - Buttery Sugar cookie combined with Strawberry and Lemon

Yummy strawberry with a sweet vanilla bakery note, and a little bit of lemon.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Winterberry

Notes: Unique blend of the cool crisp scent of peppermint and an assortment of sweet delicious berries

This smells like peppermint, marshmallow, and a little bit of cranberry. Very nice!

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Crafters & Co. (Hallmark Gold Crown) Wax Melts Reviews - January 2018

Crafters & Co. (Hallmark Gold Crown) Wax Melts Reviews - January 2018

Crafters & Co. (Hallmark Gold Crown) Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video:


Crafters & Co. wax melts are made for Hallmark Gold Crown stores for $3.95 each. They are made by Empire Brands Co., the same company that makes Tuscany Candle melts and Sonoma melts for Kohl's.

You can find these at Hallmark Gold Crown stores, or you can order them from the Hallmark website at https://www.hallmark.com/gifts/home-decor/candles/?prefn0=collections&prefv0=Crafters+%26+Co.&srule=price+low+to+high.

I reviewed 4 other Crafters & Co. scents (White Tea Ginger, Wild Sunflowers, Seaglass Orchid, Lime & Basil) on 1/1/16 at http://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2016/01/crafters-co-wax-melts-from-hallmark-review.html.



Cashmere & Pearls

Notes: Sparkling citrus and rose wrapped in ribbons of vanilla

I smell the warm cashmere (a rich ambery scent with a hint of a laundry note) and maybe a hint of vanilla. It's sweet but not overly sweet, a nice subtle scent for the bedroom. When melted, there's a hint of a creamy fruity note. Looking at the scent notes, the fruit note is probably the citrus (although it's not a citrusy scent), and I don't smell rose per se although there is a little bit of a floral note.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Dragon Fruit

Notes: Sweet blend of exotic fruit scents

A very nice slightly raspberryish and very slight tropical type fruit scent with a little tartness, but also a sweet rich note with a hint of warmth from a smidgen of amber or cashmere that gives this a very slight perfumey note. It smells similar to Tuscany Candle's Berry Bliss, but with the addition of a slightly more tart, fruitier note.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Linen Breeze

Notes: Citrus, floral and smooth sandalwood

This scent has a hint of a laundry note, but it's not really a laundry scent. I can't figure out the notes. Laundry and a little bit of floral and vanilla and a hint of light wood and perhaps a smidgen of barely detectable orange. Looking at the scent notes, they're spot on, although I do smell vanilla too. It's a sweet scent, but not overly sweet, and it smells nice. Melted, though, it took on a weird chemical note, and then I realized that I've smelled this scent before but I don't remember where. I still like it though.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Refreshing Sage

Notes: Earthy sage with sun-ripened lemon and a touch of sweet balsam

This smells like really old perfume. I happen to kind of like that scent, although this is a little harsh. It's sweet with a little bitterness and an old soap note, and maybe a peppery and herbal note too. It doesn't actually smell like sage, which is a very savory herb without any sweetness, like oregano. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell lemon, but I think I do smell a hint of the balsam, which does sometimes have a soapy note, although there's no pine notes in this scent at all.

Throw: Faint, 2 to 2.5 out of 5



Sea Salt Blossom

Notes: Like a fresh sea breeze, these scented wax melts will invigorate a room's ambience.

A fresh, slightly salty water scent with a peppery note and just a hint of a sweet floral. I have lots of other scents that fit this description, but this one is different and I really like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Seaglass Orchid

Notes: Sea water, fresh air and citrus

I reviewed this on January 1, 2016 at http://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2016/01/crafters-co-wax-melts-from-hallmark-review.html. I could barely smell it when melted, but I decided to try it again because it smells fantastic. It's a sweet fresh watery scent with a slight floral note and maybe a hint of vanilla and amber. I think I also detect a smidgen of fruitiness, maybe apple?

Throw: Faint, 2 to 2.5 out of 5



Tranquil Waters

Notes: Refreshing ocean breeze and flowering garden

A watery floral scent with a cologne note, and a little bit of a peppery note and perhaps a smidgen of lemon. It's nice and unique, although I do have several scents that are similar.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Warm Vanilla

Notes:  The unmistakable scent of vanilla

Fantastic rich milky vanilla scent. It has a smidgen of a bakery note, so it smells a little bit like a vanilla cookie. It does have a little bit of warmth and I think that might be from a barely detectable hint of amber or cashmere which gives it a very slightly perfumey note.

Throw: Faint, 2 to 2.5 out of 5




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Sunday, February 4, 2018

Better Homes & Gardens Aromatherapy Wax Melts Reviews - February 2018

Better Homes & Gardens Aromatherapy Wax Melts Reviews - February 2018

Better Homes & Gardens Aromatherapy Wax Melts - February 2018
Click to enlarge

 Video


These Better Homes & Gardens Aromatherapy Wax Melts are part of a brand new line of aromatherapy products at Walmart which includes candles, wax melts, and scented oils. They're infused with real essential oils. The wax melts are $2.00 each, same as other Walmart wax melts, and the only scent notes are those shown in the scent name. I really liked these scents. They are relaxing, spa type scents, most of which are unique and different from any other wax melt scents I've smelled.



