Tuesday, April 3, 2018

ScentSationals Wax Melts - Survey Results

ScentSationals Wax Melts - Survey Results

ScentSationals Wax Melts - Survey Results

ScentSationals survey results for ScentSationals wax melts scents, throw, quality, prices, and more. 163 anonymous participants completed this survey. The survey was only open to people who have used ScentSationals wax melts, and submissions could only be made one time by the same person.

SCENT QUALITY
How good they smell
ChoiceVotes
Poor3
Fair4
Good27
Very Good84
Excellent45


THROW
How far you can smell scent in room when melting
ChoiceVotes
Poor3
Fair4
Good47
Very Good74
Excellent35

SCENT DURATION
How long the scent lasts when melted
ChoiceVotes
Under 1 hour3
1-2 hours4
2-4 hours28
4-6 hours54
6-8 hours48
Over 8 hours26


SCENT UNIQUENESS
Are they different from scents you've smelled from other companies?
ChoiceVotes
No unique scents6
Some unique scents80
Many unique scents68
Every scent is unique9


EASE OF USE
How easy to get out of package, to handle, cut, clean up, etc.
ChoiceVotes
Not Good1
Average21
Good141


WAX HARDNESS
ChoiceVotes
Very Soft/Messy1
Soft2
Average38
Hard87
Very Hard34


BEST WARMER TO USE
ChoiceVotes
25W Bulb Warmer71
20W Hotplate Warmer56
24W Hotplate Warmer54
Tealight Warmer26
15W Warmer18
40W Warmer7
Other6
12W Warmer5


PRESENTATION
Label artwork, packaging, how the wax looks, etc.
ChoiceVotes
Poor1
Fair10
Good43
Very Good62
Excellent47


PRICES
Not including shipping
ChoiceVotes
Low93
Average68
High1


AVAILABILITY
How often the company is open or closed, how often they sell out of products, etc.
ChoiceVotes
Poor1
Fair19
Good50
Very Good61
Excellent32


Would you buy ScentSationals wax melts again and/or recommend them to others?
ChoiceVotes
Absolutely Yes133
Probably22
Maybe5
Probably Not2
Definitely Not1



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Friday, March 30, 2018

Living Colors Wax Melts Reviews from Big Lots - Spring 2018

Living Colors Wax Melts from Big Lots - Spring 2018
Click to enlarge

Video





Cherry Blossom

A perfect fruity floral cherry blossom scent. I smell sweet floral with a fruity cherry note, and also a laundry note. Very nice! I find that just about all cherry blossom scents tend to have weak throw no matter who makes them.

Throw: Very faint, 2 out of 5



Deep Ocean

Sweet fresh water with a hint of a peppery note, a sweet floral note, and maybe a smidgen of lemon and a tiny bit of musk. It smells like a men's body wash but a little different from other typical men's body wash scents. I really like it.

Throw: Very faint, 1 to 2 out of 5



Desert Sage

This smells like freshly mowed grass with sweet floral and peppery notes. The peppery note makes it smell like an authentic flower, but it's not really a floral scent either; it's a little sweet but not flowery sweet or perfumey. It's more of a "green", natural scent, but definitely not sage, since sage is a savory scent. I really like it!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Morning Glory

Morning Glory flowers really don't have a scent, and they definitely don't smell like this! This is a nice, rich, super sweet scent that smells like a combination of fake grape candy and floral, with maybe a hint of vanilla. It's unique and I like it, although it's almost nauseatingly sweet.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



White Nectarine

This may be a dupe for an older tropical fruit scent. I do smell peach, but maybe also mango. It's not overly sweet, and it has a bit of that sour tropical note but not enough to be annoying. Even though it has a tropical note, I don't detect pineapple or coconut. It's a great scent, and very strong on cold sniff.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Tuesday, March 27, 2018

Ashland (Michaels) Wax Melts Reviews - March 2018

Ashland (Michaels) Wax Melts Reviews - March 2018

Ashland (Michaels) Wax Melts - March 2018
Click to enlarge

Video 




Coconut Sea Salt

Notes: Creamy Coconut, Vanilla Bean, Golden Pineapple, Banana Leaf, Lemongrass, and Sea Salt

This smells like pineapple and coconut with maybe a hint of apple. Looking at the scent notes, I don't think I smell banana, although maybe that's the apple I think I smell. And I definitely don't smell lemongrass, which is a soapy savory lemony spa type scent, which this scent is not. Melted, the pineapple is a bit on the subtle side. So although I'm not a fan of pineapple scents, I like this one! And it lasted all day!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Mango Margarita

Notes: Mandarin Orange, Juicy Mango, Agave Nectar, Coconut Milk, and Sea Salt

Oh this one is nice and summery. I definitely smell the orange and mango, and a hint of the coconut. Even so, it's not an overly tropical scent, it's sweet and rich with a slightly salty note, and I don't smell any pineapple (which I often smell in scents with mango margarita type names).

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Pineapple Salsa

Notes: Pineapple, Pear, Melon, Apple, Strawberry, Banana, Coconut, Peach, Vanilla, and Musk

This is pineapple all the way, although it's very sweet, like pineapple candy, and there may be a hint of vanilla in it, and possibly a bit of coconut. Maybe some other fruit like strawberry and banana? Looking at the scent notes, there's the strawberry, banana, coconut and vanilla! I don't like pineapple scents but this one is "okay" because it's very sweet and has other fruit notes.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Pink Coconut

Notes: Orange, Bergamot, Fennel, Raspberry, Coconut, Lily-of-the-Valley, Musk, Vanilla, and Oak Wood

This smells very similar to the new ScentSationals Girlfriend Night. It's a sweet girly perfume scent with a slight fruity note, maybe raspberry, and a smidgen of coconut. Yep, there's the raspberry and coconut. I don't smell orange or fennel at all. I LOVE this scent!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Turquoise Waters

Notes: Mineral Springs, Water Lotus, Sea Glass, Peony Bouquet, Cyclamen Flower, Jasmine, Hydrangea Petals, Rosewater, and Oakmoss

This is a sweet fresh watery scent with a grassy note and maybe a barely detectable smidgen of lemon. No, no lemon in the scent notes. I've smelled other scents that had "sea glass" in the notes, and they smell a lot like this. There's a bit of floral in this, but it's not really a floral scent, but I think that's what gives it the grassy note. It smells a little bit like ScentSationals Fresh Air, but with some different, more crisp, grassy notes. Very refreshing!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Vanilla Macaron

Notes: Apple, Orange, Coconut, Honey, Cinnamon, Spearmint, Rich Vanilla, and Musk

This one is weak on cold sniff, and I can't figure out the notes. It's vanilla with maybe a bit of a perfumey note but also maybe a smidgen of nut, and for some reason I'm smelling a barely detectable hint of spearmint that I don't think I'll smell when it's melted. Looking at the scent notes, there's the spearmint! I don't smell apple or orange though. It's a nice interesting scent, but it seems like the notes it contains don't belong together. They're confusing me. Melted, it's a perfumey vanilla with a nutty note, and I don't smell the spearmint at all. I like it, but there's something odd about it.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Saturday, March 24, 2018

Sizzlin Scents Wax Melts Reviews

Sizzlin Scents Wax Melts Reviews

Sizzlin Scents Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


Sizzlin Scents is a small business located in Fort Wayne, Indiana, that makes candles and scented wax melts. Chris Anderson is the owner, and her products can be ordered on Etsy at https://www.etsy.com/shop/sizzlinscents. She also has a Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SizzlinScents.

