Thursday, November 16, 2017

Big Lots Rustic Cottage Wax Melts Reviews - Winter 2017

Big Lots Rustic Cottage Wax Melts Reviews - Winter 2017

Big Lots Rustic Cottage Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video


This is the first hard wax that I've found at Big Lots. Living Colors brand wax is always soft and messy, so these scents might not be the Living Colors brand. I suspect that they might have been made by ScentSationals, because the scents are dupes of older ScentSationals wax melt scents.

Enchanted Balsam
A spruce scent with a slightly smoky note and just a little bit of that biting pine note. On cold sniff it smells like every other pine scent out there, but when melted, it had a little bit of an electrical burning note. In fact, my roommate and I were looking for the source when we realized it was this scent.
Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5

Festive Cinnamon
A straight cinnamon scent, like Red Hot cinnamon candies, but also has a little bit of a Cinnabon cinnamon roll note.
Throw: Medium, 3.5 out of 5

Golden Butterscotch
A fake butterscotch scent, but not really in a bad way. It's a dupe of an old discontinued ScentSational or Better Homes & Gardens scent, but I don't remember the name. It's not Better Homes & Gardens Butterscotch Maple Cream, as that scent is sweeter than this one, and with the hint of maple. Does anyone know what scent this is a dupe of?
Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5

Peppermint Bark
This is a fantastic chocolate peppermint scent. It smells similar to the old discontinued Better Homes & Gardens Chocolate Peppermint Truffle scent. Now that it's melting, I think it might indeed be the same scent! Now I have to wonder if ScentSationals (which makes Better Homes & Gardens melts) made these melts for Big Lots.
Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail. And group members get a 15% discount for Hanna's orders. We also have contests where companies like Hanna's offer prizes and additional discounts.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

Candle Warmers Wax Melts Reviews

Candle Warmers Wax Melts Reviews

Candle Warmers Wax Melts
Click to enlarge
Video:


I bought these Candle Warmers Etc. scented wax melts from the At Home store. The wax is very hard and was stuck to the inside of the package, so it was extremely difficult and frustrating to get the wax out without breaking the flimsy plastic. Since the wax is already very hard, putting it in the freezer made it worse. I almost gave up on this review!

I did another Candle Warmers wax melts review in January 2016, which can be seen at http://www.scentedwaxmeltreviews.com/2016/01/candle-warmers-etc-scented-wax-melts-review.html. I don't recall the wax being as hard or difficult to get out of the package as these were.



After the Rain

Notes: Calm, clean freshness after a storm; notes of white woods, floral citrus, and musk

A nice fresh watery green scent with a little bit of an herbal note.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5



Blackberry Cobbler

Notes: Wild blackberries and ripe blueberries in a sweet buttery crust

A yummy blueberry bakery scent that I've smelled many times before. There's also a hint of zing from the blackberry note.

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house!



Cozy Cashmere

Notes: Warm blend of cashmere, plum blossoms, and soft amber

This smells almost exactly like Better Homes & Gardens Soft Cashmere Amber, a beautiful warm rich cashmere/amber sweet musky scent, one of my favorites. It's a little perfumey, but more like an expensive skin cream.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Eucalyptus Spearmint

Notes: Relaxing eucalyptus paired with fresh spearmint

Fantastic fresh mint scent with a hint of eucalyptus. It's not a toothpastey spearmint at all, but more like garden mint with just a smidgen of sweetness, plus the slightly savory eucalyptus. It's almost a spa type scent, and it has that sinus clearing effect if you put your nose close to it. Melted, it smells like savory salad mint, in a good way.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Freesia Blossom

Notes: Fresh freesia with hints of lime, lily and sweet amber

This smells like a fresh air oceany scent with a hint of floral and a smidgen of saltiness, and a soapy note. It's nice and not overly sweet. Perfect for a bathroom.

Throw: Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5



Lavender Vanilla

Notes: Fresh-picked lavender, soft woodland herbs, sparkling white musks, and creamy vanilla

This smells like lavender, but there's a smidgen of something else that gives it a richness, probably the vanilla. It's not a sweet, medicinal, or herbal lavender, but just right.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Lemon Sugar

Notes: Fresh lemon, coarse white sugar, and soft cashmere wood

A sweet lemony scent. It's kind of a lemonade scent with a hint of saltiness which adds richness, but it's also very sweet. It has a little bit of a soapy sour note on cold sniff, but not when melted. It also has a smidgen of a sweet perfumey scent, and looking at the scent notes, that's probably the cashmere wood.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Ocean Tide

Notes: Tranquil water, warm sand, and tropical flowers

This is a sweet watery scent but it has that strong weird bitter chemical note that both At Home Blushing Petals and At Home Clean Linen have. It really detracts from the scent, because that's all I can smell.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



Roasted Espresso

Notes: Freshly brewed espresso with highlights of creamy vanilla and caramel.