Blackcurrant & Bay

This smells a lot like Better Homes & Gardens Savory Blackberry Cobbler from 2016 (I reviewed it at http://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2016/02/better-homes-gardens-scented-wax-melts-spring-2016.html), but it's not the same scent as there are no bakery note. This is not a sweet scent at all. It's quite savory and a little sour. I do smell the currant berry note, but this is not a fruity scent. It's really hard to describe. There's a strong herbal note, kind of like oregano but not that savory.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Geranium & Patchouli

This is the same scent as the old discontinued ScentSationals Black Pepper & Rosemary, a fantastic herbal men's cologne Irish Spring type scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Lavender & Vanilla

On cold sniff this smells like a combination of baby powder and milk, and smells a lot like an old discontinued baby powder and baby cream from Crabtree & Evelyn called Tom Kitten, a very nice baby powder/milk scent. But I can also smell the authentic lavender, which comes out a bit more when melted. A fantastic relaxing scent that's perfect for a baby's room. Someone said this smells exactly like Bath & Body Works Lavender & Vanilla candle, which I have never smelled, but I've smelled dupes of that scent and this smells nothing like that. What do you think?

Throw: Faint, 2 out of 5



Lemongrass & Ginger

I nice spa lemon scent with a slightly savory lemongrass/lemon verbena note, and a smidgen of a slightly soapy ginger note. It's not a sweet scent, and it's completely different from the Vetiver & Lemon scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Lime & Eucalyptus

This smells like ScentSationals Zen, but when I smell them side by side, they're different. They both have that very subtle spearminty note. But Zen also has a hint of a sweet laundry note, while Lime & Eucalyptus has a hint of a lemon verbena note. But they're both so similar to each other that it's hard to tell the difference when they're melting.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Orange & Cedarwood

When I first smelled this I thought it smelled like ScentSationals Molten Orange, and it does have some similarities, but this scent is not as orangey or sweet. It also smelled a lot like the old Better Homes & Gardens Valencia Blood Orange, which was an intense almost savory orange scent, more savory than Molten Orange, and a bit similar to satsuma. But this is not exactly the same as that scent either. This is like a combination of Valencia Blood Orange with a slightly soapy, slightly woodsy note. It's kind of savory, and only very slightly sweet.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Rosemary & Spearmint

This scent is true to its name. It's a strong spearmint scent but not overly sweet like toothpaste, because of the herbal note that smells a little bit like fresh basil. Very nice.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Vetiver & Lemon

I really like this scent. It's weak on cold sniff, but not when melted. I smell lemon with a slightly sweet almost laundry type note, as well as a bland Ivory soap type note, but not in a bad way. But it's not a kitchen lemon type scent, more of kind of a lemon scented laundry scent perhaps, but with some other notes. It's very nice, and not a dupe of any older ScentSationals or Better Homes & Gardens scents that I know of.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Sunday, January 28, 2018

Ashland (Michaels) Wax Melts Reviews - January 2018

Ashland (Michaels) Wax Melts Reviews - January 2018

Ashland (Michaels) Wax Melts - January 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


The Ashland wax melts at Michaels are manufactured by Hanna's Candle (http://www.candlemart.com), which makes fantastic wax melts (although these scents are made exclusively for Michaels so you can't find them on the Hanna's website). Hanna's Candle also make the wax melts that are sold at Aldi three times a year.



Apple & Hibiscus

Notes: Apple, Pear, Seneca Grass, Lavender, Plum, Spearmint, Amber, Oakmoss, Balsam, Tonka Bean, and Sandalwood

This smells like apple blossom scented body wash or shampoo. I smell the apple first, but there's also a slight floral note in the background. I like it! Looking at the notes, I can detect a smidgen of the lavender, but I don't smell mint at all.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Camellia & Sweet Pea

Notes: Pear, Bergamot, Melon, Rose, Geranium, Violet, Vanilla, Amber, Patchouli, Benzion, and Cedarwood

I adore this scent! It's a sweet perfumey cherry blossom type scent with a vanilla and marshmallow note. There may also be a smidgen of a fruity note like honeydew melon, and a little bit of warmth from cashmere or amber. Looking at the scent notes, they're spot on. Yes, I definitely smell rose, but not pear. And I think I detect a smidgen of the patchouli. A fantastic, complex scent, and it lasted all day!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house!



Champagne Blush

Notes: Sparkling Citrus, Strawberry, Red Currant, Apple, Raspberry, Blackberry, Pear Blossoms, Rose Petals, Vanilla Sugar, and Sheer Musk.

This smells like grapefruit with a slightly sweeter fruit (raspberry I think), and fizziness that makes it smell like soda. This scent also smells a bit like Victoria's Secret Love Spell (and other wax melts that are a dupe of that scent, such as ScentSationals Magic Spell, Tuscany Candle Stressless, and Scentsy Lucky in Love). I'm not fond of fizzy scents or Love Spell dupes (too bland and bitter), so I don't care for this scent, but I think I'm in the minority and it will be a popular scent. Looking at the notes, I really just smell the "sparkling citrus" (which smells like grapefruit with that bitter note) and a little bit of the raspberry, but none of the other notes.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Coral Amber

Notes: Kaffir Lime, Linden Flower, Bitter Orange, Amber, Heliotrope Flower, Iris, Guiacwood Golden Oud, and Blonde Wood

Both this scent and the Sunset Lily scent smell exactly like Thierry Mugler Angel perfume. This scent is sweeter than the Sunset Lily scent. The description for the Angel perfume scent is: "This feminine scent includes notes of dewberry, bergamot, mandarin, red berries, honey, patchouli, coumarin, Australian sandalwood, caramel, vanilla, and chocolate". I can't even describe it, but there's no other scent like it, and it's absolutely fantastic. Looking at the notes, I definitely smell the Linden Flower (a rich warm floral note), and a hint of the lime.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Fresh Water Pearl