Sizzlin Scents candles and wax melts are made of a paraffin/soy (parasoy) blend, and the melts are available in many different shapes.

I enjoyed these wax melts, and Chris was friendly, helpful and professional.



Apple Butter Caramel

Notes: This delectably sweet scent is a combination of delicious apple, gooey caramel, and sweet and spicy apple butter.

Fantastic super salty, super rich scent that smells like pretzels, but with an apple note and a hint of caramel. It's almost the same scent as ScentSationals Pumpkin Apple Muffins from Walmart.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Apple Cinnamon

Notes: Spicy red hots combined with a fresh apple for a delicious scent.

A generic cinnamon candy scent with a barely detectable smidgen of apple and cloves, but I like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Apple Flower

Notes: Red Delicious Apples entangled in delicate wild ivy, caressed by notes of fresh pomegranate and soft mandarin flowers. Blooming cherry trees and sheer musk surround this fragrance to give its handlers a delightful awakening!

A fantastic sweet apple candy scent with a perfume note. I really like this one!

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Banana Cream Pie

Notes: The perfect banana cream pie, topped with whipped cream!

This is a fake banana candy scent, but I really like it

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Birthday Cake

Notes: A sweet buttery bouquet reminiscent of vanilla cake.

Super rich extremely sweet buttery buttercream scent with a little bit of a vanilla cake note and maybe marshmallow. This one will give you cavities!

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Black Knight

Notes: A sharp, spicy, lavender, amber fragrance. Contains a blend of lavender, citrus, spicy berries and sandalwood.

A nice fresh men's cologne or men's body wash scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Blue Rain

Notes: A blend of caramelized sugar and vanilla topped with heady notes of cedar and tonka bean combined with a refreshing blast of unique herbal fusion!

I've never smelled anything like this, but I like it! It's a sweet watery scent with a strong foodie note like vanilla, and another note I can't figure out, maybe caramel or brown sugar? Looking at the scent notes, there's the caramelized sugar and vanilla, and I think cedar is the other note, which I do smell. It's not an herbal scent though, nor is it a fresh watery scent, or a foodie scent, but a combination of watery and foodie. Very unique!

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Blueberry Cobbler

Notes: Freshly baked blueberry cobbler straight from grandma's oven

Super sweet blueberry scent. It's the typical fake generic blueberry scent I smell everywhere, but I still like it. It smells better when melted and takes on a bit of a brown sugar note that's quite yummy!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Cherry Vanilla

Notes: Two classic fragrances swirl together in sweet harmony!

A very fake cherry scent with a strong chemical note. I don't care for it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Dream Angels Halo

Notes: A close match to the popular Victoria's Secret fragrance, feminine accords of delicate muguet, rich jasmine and spring violets merge with fresh green notes and musk to create a luxurious aroma.

This one is very weak on cold sniff. It's a bit of a perfumey scent with maybe a hint of baby powder and vanilla.

Throw: Very faint, 1.5 to 2 out of 5



Dream Weaver

Notes: This enchanting fragrance will take your breath away! A truly unique scent with a sensual earthy, musky type base note topped with a silky smooth powdery overtone

A wonderful perfumey scent that smells like baby powder with oriental spices and musk.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Egyptian Sheets

Notes: Clean and crisp top notes of orange zest and fresh greens highlight a feminine bouquet of jasmine, orchid vanilla and violet on a warm background of rosewood, sandalwood, and soft musk

I thought this would be a laundry scent, but it's really not. It's more like vanilla with a hint of a laundry note, and I think there's also musk and maybe a sweet watery note in this one. But it's not a sweet perfumey scent. There's also a strong vinyl type note that I don't care for. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell orange at all.

Throw: Faint, 1.5 to 2 out of 5



Fruit Salad

Notes: A delicious blend of fresh apples, cherries, and fruit slices

A creamy fruity scent. I smell mostly cherry, but also orange and peach I think. It's a fake scent, but I like it. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell apple. This one is similar to the Cherry Vanilla scent, with a hint of that chemical note but not enough to be annoying.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Green Tea & Cucumber

Notes: A duplicate of the popular Bath and Body Works fragrance, a sensual blend of cool citrus and melon with rich florals and a long lasting drydown of musk and cedarwood notes.

This smells exactly like the name, an almost even combination of watery cucumber and green herbal tea. There may be a smidgen of a floral note. It's nice, different, and relaxing.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Hazelnut Coffee

Notes: An addicting brew of gourmet French roast coffee enhanced with the flavor of Turkish hazelnuts and a touch of sweet cream.

A fantastic sweet very creamy coffee scent with a nutty note. It's not overly sweet, and it's not a burnt coffee scent either.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Hot Cranberry Tea

Notes: A beautiful blend of cranberry, bergamot and lemon top notes with white flower and ylang ylang on a base of vanilla and amber.

A super sweet cranberry scent with a hint of cinnamon. Very nice! Looking at the scent notes, I don't detect any bergamot (which gives scents a cologne type note), flower, ylang, vanilla or amber. Maybe a barely detectable smidgen of lemon? I really do smell cinnamon even though it's not in the notes.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Island Fresh

Notes: Fresh water accords pervade the top as beautiful, floral notes come to full bloom. The clean scent of ozone carries the freshness throughout this splash of nature.

This is one of the best laundry scents I've ever smelled. It's an intense laundry scent, but not intense as in a harsh laundry detergent. It's super soft, soapy and "cuddly", kind of like a laundromat scent, not overly sweet or floral, and not really a fabric softener scent either. There may be a smidgen of baby powder.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Lemon Blossom

Notes: A citrus tree in your home, fresh lemon blended with a hint of vanilla

Fantastic lemon scent with a smidgen of sweetness, vanilla, soapiness, and perhaps floral and lime. But just a smidgen of each, which makes this lemon scent unique.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Mandarin Cranberry

Notes: Another Yankee Candle duplication, this scent blends top notes of orange nuances, juicy cranberry, and mandarin essences with middle notes of floral accents, sweet rose, ripe berries, cranberry mango blossom, and strawberries into a base of vanilla and musky notes.

Fantastic scent that smells like black cherry with an orange (mandarin) note, almost like cherry/orange soda but without the fizziness. The cranberry note is very subtle. Looking at the scent notes, I do see berries and strawberries, which is probably why I think I smell cherry.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Mango Beachwood

Notes: Just like the popular Bath and Body Works fragrance, a blend of mango, tangerine and mandarin with mid notes of rose, jasmine and dewy cyclamen on a base of beechwood, amber and musk.

I really like this scent. I smell orange (mandarin) and red currant (a cedar woodsy fruity scent that gives other scents a classy note), along with a tropical note that might include a bit of pineapple.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Moonlight Path

Notes: A duplication of the Bath & Body Works fragrance, this fragrance is a soft floral scent enhanced by jasmine and rose.