A fake but interesting coffee scent that smells more like that instant coffee made with chicory. It has a hint of a nutty quality. It's not sweet, but it also doesn't have that strong burnt or bitter note that a lot of coffee scents have. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell vanilla or caramel at all.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Summer Mango

Notes: Juicy mango ripened in the summer sun, paired with bergamot and lemon zest

This smells like orange with a smidgen of a tropical note. I really like it!

Throw: Bold, 5 out of 5, a scent monster that took over the house!



Watermelon Lemonade

Notes: Tart lemonade infused with juicy watermelon and fresh spearmint

This smells fantastic, and just like the scent name. It's a perfect combination of zesty lemonade and sweet watermelon, and there may be just a smidgen of tea. The scent was strong for about 2 hours then started fading. Looking at the scent notes, I think the tea note is actually the spearmint, although I don't smell mint at all.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5



White Peony

Notes: Fragrant peony with hints of jasmine, fig, and vanilla

A delicate floral with a slight baby powder note, and a hint of a warm almost ambery note. Maybe also a smidgen of vanilla, and hint of a classy slightly fruity note like fig or currant. Looking at the scent notes, they're spot on. It's a pleasant scent, and I like it although it's weak on cold sniff. Nice for a bedroom or a baby's room. Melted, I definitely smell the fruity fig note which smells like a warm rich slightly blackberry note, a little bit like Scentsy Luna.

Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail. And group members get a 15% discount for Hanna's orders. We also have contests where companies like Hanna's offer prizes and additional discounts.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Tuesday, November 14, 2017

At Home Scented Wax Melts Reviews

At Home Scented Wax Melts Reviews

At Home Scented Wax Melts
Click to enlarge
Video:


The At Home brand scented wax melts use very soft, messy wax that I had to scoop out with a butter knife. Putting the wax melts in the freezer for a bit should help though. For the most part, the scents were rather standard and generic, without too many surprises or creative blends. These are $2.99 at the At Home stores.

Apple Cider (Essence brand)
A nice but slightly generic sweet apple cider scent.
Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5

Apple Orchard
A generic crisp fresh apple scent without any spices. It's not overly sweet, so it actually smells a bit authentic.
Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5

Blushing Petals
I've smelled this scent before, and it's awful, a nauseatingly bitter scent with a terrible metallic chemical note. There is a bit of a floral note in the background with maybe a hint of baby powder, but it's barely noticeable behind the bitter chemical scent.
Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5

Buttered Maple (Essence brand)
Maple butterscotch scent, a little generic but very nice.
Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5

Cinnamon Sparkle (Christmas Magic Collection)
This smells like sweet cinnamon candy. It's a straight cinnamon scent.
Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5

Cinnamon Streusel
A nice sweet cinnamon bun scent.
Throw: Faint, 2 out of 5

Clean Linen
Like the Blushing Petals and Candlewarmers Ocean Tide scents, the main note is that strong bitter chemical note. I can smell the laundry notes in the background, but the bitter chemical note ruins it.
Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5

Emerald Balsam (Christmas Magic Collection)
A nice pine scent. It has a little bit of that "biting" pine note.
Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5

Eucalyptus Leaves
This smells almost exactly like ScentSationals Zen, that slightly minty spa laundry scent. It's not a eucalyptus scent at all, as that would be savory and slightly zesty. The mint in this scent is a spearmint or garden mint (but no toothpastey notes), mixed with a sweet almost laundry scent. It's nice and relaxing.
Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5

Frosted Cookies (Christmas Magic Collection)
A fantastic creamy milky vanilla scent with a bakery note. It smells like vanilla cookies but it's very milky and not very sweet. There may also be a smidgen of a nutty note, but it's a different scent from their Vanilla Bean scent.
Throw: Medium, 3 to 3.5 out of 5