Notes: Fresh Waters, Citron, Palm Leaves, Grapefruit, Geranium Petals, Rosewater, and Cool Eucalyptus

A nice fresh air sweet watery scent with a salty note and a smidgen of a peppery note. It smells like a fresh body wash. Nice scent, smells like a lot of similar fresh ocean water type scents I have, but I really like it. Looking at the notes, the peppery note is probably the slight bitterness of the grapefruit and geranium. And I do smell a smidgen of eucalyptus, even though this is a sweet-ish scent.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Island Hideaway

Notes: Seagrass, Bergamot, Orange Peel, Lime, Hyacinth, Lily-of-the-Valley, Violet, Musk, and Oak Wood

I smell a tropical wood scent, and maybe a smidgen of palm, but it's also a sweet watery scent. It's different from a lot of other scents I've smelled, and I kind of like it. Looking at the notes, I don't smell orange or lime.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



Lilac and Hyacinths

Notes: Green Notes, Citrus, Floral, and Musk

Very nice scent that does smell like a combination of lilac and hyacinths. It's sweet with a hint of a baby powder note. Perfect for a bedroom or baby's room. It's not very strong on cold sniff though, and the scent started dissipating within 1.5 hours. Looking at the notes, I guess the "floral" note includes both the lilac and hyacinth notes. The musk is probably the hint of baby powder I smell.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



O'Ahu Sands

Notes: Tropical Fruit, Floral, Sandalwood, Cedarwood, and Amber

This is the same scent as one of the scents in Hanna's Candle's Coastal Woods/Tiki Hut/Sand Dollar Trio (not confirmed by Hanna's), I think the Sand Dollar side. I think this is pineapple with light wood and maybe a hint of coconut. It's not a sweet or foodie pineapple, actually a little on the sour side, and a bit "harsh", but it's definitely tropical. I'm not a fan of pineapple scents, but this one smells pretty good to me because the light beach wood note tempers some of the "pineappliness".

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Seashells and Sand

Notes: Coconut Milk, Peach Nectar, Orange Flower, Lily, Jasmine, Heliotrope, Vanilla, Woods, Tonka Bean, and Musk.

A fresh sweet watery scent with floral and coconut. And maybe a barely detectable hint of cedar. Very nice! Looking at the scent notes, they're spot on! Although I don't smell peach at all, or any fruity notes. I've smelled this scent before, so it's a dupe of something else.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Spring Bouquet

Notes: Cyclamen, Garden Rose, Orchid, Blue Hydrangea, Fiddle Head Fern, and Dew

A fantastic spring floral scent with a slight rose note. It's not perfumey and it's not a honeysuckle type scent. Just spring flowers with a grassy note and just a hint of bitterness to make it smell authentic. Very nice.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Sunset Lily

Notes: Grapefruit, Bergamot, Mexican Lime, Golden Amber, Verbena, Columbian Lily, Patchouli, Vanilla Bean, and Cashmere Musk

Both this scent and the Coral Amber scent smell exactly like Thierry Mugler Angel perfume. Coral Amber scent is sweeter, and Sunset Lily has a smidgen of perhaps a tropical fruit way in the background. The description for the Angel perfume scent is: "This feminine scent includes notes of dewberry, bergamot, mandarin, red berries, honey, patchouli, coumarin, Australian sandalwood, caramel, vanilla, and chocolate". I can't even describe it, but there's no other scent like it, and it's absolutely fantastic. But the scent started dissipating within 2 hours. Looking at the scent notes, I smell the warmth of the amber and a little patchouli, and the slight bitterness of the grapefruit (which is the note that really differentiates this from the Coral Amber scent).

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Vanilla and Teakwood

Notes: Sweet Tobacco Leaf, Golden Honey, Madagascar Vanilla, Tonka Bean, Leather, and Cedarwood

This one is hard to describe. I've smelled it before, and it smells very nice. I do smell kind of a woodsy scent, but it's not a smoky wood or dark wood, or even a sandalwood. I think it's cedar, yes definitely cedar. It's also sweet and perfumey, but not floral, with maybe a little bit of a tobacco note. Looking at the scent notes, there's the cedar and tobacco. I don't really smell the vanilla, and I don't smell leather at all. Honey? Maybe just a smidgen.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



There are two others scents that I haven't found, so they may arrive in a few weeks: Beach House, and Fern & Orange Blossom. If I find them, I'll add their reviews to this page.



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Scentsy Reviews - January 2018

Scentsy Reviews - January 2018

Scentsy Wax Bars - January 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


Just about all of these are "Bring Back My Bars" and they are only available until the end of January! That's right, January 31, this coming Wednesday, 3 days from now. So if you want these, grab them before Wednesday or they'll be gone forever!

Before I start my reviews, I'd like to focus a little on the seller first: Carrie Mamulski. Carrie joined Scentsy in 2013 and is now a "Star Consultant". She hosts Scentsy parties, and although she is located in New Jersey, she ships anywhere in the U.S. Carrie loves Scentsy and enjoys sharing it. She always tries to throw in something extra with each order. And if you buy warmers from her, she will replace their bulbs for free as needed. Just a little extra gesture to show her appreciation! So yes, you can buy Scentsy from any Scentsy rep, but it's nice to deal with someone who is completely knowledgeable about the product, provides great customer service and quick shipping, goes the extra mile for her customers, and is just really a nice person! Carrie Mamulski's Scentsy page is https://carriemamulski.scentsy.us.