I adore this scent! It's a super sweet girly floral perfume, like a combination of baby power, gardenia and musk.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Pearberry

Notes: A fresh fruity fragrant blend of pear and berry with a slight musk background.

Typical fake pear scent that I smell everywhere. I do kind of like it though. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell musk at all on cold sniff, but when melted I do detect a hint of a perfumey note that I like.

Throw: Medium 3 out of 5



Sassy Saffron

Notes: This unique aroma will take your mind on a trip to exotic places! The warm, spicy fragrance of Kashmiri saffron from India masterfully blended with earthy woods. White cedar, Indian sandalwood, and patchouli are softened by mid notes of vanilla and sensual musk, then brightened by top notes of grapefruit and fresh bergamot.

A smoky scent with a savory, soapy note. It smells a little like bacon, but there are other notes that I can't identify and that I don't care for. The scent notes don't match the scent. I've smelled this scent before and it's often used for fireplace scents (even though it doesn't smell like a fireplace or burning wood at all). I don't smell cedar, sandalwood, patchouli or vanilla at all (as those would be slightly sweet, and this scent has no sweetness at all).

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Spring Linen

Notes: Smells just like the familiar aroma of a fresh, clean load of laundry just pulled from the dryer!

I love this scent! It smells like a combination of rich musk, sweet gardenia, warm amber, and a little bit of a laundry note.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Vanilla Cotton

Notes: An inviting aura of twilight skies infused with red currant and soft dewberry. This southern cotton flower is blended with ylang petals and lily of the valley and has undertones of white amber and vanilla orchid wrapped in a blanket of warm musk.

Fantastic scent that smells like a combination of baby powder and laundry, with a vanilla note which tempers some of the sweetness. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell any berry scents, although maybe a hint of the currant.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Winter Shadows

Notes: Northern Lights dance above an ancient spruce forest, illuminating an Indigo Sky on a crisp winter night. Notes of succulent Lemon Leaves and Nutty Cardamom carry this fragrance, as Crisp Air, Sandalwood and Musk hold a firm base. An absolute masterpiece, that brings you back to the mysterious winter wilderness!

A little woodsy with a hint of smokiness and a "dirt" note, but in a good way. It's an interesting scent, and I like it. Looking at the scent notes, I might detect maybe a smidgen of sandalwood and pine, and possibly musk because it has just a hint of sweetness. But no lemon at all.

Throw: Faint, 2 out of 5





Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Creekside Candles & Scents Wax Melts Reviews

Creekside Candles & Scents Wax Melts Reviews

Creekside Candles & Scents Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


Creekside Candles & Scents is a vendor in Arkansas who makes candles, wax melts, votives and tealights, room sprays and more. Their website is https://www.etsy.com/people/ARCreeksideCandles and Facebook page is https://www.facebook.com/pg/CreeksideCandlesandScents. Terry, the owner, was wonderful to work with. She answered all of my questions and was friendly and helpful. The wax melts come in 1.5 oz. oval tubs. The wax is a paraffin blend. It's soft and easy to cut, but not messy. I enjoyed these melts and in general, the scents were fantastic!



Bayberry Black Forest

Notes: The musky, rich fragrance has a base of outdoorsy fir, cedar wood and moss followed by middle notes of spicy cloves, black currants, and sweet plums and finished with a hint of herbaceous bergamot and green musk.

Very nice pine scent with a slightly sweet, slightly tart note of cranberry I think. Looking at the scent notes, the fruit is currants and plums. I think I do smell just a hint of cloves, but no musk. It has a little bit of a sour note when melted that I don't care for.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Brown Sugar & Fig

Notes: Caramelized brown sugar paired with ripened figs, smooth coconut, and a touch of amber.

I love fig scents! It smells like plum but classier, and the sweetness of the plum is tempered by a very slight light woodsy note, the warmth of amber, and a hint of coconut. Looking at the scent notes, they're spot on! One of my favorite scents! This one is slightly sweeter due to the brown sugar, although I don't smell brown sugar per se, just a slightly more sugary note.

Throw: Faint, 2.5 out of 5



Cherries & Chestnuts

Notes: A perfect blend of ripe, juicy cherries and aromatic, nutty chestnuts.

A rich, yummy combination of almond with a cherry note (the cherry is a combination of black cherry and maraschino cherry), but the almond is slightly nuttier, more like pecan. Even though it's supposed to be chestnut, it does smell more like almond. This is not a Serendipity scent, as there's no coconut, and the cherry is richer and the almond is nuttier. Fantastic scent. Unfortunately as soon as the wax melted in the warmer, the scent was pretty much gone, even from an inch away.

Throw: Poor, 1 out of 5



Cornbread Surprise

Notes: Southern style cornbread at its finest, but with a surprise hint of maple bacon! It smells way better than it sounds!

Fantastic yummy scent! I smell salty smoky bacon with a little buttery cornbread, plus a hint of sweet maple in the background. It's making me hungry!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



French Vanilla & Oak

Notes: Reminiscent of a classic, sophisticated vanilla liqueur, this version is infused with undertones of rich, earthy oak.

This smells like patchouli with a little bit of a cedar note and a very sweet slightly perfumey note, and maybe a smidgen of baby powder. I love it! Looking at the scent notes, I'm surprised I don't see patchouli. It doesn't smell like vanilla or any kind of liqueur.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Frozen

Notes: Delicate snow crocuses dancing in the ozone with a backdrop of spicy juniper berry and the richness of the forest woods.

Based on the scent name I expected a minty scent, but this just smells like bubble bath. It's relaxing and I like it. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell juniper, berries or woody notes at all. Maybe a hint of sweet cedar, but no, this is a soapy bubble bath scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Gardenia

Notes: Smells just like a heady shower of rain-kissed, creamy tropical gardenia blossoms.

A beautiful sweet rich gardenia perfume scent. It may have a hint of orange blossom/neroli in it (one of my favorite scents).

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Gifts of the Magi

Notes: Woody myrrh fragrance adorned with a touch of lavender, clove leaf, and patchouli set upon a bed of sweet musk. Very earthy and masculine.

A sweet incensey scent with patchouli and a raw wood note. I like it.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



Ginger Leaf Plum

Notes: Sweet notes of plum and black currant are pressed into the heart of exotic gingerleaf and cinnamon bark to create this lovely, haunting scent with just a note of spicy herbs.

This smells like black cherry with that slightly tart note and I little bit of a medicinal cough syrup note, but in a good way. It also has a tiny bit of a grape note. Looking at the scent notes, I guess I do smell plum and a little bit of currant, but it really does smell more like black cherry to me. I don't smell cinnamon or any spicy herbs, and it's not overly sweet.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Hippy Chick

Notes: Notes of fresh lavender buds infused with patchouli, sandalwood, ylang, amber, violet, cedar wood, and powdery tonka

I adore this scent! It's sweet and perfumey and smells like baby powder with nag champa and patchouli notes. Looking at the scent notes, I don't really smell lavender, but I think I smell a hint of cedar.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Honey Bee

Notes: A beautiful and complex fragrance of sweet honey balanced & rounded by hints of powdery wildflowers, vanilla and sandalwood

This smells like honey and a little bit of coconut with a smidgen of a perfumey note and perhaps a hint of sweet cedar. It's different from any scent I've smelled, and I like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Hyacinth

Notes: Soft and sensual. Smells just like hyacinth flowers.