Harvest Pumpkin (Essence brand)
I've smelled this scent before, and it's really not a pumpkiny scent. I smell molasses, brown sugar, cinnamon, apple, vanilla, and raisins, as well as a little bit of a sweet "biting" note that I can't figure out. It smells almost exactly like the old Better Homes & Gardens Enchanted Pumpkin Valley.
Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5

Island Mango
This is a fake, slightly "biting" pineapple, and it's not very sweet. I'm not a fan of pineapple scents, but there's something about this one that I kind of like.
Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5

Lavender Chamomile
A nice lavender scent with just a smidgen of sweetness. It's not a medicinal lavender, nor is it a sweet powdery lavender. I don't smell chamomile.
Throw: Poor 1 out of 5

Lime Cilantro
A fantastic zesty lime scent. It's not a sweet lime, more savory, like a spa scent. I really like this one.
Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5

Midnight Orchid
I found this one a week after I bought the others, but I didn't get it. It's a nice cologne type scent with a warm sweet floral note, but it was very weak on cold sniff.

Patchouli Amber
This is almost an exact dupe of the old ScentSationals Date Night and the Moonlit Walk (blue side) side of the old ScentSationals Date Night duo. It's a fantastic super rich, warm, ambery and slightly woodsy men's cologne scent.
Throw: Strong, 3.5 to 4 out of 5

Sea Mist
This is weak on cold sniff, but it's a pleasant watery fresh air scent with a slight floral note and maybe a smidgen of vanilla. There's also a little bit of a musty note, but not in a bad way.  It would be a nice bathroom scent.
Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5

Teakwood
This smells like sandalwood, a light slightly milky wood, but there's also a sweet warm slightly cologney note (although it's not a cologne scent). It's a pleasant scent.
Throw: Mild, 2.5 to 3 out of 5

Vanilla Bean
Vanilla with a strong nutty note, like peanuts. It smells like a freshly baked vanilla cookie with nuts, and it's not overly sweet.
Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail. And group members get a 15% discount for Hanna's orders. We also have contests where companies like Hanna's offer prizes and additional discounts.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Sunday, November 12, 2017

Tuscany Candle Wax Melt Reviews

Tuscany Candle Wax Melt Reviews

Tuscany Candle Scented Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video:


I found these Tuscany Candle wax melts at the At Home store. Tuscany has some great scents, but their throw tends to be so-so, usually weaker than I'd like. Although once in awhile I find a few strong throwers.

Chocolate Chip Cookie
This smells like a yummy peanut butter cookie. I don't smell chocolate at all, so this is probably a dupe of an older scent. Tuscany Candle tends to reuse a lot of their scents and give them new names.
Throw: Mild, 2.5 out of 5

French Toast
Notes: The pleasing scent of cinnamon, sugar and spices with nutmeg and vanilla
This really smells like french toast! I can smell the bread and the maple syrup and a buttery note and a hint of cinnamon. Yummy!
Throw: Faint, 2 to 2.5 out of 5

Patchouli
This is one of my favorite patchouli scents. It's rich and woodsy and has a hint of nuttiness and chocolate. I tried this one a few years ago and was so disappointed because the throw was very weak. And unfortunately it's still the same.
Throw: Very faint, 2 out of 5

Sea & Sand
Notes: The fresh scents of rain, linen and orange
This smells like Coppertone Suntan Oil with just a barely detectable smidgen of a salty note, like ocean water. Fantastic scent.
Throw: Strong, 3.5 out of 5

Wine & Roses
This smells like cherry soda without the fizziness. It doesn't smell like wine, grapes, or roses. It's a nice happy scent. Tuscany does make a Black Cherry scent, but that scent is a more intense cherry, with a little bit of a tart note.
Throw: Mild, 2.5 or 3 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail. And group members get a 15% discount for Hanna's orders. We also have contests where companies like Hanna's offer prizes and additional discounts.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Saturday, November 11, 2017

Abby Candles Wax Melt Reviews

Abby Candles Wax Melt Reviews

Abby Candles Wax Melts
Click to enlarge
Video:


Abby Candles is a small candle and wax melt company in Oklahoma. Their wax is a soy blend, and they carry over 60 fragrances. They also carry warmers and air fresheners. Abby Candles is heavily involved in fundraising for any size group, from 5 to over 500, perfect for schools, class trips, sports teams, student activities, and more (more information about their fundraising can be found at http://www.abbycandles.com/fundraising).

Abby Candles can be found on their website at http://www.abbycandles.com, and on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/abbycandlesinc.