A Wink & A Smile

Notes: Dutch tulips, sunny daffodils, and a refreshing splash of tangy lemonade with sweet and flirty plum

This smells like fresh body wash or shampoo with a hint of floral, a very slight fruity note and maybe a smidgen of coconut. It has a tiny bit of a cologne note, but it's not a men's cologne scent. Looking at the scent notes, the fruit is the lemon and plum, but I really don't smell either of those, especially the lemon. The fruit is like a fruit-smelling shampoo rather than a specific type of fruit. It's more of a fruity floral than a true fruity scent. I like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Ambrosia

Notes: Like the sweetest fruit salad ever: tropical pineapple, mandarin orange slices, juicy pears, and ripe concord grapes with hints of jam and fruit nectar

This smells like strawberry flavored candy or bubble gum, but it also has a little bit of a tropical note, like maybe a hint of pineapple, and possibly a little bit of grape. Melted, I smell a little bit of the orange (mandarin), and I think there's a slight floral note.

Throw: Faint, 2 to 2.5 out of 5



Aussie Plum

Notes: Melange of juicy plum, pink grapefruit, and tart pomegranate with smooth vanilla

A rich dark fruity scent that smells a little like raspberries with a warm slightly perfumey note. Fantastic scent! Looking at the notes, I don't smell grapefruit at all, although there's a barely detectable hint of tartness that could be the grapefruit.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Boho

Notes: Clove-studded winter apples entwined with black plums, candied mulberries, and cinnamon sticks

Apples and plums with a hint of caramel and a smidgen of balsam? I think I also smell a little bit of cinnamon. It has a bit of a candy note. Looking at the scent notes, they're spot on. The caramel I think I smell is probably the rich warmth of the cloves, although I don't really smell cloves per se. When melted, I definitely smell the cloves, and it's pretty much just an apple scent with cinnamon and cloves, but with that extra plum note that makes it a little different. It's a nice scent, but similar to a lot of fall scents I have.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Cherry Limeade

Notes: Sweet cherry contrasts with zesty key lime, dancing with tiny bubbles foaming up and bursting

This smells like cherry lime soda with a soapy note, and it's not as sweet as I'd like. I smell the lime first, but also a little bit of the cherry. It has a little bit of fizziness, kind of like ginger ale, which I don't like, but I think I'm in the minority as I believe most people will love this scent.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Eucalyptus

Notes: Soothing, medicinal and fresh

This is the scent to melt if you have a cold! It smells like Vicks VapoRub, a nasal-clearing menthol eucalyptus scent. It has a slight pine note that I don't smell in Vicks, but I really like it.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Flower Shop

Notes: Just like walking into a flower shop

A nice authentic green scent with a little bit of a floral note and a hint of bitterness to make it more realistic. But it's not really a floral scent. It's similar to the Fresh Cut Grass scent, but this scent is fresher and slightly sweeter.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Fresh Cut Grass

Notes: Like a freshly cut fairway on a cool summer morning, with early clean notes

A nice sweet green grass scent with a slightly soapy note. I've never found a grass scent that is truly authentic, and this one is no exception, but it's almost close. It smells a little more like a greenhouse, and similar to the Flower Shop scent, but slightly more soapy, and not as fresh and sweet.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Mandarin Moon

Notes: Spirited cinnamon and glowing ginger illuminated by sweet orange and star anise

This smells fantastic. It's sweet orange, and not overly citrusy, with cinnamon I think. But it's not really a fall scent, and not an orange pomander scent either. Looking at the notes, I don't smell anise, which has a licorice type scent. Maybe a little bit of the ginger, but I wouldn't notice it if I didn't see it in the notes. The predominant note is the orange, and then the cinnamon, but it's not an overly cinnamony scent either.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Mediterranean Spa

Notes: Relax with this smooth, fresh, and breezy scent, with the beach grasses, cleansing minerals and therapeutic herbs

I love this scent! It's a salty soapy savory herbal scent with a smidgen of lemon verbena.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Mulberry Bush

Notes: Sweet mulberry accented with bittersweet orange peels

This smells like black cherry, but it's not as harsh, and it's quite sweet, but not candy sweet. On cold sniff I also detect a smidgen of orange, but I don't really smell it when melting.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Pineapple Coconut Vanilla

Notes: Coconut, pineapple blush and blue fig

I expected a strong pineapple coconut scent based on the name, and this is not that at all. Which is good, because I'm not a fan of pineapple scents, and there are already a lot of pineapple coconut type scents out there. I do smell pineapple and coconut, but it's subtle and only very slightly sweet. I think there's also a light wood note, like driftwood, and maybe a hint of lemon. I really like this one. Looking at the scent notes, it's the fig that tones down the other notes. Fig and currant scents are slightly woodsy, with a hint of fruitiness that's not too sweet, and they make other scents smell "classy". Yes, I definitely smell the fig in this one; in fact, I think that's the predominant note.