This is an authentic hyacinth scent! Hyacinths smell like lilacs but slightly less sweet and with a slightly greener, more earthy note. It smells great! But when melted, it lost a lot of its sweetness.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Irish Tweed

Notes: An elegant, rich, sporty scent with notes of sandalwood, Florentine iris, herbaceous clover, French verbena, violet leaves and ambergris. It's what a well-dressed man ought to smell like.

A fresh herbal men's body wash scent, similar to Cool Water cologne.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Leather

Notes: The familiar scent of fresh leather. Clean and nostalgic.

A true, authentic leather scent. This is a great mixer and smells fantastic mixed with woodsy, cologne, and patchouli type scents.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Lemon Curd

Notes: A customer favorite, the best lemon fragrance! Our rendition of this classic combines fresh, zesty lemons, warm vanilla extract and a hint of sugar blended with fresh cream. It's a refreshing and mouthwatering blend of tart and creaminess.

A perfect lemon scent! It's zesty and sweet with a hint of a bakery note, like a creamy buttercream frosting with a load of lemon juice added.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Lily of the Valley

Notes: The classic scent of delicate lily of the valley blooms in a Victorian setting. Light as air with a hint of powder.

A fantastic gardenia/jasmine soap scent. It definitely smells soapy and it's not overly sweet, almost like a bubble bath. Melted, it's not very sweet at all, so although it does smell like soap, it's not like a sweet bubble bath type of soap. It does smell a little authentic because it's not perfumey, but it almost has a "salty" note that's a bit odd. I still like this scent though.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Merlot

Notes: Sweet, fruit, and sophisticated. Plums, strawberries, and pears float above a light layer of fresh green leaf, gardenia and Neroli. Middle notes are anchored with a soft and delicate musk.

This smells like a rich concord grape scent with a little bit of a black cherry note and maybe plum. Thankfully it doesn't have that sour fermentation note that a lot of wine scented wax melts have. I really like this one. Looking at the scent notes, I guess it does have a tiny bit of a perfumey or floral note way in the background, but it's not a perfumey or floral scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Moscado

Notes: Fragrant red grapefruit and pomegranate are laid atop a bed of green apple and fruit blossoms with a delicate finish of smoky musk and the barest hints of rose and geranium.

Moscado is a sweet dessert wine. I usually don't like champagne or wine type scents because they often have a weird sour fermentation note that I don't care for. But this scent is different, and I like it. I smell grape and peach and maybe even banana, and a very slightly sour note but not enough to be annoying. It smells a bit like champagne, but sweeter. Looking at the scent notes, I'm surprised there's no grape since moscado is made with grapes.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Pipe Tobacco

Notes: Smoky tobacco leaf having notes of herbaceous tobacco leaf followed by a touch of sweet honey and finishing with a smoky, leathery cedar wood, fresh cherry wood, and vanilla bean. Masculine, refreshing, and soothing.

Sweet tobacco with a patchouli note, and maybe a smidgen of caramel. Looking at the scent notes, I think the caramel I'm smelling is the honey. I love this scent!

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Pomegranate & Anise

Notes: The sweet, fruity scent of pomegranate blended with the spicy scent of star anise

This smells like soapy ginger with an anise note (that gives it a licorice vibe) and a barely detectable smidgen of fruit. I'm not a fan of the scent.

Throw: Very faint, 2 out of 5



Rose Petals

Notes: A floral bouquet reminiscent of fresh picked red rose petals, jasmine blossom, and bitter geranium, calmed down with vanilla

A lovely slightly bitter rose scent mixed with sweet vanilla buttercream and maybe a smidgen of baby powder. I like it!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Santa's Whiskers

Notes: Notes of balsam fir needles and sweet sugar cookies.

I love this scent! It smells like super sweet vanilla buttercream with a clove note and a hint of smokiness. Looking at the scent notes, okay I do smell the fir/pine but it's way in the background.

Throw: Very faint, 2 out of 5



Sea Grass & Sand Dunes

Notes: A splash of citron along with notes of a flower garden filled with the happy blooms of geranium, roses, jasmine, and mint. The breeze finishes over the sea grasses and brings with it a base of spicy, sunbaked boardwalk

A fresh green grass scent with a hint of floral like gardenia. Although I've never found a grass scent that smells like real grass, this one is pretty close. I really like it!

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Shangri-La

Notes: This is a lovely blend of fresh lavender petals infused with soft coconut milk

A combination of lavender, and coconut I think. It smells a lot like Yankee Lavender Vanilla (or is it Bath & Body Works?). I like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Snuggle Baby

Notes: This scent is pure baby! Not a powder and not a straight lotion, it's one of the best baby scents we have ever smelled.

A fantastic, strong baby powder scent.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Sparkling Snowflakes

Notes: Notes of light and airy white musk mingle with fruity citrus and succulent sweet raspberries, with just the smallest tease of bergamot and a whisper of jasmine. To round it out we have sweet and creamy peppermint with a touch of dark chocolate.

A lovely grassy floral scent with a hint of peppermint and vanilla. It's not an overly sweet scent. Looking at the scent notes, I guess the musk and jasmine are the floral notes. I don't smell raspberry, citrus, or chocolate at all. Melted, it just smells like a nice soapy scent, or even bubble bath, with just a smidgen of sweet mint. I love it!

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Sweet Potato & Brown Sugar

Notes: Notes of mashed sweet potato, creamy milk, squash puree, brown sugar, freshly ground nutmeg, cinnamon sticks, vanilla extract, melted butter, rum, and a hint of maple sugar

This is one of the most incredibly yummy scents I've ever smelled. It smells like a sweet yam with brown sugar and lots of rich butter, and perhaps just a smidgen of cinnamon. It's super sweet and rich!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



White Christmas

Notes: A floral bouquet with citrus and almond top notes with a sweet musky background

This smells like almonds and a little bit of cherry with vanilla marshmallow. It's sweeter than other scents I've smelled with these notes. I really like it! Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell musk or floral, but maybe that's where the extra sweetness is coming from.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Winter Woodland Whisper

Notes: An evergreen forest in the depths of winter, with pine, spruce and fir

A nice slightly smoky spruce scent. It's not a harsh pine scent. It also has a slight "softness" to it with just a smidgen of sweetness.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5




I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Wednesday, March 21, 2018

Hanna's Candle Hershey's Wax Melts Reviews

Hanna's Candle Hershey's Wax Melts Reviews

Hanna's Candle Hershey's Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


Hanna's Candle's Hershey's wax melts, candles and Aromabeads Singles can be found on their website at https://candlemart.com/collections/hersheys-collection-by-hannas-candle-company.



