Sunday, May 20, 2018

ScentSationals Wax Melts from Meijer's – Spring 2018 Reviews

ScentSationals Wax Melts from Meijer's – Spring 2018 Reviews

ScentSationals Wax Melts from Meijer's – Spring 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


These ScentSationals scents are only available at Meijer's and perhaps some other stores, but not Walmart.



Citrus Sunrise

This is an orange scent with a grapefruit note. It's different from their other new orange scents, like ScentSationals Orange Pops and Better Homes & Gardens Red Lava Citrus. And it's also different from the new ScentSationals Morning Bliss, which is a grapefruit scent with a hint of orange and a slightly sour note.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Exotic Sandalwood

This smells like oud wood, a deep resinous almost tree sappy woodsy scent, but mixed with a sweet note which I think is vanilla, and a very slight sour note that gives it a darker, more intense vibe. There's also a hint of chocolate, but I think that's patchouli (which sometimes has a slight cocoa note). This is not the same scent as ScentSationals Vanilla Woods. I really like this scent, and it's very unique!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Home Sweet Home

This scent came out several years ago at Walmart but was discontinued. It smells like light sweet apple cider and cinnamon, but there's another note that I can't figure out, which makes this different from other fall type scents. It's sweeter than most fall scents, so maybe brown sugar? Pear? All fall scents tend to smell similar to me, but this one is unique and I really like it. It's a completely different scent from Yankee Candle's Home Sweet Home.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Summer Sunset

This is the same scent as the new AmbiEscents Sunset in Paradise. It's a fantastic slightly perfumey pineapple scent with maybe a sweet vanilla note, and candy note, and a little bit of honeysuckle, and there might be some other kind of fruit in there as well. I'm not a fan of pineapple scents, but this one is heavenly, and my favorite of all the new AmbiEscents scents! There's a new ScentSationals scent that just came out called Honeysuckle Pineapple. This is NOT that scent at all; that one to me smells like straight pineapple. This scent, however, is super sweet candy-like perfumey pineapple.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Cucumber Cantaloupe Fusion

I think this is the same scent as ScentSationals Cucumber Melon. It's a nice pleasant scent that smells like sweet honeydew melon watered down a little bit by the cucumber. It's similar to ScentSationals Calypso Sands, which also has the honeydew note, but that scent is a little sweeter and has a bit of a floral note.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Fresh Garden Fusion

I love this scent. It's a super sweet jasmine/gardenia perfume scent with musk and I think a barely detectable smidgen of honeydew melon. When melted, I don't smell any melon, and it smells very similar to ScentSationals Egyptian Cotton and ScentSationals Cottage Window.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Limoncello Popsicle Fusion

This is the same scent as the new AmbiEscents Italian Limoncello. I love this scent! It's limey and lemony with a lemongrass note, and a little bit salty and just a smidgen of sweetness but actually not very sweet at all. It almost has a bit of a spa quality due to the lemongrass note.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Ocean Air Fusion

A fantastic fresh air scent with a zesty slightly sour slightly lemony note. It's kind of a spa scent, and it's not really sweet, but it's fantastic! It's a dupe of an old scent called ScentSationals Big Sur from 2013-2014.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

ScentSationals HEB Texas Scented Wax Melts – Spring 2018 Review

ScentSationals HEB Texas Scented Wax Melts – Spring 2018 Review

ScentSationals HEB Texas Scented Wax Melts – Spring 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


These ScentSationals wax melts scents are only available at HEB stores in Texas.



Austin City Lights

Notes: Eastern oud wood, balsamic amber and Moroccan patchouli fuse with breezy orange blossom, golden nutmeg and pure vanilla touched by warm, black musk.

This is the same scent as the old ScentSationals Oud Noir, a deep resinous almost tree sappy woodsy scent with a sweet slightly perfumey note. It's similar to ScentSationals Exotic Sandalwood, but that scent has a slightly sour, slightly vanilla/chocolatey note with a bit of patchouli. There may be a hint of vanilla in this scent as well, but if so it's very subtle. It smells a little like ScentSationals Vanilla Woods, but deeper and more intense. It's one of my favorite scents.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5 (but Oud Noir throw is bold, 5 out of 5)



Barton Springs

This is the same scent as Moonlit Walk, the blue side of ScentSationals Date Night duo that came out several years ago and might still be available at some Walmarts. It's a fantastic super rich, warm, ambery, sweet, slightly peppery men's cologne scent. The scent lasted over 24 hours!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Indian Paint Brush

Notes: Leafy greens, aquatic floralcy of water lily and lotus flower, sparkling ozone, and glittering musk

This is the same scent as ScentSationals Water Lily & Lotus from February 2017, a clean zesty soapy herbal peppery ginger scent. It's not sweet at all, and it smells a lot like ScentSationals Thai Ginger. I like it!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Stars at Night

Notes: Ripe fig, sweet berry, and absinthe

This is the same scent as last year's ScentSationals Midnight Summer, and the notes for that scent were figs layered with Indian jasmine, ballerina rose and green notes of absinthe. It's a dark blackberry scent with floral, although it's not really a berry scent or a floral scent. This smells a lot like ScentSationals Blackberry Cider, although a little sweeter, with a bit of a "pink sugar" note. It also has a very subtle hint of men's cologne. A fantastic, and "sexy" scent.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Tres Leches

A sweet vanilla buttercream scent with a smidgen of caramel I think, and maybe a barely detectable hint of chocolate. Melted, there may also be a very slight hint of cinnamon. It's richer and not as one-dimensional as a lot of other vanilla scents out there. Actually, I think it's the same scent as Better Homes & Gardens Vanilla Cookie Crunch, but if not, it's very similar.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Friday, May 11, 2018

Goose Creek Candle Wax Melts Reviews - May 2018

Goose Creek Candle Wax Melts Reviews - May 2018

Goose Creek Candle Wax Melts - May 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


Goose Creek Candle hit it out of the park with these new Spring 2018 scents! They all smell fantastic and throw great! And as a bonus, the lids fit tightly on the clamshell, which is good because with many of the older ones I have, the lids would fall off easily.Goose Creek Candle candles and wax melts can be found on their website at https://goosecreekcandle.com.



Blood Orange

Description: A watery blend of fresh sliced blood oranges drenched in cool island rain.

Notes:
Top: Blood Orange Zest, Orange Peel
Mid: Crisp Mandarin, Tangerine Splash
Base: Cool Rain, Sandalwood

This smells like lemon, grapefruit and orange with a tangy, slightly savory note. It's a totally different orange scent than I've ever smelled. It's not a bright, citrusy, sweet orange juice scent at all. It only has a hint of sweetness, but it's also not a harsh, "burnt" orange scent like ScentSationals Molten Orange. It's such a great scent that even though it's not a strong thrower, I'm going to keep it and use it in a smaller room.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Marshmallows

Description: A delicious blend of fluffy marshmallows and heart warming vanilla bean.