Throw: Strong, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Scarlet Woods

Notes: Vivid notes of cassis and redberry over crisp white cedar

This is a new 2018 scent, and it's fantastic. It smells like cranberries and balsam (a fresh, sweet, woodsy balsamic pine scent) with a bit of a warm soapy ambery slightly perfumey note. Actually, I think the fruit note is currant, not cranberry, although it does have a hint of tartness like cranberry. Looking at the scent notes, redberry is a type of evergreen shrub (which is probably where the balsam/pine note is coming from), and cassis is a type of currant that has a slight patchouli or soapy note. It's a strong, rich, kind of intense scent, but the scent started dissipating around 2 hours.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Shaka

Notes: Rich sandalwood infused with a splash of bergamot and lime

A nice pleasant fresh slightly watery scent with a hint of a peppery note, a smidgen of light wood, and perhaps a barely detectable hint of coconut. It smells a little like a fresh men's body wash, but it's not cologney. Looking at the notes, I don't smell lime, and I'm not sure why I think I smell coconut.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Simply Irresistable

Notes: Lavender with a strong, woody background of amber, moss and musk

A fantastic lavender scent combined with a fresh perfumey cologne note, a slight "green" note, a slight warm note, and maybe a hint of lemon way in the background. Melted, however, it smells like a combination of liquid Dawn dish detergent (the blue one, original scent) and a little bit of lavender, in a good way... clean, fresh, and pleasant. Nice scent!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Simply Rose

Notes: An open bud of classic, floral fragrance

A lovely rose scented soap scent. It's not overly sweet, and has a slight bitterness that makes it smell authentic. It still smells like soap rather than a real rose, but I love it. And I started smelling it on the other side of the house only 10 minutes after I put a cube in the warmer. After a few hours it started taking on a little bit of a bug spray note, but not too bad.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Twilight

Notes: Suffused with fragrant dark floral notes, soft but intense, like a sea breeze sweeping through a moonlit garden

This is a nice scent, a bit weak on cold sniff though. It smells like soap with maybe a bit of a floral note and possibly a hint of light wood. It's sweet, but not a sweet floral or perfume or cologne type scent. It's nice and subtle, perfect for a bedroom. Actually, I really really like this and it smells great when melted! It just smells like soap to me, but a nice subtle but expensive scented soap, almost like a bubble bath.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Vanilla Oud

Notes: Sweet vanilla grounded by leather and earthy oud wood

A sweet woodsy vanilla scent with warm ambery, perfumey, and slight candy notes. I can smell the oud on cold sniff (a dark resinous woodsy scent with a "tree sap" type note), but it's subtle, and I don't smell it when melting, and I don't smell the leather. Very nice scent, but smells like a lot of other similar scents.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Vanilla Suede

Notes: Classic, comforting vanilla combined with rich amber and hints of sandalwood and spice, a cozy and subtly masculine fragrance

Fantastic combination of men's cologne, warm amber, sweet tobacco, men's cologne, and maybe a smidgen of leather. I don't smell vanilla.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Vanillamint

Notes: Wintergreen frost sparkles over vanilla and frozen citrus

This is the January Scent of the Month. On cold sniff I smell cool peppermint with a hint of a citrus note (I can't tell if it's lemon, lime, orange or a combination). Very refreshing, and would be great to melt on a hot summer day. Looking at the notes, I don't smell wintergreen at all (which has kind of an anise or licorice note), which is good. Melted, however, it smells totally different, like either a lemon tea cough drop or a lemon lime slushie with an iced tea note. I don't smell the mint at all when melting, but I definitely smell lemon iced tea. I think it's a scent that most people will love, but it's only "okay" for me.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Weathered Leather

Notes: Step into an old-fashioned saddle shop brimming with dark suede and tooled leather over a backdrop of oak

This is a new January 2018 scent. It's pure leather, like a leather jacket. But there's also a hint of a smoky note and maybe a smidgen of woodsiness. It's not a sweet or cologne scent at all. I don't usually care for pure leather scents, but I like this one because of that slight smoky and woodsy note.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Friday, January 26, 2018

AmbiEscents Wax Melts Reviews - January 2018

AmbiEscents Wax Melts Reviews - January 2018

AmbiEscents Wax Melts - January 2018
Click to enlarge

Video




Citrus Zest - #SunRaySelfie

Notes: Sugared orange, candied lime and sweet lemon join tropical mango and bright papaya over palm leaf

This is the same scent as ScentSationals Hello Sunshine from last year, which I reviewed at http://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2017/02/scentsationals-spring-2017-scented-wax-melts-review.html. It's a fantastic bright citrus scent of grapefruit, orange, and maybe a little bit of lemon.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Crisp Waters - #ShoreThing

Notes: Salted tides, beach driftwood, and sparkling marines.

If you loved last year's ScentSationals Tahiti Shores scent and are disappointed that it's been discontinued, no need to fret... this is the same scent (which I reviewed at http://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2017/02/scentsationals-spring-2017-scented-wax-melts-review.html). This is a bright sweet watery scent with a sweet cologne note, a little clean soapiness, a hint of pepper, and a smidgen of tropical fruit. Fantastic scent!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Fruit Market

This one is weak on cold sniff. I smell a lot of different types of fruits on cold sniff: strawberry, melon, orange, maybe a little tropical. It's not as sweet as other similar sounding scents, but it also doesn't have that sour note that some tropical scents have. Melted, I smell fruit and coconut, although the coconut might just be some combination of the fruits. The main fruit I smell when melting is the melon I think. It's an okay scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Italian Limoncello

I love this scent! It's limey and lemony with a lemongrass note, and a little bit salty and just a smidgen of sweetness but actually not very sweet at all. It almost has a bit of a spa quality due to the lemongrass note.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Luxe Linen