Hershey's Almond Joy

Notes: Deliciously sweet milk chocolate and rich nutty coconut

On cold sniff this smells like a fake slightly plasticy milky coconut scent with a hint of chocolate. But that offputting plasticy note disappears when melting, and it smells quite nice, a perfect combination of milk chocolate and coconut with just a smidgen of nuts.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Hershey's Milk Chocolate with Almonds

Notes: Marshmallow fluff, caramel butter, dark brown sugar, dutch cocoa, tonka bean, milk chocolate and vanilla creme bring real life to a Hershey's favorite

A nice rich creamy milk chocolate with a smidgen of barely noticeable almonds. This actually smells better than a real Hershey's bar, as Hershey bars tend to have a weird stinky feet note, which I don't detect in this melt. Great scent, making me hungry!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Hershey's Mr. Goodbar

Notes: Sugared accents of creamy milk chocolate and crisp peanuts combine to create this true Hershey's classic

This one smells different from the older Mr. Goodbar wax melt I have, like the scent formula has been changed. I sniffed them side-by-side, and the older one really smells like a Mr. Goodbar candy bar, with creamy milk chocolate and peanuts. On cold sniff the new scent is a fake chocolate scent with a chemical note, but melted it smells better, although it smells like a regular Hershey bar without peanuts, and it still has a bit of chemical note while melting. My roommate noticed the difference too.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Hershey's S'Mores

Notes: Warm sweet vanilla cream and toasted marshmallows, drizzled with rich dark chocolate on a fresh baked graham cracker

This comes with 3 separate scents: graham cracker, marshmallow, and chocolate

Graham Cracker - This is a rich creamy scent that smells like a combination of chocolate and brown sugar, although I also do detect a smidgen of a graham cracker note, and maybe a barely detectable hint of honey. Throw was mild, 3 out of 5.

Marshmallow - A fantastic rich marshmallowy white chocolate scent. Throw was mild, 2.5 out of 5.

Chocolate - A nice creamy chocolate scent. Throw was mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5.



Hershey's Whoppers

Notes: Milk chocolate sweetness with the lingering scent of malted milk

A rich creamy chocolate scent. It's very similar to the Hershey's Milk Chocolate with Almonds scent, but richer and a little more chocolatey, and I can detect a hint of the malted note. It's not a burnt stinky chocolate like a lot of chocolate scented wax melts can be. I like it!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Hershey's York Peppermint Patty

Notes: The refreshing allure of sweet, frosted peppermint cream wrapped in rich nuances of dark, delectable chocolate

A nice pleasant combination of mint and sweet chocolate. It's not an overly pepperminty mint, and the chocolate is subtle too.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Hanna's Candle Jolly Rancher Wax Melts Reviews

Hanna's Candle Jolly Rancher Wax Melts Reviews

Hanna's Candle Jolly Rancher Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


All Jolly Rancher products (wax melts, candles and Aromabeads Singles) can be found on the Hanna's Candle website at https://candlemart.com/collections/jolly-rancher-collection-by-hannas-candle-company.



Jolly Rancher Blue Raspberry

Notes: Wild raspberry with tangy fruit accent this candy treat

A fake raspberry and blueberry scent (in a good way) with a very slightly tangy note, like it has a smidgen of lemon. I like this one.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Jolly Rancher Cherry

Notes: Luscious red cherry and a sweet vanilla base

This smells like vinyl with a hint of a fake cherry note. I know it's supposed to be a fake cherry, but although it's kind of sweet, it's not sweet or candyish enough. It's not even authentic or sweet enough to smell like cherry cough syrup, as a lot of fake cherry scents do. This is the only one out of the Jolly Rancher collection that I don't care for.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Jolly Rancher Cinnamon Fire

Notes: Cassia, cinnamon bark, wood & amber - the ultimate spice scent

A sweet red hot cinnamon candy scent. There may be a smidgen of cloves for extra warmth. If you like cinnamon, you'll love this scent!

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Jolly Rancher Grape

Notes: A bold, sweet and tart grape fruit fragrance that will wake up your sleeping taste buds

This is the perfect grape candy scent, or even grape soda. It's definitely not an authentic grape, just like you would expect grape flavored candy to smell like: sweet grape candy with a slight sour candy note (like maybe a hint of lemon).

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Jolly Rancher Green Apple

Notes: Fruity notes highlight this crisp apple scent, creating a mouth watering candy delight.

A very pleasant sweet apple scent. It's not completely authentic (nor should it be, since it's supposed to be apple candy), but it's not a fake apple candy scent either. I don't think it's a dupe of any of their other apple scents. I really like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Jolly Rancher Lemon

Notes: Tart, zesty lemon and sweet candied sugar

A nice lemon scent with a slightly soapy note. It smells a little like kitchen lemon, but it barely has any sweetness. It's almost the exact same scent as Jolly Rancher Pink Lemonade, but not as sweet. I like it! Looking at the scent notes, there's really no sugar (or maybe a hint of sugar) in this one.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Jolly Rancher Orange

Notes: Citrus, orange, pineapple, fruity, violet, strawberry, and gardenia

A strong bright very slightly tart orange scent, like orange Tang. Very nice. Looking at the scent notes, actually I think I do detect some pineapple, but none of the other notes except orange.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Jolly Rancher Pink Lemonade

Notes: Tangy lemon with a splash of sunny citrus

This smells almost exactly like the regular Jolly Rancher Lemon scent, but just a smidgen sweeter and maybe very slightly more soapy. Looking at the scent notes, it doesn't smell very citrusy. I like it though!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Jolly Rancher Watermelon

Notes: Juicy watermelon, zests of lemon, orange, and fresh floral undertones, on a sweet candy-like accord of sugar cane and malt notes

I'm not a fan of watermelon scents, but I really like this one because it's a sweet watermelon candy scent (although it's not overly sweet). It's not authentic watermelon, nor should it be. It's summery and thirst quenching and almost has a tiny bit of a floral note. Looking at the scent notes, there's the floral. I don't smell lemon or orange though, but there may be just a tinge of zestiness.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Twizzlers

Notes: A yummy rendition of classic strawberry Twizzlers twisted with tropical nuances of golden pineapple, island papaya, and tantalizing coconut

This smells like pineapple and fake strawberry (in a good way), and maybe a hint of raspberry. It's rich like there's a bit of vanilla in the background, and maybe a smidgen of coconut. Looking at the scent notes, they're spot on. I've never smelled Twizzlers candy, so I don't know if this actually smells like Twizzlers or not. But I really like this scent. It's fun and summery!

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Saturday, March 17, 2018

Better Homes & Gardens Wax Melts Reviews - Spring 2018 (Part 1)

Better Homes & Gardens Wax Melts Reviews - Spring 2018 (Part 1)

Better Homes & Gardens Wax Melts - Spring 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


This is a review of the new Walmart Better Homes & Gardens scented wax melts Spring 2018 scents. There are more new Better Homes & Gardens scents, but they have not arrived at all Walmarts yet (including mine). When they do, I will post a second review (Part 2). I will also add the scent notes to these scents if and when I get them.



Cucumber Melon Sorbet

Notes: Sliced summer, garden cucumber washes over juicy watermelon, sugared casaba and sweet honeydew swirled with a dash of luscious, white pear.