Notes:
Top: Warm Vanilla Bean
Mid: Fluffy Marshmallows
Base: Toasted Vanilla Crème

A very nice milky vanillary marshmallow scent. It's not a Bath and Body Work Vanilla Bean Noel type scent at all. It's more milky and marshmallowy, with maybe a hint of smokiness (perhaps the "toasted" part of the vanilla creme) and even a barely detectable smidgen of a laundry note. I really like it. In 2016 Goose Creek had a scent called Campfire Marshmallow, but I don't remember if this is the same scent or not, although I did describe it the same way. That scent did not throw well (and it used the older soft messy wax), but this one does.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Rain Drenched Strawberry

Description: A soft garden rain falls from the sky. Sun-kissed strawberries begin to glisten.

Notes:
Top: Fresh Fallen Rain Drops, Sun Kissed Strawberries
Mid: Garden Rhubarb, Soft Jasmine
Base: Light Coconut, Vanilla

Fantastic rich succulent super strawberryish strawberry scent that smells like strawberry sorbet or gelato. It's not a creamy scent like iced cream, and although it's quite sweet, it's not sugary sweet like strawberry jam. It's actually a rather authentic strawberry scent, like the inside of a jumbo sun-ripened fresh garden strawberry! I adore this scent!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5




Rainbow Sugar

Description: It's cotton candy dreams! A fluffy, sugary rainbow of colors

Notes:
Top: Frozen Strawberries, Iced Lemon
Mid: Juicy Raspberry, Pink Pomelo
Base: Spun Sugar, Vanilla

This is Pink Sugar! It's a super sweet marshmallowy cotton candyish scent with a raspberry note. One of my favorite scents! I think this one might be sweeter and slightly more fruity than some other Pink Sugar scents I've smelled. It's similar to Better Homes & Gardens Pink Sugar Berry, but again, a bit sweeter and more raspberryish.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5




Summer Moon

Description: A midnight moon reveals the secret path. It’'s the classic late summer night fragrance.

Notes:
Top: Citrus, Warm Woods, Bergamot
Mid: Light Lavender, Soft Pine
Base: Patchouli, Moss, Vetiver

This is a nice men's herbal body wash scent, like a Cool Water type scent. It's not overly sweet, and I think I detect a smidgen of lavender and pine. I really like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5




Very Berry

Description: A cheerful blend of summer fresh berries. Indulge in this deliciously chilled, very berry treat!

Notes:
Top: Blueberries, Strawberries, Raspberries
Mid: Soft Apple, Peach Nectar
Base: Vanilla Sugar

I love this scent! I smell super sweet blueberries with a sugary slightly marshmallowy cotton candy note, a little like the Rainbow Sugar scent ("Pink Sugar") but with blueberries. It's not an authentic fruit scent, but it smells fantastic. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell peach or apple, but maybe a little raspberry.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Aldi Wax Melts Reviews - Summer 2018 (May)

Aldi Wax Melts Reviews - Summer 2018 (May)
 
Aldi Wax Melts - Summer 2018 (May)
Click to enlarge

Aldi comes out with 4 new wax melt scents 3 times a year: January, April/May, and September/October. The wax melts are made by Hanna's Candle and are very good quality. They cost $1.69 each. They should be at all Aldi stores this week, or if not, this weekend. Once they show up at the Aldi store, they stay on the shelves until they're sold out, which can happen within 2 or 3 weeks. Old scents do not return, so if you like these, don't wait! However, many of these scents are available on the Hanna's Candle website, possibly under different names (for "legal" reasons, Hanna's has not confirmed this; it's just my personal observation).

See my review (text and video) of each scent at the link below:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail/permalink/1613489135435576/

If you click the review link before you're a member, it won't work, so you'll need to join the group first, at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.


Want to discuss this review and other store-bought wax melts? Join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail. The Scented Wax Melts Store-Bought/Retail group is the only Facebook group for discussing U.S. retail and store-bought scented wax melts. We're a fun group of 3,000 members, with NO ads, NO vendor wax, and NO drama.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Tuesday, May 1, 2018

Hillbilly Wax Company Wax Melts Reviews

Hillbilly Wax Company Wax Melts Reviews

Click to enlarge

Video


Hillbilly Wax Company is a small business in North Carolina that makes scented wax melts. Stacy Green started this business a few months ago and already she has quite a following due to her unique theme and scent blends. Unlike most wax vendors, Stacy's wax melts are made with paraffin wax rather than soy. Since scents made with paraffin wax tend to "throw" better than those made with soy, in general her wax melts performed quite well. Stacy's website is https://hillbillywaxco.com and her Facebook page is https://www.facebook.com/Hillbilly-Wax-Company-Clyde-NC-2105169326373261/.



Bad Hillbilly

Notes: Lord of Misrule by Lush Dupe, a mysterious blend of rich patchouli and warm sandalwood. Citrus, vetiver and kisses of black pepper round out this fragrance.

I smell patchouli and a little bit of a raw woodsy note, and maybe a smidgen of cologne. I like it. Looking at the scent notes, the vetiver is the cologne note, and I think I do detect a hint of pepper, but no citrus.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Bear Butt

Notes: Butt Naked type. Granny Smith apples blended with honeydew melon and cherry on a bed of creamy vanilla taffy.

I smell sweet watermelon and strawberry with maybe a note of pear. It's rich and creamy. Looking at the scent notes, okay kind of close! Yes, now I do realize it's honeydew rather than watermelon, but with the combination of the apple and cherry it was hard to tell. I'm not a fan of melon scents, but I kind of like this one.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Candy Shoppe

Notes: Raspberry, strawberry and banana blend with sweet sugar, wild berry and cherry on a bed of creamy vanilla taffy

A nice fruity scent with a little bit of a sweet creamy note. I smell strawberry, banana and watermelon, with a little bit of cherry.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Dirty Boy

Notes: Dirty Lush Dupe. The fresh scent of spearmint blended with sandalwood and thyme. This is a clean fresh and sexy scent.

This is a strong spearmint/wintergreen scent. It's a little sweet, but herbal. Looking at the notes, the thyme is probably the herbal note. I don't smell sandalwood. Melted, it has a smidgen of a candyish note, in a good way.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Gettin' Inked

Notes: Green floral freesia type with top notes of cyclamen, hawthorn and lilac, middle notes of jasmine, lily, rose, and violet with a musk and tonka bean base note.

This one is interesting and very hard to describe! It's a sweet floral like sweet pea or gardenia, but I also smell a little bit of oriental spice and soapiness, and even a smidgen of tobacco way in the background. Looking at the scent notes, this is not the scent I would expect based on the notes, but it's different and I like it.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Hillbilly Hippie

Notes: Cannabis Blossom (green fern and cannabis notes open up to a floral accord of gardenia and violet. White musk and golden amber round out this fragrance) and a touch of patchouli (an earthy, musky, woodsy favorite)

This smells like pure marijuana! There might be something else way in the background, but all I'm smelling is pot. Looking at the scent notes, there's the cannabis blossom. I was told that the blossom doesn't smell like pot, but nope, it does. My roommate had no idea what I was melting, walked by my room and said, "Why am I smelling pot?"