Notes: Light floral and white musk

This is the same scent as ScentSationals Egyptian Cotton which I reviewed in January 2016 at http://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2016/01/scentsationals-scented-wax-melts-early-spring-2016.html. This is basically a toned down version of ScentSationals Vintage Lace (one of my favorite scents, and it smells a lot like White Shoulders perfume). It's a lovely warm cashmere (a light sweet fabric-y amber scent) mixed with old-fashioned white musk. It's not a laundry scent, as there's no harshness and no clean detergent notes, but perhaps a slight fabric softener note. It smells like ScentSationals Vintage Lace mixed with a little bit of ScentSationals Crisp Linens to temper the sweetness.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Maui Beach

This is the same scent as ScentSationals Calypso Sands, a fantastic sweet watery scent with honeydew, vanilla, and a hint of coconut. I'm sniffing them side by side, and if they're not the same scent, they sure are close. Maui Beach is slightly richer, but then, my pack of Calypso Sands is a few years old. The only reason I think it might not be the same scent is that when they use dupes, they usually use the same or similar colored wax, which is not the case here. Calypso Sands is a light beige color, and Maui Beach is turquoise.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Relax & Unwind - Sweet Jasmine

This is the same scent as ScentSationals Sweet Dreams (Sweet Jasmine) Fusion that I reviewed in May 2017 at http://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2017/05/scentsationals-fusion-scented-wax-melts-spring-2017-review.html. This scent's name is a misnomer. There is no jasmine or even floral in this scent, and it's not very sweet. I can't even figure out what it smells like, maybe a bitter soapy scent? Melted, it definitely smells like soap, like an intense natural soap with a hint of citronella, or an industrial soap, or even unscented Ivory soap. It says it contains essential oils, so maybe that's why I don't really smell the sweet floral. I don't care for this one.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Soft Cotton - #SpaRobe

A nice subtle cotton scent, sort of like fabric softener or a sachet, with maybe a smidgen of musk and baby powder, but it's just slightly sweet. There might be a barely detectable smidgen of light wood way in the background. It's nice and relaxing and perfect for a bedroom or baby's room.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Sunset in Paradise

Fantastic slightly perfumey pineapple scent with maybe a sweet vanilla note, and candy note, and a little bit of honeysuckle, and there might be some other kind of fruit in there as well. I'm not a fan of pineapple scents, but this one is heavenly, and my favorite of all the new AmbiEscents scents! There's a new ScentSationals scent that just came out called Honeysuckle Pineapple. This is NOT that scent at all; that one to me smells like straight pineapple. This scent, however, is super sweet candy-like perfumey pineapple.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Gentle Bees Wax Melts Reviews

Gentle Bees Wax Melts Reviews

Gentle Bees Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


Gentle Bees® beeswax melts are made by Frohne USA with local beeswax (not imported from other countries) and natural essential oils from the USA (no chemical synthetic fragrances). This means that these wax melts are 100% natural, including both the wax and the oils used for the fragrances.

Frohne USA supports honey bees by saving a portion of sales to buy land, honey bees, and food for the honey bees. Their products, which include hair remover, leather conditioner, soap, lip balm, and wax melts, can be purchased online at http://www.gentlebees.co and http://www.frohneusa.com, as well as amazon.com and walmart.com (in fact, you can purchase them on walmart.com and pick them up at the store to avoid shipping fees).

Beeswax prefers higher melting temperatures than other types of wax (soy wax melting point is 120 degrees Fahrenheit, while beeswax is 150 degrees), so a 24 watt  warmer will generally work better with these melts than a 20 watt warmer. And it takes longer for the wax to melt than paraffin or soy wax; in fact, in some cases it took 1.5 hours for get the full effect of the throw in the room. The beeswax also hardens more quickly than paraffin or soy, so it can make cleanup a little difficult since it hardens in the warming tray within a few seconds after it's removed from the heat.

This wax is hard but has a slightly sticky consistency, a little bit like nougat. With some of the scents I had no problem getting the wax out of the package. But some were stuck to the inside of the package and I had to use a knife to cut a cube out. Breaking off a cube was no problem with any of the scents once I was able to get the wax out of the clamshell. The wax will, however, leave a very slightly sticky residue on your hands when you handle it, but it washes right off with soap and water.

Some of these scents were quite unusual and nothing like I've ever smelled in other wax melts before. Remember that the ones that smell medicinal are not meant to make your house smell pretty, but are instead used for the therapeutic value of the essential oils.

If you're looking for wax melts that are completely different from anything you've tried before, that are 100% natural in every way, that in general have fantastic throw, and that help to save the local honeybee population, give Gentle Bees® beeswax melts a try!



Bergamot

Scent: Bergamot Oil (citrus bergamia)

This smells just like tea tree oil to me, even more so than their Tea Tree oil. It has a smidgen of a eucalyptus note. I like the scent, but this is one of those medicinal scents that's used for therapeutic benefits. Bergamot oil has a lot of health advantages, including helping to reduce anxiety.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



Clove Leaf

Scent: Clove Leaf (caryophyllus)

This is the most authentic clove scent you'll ever smell in a wax melt. It smells exactly like the little black clove peppercorns that my mom used to stick in baked spam and cover with brown sugar topping when I was little. Fantastic, and makes the house smell warm and "homey".

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Fir Needle

Scent: Fir Needle (Abies alba)

This is not a Christmas tree scent, and it doesn't smell very good on cold sniff. But when melted, it smells like sap from a pine tree, or maybe the pine needles when you rub them together. It's a very natural scent, like walking through a pine forest!