I'm not a fan of cucumber or melon scents (unless it's a very sweet watermelon), so I don't care for this scent, although it's quite fresh and summery. It smells almost exactly like ScentSationals Cucumber Melon that's been around for a few years. But that scent was mostly melon with a cucumber note, and a smidgen of floral, and it was on the sweet side. This scent is more cucumber with melon, and the melon is kind of a cantaloupe rather than watermelon, so although it's a little sweet, it also has that bland watery cucumber note and the very slight smidgen of sourness from the cantaloupe (although it's not a sour scent at all). So although I don't like either scent, if I had to choose, I prefer ScentSationals Cucumber Melon.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Ginger Berry Margarita

I smell ginger and a sweet berry note, but there's something in the background that I don't care for, a slightly sour or bitter note that may in fact be the ginger. It's a little sweet, but not sweet enough, and I think it has too much of the soapy ginger note and not enough berry.

Throw: Very faint, 2 out of 5



Jamaican Rum Gelato

This smells heavenly! It smells like sweet rich butterscotch, maple and brown sugar with rum. And I can definitely smell the rum. It has a little bit of a creamy French vanilla note as well. Fantastic! When melted, it's VERY rich, almost nauseatingly so, so it's best suited for a very large room.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Mango Sorbet Limoncello

A very lemony scent, sweet with a very slightly salty note. It's not a kitchen lemon or a lemonade lemon, but maybe a bit of a bakery lemon, like a slightly sweet sponge cake soaked with lemon juice (although I don't actually smell cake notes). It's not the same as ScentSationals Iced Lemon Sugar Cookies or Better Homes & Gardens Iced Lemon Poundcake (both of those are much sweeter, with more bakery notes and less lemon). I only smell the lemon, not the mango, although I think I smell just a smidgen of mango on cold sniff only. I love lemon scents, and I really like this one. This is not the same scent as the new AmbiEscents Italian Limoncello or the ScentSationals Limoncello Popsicle Fusion.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Meyer Lemon Basil

Fantastic rich zesty lemon scent with a bit of a savory note. I don't smell basil per se, maybe more of a little oregano? And there's just a smidgen of sweetness to keep it from being too savory. Melted, it has a grapefruit note too. Some people have said this smells like celery, although I don't smell that.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Pineapple Melon Freeze

This may be a dupe of several older ScentSationals and Better Homes & Gardens tropical scents. I smell pineapple and other tropical fruits, but it's not sweet at all. It has a waxy, very slightly sour note. I do detect the melon note as well, which smells like cantaloupe rather than watermelon or honeydew. It's an interesting scent although I'm not really a fan, but it's bringing back some memories... oh wait, it's the same scent as ScentSationals Tropical Fiesta! Which is one of the first scents I melted when I started getting into wax melts several years ago.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Red Lava Citrus

Notes: Tropical fruits and sugared citrus burst with hints of bright red currant and blood orange fused with lemon leaf and hints of musk.

I like this one, but I think it might be too intense for a lot of people. It smells a lot like ScentSationals Molten Orange, which is an intense orange scent, but this scent is even more intense, a little sour and less orangey, like satsuma. It smells more like an older scent from 2014 or 2015 I believe, called Better Homes & Gardens Valencia Blood Orange, although that scent was more intense and even less orangey than this one. So I'd say Red Lava Citrus is somewhere between Molten Orange and Valencia Blood Orange.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Summer Strawberry Mimosa

Notes: Sweet summer strawberries, sun-ripe raspberries and island sugarcane are blended with hints of fresh cut pineapple and sparkling French champagne

This smells almost exactly like last year's ScentSationals Pineapple Strawberry Smoothie. They're both sweet pineapple strawberry scents, and although this scent is more pineapple than strawberry, it's less pineappley than Pineapple Strawberry Smoothie. It's a sweet, yummy, refreshing combination, and it does smell like a smoothie, or a sweet pineapple strawberry hard candy. This is a fun, happy scent!

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Vanilla Bean Buttercream

This is a fantastic vanilla cookie scent. I don't think it's a dupe of any other ScentSationals or Better Homes & Gardens vanilla scents. It's similar to Better Homes & Gardens Vanilla Cookie Crunch, but without the nutty note. Smelling them side by side, the Vanilla Bean Buttercream scent smells like it has a hint of white chocolate in it and maybe also a barely detectable smidgen of coconut (although I don't smell coconut at all when melted). This is a good mixer, the way Vanilla Cookie Crunch is, especially since this is a stronger thrower than Vanilla Cookie Crunch.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



White Tahitian Woods

I smell coconut, cashmere/amber for warmth, musk perfume, and a hint of rich fruit like blackberry or plum. It's a fantastic scent with a slight tropical note. There may also be a smidgen of vanilla, but despite the scent name, this is not a vanilla scent. It smells like a rich body cream, and I love it! I've heard it smells like Bath & Body Works Waikiki Coconut. The first time I melted it, throw was medium, 3 out of 5. But the second time it was much stronger (so many variables can affect throw).

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Strawberry Pretzel Bars

Notes: Fresh sliced summer strawberries stirred with cane sugar and sweet vanilla infused whipped cream atop a rich butter and salted pretzel crust

I don't think this one will be available in melts, but it smells so good that I bought the candle and scraped the wax out to melt in my warmer. It's a super rich, sweet creamy strawberry scent with a little bit of saltiness. I don't smell pretzels per se, like no bready note, but the saltiness gives it an extra richness that makes this scent so fantastic.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Friday, March 9, 2018

Sonoma Wax Melts Reviews at Kohl's - Late Spring 2018

Sonoma Wax Melts Reviews at Kohl's - Late Spring 2018

Sonoma Wax Melts at Kohl's - Late Spring 2018
Click to enlarge

Video:




Blooming Honeysuckle

Notes: Sweet honeysuckle, dewy greens and relaxing jasmine

Same scent as last year's Blooming Honeysuckle, a lovely honeysuckle type scent with a bit of an orange blossom/neroli note (one of my favorite scents). It's not really authentic, but more of a sweet soapy honeysuckle, but still smells fantastic. But I believe this is a dupe of the older Sonoma "Honeysuckle" scent, and last year's "Hawaiian Honeysuckle". So it's not actually a new scent.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Endless Sunshine

Notes: Lavender leaves, fresh citrus and white birch

A lovely scent combining light sweet floral and salty lemon. There may also be a hint of lavender. It's a nice, fresh, cheerful scent. Looking at the scent notes, they're spot on, although I'm not sure what birch smells like (I don't detect any woodsy notes).

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Lilac Fields

Notes: Lilac, jasmine and orange blossom

This smells like lilac scented soap, and I love it. I can also smell the extra sweetness of the jasmine and a tiny bit of the rich honeysuckle type scent of the orange blossom.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Pink Velvet Cupcake

Notes: Jasmine, sugared vanilla and citrus

This is the same scent as last year's Pink Velvet Cupcake, a sweet vanilla scent with a very slight salty peanut note, and maybe a smidgeon of lemon and some kind of berry and just a barely detectable note of almond. Melted, however, I smell mostly the vanilla and not as much of the peanut, lemon and berry notes. On cold sniff it smells a little bit like ScentSationals Pink Velvet, but not exactly. That one had slightly more tart berry and lemon notes, while Sonoma Pink Velvet Cupcake is sweeter, has a stronger vanilla note, and a very slight perfumey note. Looking at the scent notes, the slightly perfumey note is the jasmine. Last year's throw was mild, around a 2.5 out of 5.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Summer Berry Lemonade

Notes: A vibrant blend of lemonade and mixed berries

A fantastic blend of raspberries and tangy lemon. It might be the same scent as last year's Raspberry Lemonade, but I no longer have that one because the throw was weak. The notes for last year's Raspberry Lemonade were raspberries, blackberries and red currants with a touch of lemon, nectarine blossom and peach. Those notes could definitely describe this scent as well (although I don't smell peach).