I enjoyed the Abby Candles wax melts. The wax was stuck to the inside of most of the clamshells, so I had to cut each cube out with a butter knife. But this was definitely not a deal-breaker; they would probably pop out more easily if tossed in the freezer for a bit.

Abby Candles has 2 promos available to readers of this review. They are available through December 16, 2017. Great for Christmas presents!

1. Receive a FREE Live, Laugh, Love plug in warmer with a purchase of $35 or more, code WARMER35. Must enter item number 1174 into shopping cart, and promo will discount item. Not valid on fundraising orders.

2. Receive a FREE Sandstone 2 piece electric warmer with a purchase of $50 or more, code WARMER50. Must enter item number 1250 into shopping cart, and promo will discount item. Not valid on fundraising orders.



Butterscotch Brulee

Description: So yummy, you'll be reaching for a spoon; a scent just like butterscotch pudding

A fantastic super rich buttery sweet butterscotch scent with lots of brown sugar. So incredibly yummy! Looking at the scent notes, it's much richer than butterscotch pudding. It smells like brown sugar mixed with melted butter, and some caramel mixed in. I love this scent!

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Caribbean Holiday

Description: A blend of tropical berries and vanilla

This smells like cranberries and a floral. It's a nice scent.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 or 3 out of 5



Cinnaberries

Description: The perfect potpourri of cinnamon and sweet berries

A sweet cranberry scent with a bit of cinnamon.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 or 3 out of 5



Cinnamon Cider

Description: Like a delicious glass of fresh apple cider with a touch of cinnamon stick.

This smells like apple cider with a little extra cinnamon. It's not a harsh or sour "mulling spices" type of cider.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Cinnamon Toast

Description: As warm, spicy and comforting as the treat itself.

A nice cinnamon roll scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Citrus Splash

Description: A refreshing blend of grapefruit, lemon, lime and a hint of orange

A nice sweet authentic orange juice scent. Looking at the scent notes, I smell mostly orange, and maybe a bit of the grapefruit. Lemon and lime might be in there although they're much more subtle.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Day at the Beach

Description: Spicy vanilla, exotic florals and a touch of citrus

A very nice subtle coconut scent with vanilla and a little bit of floral, although it's not a very sweet scent. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell citrus at all.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 or 3 out of 5



DeLime in DeCoconut

Description: Smooth creamy coconut and zesty lime combine to make a refreshing combination

A nice creamy coconut lime scent. It's not an overly strong or citrusy lime, and it's sweet but not overly sweet. Very nice!

Throw: Medium, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Evergreen Dreams

Description: A clean, woodsy scent that's perfect for the holidays--or all year long.

This is a unique scent. I do smell pine, but I also smell some sweet cinnamon I think, but the cinnamon itself is subtle. Looking at the scent notes, there might indeed also be a hint of a light woodsy note like sandalwood, but it's very faint.

Throw: Medium, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Fresh Linen

Description: Wrap yourself in the scent of freshly cleaned linens dried in the warm summer sun. Like a billowing breeze, this scent is fresh, clean and crisp.

A nice but generic fresh laundry detergent scent. It's not a harsh biting detergent or soapy scent.

Throw: Medium, 3 or 3.5 out of 5



Frosted Cranberries

Description: A scent perfectly blended for holiday entertaining, mixing white cranberry, juicy peach, wild strawberry and raspberry.

Tart but slightly sweet cranberries. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell peach or strawberry. Raspberry, maybe just a little.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Holiday Fruit Basket

Description: An exotic blend of strawberry, peach, apple and coconut enhanced by almonds, French vanilla and cinnamon

I smell creamy strawberry and cherry with a hint of vanilla. This smells more like a summer scent to me, and it's quite nice. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell peach, almonds, cinnamon, apple or coconut.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Leather

Description: Leather smells just like when you purchase a new car with leather seats or sit on a plush leather chair, or conjure visions of motorcycle jacket fringe or a cowboy saddle.

This smells like leather and dirt, like potting soil, but not in a bad way. It's an interesting, unique scent.

Throw: Mild, 2.5 or 3 out of 5



Lemon Drop

Description: Cheerful and sunny, the lemon and sugar mixture is sure to bring a smile to your face

A nice sweet lemon scent, somewhere between a kitchen lemon and a bakery lemon.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Spa Treatment

Description: Unwind with this relaxing fragrance that mixes sage and hints of lemon-lime and talc. The soft clean scent will take you away to a day at the spa.