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Geranium

Scent: Geranium oil (pelargonium graveolens)

I don't know what a real geranium flower smells like, but this is an authentic flower scent with a green note and slight bitterness (but not too much). It's only slightly sweet, but it smells like I'm passing by a bunch of wildflowers while walking in a field on a warm summer day! The throw is interesting. It's not a strong throw; in other words, in the room where it's melting it doesn't smell particularly strong. But yet I can smell it throughout the whole house. I love this scent and the way it performs!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house.



Honeysuckle

Scent: Honeysuckle oil (lactobacillus)

Fantastic authentic honeysuckle scent. This is actually stronger and richer than the honeysuckle flowers I have in my back yard, probably because it's the oil from the plant. It has an orange blossom/neroli note, one of my favorite scents.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house.



Juniper Berry

Scent: Juniper Berry Oil (juniperus communis)

Like the Fir Needle scent, this is a very natural tree sap type scent or even the scent you might get by rubbing the juniper needles in your fingers. But it's not a pine type scent at all. It's very slightly bitter with maybe a smidgen of a dirt note, but beyond that I can't describe it all. It's not a bad scent, but not something I would want my house to smell like. Like most of these scents, it smelled better melted. I have some juniper shrubs in my front yard and I went outside and rubbed the needles. This scent does smell very similar!

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Litsea Cubeba

Scent: Litsea Cubeba Oil (litsea cubeba)

Fantastic soapy spa type lemon scent, which I think is either lemon verbena or lemongrass. It's like lemon with a little bit of citronella, and it's even very slightly sweet and rich. I can't explain the richness, almost like there might be a hint of pine way in the background, which makes sense since it's an evergreen tree. I thought the scent name was a Latin version of lemon verbena or lemongrass, but it's not; Litsea cubeba is a type of plant with a more citrusy scent than lemongrass. This scent smells great on cold sniff, but fantastic when melted!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house.



Myrtle

Scent: Myrtle (myrtus communis)

I read online that myrtle essential oil has a clear, fresh scent that is slightly camphoraceous (like eucalyptus), and that's what this smells like, although it's not a "Christmas tree" type of eucalyptus scent. It smells a little like a combination of eucalyptus and tea tree oil, but there's also a bitter note in the background. I don't like it on cold sniff, but when melted I smell a smidgen of sweetness. It's not a scent that I'd use around the house, although myrtle oil is often used to cover up other odors. Myrtle oil has relaxing, sinus clearing, and aphrodisiac effects.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Orange

Scent: Orange oil (citrus reticulata)

A totally authentic orange scent, and fantastic, high quality scent that smells like someone is eating an orange!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house.



Peppermint

Scent: Peppermint Oil (mentha piperita)

This is a pure peppermint scent, plain and simple. On cold sniff it smells slightly spearminty, but not when melted. It's even a tiny bit sweet. And this one is strong! Generally with peppermint or eucalyptus type scents, you have to sniff the melting wax from close up to get the cool, sinus clearing effects. Not this one. I walked into the room and immediately my sinuses cleared, and I can smell it throughout the house. Definitely the scent to melt if you have a cold or stuffy sinuses!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house.



Pine

Scent: Pine Oil (pinus pinaster)

This is not a Christmas tree type pine scent. It smells kind of like Pine-Sol and tea tree oil (actually it smells more like tea tree oil than the Tea Tree Oil scent), with a little bit of a eucalyptus note. Like most of these scents, it smells better melted than on cold sniff. I like this scent. It's a little bit industrial but it smells clean.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Spearmint

Scent: Spearmint (menta spicata)

This is an authentic scent of real spearmint plant leaves. It's not a sweet spearmint gum or toothpaste scent, although it actually is a little sweet. You'll never find a more authentic spearmint scented wax melt out there!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house.



Tea Tree

Scent: Tea Tree Oil (melaleuca alternifolia)

On cold sniff this doesn't smell exactly like tea tree oil, but it definitely does when melted. Tea tree oil smells like a combination of eucalyptus and dirt, but not in a bad way. I like the scent, but it's medicinal and not something you want your house to smell like. Tea tree oil has a lot of health benefits though.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



True Cinnamon

Scent: True Cinnamon (cinnamomum verum)

This smells almost exactly like the Clove Leaf scent, but it's stronger and slightly sweeter but also very slightly less rich/warm. Like the Clove scent, this is another fantastic scent that makes the house smell "homey".

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Monday, January 22, 2018

Mixture Wax Melts Reviews

Mixture Wax Melts Reviews

Mixture Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


Mixture is a company in Kansas City that makes candles, wax melts, scented home products and related accessories. Their candles and wax melts are made with 100% renewable soy way. Their products are available on their website, and can also be found in over 2,000 stores throughout the U.S.

The Mixture website is https://madebymixture.com, and their Facebook page is https://www.facebook.com/MadeByMixture.

I really enjoyed these wax melts. The first thing I noticed were the labels. I love these labels! They're simple, elegant and refined. The scents themselves were high quality and unique, not the usual run-of-the-mill generic type scents. And in general (with a couple of exceptions which is always to be expected), the throw was very good.



Black Moss - No. 56

Notes: Black pepper, amber musk, and bergamot to start, followed by blue cypress, patchouli, and moss.

This smells like black pepper, although it's very light on cold sniff. I think there's a barely detectable hint of cologne, but it's too light to tell.