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Walk in the Park

Notes: Relaxing notes of eucalyptus, aloe and apple

I can't figure out the notes in this one. I smell fruit, maybe apple. And it also has a slightly clean soapy herbal note, as well as a slight peppery note. It's kind of green and natural, and just slightly sweet. Looking at the scent notes, there's the apple, and I guess the aloe is the fresh note, and maybe the eucalyptus is the peppery note? I don't actually smell eucalyptus though, which tends to smell a bit like pine. Melted, it smells like a fresh, very slightly fruity body wash. It's a nice pleasant scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Weekend Getaway

Notes: Gingered apple, jasmine and cedarwood

A very nice, pleasant scent with apple and floral with a very slight perfumey note, and something else I can't figure out. It's sweet but not perfumey sweet. Looking at the scent notes, yes, I smell the cedar on cold sniff but not when melting.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Sunday, March 4, 2018

Scentsy Survey Results

Scentsy Survey Results

Scentsy Survey Results

Scentsy survey results for Scentsy Wax Bars scents, throw, quality, prices, customer service and more. 95 anonymous participants completed this survey. The survey was only open to people who have used Scentsy wax melts, and submissions could only be made one time by the same person.

SCENT QUALITY
How good they smell
ChoiceVotes
Poor0
Fair6
Good24
Very Good39
Excellent26


THROW
How far you can smell scent in room when melting
ChoiceVotes
Poor7
Fair13
Good22
Very Good38
Excellent15


SCENT DURATION
How long the scent lasts when melted
ChoiceVotes
Under 1 hour0
1-2 hours4
2-4 hours11
4-6 hours23
6-8 hours26
Over 8 hours30


SCENT UNIQUENESS
Are they different from scents you’ve smelled from other companies?
ChoiceVotes
No unique scents3
Some unique scents33
Many unique scents50
Every scent is unique8


EASE OF USE
How easy to get out of package, to handle, cut, clean up, etc.
ChoiceVotes
Not Good0
Average60
Good34


WAX HARDNESS
ChoiceVotes
Very Soft/Messy1
Soft26
Average43
Hard22
Very Hard2


BEST WARMER TO USE
ChoiceVotes
25W Bulb Warmer57
20W Hotplate Warmer30
15W Warmer23
24W Hotplate Warmer14
Tealight Warmer10
12W Warmer8
Other7
40W Warmer6


PRESENTATION
Label artwork, packaging, how the wax looks, etc.
ChoiceVotes
Poor3
Fair12
Good34
Very Good22
Excellent24


PRICES
Not including shipping
ChoiceVotes
Low1
Average25
High69


SHIPPING CHARGES
ChoiceVotes
Low7
Average43
High45


TAT (TURNAROUND TIME)
Once an order is placed (including shipping time)
ChoiceVotes
Short29
Average59
Long7


AVAILABILITY
How often the company is open or closed, how often they sell out of products, etc.
ChoiceVotes
Poor1
Fair8
Good22
Very Good28
Excellent36


CUSTOMER SERVICE
ChoiceVotes
Poor0
Fair7
Good29
Very Good27
Excellent29


Would you buy Scentsy wax bars again and/or recommend them to others?
ChoiceVotes
Absolutely Yes48
Probably19
Maybe19
Probably Not6
Definitely Not3




I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Saturday, March 3, 2018

ScentSationals Wax Melts Survey

ScentSationals Wax Melts Survey


I'd like to get your opinions about ScentSationals wax melts. I'll leave the survey open for a week or two, and I'll report the results on this website. Please ONLY participate if you've actually tried ScentSationals wax melts. The survey is anonymous.

Please complete the Scentsy survey here:


Please also comment below and let me know what you think, if you have any problems accessing the survey, or if there are any other questions I should be asking. This will help me in setting up future surveys.



Want to discuss this survey and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Wednesday, February 28, 2018

ScentSationals Wax Melts Reviews from Walmart - Spring 2018

ScentSationals Wax Melts Reviews from Walmart - Spring 2018

ScentSationals Wax Melts from Walmart - Spring 2018
Click to enlarge

Video:


These are the new Spring 2018 ScentSationals wax melts from Walmart. I will review the new Better Homes & Gardens Spring 2018 scents as soon as I find all of them.

3/15/18 update - These are now available on the ScentSationals website at https://www.scentsationals.com/shop-online/?category=SPRING+FRAGRANCE. But they're $2.99 rather than $2.00 at Walmart, and shipping is a bit steep. They have not yet appeared on the Walmart website, but when they do (hopefully within the next few weeks), it makes more sense to buy them there. Also, the ScentSationals website includes notes for most of the new scents, which I've listed below (I will add more scent notes as they come in).



Apple Melon

Notes: Ripe orchard apples, crisp green Granny Smith, and sugary Jon gold blend with luscious watermelon accents amid sweet cantaloupe, sugared honeydew, and glimmers of ripe casaba.

I smell sweet watermelon and cantaloupe (cantaloupe is similar to watermelon but has a tinge of a sour note). I don't smell apple.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Boardwalk

This one is soapy and a little fresh with a little bit of a sweet watery note and a perfumey note and maybe a hint of baby powder. There might possibly be a barely detectable smidgen of coconut way in the background, but I'm not sure. When melted though, the perfumey note is much more subtle and it takes on more of a soapy note that's not overly sweet. It's quite pleasant and I like it.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Coconut Vacay

Notes: Candied coconut flakes atop decadent vanilla pound cake finished with sweet vanilla buttercream accented with sugar strands.

This smells a lot like Better Homes & Gardens Island Coconut Lime from last year, but they're not exactly the same. Island Coconut Lime is a coconut scent with a lime note. The new Coconut Vacay is a lime scent with a coconut note. It's more limey, and I'm pretty sure it also has lemon in it, as it's more zesty than lime. It also has a richness, not like a creamy richness, but a slightly savory richness. It's a little sweet but not really a "sweet" scent. It smells fantastic, and although I also like the Better Homes & Gardens Island Coconut Lime scent, I like Coconut Vacay more. The first cube I melted, throw was medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5. A few days later I melted a second cube and throw was strong, 3.5 to 5. Same clamshell! Which proves that there are a lot of things that affect throw. Looking at the scent notes, apparently there's no lime in this one, but I definitely smell lime first!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Coral Shores

Notes: Shimmering greens, sweet mango, and sugared pineapple blend with fragrant beach blossoms, hints of night-scented jasmine, and wild rose above ambered vanilla and rich musk.