I've smelled this scent before, and it's usually called "Sage & Citrus", although it doesn't smell like sage or citrus to me. It's a sweet almost baby powder scent with a bit of a sweet lime note (without the citrus) and maybe a slight herbal note which I guess is sage (although sage is a savory herb and this is not a savory scent). There may also be a hint of vanilla. It's a spa scent but could also have a little bit of an industrial cleaner scent if it were less sweet.

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Spring Breeze

Description: This scent is like a soft breeze carrying a perfect combination of light florals, sandalwood and a touch of citrus.

A lovely sweet floral that smells like Coppertone Suntan oil mixed with spring flowers and a green grassy note. I really like it!

Throw: Medium, 3 out of 5



Welcome Home

Description: A welcoming blend of cinnamon and light florals

This smells like cinnamon with maybe a hint of clove. It's a sweet cinnamon with a bit of a Red Hot cinnamon candy quality. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell any floral notes.

Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5



Winter Wonderland

Description: A magical blend of cool peppermint and cinnamon with hints of crisp apple and creamy nutmeg

A nice slightly sweet peppermint scent with a slight apple note and a hint of cinnamon. Looking at the description, the notes are spot on.

Throw: Faint, 2 or 2.5 out of 3



I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Friday, November 10, 2017

Comfort Candle Company Wax Melt Reviews

Comfort Candle Company Wax Melt Reviews

Comfort Candle Company Wax Melts
Click to enlarge

Video:


Comfort Candle Company is a small company in Comfort, Texas that makes candles, wax melts, fragrance oils and related items in 40 scents. Their candles and wax melts are handcrafted using a proprietary soy blend, and they use the latest in candle making technology. Their products are made with American made ingredients and materials.

Comfort Candle Company's website is https://comfortcandlecompany.com, Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/comfortcandlecompany, Twitter https://twitter.com/ComfortCandleCo, and Instagram https://www.instagram.com/comfortcandleco.

I really REALLY enjoyed these melts! They smell fantastic, authentic, and unique, and most of the scents I've never smelled anywhere before. I review a lot of wax melts, and I often come across a lot of the same scents, so I'm always hoping to find scents that are unique. Comfort Candle Company definitely delivers! I can also tell that they use very high quality oils. They don't have the generic feel that a lot of wax melts have. I even like the scent names, and the labels are simple and classy.



Alpine Spruce

Description: Wonderful organic blend of spruce, redwood, and moss

A lovely spruce scent (not a biting pine) with a slightly smoky note, and maybe a smidgen of sweet vanilla. It almost has a smidgen of a patchouli note.

Throw: Medium (3 to 3.5 out of 5)



Blanco Patchouli

Description: A uniquely tantalizing sweet and earthly exotic scent

Fantastic rich earthy patchouli, just a little sweet and a little woodsy. A high quality patchouli scent.

Throw: Mild (2.5 to 3 out of 5)



Bluebonnet

Description: Bountiful fragrant Texas wildflowers during the height of a springtime blooming season

A lovely authentic high quality spring floral scent. It's sweet but not perfumey, with a fresh dewy and a hint of sweet green grass.

Throw: Strong (3.5 to 4 out of 5)



Comfort

Description: Ecstasy of salvation and spiritual joy

I've never smelled anything like this, and I love it! It smells like a blend of baby powder and incense like nag champa, and maybe a hint of honeysuckle and warm cashmere. It's a rich, sweet, warm scent, like an expensive perfume. I wish I knew what the notes were.

Throw: Mild (2.5 to 3 out of 5)



Divine

Description: Strawberry, pomegranate, and extra vanilla create this luscious delight

Strawberry with sweet rich vanilla marshmallow. Very nice!

Throw: Strong (4 or 4.5 out of 5)



Havana

Description: Enticing notes of bergamot and patchouli highlights

A nice cherry tobacco scent with a bit of an incense note and maybe of smidgen of baby powder. Very nice!

Throw: Medium (3 out of 5)



Hill Country Home

Description: Maple and walnut high notes create a cozy and comforting home

Fantastic cinnamon roll scent with a glaze of sweet vanilla icing. This is slightly different from other cinnamon roll scents I've smelled in that it's more authentic and a higher quality. And it's not overly cinnamony. Looking at the scent notes, yes I think I do smell maple, but not really any nutty notes although it may be very subtle.