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Lady Lavender

Notes: Sweet buttercream and lavender

This smells like a combination of lavender, vanilla, and maybe also slight bakery and perfumey notes, although it's not overly sweet.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



Nutty Squirrel

Notes: Pistachio Puddin' Cake, which is creamy vanilla custard mixed with pistachio nuts, honey, almond and heliotrope.

Oh this smells fantastic!! It's a super rich creamy sweet pistachio scent.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Southern Martini

Notes: Blue Sugar type with Kick Ass blackberry and a hint of lemon for balance

This smells like Blue Sugar (a popular wax melt fragrance) but with a plum/blackberry note. I like it. Blue Sugar is actually a men's cologne with top notes of mandarin orange and bergamot; middle notes of coriander, patchouli, lavender, licorice and cotton candy; and base notes of tonka bean, star anise and cedar. I'm not a fan of Blue Sugar because I can smell the anise and licorice a bit, but I like this version because of the blackberry note.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Watermelon Smash

Notes: Fresh crisp watermelon that starts with top notes of watermelon and strawberry followed by middle notes of jasmine, rose and green notes all on a base of cassis, oakmoss, white woods and vanilla

I smell mostly watermelon, with a hint of some other notes I can't identify. Maybe another fruit?

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Tuesday, April 3, 2018

ScentSationals Wax Melts - Survey Results

ScentSationals Wax Melts - Survey Results

ScentSationals Wax Melts - Survey Results

ScentSationals survey results for ScentSationals wax melts scents, throw, quality, prices, and more. 163 anonymous participants completed this survey. The survey was only open to people who have used ScentSationals wax melts, and submissions could only be made one time by the same person.

SCENT QUALITY
How good they smell
ChoiceVotes
Poor3
Fair4
Good27
Very Good84
Excellent45


THROW
How far you can smell scent in room when melting
ChoiceVotes
Poor3
Fair4
Good47
Very Good74
Excellent35

SCENT DURATION
How long the scent lasts when melted
ChoiceVotes
Under 1 hour3
1-2 hours4
2-4 hours28
4-6 hours54
6-8 hours48
Over 8 hours26


SCENT UNIQUENESS
Are they different from scents you've smelled from other companies?
ChoiceVotes
No unique scents6
Some unique scents80
Many unique scents68
Every scent is unique9


EASE OF USE
How easy to get out of package, to handle, cut, clean up, etc.
ChoiceVotes
Not Good1
Average21
Good141


WAX HARDNESS
ChoiceVotes
Very Soft/Messy1
Soft2
Average38
Hard87
Very Hard34


BEST WARMER TO USE
ChoiceVotes
25W Bulb Warmer71
20W Hotplate Warmer56
24W Hotplate Warmer54
Tealight Warmer26
15W Warmer18
40W Warmer7
Other6
12W Warmer5


PRESENTATION
Label artwork, packaging, how the wax looks, etc.
ChoiceVotes
Poor1
Fair10
Good43
Very Good62
Excellent47


PRICES
Not including shipping
ChoiceVotes
Low93
Average68
High1


AVAILABILITY
How often the company is open or closed, how often they sell out of products, etc.
ChoiceVotes
Poor1
Fair19
Good50
Very Good61
Excellent32


Would you buy ScentSationals wax melts again and/or recommend them to others?
ChoiceVotes
Absolutely Yes133
Probably22
Maybe5
Probably Not2
Definitely Not1



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Friday, March 30, 2018

Living Colors Wax Melts Reviews from Big Lots - Spring 2018

Living Colors Wax Melts from Big Lots - Spring 2018
Click to enlarge

Video





Cherry Blossom

A perfect fruity floral cherry blossom scent. I smell sweet floral with a fruity cherry note, and also a laundry note. Very nice! I find that just about all cherry blossom scents tend to have weak throw no matter who makes them.

Throw: Very faint, 2 out of 5



Deep Ocean

Sweet fresh water with a hint of a peppery note, a sweet floral note, and maybe a smidgen of lemon and a tiny bit of musk. It smells like a men's body wash but a little different from other typical men's body wash scents. I really like it.

Throw: Very faint, 1 to 2 out of 5



Desert Sage

This smells like freshly mowed grass with sweet floral and peppery notes. The peppery note makes it smell like an authentic flower, but it's not really a floral scent either; it's a little sweet but not flowery sweet or perfumey. It's more of a "green", natural scent, but definitely not sage, since sage is a savory scent. I really like it!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Morning Glory

Morning Glory flowers really don't have a scent, and they definitely don't smell like this! This is a nice, rich, super sweet scent that smells like a combination of fake grape candy and floral, with maybe a hint of vanilla. It's unique and I like it, although it's almost nauseatingly sweet.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



White Nectarine

This may be a dupe for an older tropical fruit scent. I do smell peach, but maybe also mango. It's not overly sweet, and it has a bit of that sour tropical note but not enough to be annoying. Even though it has a tropical note, I don't detect pineapple or coconut. It's a great scent, and very strong on cold sniff.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and more. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Tuesday, March 27, 2018

Ashland (Michaels) Wax Melts Reviews - March 2018

Ashland (Michaels) Wax Melts Reviews - March 2018

Ashland (Michaels) Wax Melts - March 2018
Click to enlarge

Video 




Coconut Sea Salt

Notes: Creamy Coconut, Vanilla Bean, Golden Pineapple, Banana Leaf, Lemongrass, and Sea Salt

This smells like pineapple and coconut with maybe a hint of apple. Looking at the scent notes, I don't think I smell banana, although maybe that's the apple I think I smell. And I definitely don't smell lemongrass, which is a soapy savory lemony spa type scent, which this scent is not. Melted, the pineapple is a bit on the subtle side. So although I'm not a fan of pineapple scents, I like this one! And it lasted all day!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Mango Margarita

Notes: Mandarin Orange, Juicy Mango, Agave Nectar, Coconut Milk, and Sea Salt

Oh this one is nice and summery. I definitely smell the orange and mango, and a hint of the coconut. Even so, it's not an overly tropical scent, it's sweet and rich with a slightly salty note, and I don't smell any pineapple (which I often smell in scents with mango margarita type names).