A nice pleasant light coconut scent with a hint of fruit (strawberry with a tropical note?), and maybe a smidgen of floral. It's not overly sweet. I think I've smelled this one before, but it's not the same as a lot of similar scents I have, such as Better Homes & Gardens Caribbean Sea Breeze (which has different notes and is not as coconutty), ScentSationals Calypso Sands (which was sweeter and had a honeydew note, although when melted it does smell quite similar), or ScentSationals Passion Fruit Coconut (which was richer with a vanilla note and less fruit). Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell pineapple at all.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Country Living

Notes: This alluring fragrance creation blends Macintosh apple and fir needle with citrus and crisp eucalyptus accords. Siberian pine, pear blossom and rosemary oil add balance in the heart while applewood, fresh cedarwood and musk create a warming backdrop.

This is a fantastic fresh authentic apple scent, very similar to Better Homes & Gardens Fresh Orchard Apple, and the old ScentSationals Juicy Apple. This apple scent, however, is slightly more crisp and slightly less sweet, like a Granny Smith apple. And if you sniff all 3 apple scents side by side, you'll notice that this scent has a smidgen of pine way in the background. It's too subtle to notice by itself, but it's the note that differentiates it from other apple scents. Even so, it's hard to tell the difference between this scent and other authentic apple scents. Looking at the scent notes, there's the pine!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Girlfriend Night

The label says "Bubbly Berry Bliss", which sounds like this should smell like a fruity champagne, but not at all. It's a super sweet girly perfume scent that smells like pink sugar (a very sweet girly scent that smells a bit like cotton candy, with lily of the valley, vanilla, musk, and faint raspberry notes) but with more musk and maybe a slight blackberry note. I've heard that it's very similar to a Juicy Couture perfume. It's VERY sweet, almost nauseatingly so, but I like girly perfume scents so I love this one!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Guava Peach

Notes: Sunny island guava blended with sweet nectarine and juicy peach, a burst of sliced mango and ripe lychee fruit swirled with pure cane sugar.

A nice sweet tropical fruit scent. I smell the guava but not the peach. There's also a hint of a sweet floral note, and a hint of strawberry I think. There's also a very subtle sour note, but not overkill like some tropical fruit scents. I did smell that sour note a little more as time went on, but it still wasn't too much.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Honeysuckle Pineapple

Notes: Island pineapple, crisp melon, juicy berry, and ripe kiwi brighten dewy honeysuckle and white orchid wrapped in soft musk and sheer ozone.

It's pineapple. The pineapple is on the sweet side. I don't smell honeysuckle at all, just pineapple, but other people who have smelled this do detect the honeysuckle.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Laundry Basket

Notes: Egyptian cotton and freshly laundered linen join bright notes of effervescent citron, white aldehydes and the richness of lush greens over translucent musk and warm, ozone-infused woods.

A very nice pleasant soapy scent that smells like a combination of fabric softener and bubble bath. I think there's a hint of musk in this scent which makes it smell a tiny bit like ScentSationals Egyptian Cotton, but not nearly as sweet or perfumey.

Throw: Faint, 2 out of 5



Lavender & Rosemary

Notes: Freshly picked lavender blossom accented with rosemary, soft citrus highlights and gently crushed clove.

A fantastic authentic lavender scent. It has a slight medicinal note due to the rosemary, but not enough to be bothersome. It has just a smidgen of sweetness, but it's not a soft, powdery, sweet lavender scent. Very nice, and a great mixer; it would mix well with lemon or lemongrass to make a nice spa scent, or with a floral or perfumey scent.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Magic Spell

This is a dupe of Victoria's Secret Love Spell perfume and I don't like it at all. It smells like Scentsy Lucky in Love and Tuscany Stressless (both of which are also Love Spell dupes, so I don't like them either). It smells very bland to me, and not very sweet, like bitter grapefruit and wax paper. But I think I'm in the minority in my dislike of this scent, as most people seem to love it!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Morning Bliss

Notes: Shimmering bergamot and tart grapefruit zest splash over sweet lychee accented with pure peony balanced by white musk undertones and sheer touches of pink jasmine.

This is pure grapefruit, and I love it. It's both a little sweet and sour, and there might also be a bit of orange in this one. When melted I also detect a bit of zestiness, which might be lemon. This scent is similar to last year's ScentSationals Hello Sunshine, which is also a grapefruit scent, but that scent was slightly sweeter and with more orange.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Nutty Butter Cookie Bars

Notes: Chocolate chips and Nutter butter cookies stirred with vanilla essence and sweet brown sugar.

The picture on the label shows what looks like peanut butter bars with chocolate frosting. I do smell chocolate with a slightly peanut buttery vanilla. It's not a harsh bitter dark chocolate though. It's a nice scent but a bit artificial.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Ocean Tides

Notes: Sparkling ozone and sea salt drift over floral jasmine, cyclamen, and tender lily touched with hints of tropical peach and warm, musk-infused woods.

This is the same scent as the new AmbiEscents Maui Beach, which is the same scent as the old ScentSationals Calypso Sands, a fantastic sweet watery scent with honeydew, floral, vanilla, and a hint of coconut (notes: light floral and honeydew on a fresh breeze). I'm sniffing them side by side, and if they're not the same scent, they sure are close. It's one of my favorite scents. Looking at the scent notes, they're not the same as Calypso Sands.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Orange Pops

Notes: Refreshing mandarin takes a unexpected turn in this warm, spicy citrus delight.

It's Orange. What else can I say? I like it, but I like all orange scents, and this one is a bit one-dimensional, just orange with nothing else. It's not overly sweet, but it's not sour either, and it's not intense like ScentSationals Molten Orange, and it's not a creamy orange like an orange creamsicle. There may be a hint of grapefruit.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Rainbow Shaved Ice

A super sweet slightly fruity chemical scent with a weird very bitter chemical note that makes it smell like cough syrup. It smells a little like ScentSationals Rock Candy, but with the addition of that bitter chemical note. It doesn't smell like shaved ice, but more like a thick rich sugary syrup. Well, like cough syrup. It smells a little better melted than it does on cold sniff. I think adding vanilla or a real fruit scent to this (even lemon maybe) would make it smell better.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Raspberry Margarita

This is a weird one, and it might be one that people love or hate. It smells like raspberry and eucalyptus! It might be a dupe for an older Christmas scent, although I've never smelled anything like it. It smells like strong medicinal cough syrup that has a strong thick sweet fruity taste added to it to cover up the medicinal taste, or raspberry flavored eucalyptus cough drops. It's such a strange combination that sounds awful together, but I actually really like it. I just asked my roommate what it smells like, without telling him the name of the scent. He said cherry candy or cherry cough drops. I kind of like it though. It's refreshing! And the scent lingered in my room for a day after I turned off the warmer.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Tip Toe Tulips

Notes: Spring has arrived! Sweet jasmine and rose over raspberry and orange blossom. Touched by spicy greens and softened with vanilla.

This is a fantastic floral scent that smells like rose and honeysuckle with a little bit of a soapy note. It's not overly sweet and it doesn't smell like perfume; it's actually quite an authentic floral scent. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell raspberry, but there might be a barely detectable fruity note.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Always Blooming duo

Tip Toe Tulips - Reviewed above

Cherry Tree - A nice delicate cherry blossom scent with maybe a hint of baby powder and soapiness. Like most cherry blossom scents, throw is mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5.



Ocean is Calling duo

Boardwalk and Coral Shores scents (reviewed above)



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.