Throw: Medium (3 to 3.5 out of 5)



Mt. Laurel

Description: Beautiful purple flowers with grape smelling blooms

This is a floral scent with a perfumey note, a hint of strawberry, and a little bit of coffee! It's an unusual but very nice scent! Looking at the description, no coffee, and I guess the strawberry is the grape note although I don't actually smell grape.

Throw: Strong (3.5 or 4 out of 5)



Red Currant

Description: Savory blend of tart red currants and golden fruit glaze

Red currant is one of my favorite scents, and this is a fantastic version. Red currant is a classy, upscale scent of a fruit with a distinct soapy note and a smidgen of light wood. It's very slightly sweet and just a tiny bit tart (but not like cranberry).

Throw: Strong (3.5 or 4 out of 5)



Spiced Tea

Description: Warm, flavorful holiday tea with a pinch of cinnamon

This smells a lot like the Hill Country Home scent, like a cinnamon roll. But it's a little less sweet, and slightly more cinnamony. I don't smell any tea notes.

Throw: Medium (3 out of 5)



Utopia

Description: The irresistible scent of valley fresh grapefruit

I can't figure out what I'm smelling, but it's nice. Some kind of fruit with a hint of pine, maybe grapefruit and something else? When melted, I think the pine is eucalyptus because it has a sinus clearing effect. Looking at the scent notes, yep it's grapefruit, but it doesn't mention the eucalyptus/mint note. And I think there might also be another fruit in there. Or maybe a hint of a floral? Melted, it smells like pine and grapefruit, but with something else, and a creamy note but not vanilla. It's not a sweet scent, just a tiny bit of sweetness.

Throw: Strong (3.5 or 4 out of 5)



Verbena et Sage

Description: Herbal delight sure to soothe your soul

A nice verbena spa scent with a lemony note. I don't know if I smell sage per se, although there is a very slight savory herbal note. Melted, it has a bit of zestiness.

Throw: Medium (3 out of 5)



White Lavender

Description: Clean, light aroma with soothing and relaxing elements

This smells like authentic lavender right from the plant. It's not sweet nor is it too medicinal.

Throw: Barely (1 to 2 out of 5)



I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.

Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Mainstays Scented Wax Melts Reviews - Winter 2017

Mainstays - Winter 2017 Scented Wax Melts Reviews

Mainstays Scented Wax Melts - Winter 2017
Click to enlarge

Video:


These 3 new Mainstays Winter 2017 scents use hard wax rather than the usual soft messy wax. The surface is slightly greasy, like Scentsy wax. These 3 scents were manufactured by Hanna's Candle exclusively for Walmart. The other Mainstays Winter 2017 scents, such as Pine, Evergreen Spruce, and Cinnamon, have returned from previous years. I reviewed the Pine and Evergreen Spruce scents on November 8, 2016.

I don't know the scent notes of these 3 Mainstays melts, but as soon as I find out, I'll add them to this review.



By The Fire
A nice smoky scent but it's not a woodsy smoky scent, more like almost a foodie smoky scent. There may be a hint of a cologne note, but it's definitely not a cologne scent, nor is it a sweet scent at all. It has a bit of a Play-Doh note but that doesn't really detract from the scent. It smells a lot like the old discontinued Better Homes & Gardens Wooded Mountain Trails and a little bit like the discontinued ScentSationals Camelot, but with slightly different notes.
Throw: Medium, 3 or 3.5 out of 5

Cranberry Mistletoe
A nice strong sweet and tart cranberry scent with a pine note. There's also a smidgen of some other berry note in here like raspberry that gives it a bit more richness.
Throw: Strong, 3.5 or 4 out of 5

Gingerbread Spice
A perfect gingerbread scent. I can smell the bread and all the spices, including nutmeg, allspice, ginger, and a hint of cloves and cinnamon. Fantastic yummy scent!
Throw: Strong, 4 out of 5



Want to discuss this review and other store bought wax? Just join our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/scentedwaxretail. And group members get a 15% discount for Hanna's orders. We also have contests where companies like Hanna's offer prizes and additional discounts.

Also, I offer a FREE review service for U.S. wax melt companies (retail, indie/vendor, and direct sales), where I review and promote your wax melts on this website (6,500 new visitors per month), YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. It's a great way to promote your brand and get more customers! If interested, just leave a comment below with your contact info, or under my video on YouTube.