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Pineapple Salsa

Notes: Pineapple, Pear, Melon, Apple, Strawberry, Banana, Coconut, Peach, Vanilla, and Musk

This is pineapple all the way, although it's very sweet, like pineapple candy, and there may be a hint of vanilla in it, and possibly a bit of coconut. Maybe some other fruit like strawberry and banana? Looking at the scent notes, there's the strawberry, banana, coconut and vanilla! I don't like pineapple scents but this one is "okay" because it's very sweet and has other fruit notes.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Pink Coconut

Notes: Orange, Bergamot, Fennel, Raspberry, Coconut, Lily-of-the-Valley, Musk, Vanilla, and Oak Wood

This smells very similar to the new ScentSationals Girlfriend Night. It's a sweet girly perfume scent with a slight fruity note, maybe raspberry, and a smidgen of coconut. Yep, there's the raspberry and coconut. I don't smell orange or fennel at all. I LOVE this scent!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Turquoise Waters

Notes: Mineral Springs, Water Lotus, Sea Glass, Peony Bouquet, Cyclamen Flower, Jasmine, Hydrangea Petals, Rosewater, and Oakmoss

This is a sweet fresh watery scent with a grassy note and maybe a barely detectable smidgen of lemon. No, no lemon in the scent notes. I've smelled other scents that had "sea glass" in the notes, and they smell a lot like this. There's a bit of floral in this, but it's not really a floral scent, but I think that's what gives it the grassy note. It smells a little bit like ScentSationals Fresh Air, but with some different, more crisp, grassy notes. Very refreshing!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Vanilla Macaron

Notes: Apple, Orange, Coconut, Honey, Cinnamon, Spearmint, Rich Vanilla, and Musk

This one is weak on cold sniff, and I can't figure out the notes. It's vanilla with maybe a bit of a perfumey note but also maybe a smidgen of nut, and for some reason I'm smelling a barely detectable hint of spearmint that I don't think I'll smell when it's melted. Looking at the scent notes, there's the spearmint! I don't smell apple or orange though. It's a nice interesting scent, but it seems like the notes it contains don't belong together. They're confusing me. Melted, it's a perfumey vanilla with a nutty note, and I don't smell the spearmint at all. I like it, but there's something odd about it.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your email address and website where I can view your products.

Saturday, March 24, 2018

Sizzlin Scents Wax Melts Reviews

Sizzlin Scents Wax Melts Reviews

Sizzlin Scents Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


Sizzlin Scents is a small business located in Fort Wayne, Indiana, that makes candles and scented wax melts. Chris Anderson is the owner, and her products can be ordered on Etsy at https://www.etsy.com/shop/sizzlinscents. She also has a Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SizzlinScents.

Sizzlin Scents candles and wax melts are made of a paraffin/soy (parasoy) blend, and the melts are available in many different shapes.

I enjoyed these wax melts, and Chris was friendly, helpful and professional.



Apple Butter Caramel

Notes: This delectably sweet scent is a combination of delicious apple, gooey caramel, and sweet and spicy apple butter.

Fantastic super salty, super rich scent that smells like pretzels, but with an apple note and a hint of caramel. It's almost the same scent as ScentSationals Pumpkin Apple Muffins from Walmart.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Apple Cinnamon

Notes: Spicy red hots combined with a fresh apple for a delicious scent.

A generic cinnamon candy scent with a barely detectable smidgen of apple and cloves, but I like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Apple Flower

Notes: Red Delicious Apples entangled in delicate wild ivy, caressed by notes of fresh pomegranate and soft mandarin flowers. Blooming cherry trees and sheer musk surround this fragrance to give its handlers a delightful awakening!

A fantastic sweet apple candy scent with a perfume note. I really like this one!

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Banana Cream Pie

Notes: The perfect banana cream pie, topped with whipped cream!

This is a fake banana candy scent, but I really like it

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Birthday Cake

Notes: A sweet buttery bouquet reminiscent of vanilla cake.

Super rich extremely sweet buttery buttercream scent with a little bit of a vanilla cake note and maybe marshmallow. This one will give you cavities!

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Black Knight

Notes: A sharp, spicy, lavender, amber fragrance. Contains a blend of lavender, citrus, spicy berries and sandalwood.

A nice fresh men's cologne or men's body wash scent.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Blue Rain

Notes: A blend of caramelized sugar and vanilla topped with heady notes of cedar and tonka bean combined with a refreshing blast of unique herbal fusion!

I've never smelled anything like this, but I like it! It's a sweet watery scent with a strong foodie note like vanilla, and another note I can't figure out, maybe caramel or brown sugar? Looking at the scent notes, there's the caramelized sugar and vanilla, and I think cedar is the other note, which I do smell. It's not an herbal scent though, nor is it a fresh watery scent, or a foodie scent, but a combination of watery and foodie. Very unique!

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Blueberry Cobbler

Notes: Freshly baked blueberry cobbler straight from grandma's oven

Super sweet blueberry scent. It's the typical fake generic blueberry scent I smell everywhere, but I still like it. It smells better when melted and takes on a bit of a brown sugar note that's quite yummy!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Cherry Vanilla

Notes: Two classic fragrances swirl together in sweet harmony!

A very fake cherry scent with a strong chemical note. I don't care for it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Dream Angels Halo

Notes: A close match to the popular Victoria's Secret fragrance, feminine accords of delicate muguet, rich jasmine and spring violets merge with fresh green notes and musk to create a luxurious aroma.

This one is very weak on cold sniff. It's a bit of a perfumey scent with maybe a hint of baby powder and vanilla.

Throw: Very faint, 1.5 to 2 out of 5



Dream Weaver

Notes: This enchanting fragrance will take your breath away! A truly unique scent with a sensual earthy, musky type base note topped with a silky smooth powdery overtone

A wonderful perfumey scent that smells like baby powder with oriental spices and musk.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Egyptian Sheets

Notes: Clean and crisp top notes of orange zest and fresh greens highlight a feminine bouquet of jasmine, orchid vanilla and violet on a warm background of rosewood, sandalwood, and soft musk

I thought this would be a laundry scent, but it's really not. It's more like vanilla with a hint of a laundry note, and I think there's also musk and maybe a sweet watery note in this one. But it's not a sweet perfumey scent. There's also a strong vinyl type note that I don't care for. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell orange at all.

Throw: Faint, 1.5 to 2 out of 5



Fruit Salad

Notes: A delicious blend of fresh apples, cherries, and fruit slices

A creamy fruity scent. I smell mostly cherry, but also orange and peach I think. It's a fake scent, but I like it. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell apple. This one is similar to the Cherry Vanilla scent, with a hint of that chemical note but not enough to be annoying.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Green Tea & Cucumber

Notes: A duplicate of the popular Bath and Body Works fragrance, a sensual blend of cool citrus and melon with rich florals and a long lasting drydown of musk and cedarwood notes.

This smells exactly like the name, an almost even combination of watery cucumber and green herbal tea. There may be a smidgen of a floral note. It's nice, different, and relaxing.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Hazelnut Coffee

Notes: An addicting brew of gourmet French roast coffee enhanced with the flavor of Turkish hazelnuts and a touch of sweet cream.

A fantastic sweet very creamy coffee scent with a nutty note. It's not overly sweet, and it's not a burnt coffee scent either.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Hot Cranberry Tea

Notes: A beautiful blend of cranberry, bergamot and lemon top notes with white flower and ylang ylang on a base of vanilla and amber.

A super sweet cranberry scent with a hint of cinnamon. Very nice! Looking at the scent notes, I don't detect any bergamot (which gives scents a cologne type note), flower, ylang, vanilla or amber. Maybe a barely detectable smidgen of lemon? I really do smell cinnamon even though it's not in the notes.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Island Fresh

Notes: Fresh water accords pervade the top as beautiful, floral notes come to full bloom. The clean scent of ozone carries the freshness throughout this splash of nature.