Throw: Very faint, 1.5 out of 5



Blood Orange - No. 17

Notes: A sweet blend of ripe blood orange infused with fresh goji berry, raspberry, and strawberry. You will want a glass.

This smells like orange with lemon and something else I can't figure out, like a milky note. I like it though. Looking at the scent notes, I don't really smell the berries.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Cashmere - No. 27

Notes: Spicy floral as found in an oriental garden. Strong jasmine, rose, and tuberose followed by orange, black pepper, and musk.

Cashmere scents are warm and ambery with a hint of laundry, and this is definitely not a cashmere scent. But I actually like it much more. It's an oriental spice perfume scent with a bit of an incensey note. Looking at the scent notes, there's the oriental spice, which is the dominating note. I do smell the musk, and maybe a little bit of the jasmine and tuberose, but not the orange or black pepper (although the pepper might be that incensey note I'm detecting). It's lovely and feminine (but not girlish) and classy.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Debauchery - No. 59

Notes: Very complex with strong patchouli, clove, cedarwood, and floral ylang. Finishes with tonka bean, honey, and amber.

This smells like expensive department store perfume that got old. But it's not a bad thing, as it smells great! There's also a little bit of a natural essential oil note, and hint of patchouli, and maybe a smidgen of ylang ylang. It's different from any wax melt I've smelled. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell clove or vanilla. This scent lasted all day!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Deep Vanilla - No. 11

Notes: Sweet, creamy vanilla with a touch of crisp spruce needles. Finishes with rich musk.

This smells fantastic, like a buttercream vanilla mixed with a little bit of sweet tobacco and perhaps a hint of black pepper. Looking at the scent notes, the musk is probably the tobacco I detect, and the pepper is probably the spruce. Although I don't smell spruce or pine at all.

Throw: Faint, 2 out of 5



Fresh Cut Grass - No. 6

Notes: This heavily fragranced candle will make any day a sunny day.

I've never smelled a wax melt that smells just like authentic grass, and this one is no exception. But it still smells very nice, like a floral soap that's not overly perfumey and has a fresh green note. There's also a little bit of a bitterness which is a bit harsh, but it's still a nice scent.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Grapefruit & Sweet Vanilla - No. 28

Notes: Strong ruby red grapefruit followed by bergamot, orange, and key lime. A hint of jasmine on the finish.

I smell grapefruit first, but it's a light, subtle grapefruit and it's not very bitter due to the sweet vanilla. There's also a floral or slightly perfumey note. And maybe a smidgen of lemon. It's very nice. Looking at the scent notes, they're spot on.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Mediterranean - No. 69

Notes: Strong rich olive harmonized with sweet orange and lemon, followed by green notes. Finished with freesia, wood, and musk.

This smells more like fresh cut grass than the Fresh Cut Grass scent. It's fresh, green, airy and natural. On cold sniff there's just a smidgen of a sweet floral, but when it's melted it's not sweet, more savory. There's something else that I can't put my finger on, almost like palm (a woodsy nutty tropical note) but it's not a tropical scent at all. Looking at the scent notes, ah, the palm is actually olive. I don't think I've ever smelled olive in a wax melt, but this is probably an olive leaf scent, as it's definitely not a foodie green pickled olive or black olive scent. Although it does kind of have a little bit of a salad scent, kind of like strong olive! And I don't smell orange and lemon, but there is a tiny bit of a zesty note. A very nice scent. I think if I mixed it with the Fresh Cut Grass scent, the result would really smell like grass!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Relaxation - No. 53

Notes: Clear your head with peppermint, lavender, spearmint, and eucalyptus.

This is a strong mint scent that smells like a combination of peppermint and spearmint, with a little bit of a sweet creamy vanilla note. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell lavender, and it's probably the eucalyptus that gives this scent its strong sinus clearing effect.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Rosemary Mint - No. 67

Notes: An invigorating blend of rosemary, sweet spearmint, and robust peppermint.

This smells similar to ScentSationals Zen. It's a relaxing combination of fresh mint (spearmint I think, although it doesn't have that overly spearminty toothpaste note) and perhaps a laundry or slightly perfumey note, and maybe a hint of vanilla. There's a smidgen of a savory note which is probably the rosemary, but it's very subtle. This type of scent seems to be everyone's favorite, and it's very nice.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Vat 9 - No. 22

Notes: Opens up with cranberry, clove, honeysuckle, and cedarwood followed by vanilla sugar and nutmeg.

This smells like orange with sweet red berries and maybe a hint of floral. It's a nice summery scent, and it lasted the entire day! Looking at the scent notes, I was way off! I really do smell orange! I don't smell clove or nutmeg, which is good because I'm tired of fall type scents.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Worn Leather - No. 10

Notes: Saffron, thyme, and strawberry. Frankincense and jasmine accord. Dries down to a leather suede with amber woody notes.

Based on the scent name, I expected this to smell like pure leather, like a leather jacket. But it doesn't, and that's a good thing, since I kind of like the scent of leather but not having my house smell like it. This is a sweet raw woodsy cedar scent with maybe a hint of patchouli and tobacco. But it's not the same as other similar scents with those notes. It has a little bit of a perfumey note, a hint of warmth from amber perhaps, and maybe a smidgen of floral and perhaps a barely detectable pinch of fruit. I detect a smidgen of the leather on cold sniff, but not really when melted. Looking at the scent notes, that hint of fruit is the strawberry, and the hint of floral is the jasmine. This is a unique scent, and I really like it!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.