This is one of the best laundry scents I've ever smelled. It's an intense laundry scent, but not intense as in a harsh laundry detergent. It's super soft, soapy and "cuddly", kind of like a laundromat scent, not overly sweet or floral, and not really a fabric softener scent either. There may be a smidgen of baby powder.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Lemon Blossom

Notes: A citrus tree in your home, fresh lemon blended with a hint of vanilla

Fantastic lemon scent with a smidgen of sweetness, vanilla, soapiness, and perhaps floral and lime. But just a smidgen of each, which makes this lemon scent unique.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Mandarin Cranberry

Notes: Another Yankee Candle duplication, this scent blends top notes of orange nuances, juicy cranberry, and mandarin essences with middle notes of floral accents, sweet rose, ripe berries, cranberry mango blossom, and strawberries into a base of vanilla and musky notes.

Fantastic scent that smells like black cherry with an orange (mandarin) note, almost like cherry/orange soda but without the fizziness. The cranberry note is very subtle. Looking at the scent notes, I do see berries and strawberries, which is probably why I think I smell cherry.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Mango Beachwood

Notes: Just like the popular Bath and Body Works fragrance, a blend of mango, tangerine and mandarin with mid notes of rose, jasmine and dewy cyclamen on a base of beechwood, amber and musk.

I really like this scent. I smell orange (mandarin) and red currant (a cedar woodsy fruity scent that gives other scents a classy note), along with a tropical note that might include a bit of pineapple.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Moonlight Path

Notes: A duplication of the Bath & Body Works fragrance, this fragrance is a soft floral scent enhanced by jasmine and rose.

I adore this scent! It's a super sweet girly floral perfume, like a combination of baby power, gardenia and musk.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Pearberry

Notes: A fresh fruity fragrant blend of pear and berry with a slight musk background.

Typical fake pear scent that I smell everywhere. I do kind of like it though. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell musk at all on cold sniff, but when melted I do detect a hint of a perfumey note that I like.

Throw: Medium 3 out of 5



Sassy Saffron

Notes: This unique aroma will take your mind on a trip to exotic places! The warm, spicy fragrance of Kashmiri saffron from India masterfully blended with earthy woods. White cedar, Indian sandalwood, and patchouli are softened by mid notes of vanilla and sensual musk, then brightened by top notes of grapefruit and fresh bergamot.

A smoky scent with a savory, soapy note. It smells a little like bacon, but there are other notes that I can't identify and that I don't care for. The scent notes don't match the scent. I've smelled this scent before and it's often used for fireplace scents (even though it doesn't smell like a fireplace or burning wood at all). I don't smell cedar, sandalwood, patchouli or vanilla at all (as those would be slightly sweet, and this scent has no sweetness at all).

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Spring Linen

Notes: Smells just like the familiar aroma of a fresh, clean load of laundry just pulled from the dryer!

I love this scent! It smells like a combination of rich musk, sweet gardenia, warm amber, and a little bit of a laundry note.

Throw: Mild, 3 out of 5



Vanilla Cotton

Notes: An inviting aura of twilight skies infused with red currant and soft dewberry. This southern cotton flower is blended with ylang petals and lily of the valley and has undertones of white amber and vanilla orchid wrapped in a blanket of warm musk.

Fantastic scent that smells like a combination of baby powder and laundry, with a vanilla note which tempers some of the sweetness. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell any berry scents, although maybe a hint of the currant.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Winter Shadows

Notes: Northern Lights dance above an ancient spruce forest, illuminating an Indigo Sky on a crisp winter night. Notes of succulent Lemon Leaves and Nutty Cardamom carry this fragrance, as Crisp Air, Sandalwood and Musk hold a firm base. An absolute masterpiece, that brings you back to the mysterious winter wilderness!

A little woodsy with a hint of smokiness and a "dirt" note, but in a good way. It's an interesting scent, and I like it. Looking at the scent notes, I might detect maybe a smidgen of sandalwood and pine, and possibly musk because it has just a hint of sweetness. But no lemon at all.

Throw: Faint, 2 out of 5





Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Creekside Candles & Scents Wax Melts Reviews

Creekside Candles & Scents Wax Melts Reviews

Creekside Candles & Scents Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


Creekside Candles & Scents is a vendor in Arkansas who makes candles, wax melts, votives and tealights, room sprays and more. Their website is https://www.etsy.com/people/ARCreeksideCandles and Facebook page is https://www.facebook.com/pg/CreeksideCandlesandScents. Terry, the owner, was wonderful to work with. She answered all of my questions and was friendly and helpful. The wax melts come in 1.5 oz. oval tubs. The wax is a paraffin blend. It's soft and easy to cut, but not messy. I enjoyed these melts and in general, the scents were fantastic!



Bayberry Black Forest

Notes: The musky, rich fragrance has a base of outdoorsy fir, cedar wood and moss followed by middle notes of spicy cloves, black currants, and sweet plums and finished with a hint of herbaceous bergamot and green musk.

Very nice pine scent with a slightly sweet, slightly tart note of cranberry I think. Looking at the scent notes, the fruit is currants and plums. I think I do smell just a hint of cloves, but no musk. It has a little bit of a sour note when melted that I don't care for.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Brown Sugar & Fig

Notes: Caramelized brown sugar paired with ripened figs, smooth coconut, and a touch of amber.

I love fig scents! It smells like plum but classier, and the sweetness of the plum is tempered by a very slight light woodsy note, the warmth of amber, and a hint of coconut. Looking at the scent notes, they're spot on! One of my favorite scents! This one is slightly sweeter due to the brown sugar, although I don't smell brown sugar per se, just a slightly more sugary note.

Throw: Faint, 2.5 out of 5



Cherries & Chestnuts

Notes: A perfect blend of ripe, juicy cherries and aromatic, nutty chestnuts.

A rich, yummy combination of almond with a cherry note (the cherry is a combination of black cherry and maraschino cherry), but the almond is slightly nuttier, more like pecan. Even though it's supposed to be chestnut, it does smell more like almond. This is not a Serendipity scent, as there's no coconut, and the cherry is richer and the almond is nuttier. Fantastic scent. Unfortunately as soon as the wax melted in the warmer, the scent was pretty much gone, even from an inch away.

Throw: Poor, 1 out of 5



Cornbread Surprise

Notes: Southern style cornbread at its finest, but with a surprise hint of maple bacon! It smells way better than it sounds!

Fantastic yummy scent! I smell salty smoky bacon with a little buttery cornbread, plus a hint of sweet maple in the background. It's making me hungry!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



French Vanilla & Oak

Notes: Reminiscent of a classic, sophisticated vanilla liqueur, this version is infused with undertones of rich, earthy oak.

This smells like patchouli with a little bit of a cedar note and a very sweet slightly perfumey note, and maybe a smidgen of baby powder. I love it! Looking at the scent notes, I'm surprised I don't see patchouli. It doesn't smell like vanilla or any kind of liqueur.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Frozen

Notes: Delicate snow crocuses dancing in the ozone with a backdrop of spicy juniper berry and the richness of the forest woods.

Based on the scent name I expected a minty scent, but this just smells like bubble bath. It's relaxing and I like it. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell juniper, berries or woody notes at all. Maybe a hint of sweet cedar, but no, this is a soapy bubble bath scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Gardenia

Notes: Smells just like a heady shower of rain-kissed, creamy tropical gardenia blossoms.

A beautiful sweet rich gardenia perfume scent. It may have a hint of orange blossom/neroli in it (one of my favorite scents).

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Gifts of the Magi

Notes: Woody myrrh fragrance adorned with a touch of lavender, clove leaf, and patchouli set upon a bed of sweet musk. Very earthy and masculine.

A sweet incensey scent with patchouli and a raw wood note. I like it.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



Ginger Leaf Plum

Notes: Sweet notes of plum and black currant are pressed into the heart of exotic gingerleaf and cinnamon bark to create this lovely, haunting scent with just a note of spicy herbs.

This smells like black cherry with that slightly tart note and I little bit of a medicinal cough syrup note, but in a good way. It also has a tiny bit of a grape note. Looking at the scent notes, I guess I do smell plum and a little bit of currant, but it really does smell more like black cherry to me. I don't smell cinnamon or any spicy herbs, and it's not overly sweet.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Hippy Chick

Notes: Notes of fresh lavender buds infused with patchouli, sandalwood, ylang, amber, violet, cedar wood, and powdery tonka

I adore this scent! It's sweet and perfumey and smells like baby powder with nag champa and patchouli notes. Looking at the scent notes, I don't really smell lavender, but I think I smell a hint of cedar.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Honey Bee

Notes: A beautiful and complex fragrance of sweet honey balanced & rounded by hints of powdery wildflowers, vanilla and sandalwood

This smells like honey and a little bit of coconut with a smidgen of a perfumey note and perhaps a hint of sweet cedar. It's different from any scent I've smelled, and I like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Hyacinth

Notes: Soft and sensual. Smells just like hyacinth flowers.

This is an authentic hyacinth scent! Hyacinths smell like lilacs but slightly less sweet and with a slightly greener, more earthy note. It smells great! But when melted, it lost a lot of its sweetness.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Irish Tweed

Notes: An elegant, rich, sporty scent with notes of sandalwood, Florentine iris, herbaceous clover, French verbena, violet leaves and ambergris. It's what a well-dressed man ought to smell like.

A fresh herbal men's body wash scent, similar to Cool Water cologne.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Leather

Notes: The familiar scent of fresh leather. Clean and nostalgic.

A true, authentic leather scent. This is a great mixer and smells fantastic mixed with woodsy, cologne, and patchouli type scents.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Lemon Curd

Notes: A customer favorite, the best lemon fragrance! Our rendition of this classic combines fresh, zesty lemons, warm vanilla extract and a hint of sugar blended with fresh cream. It's a refreshing and mouthwatering blend of tart and creaminess.

A perfect lemon scent! It's zesty and sweet with a hint of a bakery note, like a creamy buttercream frosting with a load of lemon juice added.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Lily of the Valley

Notes: The classic scent of delicate lily of the valley blooms in a Victorian setting. Light as air with a hint of powder.

A fantastic gardenia/jasmine soap scent. It definitely smells soapy and it's not overly sweet, almost like a bubble bath. Melted, it's not very sweet at all, so although it does smell like soap, it's not like a sweet bubble bath type of soap. It does smell a little authentic because it's not perfumey, but it almost has a "salty" note that's a bit odd. I still like this scent though.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Merlot

Notes: Sweet, fruit, and sophisticated. Plums, strawberries, and pears float above a light layer of fresh green leaf, gardenia and Neroli. Middle notes are anchored with a soft and delicate musk.

This smells like a rich concord grape scent with a little bit of a black cherry note and maybe plum. Thankfully it doesn't have that sour fermentation note that a lot of wine scented wax melts have. I really like this one. Looking at the scent notes, I guess it does have a tiny bit of a perfumey or floral note way in the background, but it's not a perfumey or floral scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Moscado

Notes: Fragrant red grapefruit and pomegranate are laid atop a bed of green apple and fruit blossoms with a delicate finish of smoky musk and the barest hints of rose and geranium.

Moscado is a sweet dessert wine. I usually don't like champagne or wine type scents because they often have a weird sour fermentation note that I don't care for. But this scent is different, and I like it. I smell grape and peach and maybe even banana, and a very slightly sour note but not enough to be annoying. It smells a bit like champagne, but sweeter. Looking at the scent notes, I'm surprised there's no grape since moscado is made with grapes.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Pipe Tobacco

Notes: Smoky tobacco leaf having notes of herbaceous tobacco leaf followed by a touch of sweet honey and finishing with a smoky, leathery cedar wood, fresh cherry wood, and vanilla bean. Masculine, refreshing, and soothing.

Sweet tobacco with a patchouli note, and maybe a smidgen of caramel. Looking at the scent notes, I think the caramel I'm smelling is the honey. I love this scent!

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Pomegranate & Anise

Notes: The sweet, fruity scent of pomegranate blended with the spicy scent of star anise

This smells like soapy ginger with an anise note (that gives it a licorice vibe) and a barely detectable smidgen of fruit. I'm not a fan of the scent.

Throw: Very faint, 2 out of 5



Rose Petals

Notes: A floral bouquet reminiscent of fresh picked red rose petals, jasmine blossom, and bitter geranium, calmed down with vanilla

A lovely slightly bitter rose scent mixed with sweet vanilla buttercream and maybe a smidgen of baby powder. I like it!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Santa's Whiskers

Notes: Notes of balsam fir needles and sweet sugar cookies.

I love this scent! It smells like super sweet vanilla buttercream with a clove note and a hint of smokiness. Looking at the scent notes, okay I do smell the fir/pine but it's way in the background.

Throw: Very faint, 2 out of 5



Sea Grass & Sand Dunes

Notes: A splash of citron along with notes of a flower garden filled with the happy blooms of geranium, roses, jasmine, and mint. The breeze finishes over the sea grasses and brings with it a base of spicy, sunbaked boardwalk

A fresh green grass scent with a hint of floral like gardenia. Although I've never found a grass scent that smells like real grass, this one is pretty close. I really like it!

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Shangri-La

Notes: This is a lovely blend of fresh lavender petals infused with soft coconut milk

A combination of lavender, and coconut I think. It smells a lot like Yankee Lavender Vanilla (or is it Bath & Body Works?). I like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Snuggle Baby

Notes: This scent is pure baby! Not a powder and not a straight lotion, it's one of the best baby scents we have ever smelled.

A fantastic, strong baby powder scent.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Sparkling Snowflakes

Notes: Notes of light and airy white musk mingle with fruity citrus and succulent sweet raspberries, with just the smallest tease of bergamot and a whisper of jasmine. To round it out we have sweet and creamy peppermint with a touch of dark chocolate.

A lovely grassy floral scent with a hint of peppermint and vanilla. It's not an overly sweet scent. Looking at the scent notes, I guess the musk and jasmine are the floral notes. I don't smell raspberry, citrus, or chocolate at all. Melted, it just smells like a nice soapy scent, or even bubble bath, with just a smidgen of sweet mint. I love it!

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Sweet Potato & Brown Sugar

Notes: Notes of mashed sweet potato, creamy milk, squash puree, brown sugar, freshly ground nutmeg, cinnamon sticks, vanilla extract, melted butter, rum, and a hint of maple sugar

This is one of the most incredibly yummy scents I've ever smelled. It smells like a sweet yam with brown sugar and lots of rich butter, and perhaps just a smidgen of cinnamon. It's super sweet and rich!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



White Christmas

Notes: A floral bouquet with citrus and almond top notes with a sweet musky background

This smells like almonds and a little bit of cherry with vanilla marshmallow. It's sweeter than other scents I've smelled with these notes. I really like it! Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell musk or floral, but maybe that's where the extra sweetness is coming from.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Winter Woodland Whisper

Notes: An evergreen forest in the depths of winter, with pine, spruce and fir

A nice slightly smoky spruce scent. It's not a harsh pine scent. It also has a slight "softness" to it with just a smidgen of sweetness.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5




I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Wednesday, March 21, 2018

Hanna's Candle Hershey's Wax Melts Reviews

Hanna's Candle Hershey's Wax Melts Reviews

Hanna's Candle Hershey's Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


Hanna's Candle's Hershey's wax melts, candles and Aromabeads Singles can be found on their website at https://candlemart.com/collections/hersheys-collection-by-hannas-candle-company.



Hershey's Almond Joy

Notes: Deliciously sweet milk chocolate and rich nutty coconut

On cold sniff this smells like a fake slightly plasticy milky coconut scent with a hint of chocolate. But that offputting plasticy note disappears when melting, and it smells quite nice, a perfect combination of milk chocolate and coconut with just a smidgen of nuts.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Hershey's Milk Chocolate with Almonds

Notes: Marshmallow fluff, caramel butter, dark brown sugar, dutch cocoa, tonka bean, milk chocolate and vanilla creme bring real life to a Hershey's favorite

A nice rich creamy milk chocolate with a smidgen of barely noticeable almonds. This actually smells better than a real Hershey's bar, as Hershey bars tend to have a weird stinky feet note, which I don't detect in this melt. Great scent, making me hungry!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Hershey's Mr. Goodbar

Notes: Sugared accents of creamy milk chocolate and crisp peanuts combine to create this true Hershey's classic

This one smells different from the older Mr. Goodbar wax melt I have, like the scent formula has been changed. I sniffed them side-by-side, and the older one really smells like a Mr. Goodbar candy bar, with creamy milk chocolate and peanuts. On cold sniff the new scent is a fake chocolate scent with a chemical note, but melted it smells better, although it smells like a regular Hershey bar without peanuts, and it still has a bit of chemical note while melting. My roommate noticed the difference too.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Hershey's S'Mores

Notes: Warm sweet vanilla cream and toasted marshmallows, drizzled with rich dark chocolate on a fresh baked graham cracker

This comes with 3 separate scents: graham cracker, marshmallow, and chocolate

Graham Cracker - This is a rich creamy scent that smells like a combination of chocolate and brown sugar, although I also do detect a smidgen of a graham cracker note, and maybe a barely detectable hint of honey. Throw was mild, 3 out of 5.

Marshmallow - A fantastic rich marshmallowy white chocolate scent. Throw was mild, 2.5 out of 5.

Chocolate - A nice creamy chocolate scent. Throw was mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5.



Hershey's Whoppers

Notes: Milk chocolate sweetness with the lingering scent of malted milk

A rich creamy chocolate scent. It's very similar to the Hershey's Milk Chocolate with Almonds scent, but richer and a little more chocolatey, and I can detect a hint of the malted note. It's not a burnt stinky chocolate like a lot of chocolate scented wax melts can be. I like it!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Hershey's York Peppermint Patty

Notes: The refreshing allure of sweet, frosted peppermint cream wrapped in rich nuances of dark, delectable chocolate

A nice pleasant combination of mint and sweet chocolate. It's not an overly pepperminty mint, and the chocolate is subtle too.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Hanna's Candle Jolly Rancher Wax Melts Reviews

Hanna's Candle Jolly Rancher Wax Melts Reviews

Hanna's Candle Jolly Rancher Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


All Jolly Rancher products (wax melts, candles and Aromabeads Singles) can be found on the Hanna's Candle website at https://candlemart.com/collections/jolly-rancher-collection-by-hannas-candle-company.



Jolly Rancher Blue Raspberry

Notes: Wild raspberry with tangy fruit accent this candy treat

A fake raspberry and blueberry scent (in a good way) with a very slightly tangy note, like it has a smidgen of lemon. I like this one.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Jolly Rancher Cherry

Notes: Luscious red cherry and a sweet vanilla base

This smells like vinyl with a hint of a fake cherry note. I know it's supposed to be a fake cherry, but although it's kind of sweet, it's not sweet or candyish enough. It's not even authentic or sweet enough to smell like cherry cough syrup, as a lot of fake cherry scents do. This is the only one out of the Jolly Rancher collection that I don't care for.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Jolly Rancher Cinnamon Fire

Notes: Cassia, cinnamon bark, wood & amber - the ultimate spice scent

A sweet red hot cinnamon candy scent. There may be a smidgen of cloves for extra warmth. If you like cinnamon, you'll love this scent!

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Jolly Rancher Grape

Notes: A bold, sweet and tart grape fruit fragrance that will wake up your sleeping taste buds

This is the perfect grape candy scent, or even grape soda. It's definitely not an authentic grape, just like you would expect grape flavored candy to smell like: sweet grape candy with a slight sour candy note (like maybe a hint of lemon).

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Jolly Rancher Green Apple

Notes: Fruity notes highlight this crisp apple scent, creating a mouth watering candy delight.

A very pleasant sweet apple scent. It's not completely authentic (nor should it be, since it's supposed to be apple candy), but it's not a fake apple candy scent either. I don't think it's a dupe of any of their other apple scents. I really like it.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Jolly Rancher Lemon

Notes: Tart, zesty lemon and sweet candied sugar

A nice lemon scent with a slightly soapy note. It smells a little like kitchen lemon, but it barely has any sweetness. It's almost the exact same scent as Jolly Rancher Pink Lemonade, but not as sweet. I like it! Looking at the scent notes, there's really no sugar (or maybe a hint of sugar) in this one.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Jolly Rancher Orange

Notes: Citrus, orange, pineapple, fruity, violet, strawberry, and gardenia

A strong bright very slightly tart orange scent, like orange Tang. Very nice. Looking at the scent notes, actually I think I do detect some pineapple, but none of the other notes except orange.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house



Jolly Rancher Pink Lemonade

Notes: Tangy lemon with a splash of sunny citrus

This smells almost exactly like the regular Jolly Rancher Lemon scent, but just a smidgen sweeter and maybe very slightly more soapy. Looking at the scent notes, it doesn't smell very citrusy. I like it though!

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Jolly Rancher Watermelon

Notes: Juicy watermelon, zests of lemon, orange, and fresh floral undertones, on a sweet candy-like accord of sugar cane and malt notes

I'm not a fan of watermelon scents, but I really like this one because it's a sweet watermelon candy scent (although it's not overly sweet). It's not authentic watermelon, nor should it be. It's summery and thirst quenching and almost has a tiny bit of a floral note. Looking at the scent notes, there's the floral. I don't smell lemon or orange though, but there may be just a tinge of zestiness.

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5



Twizzlers

Notes: A yummy rendition of classic strawberry Twizzlers twisted with tropical nuances of golden pineapple, island papaya, and tantalizing coconut

This smells like pineapple and fake strawberry (in a good way), and maybe a hint of raspberry. It's rich like there's a bit of vanilla in the background, and maybe a smidgen of coconut. Looking at the scent notes, they're spot on. I've never smelled Twizzlers candy, so I don't know if this actually smells like Twizzlers or not. But I really like this scent. It's fun and summery!

Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5




Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Saturday, March 17, 2018

Better Homes & Gardens Wax Melts Reviews - Spring 2018 (Part 1)

Better Homes & Gardens Wax Melts Reviews - Spring 2018 (Part 1)

Better Homes & Gardens Wax Melts - Spring 2018
Click to enlarge

Video


This is a review of the new Walmart Better Homes & Gardens scented wax melts Spring 2018 scents. There are more new Better Homes & Gardens scents, but they have not arrived at all Walmarts yet (including mine). When they do, I will post a second review (Part 2). I will also add the scent notes to these scents if and when I get them.



Cucumber Melon Sorbet

Notes: Sliced summer, garden cucumber washes over juicy watermelon, sugared casaba and sweet honeydew swirled with a dash of luscious, white pear.

I'm not a fan of cucumber or melon scents (unless it's a very sweet watermelon), so I don't care for this scent, although it's quite fresh and summery. It smells almost exactly like ScentSationals Cucumber Melon that's been around for a few years. But that scent was mostly melon with a cucumber note, and a smidgen of floral, and it was on the sweet side. This scent is more cucumber with melon, and the melon is kind of a cantaloupe rather than watermelon, so although it's a little sweet, it also has that bland watery cucumber note and the very slight smidgen of sourness from the cantaloupe (although it's not a sour scent at all). So although I don't like either scent, if I had to choose, I prefer ScentSationals Cucumber Melon.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Ginger Berry Margarita

I smell ginger and a sweet berry note, but there's something in the background that I don't care for, a slightly sour or bitter note that may in fact be the ginger. It's a little sweet, but not sweet enough, and I think it has too much of the soapy ginger note and not enough berry.

Throw: Very faint, 2 out of 5



Jamaican Rum Gelato

This smells heavenly! It smells like sweet rich butterscotch, maple and brown sugar with rum. And I can definitely smell the rum. It has a little bit of a creamy French vanilla note as well. Fantastic! When melted, it's VERY rich, almost nauseatingly so, so it's best suited for a very large room.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Mango Sorbet Limoncello

A very lemony scent, sweet with a very slightly salty note. It's not a kitchen lemon or a lemonade lemon, but maybe a bit of a bakery lemon, like a slightly sweet sponge cake soaked with lemon juice (although I don't actually smell cake notes). It's not the same as ScentSationals Iced Lemon Sugar Cookies or Better Homes & Gardens Iced Lemon Poundcake (both of those are much sweeter, with more bakery notes and less lemon). I only smell the lemon, not the mango, although I think I smell just a smidgen of mango on cold sniff only. I love lemon scents, and I really like this one. This is not the same scent as the new AmbiEscents Italian Limoncello or the ScentSationals Limoncello Popsicle Fusion.

Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Meyer Lemon Basil

Fantastic rich zesty lemon scent with a bit of a savory note. I don't smell basil per se, maybe more of a little oregano? And there's just a smidgen of sweetness to keep it from being too savory. Melted, it has a grapefruit note too. Some people have said this smells like celery, although I don't smell that.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Pineapple Melon Freeze

This may be a dupe of several older ScentSationals and Better Homes & Gardens tropical scents. I smell pineapple and other tropical fruits, but it's not sweet at all. It has a waxy, very slightly sour note. I do detect the melon note as well, which smells like cantaloupe rather than watermelon or honeydew. It's an interesting scent although I'm not really a fan, but it's bringing back some memories... oh wait, it's the same scent as ScentSationals Tropical Fiesta! Which is one of the first scents I melted when I started getting into wax melts several years ago.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5



Red Lava Citrus

Notes: Tropical fruits and sugared citrus burst with hints of bright red currant and blood orange fused with lemon leaf and hints of musk.

I like this one, but I think it might be too intense for a lot of people. It smells a lot like ScentSationals Molten Orange, which is an intense orange scent, but this scent is even more intense, a little sour and less orangey, like satsuma. It smells more like an older scent from 2014 or 2015 I believe, called Better Homes & Gardens Valencia Blood Orange, although that scent was more intense and even less orangey than this one. So I'd say Red Lava Citrus is somewhere between Molten Orange and Valencia Blood Orange.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Summer Strawberry Mimosa

Notes: Sweet summer strawberries, sun-ripe raspberries and island sugarcane are blended with hints of fresh cut pineapple and sparkling French champagne

This smells almost exactly like last year's ScentSationals Pineapple Strawberry Smoothie. They're both sweet pineapple strawberry scents, and although this scent is more pineapple than strawberry, it's less pineappley than Pineapple Strawberry Smoothie. It's a sweet, yummy, refreshing combination, and it does smell like a smoothie, or a sweet pineapple strawberry hard candy. This is a fun, happy scent!

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Vanilla Bean Buttercream

This is a fantastic vanilla cookie scent. I don't think it's a dupe of any other ScentSationals or Better Homes & Gardens vanilla scents. It's similar to Better Homes & Gardens Vanilla Cookie Crunch, but without the nutty note. Smelling them side by side, the Vanilla Bean Buttercream scent smells like it has a hint of white chocolate in it and maybe also a barely detectable smidgen of coconut (although I don't smell coconut at all when melted). This is a good mixer, the way Vanilla Cookie Crunch is, especially since this is a stronger thrower than Vanilla Cookie Crunch.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



White Tahitian Woods

I smell coconut, cashmere/amber for warmth, musk perfume, and a hint of rich fruit like blackberry or plum. It's a fantastic scent with a slight tropical note. There may also be a smidgen of vanilla, but despite the scent name, this is not a vanilla scent. It smells like a rich body cream, and I love it! I've heard it smells like Bath & Body Works Waikiki Coconut. The first time I melted it, throw was medium, 3 out of 5. But the second time it was much stronger (so many variables can affect throw).

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Strawberry Pretzel Bars

Notes: Fresh sliced summer strawberries stirred with cane sugar and sweet vanilla infused whipped cream atop a rich butter and salted pretzel crust

I don't think this one will be available in melts, but it smells so good that I bought the candle and scraped the wax out to melt in my warmer. It's a super rich, sweet creamy strawberry scent with a little bit of saltiness. I don't smell pretzels per se, like no bready note, but the saltiness gives it an extra richness that makes this scent so fantastic.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (8,500+ new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.